Science Year in Review with Science Minister Kirsty Duncan

Science Year in Review with Science Minister Kirsty Duncan

Kate Young: Hi. I'm Kate Young, Parliamentary Secretary for Science, and I'm here with Kirsty Duncan, the Minister of Science. How are you, Kirsty?

Hon. Kirsty Duncan: Hi, Kate. Good to be with you.

Kate Young: We've got a lot to talk about because this has been a very important year and a busy year for science. When you think about the country's scientists and researchers and their incredible breakthroughs and innovations—and it's just the start—can you talk about some of the top accomplishments, as you see it, for science in Canada?

Hon. Kirsty Duncan: It's been a good year for science, Kate. We've begun the process to ban asbestos. It's really good news. We've launched the search for Canada's Chief Science Advisor. This will be a key position, an important position. We've put in place new equity and diversity requirements for our Canada Excellence Research Chairs and our Canada Research Chairs. We want the best minds in the field, in the lab and at the table. And we want young men and women, Indigenous peoples to see themselves in science.

We've launched the Canada 150 Research Chairs to attract the best and brightest from around the world, and of course we've put in place a new Artificial Intelligence Strategy around research that's really exciting. And of course we've received the results of the Fundamental Science Review, the first of its kind in 40 years.

Kate Young: So how do these accomplishments strengthen science?

Hon. Kirsty Duncan: We are a government that is committed to research, science, scientists, the important work they do and evidence-based decision making. We've invested in the spaces where research and innovation occurs: in labs in our universities, polytechnics and colleges across the country. But buildings don't do research, people do. We have to invest in our researchers, and I'm proud we've made the largest investment in the granting councils in a decade.

We also—and I know this is an issue really dear to you—we want to get young people excited about science, and we of course have our #ChooseScience campaign.

Kate Young: And why should this matter to Canadians?

Hon. Kirsty Duncan: Well, as we go across the country, what we both hear is that science matters to Canadians. Canadians know that if we want new cures and treatments for diseases, they will come from science. They want new technologies. They want a cleaner environment, better air, better water, better communities. It all starts with science.

Kate Young: It certainly does. Thank you so much, Kirsty.

Hon. Kirsty Duncan: Thanks, Kate.

Kate Young: Kirsty Duncan, the Minister of Science, and I'm Kate Young, Parliamentary Secretary for Science.

Date modified:

Survol des réalisations scientifiques en compagnie de la ministre des Sciences, Kirsty Duncan

Survol des réalisations scientifiques en compagnie de la ministre des Sciences, Kirsty Duncan

Kate Young : Bonjour, je m'appelle Kate Young, secrétaire parlementaire pour les Sciences, et je me trouve en compagnie de la ministre des Sciences, Kirsty Duncan. Comment allez-vous?

L'hon. Kirsty Duncan : Bonjour, Kate. Je suis heureuse d'être ici.

Kate Young : Nous avons beaucoup à discuter, car les choses ont bougé cette année dans le secteur des sciences. Lorsque vous pensez aux scientifiques et aux chercheurs canadiens et à leurs découvertes et innovations incroyables — et ça ne fait que commencer — quelles sont les meilleures réalisations scientifiques canadiennes selon vous?

L'honorable Kirsty Duncan : C'est une bonne année pour les sciences. Nous avons lancé le processus pour interdire l'amiante. C'est une très bonne nouvelle. Nous sommes également à la recherche de candidats au poste de conseiller scientifique en chef national. C'est un poste clé très important. Nous avons instauré de nouvelles exigences en matière d'équité et de diversité pour les Chaires d'excellence en recherche du Canada et les Chaires de recherche du Canada. Nous voulons les meilleurs cerveaux sur le terrain, au labo et dans les discussions. Nous voulons également que les jeunes et les Autochtones se lancent dans les sciences.

Nous avons lancé le Programme des chaires de recherche Canada 150 pour attirer les meilleurs scientifiques de la planète et nous avons adopté une nouvelle Stratégie pancanadienne en matière d'intelligence artificielle qui suscite beaucoup d'intérêt. Finalement, nous avons obtenu les résultats de l'Examen du soutien fédéral aux sciences, le premier du genre en 40 ans.

Kate Young : Comment ces réalisations appuient-elles les sciences?

L'honorable Kirsty Duncan : Notre gouvernement a pris des engagements à l'égard de la recherche, des sciences, des chercheurs et de la prise de décisions fondée sur des données probantes. Nous avons investi dans les lieux où se font la recherche et l'innovation — les laboratoires d'universités, d'écoles polytechniques et de collèges de partout au pays. Mais il ne suffit pas d'avoir des immeubles, il faut des gens pour faire de la recherche. C'est pourquoi nous avons investi dans les chercheurs, et je suis fière des investissements que nous avons faits dans les conseils subventionnaires, les plus importants en 10 ans.

Nous avons lancé également la campagne #OptezSciences pour inciter les jeunes à s'intéresser aux sciences, un enjeu très important pour toi.

Kate Young : Et pourquoi les Canadiens devraient-ils s'intéresser à ces questions?

L'honorable Kirsty Duncan : Lorsque nous visitons les Canadiens de partout au pays, ils nous disent à quel point les sciences sont importantes pour eux. Les Canadiens savent que la recherche est essentielle pour trouver de nouveaux traitements aux maladies. Ils veulent de nouvelles technologies. Ils veulent un environnement, de l'air, de l'eau et des communautés plus propres. La première étape passe par la science.

Kate Young : C'est vrai. Merci beaucoup, Kirsty.

L'honorable Kirsty Duncan : Merci, Kate.

Kate Young : La ministre des Sciences, Kirsty Duncan, et je suis Kate Young, secrétaire parlementaire pour les Sciences.

Date de modification :