Research

CRC's Research Priorities

Grand Challenge

Grand Challenge R&D is characterized by project outputs and outcomes that, cumulatively, result in a technology demonstration of a strategic capability, or an innovative proof-of-concept that fundamentally impacts Canada's direction in spectrum management and use.

Grand Challenge R&D is also strengthened by strategic collaborations. CRC will be seeking such partnerships as its three Grand Challenges mature.

Direct client support

CRC's direct client support R&D assists in resolving critical wireless communications issues of Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's Spectrum and Telecommunications Sector (STS), and issues faced by other government clients that depend strategically on spectrum for their operational issues. CRC researchers collaborate with STS colleagues and clients from the federal family to first identify issues. These may be policy-based, regulatory, standards-based or operational. CRC then turns to solving the problem. A technical fix, for example, could solve an operational issue, while in-depth research results could be needed to make an informed decision on a policy or regulatory issue.

Wireless technology foresight

CRC's wireless technology foresighting function provides insight to government, to ensure awareness of ongoing and emerging trends and issues. Foresighting collects information from a variety of sources, both internal and external. External sources include scientific and technical sources, as well as market sources, both domestic and international. Internally, the team draws from results generated through current CRC research projects, and from the expertise of scientific staff. As CRC grows its foresighting function, collaborators will become invaluable sources of input.

CRC's expertise and collaborations

Expertise

The CRC is a client-driven, applied research centre with expertise extending from wireless technologies, to applications and performance. Teams of experts from across the organization assemble to address research priorities.

Wireless technologies:

  • network technologies;
  • propagation and antennas;
  • information processing.

Applications and performance:

  • performance evaluation;
  • radio technologies;
  • network applications.

The CRC's Chief Technology Office is home to additional, cross-cutting expertise and systems knowledge that serves to advance over-arching R&D priorities.

Doing business with CRC

The CRC leverages research capacity by working with academia, industry, research labs and institutes through one-on-one partnerships, or consortia collaborations. The CRC also fuels innovation by providing access to our intellectual property portfolio of patents and copyrighted software.

R&D collaboration

The CRC collaborates on R&D projects to complement our skills and knowledge, and to advance our Grand Challenges. By collaborating with the CRC, partners may gain access to:

  • a world-class research facility to undertake research into spectrum and next-generation wireless networks
  • internationally recognized scientists, whose expertise can be invaluable to partners, including academics who are training the next generation of experts
  • the CRC's intellectual property portfolio, which can facilitate faster product development and release.

To illustrate, the CRC has collaborated with industry partners and R&D labs to:

  • Develop dynamic spectrum management solutions
  • Further research on millimetre-wave propagation measurements and modelling
  • Enhance designs of 5G arrays in support of the fifth generation of broadband wireless communication technologies
  • Optimize antenna design more generally
  • Enhance spectrum monitoring for CRC's Spectrum Explorer® licensed software
  • Advance printed electronics and engineered surfaces

Similarly, the CRC has collaborated with universities to:

  • Develop new methods and techniques to collect, process and exploit spectrum knowledge using big data analytics, data fusion, machine learning and artificial intelligence
  • Conduct research in 5G, including research on millimetre-wave propagation measurements and modelling
  • Investigate advanced design techniques for reflect-array antennas
Access to CRC technology

Through our advanced research, the CRC has developed a wealth of intellectual property that is available for uptake, including licensable software, patents, data, and technical know-how.  Depending on the technology, access may be on a fee and royalty basis, or on a free open-source basis.

A search by owner in the database of the Canadian Intellectual Property Office or by assignee name in that of the United States Patent and Trademark Office will show the patents currently available from the Communications Research Centre.


Collaborations in 5G

If your company has expertise in 5G, either in networking or applications development, contact the CRC about collaborating and using the CRC-City of Ottawa test site.

Research facilities

CRC and City of Ottawa 5G Test Site

In partnership with the City of Ottawa, the CRC has built an outdoor 5G test site at City Hall to show that 5G mobile devices can communicate using millimetre waves and how to increase 5G coverage without adding transmitters.

Big Data Analytics Centre (BDAC)

Using big data analytics, cloud computing, crowdsourced information, data fusion and state-of-the-art visualization, the Centre enables researchers to work with big data in ways that were previously not possible to support sustainable spectrum management.

Date modified:

Recherche

Priorités de recherche de CRC

Les grands défis

La R-D axée sur les grands défis a trait aux produits et aux résultats de projets qui, cumulativement, entraînent la démonstration technologique d'une capacité stratégique ou la démonstration du bien-fondé d'un concept novateur qui a une profonde incidence sur la façon dont le Canada gère ou utilise le spectre.

La R-D axée sur les grands défis bénéficiera également de collaborations stratégiques. Le CRC sera à l'affût de tels partenariats en continuant de relever ses trois grands défis.

Soutien direct aux clients en R-D

En offrant un soutien direct aux clients en R-D, le CRC aide le Secteur du spectre et des télécommunications (SST) d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada à faire face aux enjeux d'une importance cruciale en matière de communications sans fil. Il cherche également à trouver des solutions aux problèmes d'autres clients gouvernementaux qui dépendent stratégiquement du spectre pour assurer la bonne marche de leurs activités. La collaboration des chercheurs du CRC avec leurs collègues du SST et les clients de la communauté fédérale vise en premier lieu à cerner les enjeux, qu'ils aient trait aux politiques, à la réglementation, aux normes ou au fonctionnement. Dans un deuxième temps, le CRC cherche à trouver une solution. Par exemple, une solution technique pourrait servir à résoudre un problème de fonctionnement, alors qu'il faudrait se fonder sur les résultats d'études approfondies pour prendre une décision avisée d'ordre stratégique ou réglementaire.

Prospective des technologies sans fil

Les activités de prospective S-T des communications sans fil du CRC visent à renseigner le gouvernement, pour le maintenir au courant des tendances et des enjeux courants et émergents dans ce domaine. L'information recueillie dans le cadre des activités de prospective provient de sources diverses, tant internes qu'externes. Parmi les sources externes d'information, mentionnons les sources scientifiques et techniques, de même que celles sur les marchés, tant intérieures qu'internationales. Font partie des sources internes l'information qui se dégage des résultats des projets de recherche en cours du CRC de même que le savoir-faire de son personnel scientifique. Au fur et à mesure que les activités de prospective du CRC évoluent, les collaborateurs deviendront également d'autres sources précieuses de données.

Expertise et collaborations

Expertise

Le CRC, un centre de recherche appliquée à l'écoute de ses clients, est spécialisé dans des domaines allant des technologies sans fil, aux applications et à la performance. Les équipes de spécialistes de l'organisme entier conjuguent leurs efforts pour donner suite aux priorités de recherche.

Technologies sans fil :

  • technologies de réseaux;
  • propagation et antennes;
  • traitement de l'information.

Applications et performance :

  • évaluation de la performance;
  • technologies radio;
  • applications de réseaux.

Le Bureau chef de la technologie du CRC compte à son actif d'autres types d'expertises et de connaissances transversales de systèmes qui contribuent à faire progresser les principaux domaines prioritaires de R-D.

Faire affaire avec le CRC

Le CRC tire pleinement parti de sa capacité de recherche en formant des partenariats individuels ou des consortiums avec le milieu universitaire et l'industrie ainsi qu'avec les laboratoires et les instituts de recherche. Le CRC stimule également l'innovation en donnant accès aux licences d'exploitation de brevets et de logiciels qui sont protégés par le droit d'auteur de son portefeuille de propriété intellectuelle.

Collaboration en R-D

Le CRC collabore à des projets de R-D complémentaires à ses compétences et connaissances qui l'aident à surmonter les grands défis qu'il s'est fixés. La collaboration avec le CRC permet à ses partenaires d'avoir accès :

  • à un établissement de recherche de calibre mondial, pour entreprendre des recherches sur le spectre et les réseaux sans fil de la prochaine génération;
  • à des scientifiques de renommée internationale qui mettent leur inestimable expertise au service des partenaires, y compris des universitaires assurant la formation de la prochaine génération de spécialistes;
  • au portefeuille de propriété intellectuelle du CRC, pour ainsi accélérer le développement et le lancement de produits.

À titre d'exemples, le CRC a collaboré avec ses partenaires de l'industrie et des laboratoires de R-D pour :

  • mettre au point des solutions de gestion dynamique du spectre;
  • poursuivre les recherches sur la mesure et la modélisation de la propagation des ondes millimétriques;
  • améliorer la conception d'antennes réseau 5G pour le développement de technologies de communication sans fil à large bande de cinquième génération;
  • optimiser globalement la conception d'antennes;
  • améliorer la surveillance du spectre pour le logiciel sous licence Spectrum Explorermd du CRC;
  • faire progresser l'électronique imprimée et les surfaces usinées.

Par ailleurs, le CRC a collaboré avec des universités pour :

  • développer de nouvelles méthodes et techniques de collecte, de traitement et d'exploitation de données sur le spectre à l'aide de l'analyse de mégadonnées, de la fusion de données, de l'apprentissage machine et de l'intelligence artificielle;
  • mener des recherches sur le 5G, entre autres sur la mesure et la modélisation de la propagation des ondes millimétriques;
  • étudier les techniques de conception avancée pour les antennes réseau à réflexion.
Accès à la technologie du CRC

Grâce à ses travaux de recherche de pointe, le CRC dispose d'une riche propriété intellectuelle qui peut être mise à profit, y compris des logiciels à exploiter sous licence, des brevets, des données et un savoir-faire technique. Il est possible d'y avoir accès en contrepartie de frais et de redevances ou en régime libre, selon la nature de la technologie.

Pour connaître les brevets actuellement offerts par le CRC, veuillez faire une recherche par titulaire de brevet dans la base de données de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada ou par nom du cessionnaire dans celle du United States Patent and Trademark Office. (anglais seulement)


Collaborer au 5G

Si votre entreprise est spécialisée dans le domaine du 5G, aussi bien pour le développement de réseaux que d'applications, veuillez communiquer avec le CRC pour lui faire part de votre intention de collaborer au site d'essai CRC-Ville d'Ottawa et de l'utiliser.

Installations de recherche

Site d'essai du 5G du CRC et de la Ville d'Ottawa

En partenariat avec la Ville d’Ottawa, le CRC a construit un site extérieur d’essai du 5G à l’Hôtel de ville pour montrer que les appareils mobiles 5G peuvent communiquer à l’aide des ondes millimétriques et comment accroître la couverture 5G sans ajouter d’émetteurs. Regardez notre courte vidéo pour en apprendre davantage sur cette recherche de pointe et sa démonstration en plein air.

Centre d'analyse de mégadonnées (CAM)

Le Centre est une nouvelle installation de recherche où le CRC utilise les mégadonnées dans le cadre de sa recherche de pointe sur le spectre. Les capacités de visualisation à la fine pointe des données permettent au CRC d'afficher et d'analyser en temps réel l'utilisation du spectre

Date de modification :