Response to the Fundamental Science Review Report with Science Minister Kirsty Duncan

Transcript—Response to the Fundamental Science Review Report with Science Minister Kirsty Duncan

Kate Young: I'm Kate Young, Parliamentary Secretary for Science, and I'm here with the Minister of Science, Kirsty Duncan. Hi, Kirsty.

Hon. Kirsty Duncan: Hi, Kate.

Kate Young: Our government knows that strong support for science is the foundation for innovation, and that's why you launched the first review of federal funding for fundamental science in 40 years. Can you recap for us the purpose of commissioning this science review?

Hon. Kirsty Duncan: Because this hadn't been done in 40 years, I thought it was really important to ensure that our funding ecosystem is strategic, effective and meeting the needs of our researchers.

So we had a blue ribbon panel. It was chaired by Dr. David Naylor. It had former president of the University of British Columbia, Martha Piper. It included Dr. Art McDonald, our newest Nobel Prize winner. A blue ribbon panel. There were 1,275 submissions from across the country and five round tables.

I'm really pleased to have received that report, and I want to thank the panel for their tremendous work. It is a comprehensive, rigorous, thoughtful report with 35 recommendations.

Kate Young: So what actions are you taking in response to the report?

Hon. Kirsty Duncan: Well, the reason I undertook that report: I come from the world of science—I know this world—and I want to make it better for our research community. So I commissioned the report so I could take action. Some of the actions we'll be taking: we will put in place a new advisory council to advise both myself and the Minister of Innovation on science and innovation, and this council will be open, transparent and accountable because these are key values for our government.

We will also put in place a new coordinating board for our granting councils, so the granting councils are coordinated, harmonized and sustainable. So if a researcher applies for a lab or a new tool, they'll also be able to apply for an operating grant, making it easier for our researchers.

And we will take action, myself and Minister Philpott, to look at the Canadian Institutes of Health Research legislation so that we will split the CEO of the Institute from being the Chair of the Governing Council. It's about good governance.

Kate Young: So why should that matter to Canadians? Why should a strong system for science matter?

Hon. Kirsty Duncan: A strong system matters to Canadians because they know that science will lead to new medical cures; new medical treatments; new technologies; a better environment with cleaner air, cleaner water; stronger communities; and more innovation. Canadians understand it all starts with science.

Kate Young: Thank you, Minister Duncan. I look forward to working with you on the government's long-term vision for science in Canada.

Hon. Kirsty Duncan: Thank you, Kate. I am so glad you're part of this team.

Kate Young: I'm Kate Young. I'm the Parliamentary Secretary for Science, and we've been speaking with the Minister of Science, Kirsty Duncan.

Date modified:

Réponse au rapport de l'Examen du soutien fédéral aux sciences en compagnie de la ministre des Sciences, Kirsty Duncan

Transcription — Réponse au rapport de l'Examen du soutien fédéral aux sciences en compagnie de la ministre des Sciences, Kirsty Duncan

Kate Young : Bonjour, je suis Kate Young, secrétaire parlementaire pour les Sciences, et je suis avec la ministre des Sciences, Kirsty Duncan. Comment allez-vous?

L'honorable Kirsty Duncan : Bonjour, Kate.

Kate Young : Notre gouvernement reconnaît qu'un soutien solide aux sciences est essentiel à l'innovation. C'est pourquoi nous avons lancé l'examen du soutien à la science fondamentale, le premier du genre en 40 ans. Pouvez-vous résumer l'objectif de cet examen?

L'honorable Kirsty Duncan : Effectivement, on ne l'avait pas fait depuis 40 ans. J'estimais qu'il fallait s'assurer que notre écosystème de financement est stratégique et efficace et adapté aux besoins de nos chercheurs.

Nous avons formé un comité d'experts triés sur le volet et confié la direction de ce comité à David Naylor. Le comité comptait plusieurs membres, dont l'ancienne rectrice de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique, Martha Piper, et notre plus récent prix Nobel canadien, Art McDonald. Il y a eu 1 275 soumissions en provenance de tout le pays et 5 tables rondes.

Je suis très contente du rapport qu'ils ont remis, et je tiens à les remercier. Ils ont fait un travail formidable. Leur rapport est détaillé et bien articulé. Il contient 35 recommandations.

Kate Young : Maintenant, quelles mesures comptez-vous prendre pour donner suite au rapport?

L'honorable Kirsty Duncan : La raison pour laquelle j'ai demandé cet examen vient du monde des sciences lui-même. Je connais bien le milieu de la recherche et je voulais améliorer les choses. Alors j'ai commandé le rapport en vue de pouvoir agir. Notamment, nous allons mettre en place un nouveau conseil consultatif qui donnera des avis sur les sciences et l'innovation au ministre responsable de l'Innovation et à moi-même. Ce comité devra faire preuve d'ouverture et de transparence et rendre des comptes, dans le respect des valeurs de notre gouvernement.

Nous mettrons en place aussi un nouvel organisme de coordination pour nos conseils subventionnaires, pour favoriser la coordination au sein des conseils et assurer l'harmonisation et la durabilité. Par exemple, si les chercheurs présentent une demande pour un laboratoire ou un nouvel outil, ils pourront faire une demande pour une subvention de fonctionnement, ce qui leur facilitera la vie.

Et nous prendrons des mesures, la ministre Philpott et moi-même, pour modifier la législation des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada, afin de pouvoir séparer la fonction de président-directeur général des Instituts de celle de président du conseil d'administration. C'est une question de saine gouvernance.

Kate Young : Pourquoi est-ce important pour les Canadiens? Pourquoi devons-nous avoir un système solide pour les sciences?

L'honorable Kirsty Duncan : C'est important pour les Canadiens parce qu'ils savent que la science mène aux nouveaux traitements curatifs et médicaux, à de nouvelles technologies, à un meilleur environnement, à de l'eau et à de l'air plus propres, à des collectivités plus fortes et à plus d'innovations. Les Canadiens comprennent que tout commence par la science.

Kate Young : Merci, Madame la Ministre Duncan. J'ai hâte de travailler avec vous à la vision à long terme du gouvernement pour les sciences au Canada.

L'honorable Kirsty Duncan : Merci, Kate. Je suis très contente que tu fasses partie de cette équipe.

Kate Young : La ministre des Sciences, Kirsty Duncan, et je suis Kate Young, secrétaire parlementaire pour les Sciences.

Date de modification :