Diana Wang-Martin-2018 Prime Minister's Awards for Teaching Excellence

Certificate of Excellence Recipient, Glenforest Secondary School, Mississauga, Ontario

Transcription – Diana Wang-Martin-2018 Prime Minister's Awards for Teaching Excellence

[Black screen fades up to close-up of woman in interview setting, against a mottled background. Music playing.]

[Caption: Diana Wang-Martin, Glenforest Secondary School]

[Diana speaking in the interview setting alternates with voice over accompanied by still photos, as follows: Diana sitting with other students at a table speaking and gesturing; and Diana sitting on a desk in a classroom speaking with students looking at a laptop.]

Diana Wang-Martin: Students need to feel engaged to learn, and to feel engaged they need to feel respected and heard. And, they also need to feel that they are part of the classroom. The perfect space for students to learn would be a space surrounded by nature or, at the very least, surrounded by windows with natural lighting. If it’s indoors, it would have a living wall filled with plants that are planted by students. Also, ideally, every student would have access to a laptop and a tablet.

[Diana speaking in interview setting alternates with voice over and still photos, as follows: Diana sitting on a desk in a classroom speaking with students; and Diana sitting at a table, speaking with students over lunch.]

Diana Wang-Martin: Technology can be a tool that can help students learn. When used well, it can accelerate the learning process. It can also level the playing field of students with different abilities. And, at some point in the near future we will be a world that’s completely immersed in artificial intelligence. I feel that educators need to provide students with the opportunities to develop these technological skills, so that they don’t fall behind, and that they can access opportunities that require these technological skills.

[Diana speaking in interview setting, followed by cut to voice over accompanied by still photo of Diana standing at table chatting with student in Google sweatshirt, while other students cross room, and cut back to interview setting to conclude.]

Diana Wang-Martin: Students need to learn not just how to use the technology but how the technology is made. So, for example, not just to use the app but maybe to learn how to make the app, so learning how to code, for example, if really important. Instead of just learning how to use the robot, you learn how to build robots so that, in the future, when our world is filled with robots and artificial intelligence, that they have some control over these AIs.

[Cut to voice over with video of Diana standing beside a podium and speaking into a mic, addressing fellow recipients; still photo of Diana with two female students; Diana holding flowers on a stage with four students. Cut back to Diana speaking in interview setting to conclude.]

Diana Wang-Martin: My biggest advice for pre-service teachers is to be compassionate. Students will walk into your classroom with varying degrees of knowledge, skills and abilities. When you’re compassionate, the compassion will help you to be flexible and creative. Teaching is a profession like no others, and I feel it can be as awesome as you make it out to be. Ultimately, that would mean making a positive impact on our future generation.

[Fade to black.]

[Cut to white screen, with the Government of Canada FIP followed by the Canada Wordmark.]

Date modified:

Diana Wang-Martin-Prix du Premier ministre 2018 pour l'excellence dans l'enseignement

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'excellence, Glenforest Secondary School, Mississauga, Ontario

Transcription – Diana Wang-Martin-Prix du Premier ministre 2018 pour l'excellence dans l'enseignement

[Écran noir s’estompant jusqu’à un gros plan d’une femme en situation d’entrevue sur un fond marbré. Musique de fond.]

[Légende : Diana Wang-Martin, Glenforest Secondary School]

[Diana parlant en situation d’entrevue alterne avec la voix hors champ accompagnée de photos, comme suit : Diana assise à une table avec d’autres élèves parlant et faisant des gestes ; et Diana assise sur un pupitre dans une salle de classe, parlant avec des élèves qui regardent un ordinateur portable.]

Diana Wang Martin : Les élèves ont besoin de se sentir engagés pour apprendre, et pour se sentir engagés, ils ont besoin de se sentir respectés et entendus. Et ils ont aussi besoin de sentir qu’ils font partie de la salle de classe. L’espace idéal pour l’apprentissage des élèves serait un espace entouré par la nature ou, à tout le moins, entouré de fenêtres éclairées par la lumière naturelle. Si c’est à l’intérieur, il y aurait un mur vivant rempli de plantes plantées par les élèves. De plus, idéalement, chaque élève aurait accès à un ordinateur portable et à une tablette.

[Diana parlant en situation d’entrevue alterne avec la voix hors champ et des photos, comme suit : Diana assise sur un pupitre dans une salle de classe parlant avec des élèves ; et Diana assise à une table, parlant avec des élèves pendant le dîner.]

Diana Wang Martin : La technologie peut être un outil qui peut aider les élèves à apprendre. Lorsqu’elle est bien utilisée, elle peut accélérer le processus d’apprentissage. Elle permet également d’uniformiser le terrain de jeu des élèves ayant des capacités différentes. Et, dans un avenir proche, nous serons un monde complètement immergé dans l’intelligence artificielle. J’estime que les éducateurs doivent donner aux élèves l’occasion de développer ces compétences technologiques, afin qu’ils ne prennent pas de retard et qu’ils puissent avoir accès à des occasions qui exigent ces compétences technologiques.

[Diana parlant en situation d’entrevue, suivie d’une transition vers la voix hors champ accompagnée d’une photo de Diana debout à une table, jasant avec un élève en chandail Google, alors que d’autres élèves traversent la pièce, et retour à la situation d’entrevue.]

Diana Wang Martin : Les élèves doivent apprendre non seulement comment utiliser la technologie, mais aussi comment la technologie est fabriquée. Donc, par exemple, pas seulement pour utiliser l’application, mais peut-être pour apprendre à faire l’application, donc apprendre à coder, par exemple, si c’est vraiment important. Au lieu d’apprendre à utiliser le robot, vous apprenez à construire des robots pour qu’à l’avenir, lorsque notre monde sera rempli de robots et d’intelligence artificielle, ils aient un certain contrôle sur ces IA.

[Transition vers la voix hors champ avec une vidéo de Diana debout à côté d’un podium et parlant au micro, s’adressant aux autres lauréates et lauréats ; photo de Diana avec deux élèves ; Diana tenant des fleurs sur une scène avec quatre élèves. Retour sur Diana parlant en situation d’entrevue pour conclure.]

Diana Wang Martin : Mon plus grand conseil pour les enseignants en formation initiale est d’être compatissant. Les élèves entreront dans votre salle de classe avec différents degrés de connaissances, de compétences et d’aptitudes. Lorsque vous êtes compatissant, la compassion vous aidera à être flexible et créatif. L’enseignement est une profession qui ne ressemble à aucune autre, et je pense qu’elle peut être aussi extraordinaire que vous l’imaginez. En fin de compte, cela signifierait avoir un impact positif sur notre génération future.

[Fondu au noir.]

[Changement de plan sur un écran blanc sur lequel apparaît le PCIM du gouvernement du Canada suivi du mot symbole ‘Canada’]

Date de modification :