Meet Catherine Clark

Catherine Clark is a research officer working in the Aerodynamics Laboratory at National Research Council Canada. Ms. Clark conducts wind tunnel testing research, working on aircraft development programs and specializing in the testing of aircraft ice protection systems. She has a Bachelor of Aerospace Engineering and a Masters of Applied Science degree from Carleton University. Ms. Clark is a registered engineer with Professional Engineers Ontario and has her private pilot’s license. #ChooseScience

Transcription – Meet Catherine Clark

[Music starts]

[Fade in to Catherine Clark seated]

[Text on screen:
Dr. Catherine Clark
Research officer,
National Research Council]

Dr. Catherine Clark: My name's Catherine Clark. I'm a research officer with the National Research Council of Canada. I specifically work in the aerodynamics lab doing wind tunnel testing. And I'm a registered engineer with Professional Engineers Ontario.

So my favourite subject in school, besides math, I would say was actually woodshop because it was very hands on. And then so when I was looking at universities, I realized really that I liked the applied portion of it, the hands-on portion, and that's what got me interested in engineering instead of one of the more pure applied sciences like chemistry or physics.

So something that I'm really proud of with my job is seeing the work I've done, that research, become tangible products. It's not some abstract concept. The work I do has direct applications that I'll see products coming to market a year or two later that I've helped work on.

Some advice that I would give to someone who's interested in going into engineering, going into research is in university, use the co-op programs that are available. That work experience is more valuable than getting straight As with no extracurricular experience. Choose a career where it's something you love. If you like math, engineering is a great choice. If you like sciences, go into the sciences. Make sure that whatever you're doing, it's something that you wake up and want to go to work and do that every day.

So now that you know my story, I encourage you to start your story. Choose science.

[Text on screen: #CHOOSESCIENCE]

[Dr. Catherine Clark fades out, #CHOOSESCIENCE text is enlarged with background science graphics]

[ISED signature]

[Canada wordmark]

[Music ends]

Date modified:

Rencontrer Catherine Clark

Catherine Clark est agente de recherche au Centre de recherche en aérospatiale du Conseil national de recherches Canada. Mme Clark y mène des essais en soufflerie, travaille aux programmes de développement des avions et se spécialise dans les systèmes de protection contre le givrage des avions. Elle possède un baccalauréat en génie aérospatial et une maîtrise en sciences appliquées de l'Université Carleton. Elle est aussi ingénieure agréée de l'Ordre des ingénieurs de l'Ontario et possède une licence de pilote privé. #OptezScience

Transcription – Rencontrer Catherine Clark

[Entrée en fondu musical]

[Fondu vers Catherine Clark assise]

[Texte à l'écran :
Dr. Catherine Clark
Agente de recherche,
Conseil national de recherches Canada]

Dr. Catherine Clark : Je m'appelle Catherine Clark. Je suis agente de recherche au Conseil national de recherches Canada. Je travaille plus précisément au laboratoire d'aérodynamique où je mène des essais en souffleries. Je suis également ingénieure agréée auprès de l'Ordre des ingénieurs de l'Ontario.

Je dirais que ma matière préférée à l'école, à part les mathématiques, était la menuiserie puisqu'il s'agissait d'un travail vraiment pratique. Quand est venu le temps de choisir un programme universitaire, je me suis rendu compte que j'aimais la partie pratique et appliquée, et c'est pourquoi je me suis intéressée au génie plutôt qu'à une discipline des sciences pures appliquées, comme la chimie ou la physique.

Dans le cadre de mon travail, je ressens une énorme fierté lorsque je vois mon travail, ma recherche, se traduire en produits tangibles. On ne parle pas ici d'un concept abstrait. Mon travail a des applications directes. Je vois des produits auxquels j'ai travaillé être mis en marché un an ou deux plus tard.

Le conseil que je donnerais à quelqu'un qui souhaite faire carrière en génie ou en recherche serait de participer aux programmes d'enseignement coopératif à l'université. Cette expérience de travail est plus précieuse que l'obtention de bonnes notes sans expérience parascolaire. Choisissez une carrière dans une discipline que vous aimez. Si vous aimez les mathématiques, le génie est un bon choix. Si vous aimez les sciences, dirigez-vous en sciences. Assurez-vous d'avoir envie d'aller au travail chaque jour, peu importe ce que vous faites.

Maintenant que vous connaissez mon parcours, je vous encourage à commencer le vôtre. Optez sciences.

[Texte à l'écran : #OPTEZSCIENCES]

[Dr. Catherine Clark disparaît, le texte #OPTEZSCIENCES est agrandi avec des graphiques de fond]

[Signature d'ISDE]

[Mot-symbole « Canada »]

[Fin de la musique]

Date de modification :