Inclusiveness Symposium

This video shows highlights of ISED’s first Inclusiveness Symposium and features clips of guest speakers and participants.

Transcript—Inclusiveness Symposium

[Music Up]

[Text on Screen: Inclusiveness Symposium /Symposium sur I’inclusivité]

[Text on Screen: John G Diefenbaker Building Ottawa April 6, 2017]

[Text on Screen: Lawrence Hanson, Former ISED Assistant Deputy Minister]

Lawrence Hanson:  We’ve made sure that we have experts here who can come and speak to us today to give us training and to talk about real-world experiences, and I think it’ll be a really beneficial day. The attendance we’re going to have today is, I think, a testament to the importance of people in our workplace and across the government and the public service attached to these issues.

[Text on Screen: John Knubley, ISED Deputy Minister]

John Knubley: I think diversity and inclusiveness are so important for the civil service. We do need to reflect the Canadian society in terms of who we are.

[Text on Screen: Michael Wernick, Clerk of the Privy Council]

Michael Wernick: Just think of each other not as the org charts and the titles, or even the current job, but we’re all human beings, and this is a people business that we’re in. And I think that’s a very valuable part of the conversations today.

[Text on Screen: Christine Mao, Competition Bureau]

Christine Mao: And we had more than 200 people participate today, learning about mindfulness, learning about inclusiveness, learning about being conscious that we have unconscious biases. This is huge.

[Text on Screen: Kafui Sawyer, Director Joy Health & Research Centre]

Kafui Sawyer: We’ve become a little bit more robotic in our nature, so we just end up going, going, going. And you’re not taking the time to actually sit back, take stock of your life, figure things out a little bit more and make some changes that are practical. And I’m hoping that I can provide a few skills here and there that would help you feel that you’re strong, and not tough, in your workplace.

[Text on Screen: Deanna Matzanke, Senior Director, Measurement and Analytics Canadian Centre for Diversity and Inclusion]

Deanna Matzanke:  Yes, we are all human beings. Yes, we have similarities. But those similarities are more often different than they are exactly the same. The plasticity of your brain can be leveraged – can be leveraged to recognize those biases. It can be leveraged to eliminate stereotypes. It can be leveraged to think of difference as an asset and not as an obstacle.

[Text on Screen: Dax Dasilva, Founder and CEO Lightspeed and Never Apart]

Dax Dasilva: I think it’s actually wonderful that we have all these different perspectives operating in the company. And people get a lot of energy out of – out of interacting with each other. And letting that enrich the company, I think, brings creativity to the company. And I think creativity is where you then get innovation.

[Text on Screen: Sheryl Bagga, Shared Services Canada]

Sheryl Bagga: Cher’s presentation was very inspiring. You know, like, self-evaluation, reflection, how it takes you a long way in life and not to give up. And it’s okay to say if you’re not doing okay.

[Text on Screen: Scheherzade van Aarle, Founder Peace 3.0]

Scheherzade van Aarle: I think all of us know what that means, to be mindful. My foray into mindfulness meditation really came after my accident two years ago. And as a result of that, I incurred my fourth concussion, and I now have post-concussion syndrome. On the flipside, it’s pulled me into this wonderful world of mindfulness and mindfulness training. Even doing this for five minutes a day will result in big changes.

Lawrence Hanson: Does everybody think we had a pretty great day today?


[Text on Screen: Lawrence Hanson, Former ISED Assistant Deputy Minister]

Lawrence Hanson: And I think we kind of learned and heard about things that I think we all kind of have a responsibility now to try to apply in our own daily lives and in our workplaces. I think this was a really great first inclusiveness symposium here for ISED, and I certainly hope that we’ll have more like these in the future. [Translation] Thanks again, and have a good day.


[Canada wordmark]

[Music ends]

Date modified:

Symposium sur l’inclusivité

Cette vidéo présente les faits saillants du premier Symposium sur l’inclusivité, organisé par ISDE, ainsi que des extraits vidéo des conférenciers et des participants lors de l’événement.

Transcription—Symposium sur l’inclusivité

[Musique]

[Texte à l’écran : Symposium sur I’inclusivité / Inclusiveness Symposium]

[Texte à l’écran : Ėdifice John G. Diefenbaker Ottawa le 6 avril 2017]

[Texte à l’écran : Lawrence Hanson, Ancien sous-minstre adjoint, ISDE]

Lawrence Hanson : Nous nous sommes assurés d’avoir sur place aujourd’hui des experts qui vont nous offrir de la formation et nous présenter des exemples concrets. Je crois que ce sera une journée bénéfique pour tous. Le taux de participation démontre bien l’importance qu’accordent à cette question les gens de notre milieu de travail, du gouvernement et de la fonction publique.

[Musique]

[Texte à l’écran : John Knubley, Sous-ministre, ISED]

John Knubley : Je crois que la diversité et l’inclusivité sont très importantes pour la fonction publique. Nous devons être le reflet de la société canadienne.

[Texte à l’écran : Michael Wernick, Greffier du Conseil privé]

Michael Wernick : Il faut penser aux autres comme étant des êtres humains et non penser à eux en fonction de leur emploi, de leur titre ou de leur position dans l’organigramme. Nous travaillons avec et pour des gens. Et c’est ce qui ressort de plus important dans les discussions que nous avons aujourd’hui.

[Texte à l’écran : Christine Mao, Bureau de la concurrence]

Christine Mao : Il y a plus de 200 personnes ici aujourd’hui. Apprendre à être conscient des autres, en apprendre plus sur l’inclusivité, savoir ce que sont les préjugés conscients et inconscients, c’est vraiment très important.

[Texte à l’écran : Kafui Sawyer, Directrice Joy Health & Research Centre]

Kafui Sawyer : Naturellement, nous agissons de plus en plus comme des robots, nous sommes de plus en plus occupés. Et, nous ne prenons pas le temps de nous arrêter, de faire le point sur notre vie, de planifier les choses un peu mieux et de faire des changements concrets. J’espère pouvoir vous permettre d’acquérir certaines compétences qui vous feront vous sentir plus forts, mais pas plus durs, dans votre milieu de travail.

[Texte à l’écran : Deanna Matzanke, directrice principale, Mesures et analytique Centre canadien pour la diversité et l’inclusion]

Deanna Matzanke : Oui, nous sommes tous humains, et oui nous avons des similitudes. Mais ces similitudes sont plus souvent qu’autrement différentes, non identiques. La souplesse de votre cerveau, votre capacité d’adaptation peuvent vous permettre de reconnaître les préjugés, d’éliminer les stéréotypes, de penser aux différences comme étant des atouts plutôt que des obstacles.

[Texte à l’écran : Dax Dasilva, Foundateur et PDG Lightspeed et Never Apart]

Dax Dasilva : Selon moi, c’est fantastique qu’il y ait divers points de vue au sein d’une entreprise. Les gens puisent beaucoup d’énergie dans l’interaction avec les autres, ce qui enrichit l’entreprise et stimule la créativité. Et je crois que la créativité est le berceau de l’innovation.

[Texte à l’écran : Sheryl Bagga, Services partagés Canada]

Sheryl Bagga : La présentation de Cher était très inspirante. C’était comme une auto-évaluation, une réflexion pour démontrer que ça prend du temps pour réaliser des choses, qu’il ne faut pas abandonner. Et c’est correct de dire que les choses ne tournent pas rond.

[Texte à l’écran : Scheherzade van Aarle, Foundatrice, Peace 3.0]

Scheherzade van Aarle : Je pense que nous savons tous ce que signifie être conscient. Mon incursion dans le monde de la méditation a réellement débuté après mon accident il y a deux ans. J’ai alors subi une quatrième commotion cérébrale et je dois maintenant vivre avec un syndrome de post-commotion. Cependant, cela m’a permis de faire l’apprentissage du merveilleux monde de la pleine conscience. Méditer ne serait-ce que cinq minutes par jour fait un bien immense.

Lawrence Hanson : Pensez-vous que nous avons eu une bonne journée aujourd’hui?

[Applaudissement]

[Texte à l’écran : Lawrence Hanson, Ancien sous-ministre adjoint, ISDE]

Lawrence Hanson : Je crois que nous avons eu de bonnes discussions et que nous avons appris certaines choses. Nous avons maintenant la responsabilité de les appliquer à notre quotidien et dans notre milieu de travail. Je crois que ce fut un excellent premier symposium sur l’inclusivité à ISDE. J’espère sincèrement que nous en aurons d’autres semblables. Merci encore, et bonne journée.

[Applaudissement]

[Mot symbole « Canada »]

[Fin de la musique]

Date de modification :