Celebrating International Women's Day

Transcript—Celebrating International Women's Day

Kate Young: Hi, I'm Kate Young, and I'm here with the Honourable Kirsty Duncan, the Minister of Science. It's International Women's Day. Tell us who inspired you as far as science is concerned.

Hon. Kirsty Duncan: I'm going to start with my grandmother and my mother. My grandmother worked at a time when women didn't work. My mom became a phys ed teacher. She's a neat lady. She plays bagpipes. She learned to fly a plane. This was really different. And both of them, my grandmother and my mother, taught me you could do whatever you wanted. Dream your greatest dream.

And I eventually went into science, although I started in art, dance and music, but there weren't a lot of role models at that time. And the year I was finishing my PhD, Dr. Roberta Bondar went to space, and she taught us that women in science—that women—could do anything, including reach for the stars, literally.

Kate Young: But we've still got a long way to go, and we want to encourage young girls to get into the sciences, and now we've got this Choose Science.

Hon. Kirsty Duncan: #ChooseScience.

Kate Young: Yes. Tell us about that.

Hon. Kirsty Duncan: We want to get more youth engaged in science, technology, engineering and mathematics. We particularly want young women to consider—to choose—science. And the reason is, back in 1987 only 20 percent of women were involved in the STEM workforce. Today, it's just 22 percent. That's not good enough. We can do better. We have to do better because science needs women. It needs their voices. It needs their insights. And when we don't include women, it can have a real impact.

I think of the first voice recognition software: it was calibrated only to men's voices. So if we add women, we change the conversation. Women may ask different questions, use different methodology, different methods. And they may get results that will benefit all Canadians.

Kate Young: Do you have any final words of encouragement for young women who are thinking of getting into the sciences?

Hon. Kirsty Duncan: Absolutely. Take time to dream your greatest dream. Take every opportunity that comes your way because you don't know where those opportunities will lead. And always remember there will be challenges in life. There's always challenges. I call them speed bumps. You have to figure a way over them or around them. And we will be waiting to watch what this next generation is going to do, and we know it will be spectacular.

Kate Young: It's an exciting time to be a woman on this International Women's Day.

Hon. Kirsty Duncan: Happy International Women's Day, Kate.

Date modified:

Célébrer la Journée internationale des femmes

Transcription — Célébrer la Journée internationale des femmes

Kate Young : Bonjour, je me nomme Kate Young, et je suis ici avec la ministre des Sciences, l'honorable Kirsty Duncan, pour souligner la Journée internationale des femmes. Pourriez-vous nous dire qui vous a inspirée à faire carrière en sciences.

Honorable Kirsty Duncan : Je dois dire que ce sont ma grand-mère et ma mère. Ma grand-mère travaillait alors que les femmes ne travaillaient pas. Ma mère est devenue professeure d'éducation physique. Elle est fantastique. Elle joue de la cornemuse. Elle sait piloter un avion. Elle est avant-gardiste. Les deux m'ont appris que l'on peut accomplir tout ce que l'on veut, et rêver grand.

J'ai choisi de faire carrière en sciences, après avoir commencé en arts, danse et musique, mais il y avait peu de modèles à ce moment-là. L'année où j'ai terminé mon doctorat, Roberta Bondar est allée dans l'espace, et nous a montré que les femmes en sciences, et les femmes en général, pouvaient tout accomplir, y compris atteindre les étoiles, littéralement.

Kate Young : Mais nous avons encore des progrès à faire en ce sens et nous voulons encourager les jeunes filles à opter pour les sciences. Nous avons même une initiative pour cela.

Honorable Kirsty Duncan : #OpezSciences

Kate Young : Parlez-moi de cette initiative.

Honorable Kirsty Duncan : Nous voulons que plus de jeunes, et plus particulièrement de femmes, choisissent les sciences, les technologies, l'ingénierie et les mathématiques. Pourquoi? Parce qu'en 1987, seulement 20 % des femmes travaillaient dans le secteur des STIM, et qu'à l'heure actuelle, il y en a seulement 22 %. C'est trop peu. Nous pouvons faire mieux. Les sciences ont besoin des femmes et de leurs perspectives. Lorsqu'on n'inclut pas les femmes, cela peut avoir de réelles conséquences.

Le premier logiciel de reconnaissance vocale était calibré uniquement pour des voix masculines. Quand on ajoute des femmes, on enrichit le dialogue. Les femmes peuvent poser des questions différentes, utiliser des méthodologies différentes. Et elles peuvent obtenir des résultats avantageux pour tous les Canadiens.

Kate Young : Avez-vous un dernier mot d'encouragement pour les jeunes femmes qui songent à faire carrière en sciences?

Honorable Kirsty Duncan : Bien sûr. Prenez le temps de rêver grand. Profitez de chaque occasion, car vous ne savez pas où elles vous conduiront. Et rappelez-vous toujours qu'il y aura des défis à surmonter. Il y en a toujours dans la vie. Ces obstacles, il faut apprendre à les contourner. Nous avons hâte de voir ce dont la prochaine génération est capable et nous savons que ce sera spectaculaire.

Kate Young : C'est un moment idéal d'être une femme en cette journée internationale des femmes.

Honorable Kirsty Duncan : Bonne Journée internationale des femmes, Kate.

Date de modification :