Meet Vicki Tschirhart

Dr. Vicki Tschirhart is a research scientist with the Geological Survey of Canada at Natural Resources Canada. Dr. Tschirhart has been working in the field of geophysics for over 3 years and received her PhD in Applied Geophysics from McMaster University in 2014.

Transcription – Meet Vicki Tschirhart

[Music starts]

[Fade in to Vicki Tschirhart seated]

[Text on screen:
Vicki Tschirhart
Research scientist,
Natural Resources Canada]

Vicki Tschirhart: My name is Vicki Tschirhart, and I'm a research scientist who specializes in applied geophysics with Natural Resources Canada.

I think I've always been a little interested in science. I – when I was five, I got a microscope for Christmas. They – my parents both studied science in university, and my siblings are both scientists, so it's always been pretty fundamental to my family life. My dad was a geography teacher, and during the summers he would take us on cross-Canada road trips where he would point out all the land forms. And I was always fascinated with how things formed and why they were there.

I've had a few mentors since I've gotten involved. Some of the – my first ones were my mother was a scientist, and my PhD supervisors have been helpful. Even my primary supervisor, if I have a question I'll still call him for advice. And since working at NRCan, I've been really fortunate to work with a lot of really fantastic scientists, either from working in the field with them or collaborating with them on projects.

Fundamentally, the thing you're most proud of is when someone appreciates your science. Because it's a – it's an external validation of what you're so passionate and excited about.

The advice I would give to someone getting involved in my field is that you have to stand up for your science. You're – at the end of the day, you're going to be your number one advocate for what you believe in and your scientific ideas. Don't be afraid to speak up and say something, to add it to the conversation, because everyone's going to have a different perspective on things.

Now that you know my story, I encourage you to start your story. Choose science.

[Text on screen: #CHOOSESCIENCE]

[Vicki Tschirhart fades out, #CHOOSESCIENCE text is enlarged with background science graphics]

[ISED signature]

[Canada wordmark]

[Music ends]

Date modified:

Rencontrer Vicki Tschirhart

Vicki Tschirhart est chercheuse scientifique à la Commission géologique du Canada de Ressources naturelles Canada. Elle a obtenu un doctorat en géophysique appliquée de l'Université McMaster en 2014 et travaille dans le domaine de la géophysique depuis plus de trois ans.

Transcription – Rencontrer Vicki Tschirhart

[Ouverture en fondu musical]

[Fondu vers Dr. Vicki Tschirhart assise]

[Texte à l'écran :
Dr. Vicki Tschirhart
Chercheuse scientifique,
Ressources naturelles Canada.]

Dr. Vicki Tschirhart : Je m'appelle Vicki Tschirhart. Je suis chercheuse scientifique spécialisée en géophysique appliquée et je travaille à Ressources naturelles Canada.

Je crois avoir toujours été intéressée par la science. Quand j'avais cinq ans, j'ai reçu un microscope en cadeau à Noël. Mes parents ont tous deux étudié en sciences à l'université, et les autres membres de ma famille sont également des scientifiques. La science a donc toujours fait partie de notre vie familiale. Mon père enseignait la géographie, et l'été il nous emmenait en voiture à travers le Canada et nous faisait remarquer la diversité des paysages. J'ai toujours été fascinée par les formations géologiques et la façon dont elles se sont créées.

Tout au long de mon parcours, j'ai eu quelques mentors, d'abord ma mère, qui était une scientifique, et mes directeurs de thèse de doctorat. Encore aujourd'hui, je peux appeler mon directeur principal si j'ai une question épineuse à régler. Et, depuis que je travaille à RNCan, j'ai le privilège de collaborer avec des scientifiques remarquables, que ce soit sur le terrain ou dans le cadre de projets.

Je suis véritablement très fière lorsque mon travail scientifique est remarqué par un pair, car il s'agit là d'une reconnaissance extérieure de ce qui me passionne, de ce qui me motive.

Le conseil que je donnerais à quelqu'un qui se lance dans mon domaine est qu'il est essentiel de défendre son travail scientifique. Il faut croire en soi et être capable de défendre ses idées scientifiques. Il ne faut pas avoir peur de s'exprimer, de dire ce que l'on pense et de participer aux conversations. Chaque personne a un point de vue différent.

Maintenant que vous connaissez mon parcours, je vous invite à commencer le vôtre. Optez pour les sciences.

[Texte à l'écran : #OPTEZSCIENCES]

[Dr. Vicki Tshirhart disparaît, le texte #OPTEZSCIENCES est agrandi avec des graphiques de fond]

[Signature d'ISDE]

[Mot-symbole « Canada »]

Date de modification :