Meet Jennifer Pereira

Dr. Jennifer Pereira is a research officer in the field of experimental aerodynamics at National Research Council Canada. Dr. Pereira has been working in this field for over five years and has a Bachelor of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering as well as a PhD in Experimental Aerodynamics from McGill University. Her research work is focused on subsonic and transonic wind tunnel testing of aircraft and aeronautical products.

Transcription – Meet Jennifer Pereira

[Music up]

[Dr. Jennifer Pereira sits in front of a white background]

[Text on screen: Dr. Jennifer Pereira – Research officer, National Research Council]

Jennifer Pereira: My name is Jennifer Pereira. I'm a research officer. I work in the field of experimental aerodynamics at the National Research Council.

As far back as I can remember, I've loved airplanes and pretty much anything that flies. And I think that prompted me to ask questions like why do things fly, how do things fly, and that just brought on more and more questions. And that was probably my first introduction to science and why I was interested in it.

In high school, probably mathematics and physics. I feel like both subjects, they give you an understanding of concepts and they give you solutions to problems. And once you truly grasp those concepts, then you'll see examples of that in your daily life and then you can apply what you've learned in the class.

In university, you know, you'll study a lot of problems where you can make simplifying assumptions. When you get into the real world, a lot of those assumptions aren't valid, and then you have to figure out how do we find a solution to this problem. A lot of times you have to do experiments to figure out those solutions, there's so much more to learn.

Growing up, a role model for me was my great aunt. She's a biochemist. It's interesting because, of all my close relatives, she's the only scientist. So it never really occurred to me that girls couldn't go into science.

[Text on screen: #choosescience]

Now that you know my story, I encourage you to start your story. Choose science.

[Graphics appear on screen, including drawings of geometric shapes, a magnifying glass, a lightbulb, a prism, a rocket, DNA and an atom]

[ISED signature]

[Canada wordmark]

[Music ends]

Date modified:

Rencontrer Jennifer Pereira

Jennifer Pereira est agente de recherche dans le domaine de l'aérodynamique expérimentale au Conseil national de recherches du Canada. Mme Pereira travaille dans ce domaine depuis plus de cinq ans maintenant. Elle détient un baccalauréat en génie mécanique de même qu'un doctorat en aérodynamique expérimentale de l'Université McGill. Ses travaux portent sur les souffleries subsoniques et transsoniques utilisées pour tester les aéronefs et autres produits de l'aéronautique.

Transcription – Rencontrer Jennifer Pereira

[Ouverture en fondu musical]

[Jennifer Pereira s'assoit devant un arrière-plan blanc.]

[Texte à l'écran : Jennifer Pereira, agente de recherche, Conseil national de recherches Canada]

Jennifer Pereira : Je m'appelle Jennifer Pereira et je suis agente de recherche en aérodynamique expérimentale au Conseil national de recherches.

D'aussi loin que je me rappelle, j'ai toujours aimé les avions et tout ce qui vole. Je pense que c'est pour cela que j'avais autant de questions sur ce qui permet aux objets de voler. Ce questionnement s'est poursuivi et c'est probablement pour cela que je me suis tournée vers les sciences.

Au secondaire, surtout en mathématiques et en physique, on apprend des concepts qui permettent de résoudre des problèmes. Une fois ces concepts bien assimilés, on apprend comment les appliquer au quotidien.

À l'université, on étudie de nombreux problèmes pour lesquels on peut trouver des solutions hypothétiques simplifiées. Une fois les études terminées, plusieurs de ces hypothèses ne sont pas valides. Alors, il faut trouver comment régler vraiment tel ou tel problème. Bien souvent, il faut essayer plusieurs solutions avant de résoudre un problème. Il reste tant de choses à apprendre.

Lorsque j'étais enfant, ma grand-tante, une biochimiste, était mon modèle. C'est intéressant, parce que même si c'est la seule scientifique de ma famille, je n'ai jamais pensé que les filles ne pouvaient pas choisir les sciences.

[Texte à l'écran : #OPTEZSCIENCES]

Maintenant que vous connaissez mon histoire, je vous invite à entreprendre votre propre parcours. Optez pour les sciences.

[Des éléments visuels apparaissent à l'écran, dont des formes géométriques, une loupe, une ampoule électrique, un prisme, une fusée, de l'ADN et un atome]

[Signature d'ISDE]

[Mot-symbole « Canada »]

[Fin de la musique]

Date de modification :