CRC and City of Ottawa 5G Test Site

The CRC and the City of Ottawa are collaborating on the next generation of wireless: 5G. We have created a test site at Ottawa City Hall where we demonstrate significant 5G advances, and where collaborators can come to help us innovate.

CRC 5G Advances

To keep pace with 5G innovation, we need to use new, higher frequency spectrum known as millimetre waves (mm-waves) for smartphone service. Until recently, it was believed that mm-waves were not suitable for mobile broadband communications. They are easily blocked by obstacles and they do not travel as far as the frequencies used for mobile today. Recently, the CRC has overcome these technical hurdles.

Using specialized equipment, the CRC has demonstrated that mm-waves can be used for mobile. The CRC's research base station and custom-equipped backpack are among the most compact to achieve 5G mobile communications to date, allowing for trials both outdoors and indoors.

To extend coverage, the CRC and its collaborators, the National Research Council of Canada and GGI Solutions, have developed engineered surfaces. Printed patterns in the surfaces redirect wireless signals. These low-cost printed electronics can dramatically increase 5G wireless coverage.

Facts on the CRC's 5G research

Who

The federal government is the steward of spectrum in Canada. Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) is the department that manages the use of spectrum. The Communications Research Centre, which is a part of ISED, provides the department with scientific evidence to ensure sustainable spectrum management.

What

The next generation of wireless, called 5G, will bring much more connectivity, requiring more spectrum in new frequency bands. There is a lot of spectrum at higher frequencies, above 6 GHz, but it poses technical challenges for mobile communications. The CRC's research is working to overcome these challenges.

When

The CRC has been working since 2014 on 5G technology and began demonstrating this technology in 2017. While 5G deployment is expected to start in 2020, the "Internet of Things" is already increasing connectivity. More and more, seamless connectivity will be woven into every aspect of society.

Where

Ottawa City Hall has been identified as a suitable urban location for this testing and demonstration. We also run tests in other environments, such as offices.

Why

As wireless communication and connectivity grow, we risk running out of usable spectrum. As steward of this valuable public resource, the government is working to open up new spectrum to make way for the next generation of wireless technology. The CRC's 5G research will provide access to modern digital infrastructure so Canadians can participate fully in the digital economy.

How

  • Frequency, antenna and bandwidth
    For 5G, we are looking at frequencies above 6 GHz, where there is a lot of spectrum available. The frequency band we are currently using at Ottawa City Hall is 28 GHz. The bandwidth for the 28 GHz band is about 1 GHz. We are currently using several different antennas for the demo, including omnidirectional antennas for the backpack, and both wide-beam and narrow-beam antennas at the base station.
  • Engineered surfaces
    Engineered surfaces are sheets of thin plastic printed with metallic ink, designed to capture radio frequencies and redirect them. They were designed as part of the Printed Electronics Consortium with the National Research Council. The Canadian company, GGI Solutions, prints the surfaces at their Montreal plant. Engineered surfaces act as specialized reflectors designed to redirect radio signals to areas that are not covered. They can be embedded into materials used inside (e.g., window blinds) and outside (e.g., billboard signs) to extend wireless coverage more cost effectively than adding numerous base stations.
  • What about health concerns?
    Engineered surfaces do not create additional power but redistribute existing power radiated from a base station or mobile unit transceivers. The CRC research team operates these transceivers in full compliance with Health Canada regulations.
The Launch: CRC and City of Ottawa 5G Test Site

On November 24, 2017, the Honourable Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development, officially launched the CRC and City of Ottawa 5G Test Site.

5G wireless networks will pave the way for the future. Everything from smart cities to self-driving cars and even virtual reality education. In partnership with the City of Ottawa, the CRC has built an outdoor 5G test site at City Hall to show that 5G mobile devices can communicate using millimetre waves and how to increase 5G coverage without adding transmitters.

"This is the future! 5G will impact every aspect of society. It will allow billions of devices to connect better and faster. This will lead to new, innovative applications of wireless technologies. The test site will help to advance Canada's competitive advantage in 5G by giving innovators the ability to use the facility and showcase 5G wireless applications in Ottawa. I encourage companies from across Canada and from across the world to come and participate in Ottawa's 5G innovation eco-system."

The Honourable Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

"The City of Ottawa is proud to partner with the Government of Canada's Communications Research Centre on the 5G test site at City Hall. Together, we are facilitating innovation, growing our knowledge-based economy and advancing connectivity for future generations. As a leader in Smart City initiatives, Ottawa is the clear choice for companies looking to develop 5G-enabled innovations."

Jim Watson, City of Ottawa Mayor
Outdoor 5G test site at Ottawa City Hall

Outdoor 5G test site at Ottawa City Hall

Watch our short video to learn about this world-leading research and outdoor demonstration.

By redirecting the wireless signals off engineered surfaces, we are able to increase 5G coverage without adding transmitters.

By redirecting the wireless signals off engineered surfaces, we are able to increase 5G coverage without adding transmitters.

Date modified:

Site d'essai du 5G du CRC et de la Ville d'Ottawa

Le CRC collabore avec la Ville d'Ottawa à un projet portant sur la prochaine génération de services sans fil : le 5G. Il a mis sur pied un site d'essai pour faire la démonstration d'importantes percées dans le domaine du 5G à l'Hôtel de ville d'Ottawa, où des collaborateurs peuvent lui venir en aide pour innover.

Percées du CRC dans le domaine du 5G

Pour demeurer à la fine pointe de l'innovation dans le domaine du 5G, il faut tirer parti de nouvelles bandes de fréquences plus élevées du spectre, à savoir les ondes millimétriques (OMM), pour les services destinés aux téléphones intelligents. Tout récemment encore, on croyait que les OMM ne se prêtaient pas aux communications mobiles à large bande, car elles sont facilement bloquées par des obstacles et ne parcourent pas d'aussi grandes distances que les fréquences utilisées de nos jours pour les communications mobiles. Dernièrement, le CRC a surmonté ces obstacles techniques.

À l'aide de matériel spécialisé, le CRC a démontré que les OMM pouvaient servir aux communications mobiles. La station de base de recherche et le sac à dos contenant de l'équipement spécialisé sont actuellement au nombre de ce qu'il y a de plus compact pour assurer les communications mobiles 5G et ils permettent d'effectuer des essais à l'extérieur comme à l'intérieur.

Pour accroître la couverture des services sans fil, le CRC et ses collaborateurs, le Conseil national de recherches du Canada et GGI Solutions, ont mis au point des surfaces usinées. Les motifs imprimés sur ces surfaces redirigent les signaux sans fil. Ces produits d'électronique imprimable à coût modique permettent d'accroître considérablement la couverture sans fil 5G.

Les faits sur les recherches du CRC portant sur le 5G

Qui

Le gouvernement fédéral est responsable de la gestion du spectre au Canada. Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) est le ministère qui gère l'utilisation du spectre. Le Centre de recherches sur les communications, qui fait partie d'ISDE, fournit au Ministère les preuves scientifiques permettant d'assurer la gestion durable du spectre.

Quoi

La prochaine génération de sans-fil, à savoir le 5G, se traduira par une connectivité nettement accrue, ce qui nécessitera davantage de spectre dans de nouvelles bandes de fréquences. Il y a beaucoup de spectre à exploiter dans les bandes de fréquences plus élevées, supérieures à 6 GHz, mais il y a des obstacles techniques à surmonter pour les communications mobiles. Les recherches du CRC visent donc à surmonter ces obstacles.

Quand

Le CRC travaille depuis 2014 à la technologie 5G et a commencé à faire la démonstration de cette technologie en 2017. On prévoit que le déploiement du 5G débutera en 2020, mais « l'Internet des objets » commence déjà à accroître la connectivité. De plus en plus, la connectivité fluide fera partie intégrante de chaque aspect de la société.

L'Hôtel de ville d'Ottawa a été reconnu comme un endroit approprié pour ces essais et activités de démonstration. Le CRC mène également des essais dans d'autres milieux, comme des immeubles de bureaux.

Pourquoi

En raison de l'accroissement des communications sans fil et de la connectivité, nous sommes exposés à une pénurie de spectre utilisable. À titre de gestionnaire de cette précieuse ressource publique, le gouvernement cherche à tirer parti de nouvelles bandes du spectre pour ouvrir la voie à la prochaine génération de technologie sans fil. Les recherches du CRC sur le 5G donneront accès à une infrastructure numérique moderne, permettant aux Canadiens de participer pleinement à l'économie numérique.

Comment

  • Fréquences, antennes et largeur de bande
    Pour le 5G, le CRC envisage les fréquences supérieures à 6 GHz, où il y a beaucoup de spectre disponible. La bande de fréquence utilisée présentement à l'Hôtel de ville d'Ottawa est celle de 28 GHz. La largeur de bande de la bande de 28 GHz est d'environ 1 GHz. Le CRC utilise actuellement plusieurs antennes différentes pour la démonstration, y compris des antennes omnidirectionnelles pour le sac à dos de même que des antennes à large faisceau et des antennes à faisceau étroit à la station de base.
  • Surfaces usinées
    Les surfaces usinées sont des feuilles de plastique mince, imprimées avec de l'encre métallique conçue pour capter les radiofréquences et les rediriger. Leur conception est le résultat d'une collaboration avec le Consortium de l'électronique imprimable du Conseil national de recherches du Canada. Une entreprise canadienne, GGI Solutions, imprime les surfaces à son usine de Montréal. Les surfaces usinées agissent comme des réflecteurs spécialisés conçus pour rediriger les signaux radioélectriques vers les zones non couvertes par les réseaux. Elles peuvent être intégrées aux matériaux utilisés à l'intérieur (p. ex. stores de fenêtres) et à l'extérieur (p. ex. panneaux d'affichage) pour étendre la couverture sans fil à un coût moindre comparativement à la multiplication de stations de base.
  • Et question santé?
    Les surfaces usinées ne produisent pas de puissance supplémentaire, mais redistribuent la puissance rayonnée à partir de la station de base ou des unités mobiles d'émetteurs-récepteurs. L'utilisation de ces émetteurs-récepteurs par l'équipe de recherche du CRC est entièrement conforme aux lignes directrices de Santé Canada.
Le lancement : Site d'essai du 5G du CRC et de la Ville d'Ottawa

Le 24 novembre 2017, le ministre de l'Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique, l'honorable Navdeep Bains, a officiellement lancé le site d'essai du 5G du CRC et de la Ville d'Ottawa.

Les réseaux sans fil 5G paveront la voie de l'avenir dans tous les domaines; des villes intelligentes aux voitures autonomes, en passant par l'éducation grâce à la réalité virtuelle. En partenariat avec la Ville d'Ottawa, le CRC a construit un site extérieur d'essai du 5G à l'Hôtel de ville pour montrer que les appareils mobiles 5G peuvent communiquer à l'aide des ondes millimétriques et comment accroître la couverture 5G sans ajouter d'émetteurs. Regardez notre courte vidéo pour en apprendre davantage sur cette recherche de pointe et sa démonstration en plein air.

« Voilà l'avenir! Le 5G touchera la société dans son ensemble. Il permettra à des milliards d'appareils de se brancher mieux et beaucoup plus vite, ce qui mènera à la mise au point d'applications novatrices pour les technologies sans fil. Le site d'essai permettra d'accroître l'avantage concurrentiel du Canada dans le domaine du 5G, car les innovateurs pourront utiliser les installations et présenter des applications 5G sans fil à Ottawa. J'incite les entreprises de tout le Canada et du monde entier à venir à Ottawa et à faire partie de l'écosystème de l'innovation en technologie 5G. »

Le ministre de l'Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique, l'honorable Navdeep Bains

« La Ville d'Ottawa est fière de s'associer au Centre de recherches sur les communications du gouvernement du Canada pour le projet de banc d'essai du 5G à l'hôtel de ville. Ensemble, nous favoriserons l'innovation, le développement de l'économie du savoir et une meilleure connectivité pour les générations à venir. Chef de file en matière de ville intelligente, Ottawa est un endroit de choix pour les entreprises désireuses d'innover dans le domaine du 5G. »

Le maire de la Ville d'Ottawa, Jim Watson
Site extérieur d'essai du 5G à l'Hôtel de ville d'Ottawa

Site extérieur d'essai du 5G à l'Hôtel de ville d'Ottawa. Regardez notre courte vidéo pour en apprendre davantage sur cette recherche de pointe et sa démonstration en plein air.

En redirigeant les signaux sans-fil frappant ces surfaces, nous sommes en mesure d'augmenter la couverture 5G sans ajouter de transmetteurs.

En redirigeant les signaux sans-fil à partir des surfaces usinées, nous sommes en mesure d'accroître la couverture 5G sans ajouter d'émetteurs.

Date de modification :