Cultivating Science

Learn from scientists, researchers, technicians and veterinarians about their work. Find out about their research, collaborations and innovative science activities designed to safeguard food, animals and plants, and enhance the well-being of Canada's people, environment and economy.

CFIA Everyday Superheroes

November 2019 | Canadian Food Inspection Agency |

DNA double helix cartoon character

Calling all superheroes! We need your help in the fight against our worst enemies.

Every day, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) protects food, animals and plants, which helps improve the health of Canada's people, environment and economy. But, we constantly need the help of brave superheroes, like you and your friends, to keep all Canadians safe.

How do we use genomics in our research on regulatory plant pathogens?

August 2019 | Canadian Food Inspection Agency | by Guillaume Bilodeau and Emily Giroux

DNA double helix cartoon character

My kids always ask me, “Dad what is your job? What do you do at work?” My response is simple, “I work with DNA. I use DNA to identify diseases affecting plants.”

What’s in my firewood, and why should it matter?

June 2019 | Canadian Food Inspection Agency | by Martin Damus

Cooking in the hearth

Ah, a nice warm fire! Gathering around campfires in the summer or a hearth in the cold winter is classically Canadian. Firewood is plentiful and who doesn’t like its cheery warm glow?

Working at the “Plant Hospital”

April 2019 | Canadian Food Inspection Agency | by Jennifer Platts-Fanning, Shara Cody

Aerial view of the Charlottetown Laboratory

One misty Island morning, as I climbed into a cab on my way to work, the driver asked where I was going. I responded in the Island way, simply, “the big white building with the greenhouses.” Immediately he exclaimed, “Oh, the plant hospital!” to which I replied smiling, “It does look like a hospital, but we only diagnose and we don’t treat the plants.” The work performed in the incredible building has always been a topic of rumour around our little town.

The Canadian Food Inspection Agency and the University of Guelph collaborate to advance the next generation of scientists

January 16, 2019 | Canadian Food Inspection Agency | by Dr. Elie Chamoun

CFIA senior executives speaking with university students.

Students know best how daunting it is to kick-start a career after graduation. For those educated in science, looking for the right place to apply their talent and skills is an exciting yet sometimes difficult endeavour. This challenge is magnified by having to decide between a vast array of science jobs on the market: industry, academia, consulting, and government. In the competitive job market of the 21st century, it takes a proactive and innovative employer to convey to students that their competencies are valued and sought after.

A glimpse into Canada’s highest containment laboratory for animal health: The National Centre for Foreign Animal Diseases

October 22, 2018 | Canadian Food Inspection Agency | by Loren Matheson, April Killikelly, Bradley Pickering

Food

High consequence pathogens, such as those that cause hemorrhagic fevers or pandemic influenza, have the potential to significantly impact human health, animal health as well as our Canadian economy. The mandate of the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) includes work on foreign animal diseases such as these in order to contribute to our country's preparedness and response planning. This work covers all aspects of risk assessment, prediction, prevention, detection as well as restoration and recovery after a potential disease outbreak.

Date modified:

Cultiver la science

Apprenez des scientifiques, des chercheurs, des techniciens et des vétérinaires au sujet de leur travail. Apprenez-en davantage sur leurs recherches, leurs collaborations et leurs innovations scientifiques visant à protéger les aliments, les animaux et les plantes et à améliorer le bien-être de la population, de l'environnement et de l'économie du Canada.

Comment utilisons-nous la génomique dans le cadre de nos recherches sur les agents phytopathogènes réglementés

Août 2019 | Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments | par Guillaume Bilodeau et Emily Giroux

Un double hélice de l'ADN comme personnage de bande dessinée

Mes enfants me demandent toujours, « papa, c’est quoi ton métier? Qu’est-ce que tu fais quand tu travailles? » Ma réponse est simple : « Je travaille avec l’ADN. J’utilise l’ADN pour identifier les maladies des plantes. »

Qu’est-ce qu’il y a dans mon bois de chauffage, et pourquoi cela est-il important?

Juin 2019 | Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments | par Martin Damus

Cuisson dans la cheminée

Ah, un bon feu chaud! Se rassembler autour d’un feu de camp en été ou d’un foyer en hiver est typiquement canadien. Le bois de chauffage est disponible en abondance, et qui n’aime pas la lueur chaleureuse et bienfaisante qu’il produit?

Travailler à « l’hôpital des plantes »

Avril 2019 | Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments | par Jennifer Platts-Fanning, Shara Cody

Aerial view of the Charlottetown Laboratory

Par un matin brumeux sur l’île, alors que je grimpais dans un taxi pour me rendre au travail, le chauffeur me demande ma destination. Je lui réponds simplement, à la façon des insulaires, « au grand bâtiment blanc avec les serres ». Immédiatement, il s’exclame « Oh, à l’hôpital des plantes! ». Je lui réponds en souriant « C’est vrai que ça ressemble à un hôpital. En fait on y diagnostique les maladies des plantes, mais on ne les traite pas ». Le travail réalisé dans ce bâtiment incroyable a toujours été l’objet de rumeurs dans notre petite ville.

l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments et l'Université de Guelph collaborent afin de faire progresser la prochaine

16 janvier 2019 | Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments | par Dr. Elie Chamoun

Des hauts dirigeants de l’ACIA discutent avec des étudiants universitaires.

Les étudiants savent à quel point il est difficile de se lancer dans une carrière après avoir obtenu leurs diplômes. Pour ceux qui ont fait leurs études en sciences, rechercher le bon endroit pour appliquer leurs talents et leurs compétences est une entreprise passionnante mais parfois difficile. Ce défi est amplifié par le fait de devoir choisir entre une vaste gamme d’emplois scientifiques sur le marché: industrie, universités, conseil et gouvernement. Sur le marché du travail concurrentiel du XXIe siècle, il faut un employeur proactif et innovant pour faire comprendre aux étudiants que leurs compétences sont valorisées et recherchées.

Un aperçu du laboratoire de niveau de confinement le plus élevé pour la santé animale au Canada : le Centre national des maladies animales exotiques

22 octobre 2018 | Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments | par Loren Matheson, April Killikelly, Bradley Pickering

Food

Les agents pathogènes entraînant des conséquences graves, comme ceux qui causent une fièvre hémorragique ou une grippe pandémique, peuvent avoir des répercussions importantes sur la santé humaine et animale, ainsi que sur l'économie canadienne. Le mandat de l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) comprend des travaux sur les maladies animales exotiques, comme les maladies susmentionnées, afin de contribuer à la préparation et à la planification des interventions au pays. Ces travaux couvrent tous les aspects de l'évaluation des risques, des prévisions, de la prévention, de la détection ainsi que du rétablissement après une éventuelle éclosion.

Date de modification :