Language selection

Search

The Status of Federal Scientific Integrity Policies

February 2021


Background

In 2018, the Governance Committee for Implementation of Government-Wide Scientific Integrity PolicyFootnote 1 (the Governance Committee), whose membership includes the Chief Science Advisor, the Secretary of the Treasury Board (TBS) and the President of the Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada (PIPSC), published the Model Policy on Scientific Integrity.Footnote 2 The model was drafted as a guide for 24 federal departments and agencies that were required to implement a scientific integrity policy by December 31, 2019Footnote 3 pursuant to a 2016 Memorandum of Agreement between TBS and PIPSC. Between early December 2019 and late January 2020, the 24 implicated departments were surveyed to determine their progress in implementing departmental scientific integrity policies and procedures. As part of the survey, departments were asked to provide their own policy along with a detailed explanation of how it differed from the model policy. Subsequent progress was evaluated based on a follow-up survey conducted between early December 2020 and late January 2021.

The surveys

The 2019-20 and 2020-21 surveys asked departments to provide information on 13 compliance measures (Appendix A), each of which was associated with a non-discretionary provision of the model scientific integrity policy.Footnote 4 The 2020-2021 survey also included three additional questions by which departments and agencies could provide updates on implementation measures taken since the earlier survey. Since departments had discretion to adopt, adapt or even replace the model as they saw fit, provisions in the model policy that prescribe non-discretionary actions or activities (and associated compliance measures) would not be applicable if the department chose to eliminate the provision in question or render it discretionary. As the Office of the Chief Science Advisor (OCSA) is committed to evidence-based assessment of progress on scientific integrity, departments were asked to provide the evidence necessary to support each survey question response.

Results

The 2020-2021 survey was completed by 23 of 25 implicated departments or agencies. Upon inquiry, the remaining two provided some information on the status of their policies. As of January 30, 2021, 80% (20 of 25) of implicated departments and agencies had a scientific integrity policy in effect (Fig. 1).


Status of scientific integrity policies

Fig. 1. The number of federal departments or agencies with scientific integrity policies in effect, pending approval, or in development as of January 30, 2021. Shown in parentheses are the number of employees in the RE (researchers) and SP (Applied Science and Patent Examination) occupational groups in the associated departments or agencies.Footnote 5


Description of Figure 1: Status of scientific integrity policies

Figure 1: The pie chart shows that 20 departments (with a total of 2717 and 8789 RE and SP employees respectively) have a scientific integrity policy in effect, 2 departments’ (with a total of 1and 190 RE and SP employees respectively) scientific integrity policies are pending approval and 3 departments’ (with a total of 4 and 56 RE and SP employees respectively) scientific integrity policies are in development.


In support of responsible conduct of research, two key non-discretionary provisions of the model scientific integrity policy are the requirement for peer review of all technical communications and, where appropriate, approval of proposed research by a research ethics board.Footnote 6 Of the 20 departments and agencies with a scientific integrity policy in effect as of January 30, 2021, 15 (including 11,045 employees in the RE and SP groups) have peer review requirements in place, while the same number (15, accounting for 10,573 employees in the RE and SP groups) have, where appropriate, a requirement for research ethics board approval. Requiring peer review and, where appropriate, research ethics board approval was considered not applicable for one and two departments, respectively.

The model policy includes non-discretionary provisions facilitating the federal science and research community in providing advice on regulations and policy, on departmental research programs, and on prioritizing investments in research. To this end, as of January 2021, 15 of 20 (75%, accounting for 10,107 employees in the RE and SP groups) departments and agencies with a scientific integrity policy in effect have formal processes for soliciting advice on policies and regulations; 13 of 20 (65%), accounting for 9,661 employees in the RE and SP groups, have formal processes for soliciting advice on research programs; and 14 out of 20 (70%), accounting for 10,923 employees in the RE and SP groups, have formal processes for soliciting advice on the prioritization of departmental research investment. For three (15%) of responding departments, a formal process for soliciting researcher/scientist advice on prioritizing investment in research was considered not applicable.

As of January 30, 2021, all departments with scientific integrity policies in effect have notified their employees about the policy. Moreover, all departments whose departmental scientific integrity policies requires a Scientific Integrity Lead (SIL) have appointed one.

Since the 2019-2020 survey, departments and agencies have made significant progress implementing processes for reporting and recording instances of policy conflict or incompatibility with their scientific integrity policy; bringing forward and investigating breaches of scientific integrity; and soliciting advice on policies or regulations, research programs, and the prioritization of departmental research investment. Although significantly improved since the 2019-2020 survey, almost half of reporting departments have yet to implement processes for notifying external collaborators and contractors about scientific integrity policies (Fig. 2).


Scientific Integrity Policy Provision

Fig. 2. The proportion of departments or agencies who have a scientific integrity policy in effect and for which the actions or activities corresponding to a particular non-discretionary provision in the model policy have been implemented as of January 30, 2021. Departments whose SIPs did not include the provision in question, or decided not to report the associated compliance measure in the 2020-2021 survey, have been excluded from the sample.Footnote 7 For a description of the listed non-discretionary scientific integrity provisions, see Appendix A.


Description of Figure 2: Scientific Integrity Policy Provision

Figure 2: The bar graph shows the proportion of departments and agencies with scientific integrity policies in effect that have implemented various scientific integrity policy provisions. The provision on external notification has the lowest proportion (0.55) and provisions on employee notification and on appointing a scientific integrity lead have the highest proportions (1).


Of the 20 departments and agencies with scientific integrity policies, none have amended their policy in the last year. Fourteen have produced additional procedures, policies, guidelines, tools, training or professional development opportunities relevant to their policies. In 6 of these 14 cases, these additions include the development and implementation of scientific integrity breach allegation and investigation processes. Other additions include the development of a dedicated scientific integrity policy resource page for departmental websites; additional training materials to support outreach to employees; and guidance for employees on scientific integrity issues such as peer review of technical communications, communication and dissemination of research and scientific information, and informing external contractors of the scientific integrity policy and encouraging them to comply with its provisions.

Has the model policy been successful?

The model policy was designed to facilitate a whole-of-government approach to scientific integrity. By developing a model based on extensive consultations, the Governance Committee was hopeful that departments and agencies would adopt the model with comparatively few modifications. And indeed, this has been the case: all 20 departmental policies currently in effect closely resemble the model, and many are virtually identical. Most substantive changes represent cases where departments have eliminated certain non-discretionary model provisions because, in their view, the provisions do not apply or are redundant given existing departmental processes and procedures. Perhaps the most significant change is the inclusion by a single department of a set of non-discretionary provisions designed to recognize and safeguard Indigenous knowledge and to ensure its due and appropriate consideration in decision-making.

Next steps

The 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 survey results clearly demonstrate that federal departments and agencies have made, and continue to make, considerable progress on scientific integrity. Over the next year, the Governance Committee will:

Though much work still remains, the Governance Committee is pleased with the progress made by federal departments and agencies on scientific integrity, especially in light of current urgent demands and associated resource reallocations arising from the COVID-19 pandemic. The committee is keenly aware that this progress reflects the commitment of federal departments and agencies, ministers and employees to ensuring that government decisions are informed by scientific evidence, and that Canadians are informed about important scientific issues that affect them.Footnote 8


Appendix A: Scientific Integrity Policy (SIP) Compliance Survey Questions


CM1. What is the status of your organization’s SIP?

CM2. Has your organization notified employees about the SIP?

CM3. Has your organization implemented additional procedures policies, guidelines, tools, training or professional development opportunities in support of the SIP?

CM4. Does your organization have a process for reporting and recording instances of policy conflict or incompatibility with the SIP?

CM5. Does your organization require that all technical communications undergo peer review?

CM6. Does your organization require that, where appropriate, research or scientific projects be reviewed and approved by a Research Ethics Board (REB)?

CM7. Has your organization taken steps to notify/inform contractors or extramural collaborators of the SIP and encourage them to comply with its articles?

CM8. Has your organization appointed a Science Integrity Lead?

CM9. Does your organization have a process for bringing forward and investigating breaches of scientific integrity?

CM10. Does your organization have a mechanism and/or procedure for soliciting researcher/scientist advice on deartmental policy and/or regulations?

CM11. Does your organization have a mechanism and/or procedure for soliciting researcher/scientist advice on its research programs?

CM12. Does your organization have a mechanism and/or procedure for systematically soliciting researcher/scientist assistance in identifying and prioritizing federal investment in research?

CM13. Does your organization have measures in place to support education, training and/or professional development in any of the following areas: responsible conduct in research; research eithcs; and the annotation, management and archiving of research and scientific data?


2020-2021 Survey Additional Questions:


  1. Did your organization complete the 2019 compliance survey?
  2. Have there been any amendments to your organization’s Scientific Integrity Policy (SIP) since the 2019 compliance survey?
  3. Has your organization developed any additional procedures, policies, guidelines, tools, training or professional development opportunities relevant to the SIP since the 2019 survey?

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

État des politiques fédérales en matière d’intégrité scientifique

Février 2021


Contexte

En 2018, le Comité de gouvernance pour la mise en œuvre de politiques et procédures en matière d’intégrité scientifique dans l’ensemble du gouvernementNote de bas de page 1 (le Comité de gouvernance), dont les membres comprennent la conseillère scientifique en chef, le secrétaire du Conseil du Trésor (SCT) et la présidente de l’Institut professionnel de la fonction publique du Canada (IPFPC), a publié le Modèle de politique sur l’intégrité scientifiqueNote de bas de page 2. Le modèle a été rédigé pour servir de guide à 24 ministères et organismes fédéraux qui devaient mettre en œuvre une politique d’intégrité scientifique avant le 31 décembre 2019Note de bas de page 3 conformément à un protocole d’entente conclu en 2016 entre le SCT et l’IPFPC. Entre le début décembre 2019 et la fin janvier 2020, les 24 ministères concernés ont été interrogés pour déterminer leurs progrès dans la mise en œuvre de leurs politiques et procédures d’intégrité scientifique. Dans le cadre de l’enquête, les ministères ont été invités à fournir leur propre politique ainsi qu’une explication détaillée de la manière dont elle diffère de celle du modèle. Les progrès ultérieurs ont été évalués sur la base d’une enquête de suivi menée entre le début décembre 2020 et la fin janvier 2021.

Les sondages

Les sondages 2019-2020 et 2020-2021 demandaient aux ministères de fournir des informations sur 13 mesures de conformité (annexe A), chacune étant associée à une disposition non discrétionnaire du modèle de politique d’intégrité scientifiqueNote de bas de page 4. Le sondage 2020-2021 comprenait également trois questions supplémentaires grâce auxquelles les ministères et les organismes pouvaient fournir des mises à jour sur les mesures de mise en œuvre prises depuis le sondage précédent. Puisque les ministères ont le pouvoir discrétionnaire d’adopter, d’adapter ou même de remplacer le modèle comme ils l’entendent, les dispositions du modèle de politique qui prévoient des mesures ou des activités non discrétionnaires (et les mesures de conformité connexes) ne seraient pas applicables si le ministère choisissait d’éliminer la disposition en question ou de la rendre discrétionnaire. Étant donné que le Bureau de la conseillère scientifique en chef (BCSC) s’est engagé à évaluer les progrès réalisés en matière d’intégrité scientifique en se fondant sur des faits démontrés, les ministères ont été invités à fournir les éléments de preuve nécessaires pour appuyer chaque réponse aux questions du sondage.

Résultats

Le sondage 2020-2021 a été rempli par 23 des 25 ministères ou organismes concernés. Sur demande, les deux autres ont fourni quelques informations sur l’état de leurs politiques. Au 30 janvier 2021, 80 % (20 sur 25) des ministères et organismes concernés avaient une politique d’intégrité scientifique en vigueur (fig. 1).


État des politiques d’intégrité scientifique

Figure 1. Le nombre de ministères ou d’organismes fédéraux ayant une politique d’intégrité scientifique en vigueur, en attente d’approbation ou en cours d’élaboration au 30 janvier 2021. Le nombre d’employés des groupes professionnels RE (chercheurs) et SP (sciences appliquées et examen des brevets) dans les ministères ou organismes associés est indiqué entre parenthèsesNote de bas de page 5.


Description de la figure 1 : État des politiques d’intégrité scientifique

Figure 1: Le diagramme circulaire indique que 20 départements (respectivement d’un total de 2717 et 8789 employés RE et SP) ont une politique d'intégrité scientifique en vigueur, 2 départements (respectivement d’un total de 1 et 190 employés RE et SP) ont une politique d'intégrité scientifique en attente d'approbation et 3 départements (respectivement d’un total de 4 et 56 employés RE et SP) ont une politique d'intégrité scientifique en cours d'élaboration.


Pour appuyer une conduite responsable de la recherche, le modèle de politique d’intégrité scientifique comporte deux dispositions clés non discrétionnaires, notamment l’exigence d’un examen par les pairs de toutes les communications techniques et, le cas échéant, l’approbation de la recherche proposée par un comité d’éthique de la rechercheNote de bas de page 6. Sur les 20 ministères et organismes ayant une politique d’intégrité scientifique en vigueur au 30 janvier 2021, 15 (où travaillent 11 045 employés des groupes RE et SP) ont des exigences en matière d’examen par les pairs, tandis que le même nombre (15, où travaillent 10 573 employés des groupes RE et SP) ont, pour les situations applicables, une exigence d’approbation par un comité d’éthique de la recherche. L’exigence d’une évaluation par les pairs a été considérée comme non applicable pour un seul ministère et celle de l’approbation par un comité d’éthique de la recherche pour deux ministères.

Le modèle de politique comprend des dispositions non discrétionnaires qui permettent à la communauté scientifique et de recherche fédérale de fournir des conseils sur les règlements et les politiques, sur les programmes de recherche ministériels et sur la priorisation des investissements dans la recherche. En janvier 2021, 15 des 20 ministères et organismes (75 %, où travaillent 10 107 employés des groupes RE et SP) ayant une politique d’intégrité scientifique en vigueur avaient des processus officiels pour solliciter des conseils sur les politiques et les règlements; 13 des 20 (65 %), où travaillent 9 661 employés des groupes RE et SP, avaient des processus officiels pour solliciter des conseils sur les programmes de recherche et 14 des 20 (70 %), où travaillent 10 923 employés des groupes RE et SP, avaient des processus officiels pour solliciter des conseils sur la priorisation des investissements ministériels en recherche. Pour trois (15 %) des ministères répondants, un processus officiel pour solliciter l’avis des chercheurs et des scientifiques sur la priorisation de l’investissement dans la recherche a été jugé non applicable.

Au 30 janvier 2021, tous les ministères ayant une politique d’intégrité scientifique en vigueur avaient informé leurs employés de l’existence de celle-ci. En outre, tous les ministères dont la politique d’intégrité scientifique exige la désignation d’un ou d’une responsable de l’intégrité scientifique (RIS) en avaient nommé un ou une.

Depuis le sondage 2019-2020, les ministères et organismes ont réalisé des progrès importants dans la mise en œuvre de processus permettant de signaler et d’enregistrer les cas de conflit de politique ou d’incompatibilité avec leur politique d’intégrité scientifique, de signaler et d’enquêter sur les violations de l’intégrité scientifique et de solliciter des conseils sur les politiques ou les règlements, les programmes de recherche et la hiérarchisation des investissements ministériels dans la recherche. Bien qu’il y ait eu une grande amélioration depuis le sondage 2019-2020, près de la moitié des ministères concernés doivent encore mettre en œuvre des processus pour notifier les collaborateurs externes et les entrepreneurs de l’existence des politiques d’intégrité scientifique (figure 2).


Dispositions des politiques d’intégrité scientifique

Figure 2. La proportion de ministères ou d’organismes qui ont une politique d’intégrité scientifique en vigueur et pour lesquels les mesures ou activités correspondant à une disposition non discrétionnaire particulière de la politique type ont été mises en œuvre au 30 janvier 2021. Les ministères dont la PIS ne comprenait pas la disposition en question ou qui ont décidé de ne pas déclarer la mesure de conformité associée dans le sondage 2020-2021 ont été exclus de l’échantillonNote de bas de page 7. Pour une description des dispositions non discrétionnaires relatives à l’intégrité scientifique, voir l'annexe A.


Description de la figure 2 : Dispositions des politiques d’intégrité scientifique

Figure 2: Le diagramme à barres indique la proportion de ministères et d'organismes ayant une politique d'intégrité scientifique en vigueur qui ont mis en œuvre diverses dispositions de la politique d'intégrité scientifique. La disposition sur la notification externe présente la plus faible proportion (0,55) et les dispositions sur la notification des employés et sur la désignation d’une ou d'un responsable de l'intégrité scientifique présentent les proportions les plus élevées (1).


Sur les 20 ministères et organismes disposant d’une politique d’intégrité scientifique, aucun n’a modifié sa politique au cours de l’année écoulée. Un total de 14 ministères ont produit des procédures, politiques, lignes directrices, outils, formations ou occasions de perfectionnement professionnel supplémentaires en rapport avec leurs politiques. Chez 6 de ces 14 organisations, les ajouts comprennent l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre de processus d’allégation et d’enquête en cas de manquement à l’intégrité scientifique. Parmi les autres ajouts, citons la création d’une page de ressources consacrée à la politique d’intégrité scientifique pour les sites Web des ministères, la mise en place de supports de formation pour soutenir la sensibilisation des employés et des conseils pour les employés sur les questions d’intégrité scientifique telles que l’examen par les pairs des communications techniques, la communication et la diffusion de la recherche et d’informations scientifiques, ainsi que l’offre aux contractants externes d’information sur la politique d’intégrité scientifique et la prise de mesures poru les encourager à se conformer à ses dispositions.

La politique modèle a-t-elle été couronnée de succès?

La politique modèle a été conçue pour faciliter une approche pangouvernementale de l’intégrité scientifique. En élaborant un modèle fondé sur des consultations approfondies, le Comité de gouvernance espérait que les ministères et les organismes l’adopteraient avec relativement peu de modifications. Et c’est effectivement ce qui s’est produit : les 20 politiques ministérielles actuellement en vigueur ressemblent toutes de près au modèle original, et beaucoup d’entre elles sont pratiquement identiques. La plupart des modifications de fond concernent l’élimination par des ministères de certaines dispositions non discrétionnaires parce que, selon eux, les dispositions ne s’appliquent pas ou sont redondantes compte tenu des processus et procédures ministériels existants. Le changement le plus important est sans doute l’inclusion par un seul ministère d’un ensemble de dispositions non discrétionnaires visant à reconnaître et à sauvegarder les connaissances autochtones et à garantir leur prise en compte adéquate dans le processus décisionnel.

Prochaines étapes

Les résultats des sondages de 2019-2020 et de 2020-2021 montrent clairement que les ministères et organismes fédéraux ont fait, et continuent de faire, des progrès considérables en matière d’intégrité scientifique. Au cours de la prochaine année, le Comité de gouvernance entend :

Bien qu’il reste encore beaucoup à faire, le Comité de gouvernance est satisfait des progrès réalisés par les ministères et organismes fédéraux en matière d’intégrité scientifique, en particulier à la lumière des demandes urgentes actuelles et des réaffectations de ressources connexes découlant de la pandémie de COVID-19. Le Comité est parfaitement conscient que ces progrès reflètent l’engagement des ministères et organismes fédéraux, des ministres et des employés à faire en sorte que les décisions gouvernementales soient fondées sur des preuves scientifiques et que les Canadiens soient informés des questions scientifiques importantes qui les concernentNote de bas de page 8.


Annexe A : Questions du sondage sur la conformité à la politique d’intégrité scientifique (PIS)


MC1. Quel est le statut de la PIS de votre organisme?

MC2. Est-ce que votre organisme a mis les employés au courant de la PIS?

MC3. Est-ce que votre organisme a mis en œuvre des procédures, politiques, lignes directrices, outils, ou occasions de formation ou de perfectionnement professionnel supplémentaires à l’appui de la PIS?

MC4. Est-ce que votre organisme a un processus de signalement et de consignation d’instances de conflit de politique ou d’incompatibilité avec la PIS?

MC5. Votre organisme exige-t-il que toutes les communications techniques fassent l’objet d’un examen par les pairs?

MC6. Votre organisme exige-t-il, s’il y a lieu, l’examen et l’approbation des projets de recherche ou scientifiques par un comité d’éthique de la recherche (CER)?

MC7. Est-ce que votre organisme a pris les mesures pour mettre les entrepreneurs ou collaborateurs externes au courant de la PIS et les a encouragés à se conformer avec ses articles?

MC8. Votre organisme a-t-il nommé un responsable de l’intégrité scientifique?

MC9. Est-ce que votre organisme a un processus pour relever et étudier les manquements à l’intégrité scientifique?

MC10. Est-ce que votre organisme a un mécanisme ou une procédure pour solliciter l’avis de chercheurs/scientifiques sur sa politique ou sa réglementation?

MC11. Est-ce que votre organisme a un mécanisme ou une procédure pour solliciter l’avis de chercheurs/scientifiques sur ses programmes de recherche?

MC12. Est-ce que votre organisme a un mécanisme ou une procédure pour solliciter systématiquement l’avis de chercheurs/scientifiques quant à la détermination et la priorisation des investissements fédéraux dans la recherche?

MC13. Votre organisme a-t-il mis en place des mesures pour soutenir l’éducation, la formation ou le perfectionnement professionnel dans l’un des domaines suivants : la conduite responsable dans la recherche; l’éthique de recherche et l’annotation, la gestion et l’archivage des données scientifiques?


Questions supplémentaires du sondage 2020-2021 :


  1. Votre organisme a-t-il rempli le sondage sur la conformité 2019?
  2. Des modifications ont-elles été apportées à la PIS de votre organisme depuis le sondage sur la conformité de 2019?
  3. Est-ce que votre organisme a élaboré des procédures, politiques, lignes directrices, outils, ou occasions de formation ou de perfectionnement professionnel qui concernent la PIS depuis le sondage de 2019?

Date de modification :