Canada's Key Industrial Capabilities

The introduction of Key Industrial Capabilities (KICs) will ensure that defence procurements can better drive innovation, exports and the growth of firms through the Industrial and Technological Benefits (ITB) Policy.

Under the current ITB Policy, winning bidders on defence and major Canadian Coast Guard procurements must undertake an amount of economic activity in Canada that is equivalent to the value of the contract. In addition to building the product or providing a service in Canada, this obligation can also be met by investing in research & development and skills development in Canada as well as purchasing goods and services from Canadian suppliers.

In order to ensure that more of these investments continue to support the development of a globally-competitive defence and security sector, the Government of Canada has identified 16 KICs (see the full definitions below).  The KICs represent areas of emerging technology with the potential for rapid growth and significant opportunities, established capabilities where Canada is globally competitive, and areas where domestic capacity is essential to national security.  KICs are defined as the skills, technologies, and supply chains required to support the growth of these capabilities. They are broader than the companies associated with the end solution; they include the post-secondary institutions that develop skills and research, the SMEs that form part of the value chain, and intellectual property that is developed in Canada.  

These 16 capabilities were identified following a series of consultations with over 300 industry and academic stakeholders and have been developed to align with Canada’s defence policy, Strong Secure, Engaged and the Innovation and Skills Plan:

Emerging Technologies

  • Advanced Materials
  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Cyber Resilience
  • Remotely-piloted Systems and Autonomous Technologies
  • Space Systems

Leading Competencies and Critical Industrial Services

  • Aerospace Systems and Components
  • Armour
  • Defence Systems Integration
  • Electro-Optical / Infrared (EO/IR) Systems
  • Ground Vehicle Solutions
  • In-Service Support
  • Marine Ship-Borne Mission and Platform Systems
  • Munitions
  • Shipbuilding, Design and Engineering Services
  • Sonar and Acoustic Systems
  • Training and Simulation

Future defence and major Canadian Coast Guard procurements will, where appropriate, motivate industry through the ITB Policy to make investments across the supply chain in these key industrial capabilities. This will mean increased opportunities for Canadian Small and Medium-sized Enterprises (SMEs) in areas expected to drive job growth into the future, and increased private sector investments in innovative research and development including through, partnerships with Canada’s post-secondary institutions. 

The adoption of KICs was first recommended in the 2013 report, Canada First: Leveraging Defence Procurement Through Key Industrial Capabilities as a driving and enabling force to fully leverage the economic opportunities for Canadians as a result of an unprecedented level of planned defence spending.

KICs will evolve over time to reflect technological advances and changing defence requirements, and the list will be reviewed and updated on a regular basis.

Definitions

Emerging Technologies
Advanced Materials
Includes a range of materials and related production processes that yield significant advances in operational capability and/or cost-efficiency of equipment used in military operations. These advances include reduced weight, increased strength and resilience, lower observability, and other attributes. The materials envisioned span a wide range of technologies, including (but not limited to) composite structures (includes aerostructures), textiles, metals, plastics, ceramics, and advanced feedstocks for additive manufacturing. The related production processes used in generating the materials include additive manufacturing, 3-D printing, advanced machining, and others. The materials have broad application across military aerospace, land, marine and space domains, as well as in commercial sectors.
Artificial Intelligence
Artificial Intelligence (AI) spans a range of technologies that allow machines to execute tasks that normally require human intelligence, such as pattern and speech recognition, translation, visual perception, and decision-making. AI develops or draws on disciplines such as search and mathematical optimization, machine learning, deep learning, self-learning, and neural networks. AI can reduce operator workload and automate easily repeatable tasks that otherwise require significant human involvement. AI promises enhanced efficiency in the use of trained personnel, less exposure of humans to dangerous environments, and more rapid responses to changes in the military operating environment. It can also permit the analysis of large volumes of data in support of intelligence analysis, mission planning and rehearsal, logistics and business management, cyber security and resilience, and many other activities. AI is relevant across a broad set of both defence and non-defence domains.
Cyber Resilience
Cyber resilience spans every element of the domestic commercial, civil and national security sectors and addresses the vulnerabilities created by the expansion of information technology and the knowledge economy.  Activities in this segment include design, integration and implementation of solutions that secure information and communications networks. These and other technologies should focus on achieving effective development of the following cyber capabilities:
Information security
The practice of defending electronic and digital data and information from unauthorized access/intrusion, use, disclosure, disruption, modification, perusal, inspection, recording or destruction;
IT security
Secure content and threat management (endpoint, messaging, network, web, cloud), security, vulnerability and risk management, identity and access management and other products (e.g. encryption/tokenization toolkits and security product verification testing), and education, training services and situational awareness;
Operational technology (OT) security
Monitoring, measuring and protecting industrial automation, industrial process control and related systems.  Cyber resilience may involve the development of tools and the integration of systems and processes that permit hardening of tactical systems or broader networks, encryption, cyber forensics, incident response, and others.  Capabilities developed in this domain may increasingly draw on AI as an enabling technology; for example, networks may autonomously and dynamically defend against intrusions and repair themselves if disrupted.
Remotely-piloted Systems and Autonomous Technologies
These are platforms and systems which make use of autonomous machine operations, including whole unmanned aerial, marine, or ground vehicle systems, and employ AI technologies to enable increasingly autonomous operations in both the military and commercial domains. These technologies rely on various forms of artificial intelligence, including (but not limited to) machine learning, self-learning, and neural networks, in order to increase operational speed or duration, reduce operator exposure to dangerous environments, and enhance overall mission effectiveness.
Space Systems includes both
Earth Observation Software Applications
Software and value-added services leveraging terrestrial satellite imagery and geospatial information. These solutions may be developed for a variety of applications, including navigation, surveillance and intelligence gathering, mapping, climate observation, or other military or civil purposes. These solutions may increasingly draw on capabilities contained in the AI domain to autonomously process data and execute preliminary analysis.
Satellite Systems
Design and manufacture of a wide array of satellite and other spacecraft sub-systems encompassing both space and ground segments. These include (but are not limited to) satellite buses, communications or imagery payloads, propulsion and power systems. Critically, this category also spans the ground control infrastructure needed to operate satellites and manage the data they produce.
Leading Competencies and Critical Industrial Services
Aerospace Systems and Components
Design, fabrication, assembly, and integration of aircraft structural elements, control surfaces, systems, sub-systems, parts and components of manned aerial platforms, and complete manned aerial platforms. This includes the following systems and components: landing gear (e.g. wheels, shock absorbers and related parts for the retraction and extension of aircraft landing gear, helicopter pontoons); flight control actuators; avionics; and propulsion and power systems for military aircraft (e.g. aircraft gas turbine engines, compressors, fuel systems).
Armour
Metal, ceramic, composite, or other material solutions used for both vehicle and individual soldier protection. This includes both the development and manufacture of underlying materials, and the design and manufacture of armour solutions for specific military, security, and law enforcement applications.
Defence Systems Integration
Design and integration of complex military systems that hinge on the seamless linking together of multiple sub-systems to yield an effective operational capability. These capabilities span various military platforms and enable the operation and management of weapons, defensive systems, command and control systems, sensors, decision support systems, electronic warfare devices and a platform's core sub-systems in a tightly coordinated fashion essential under highly stressing combat conditions. These systems need to present information to their operators stemming from multiple sources in a manner that is understandable, secure, and supports decision-making in a complex environment. This definition does not include the various constituent systems (e.g., missile launching systems, radars, electronic warfare systems) that the work of defence systems integration aims to combine into a cohesive whole.  Rather, the definition focuses on the skills and other capabilities needed to perform the integration work, and to create the user interface that is needed in such complex mission systems.
Electro-Optical / Infrared (EO/IR) Systems
Design, manufacture and integration of electro-optical and infrared systems for surveillance, reconnaissance, night vision, and targeting. This category also includes components and assemblies that significantly drive system capability, as well as software that enhances system performance or contributes to superior exploitation of collected sensor information. Applications for these systems are either military or civil, and feature in multiple media, including airborne platforms, satellites, ground vehicles, ships and submarines, or in fixed infrastructure.
Ground Vehicle Solutions
Design, engineering, advanced manufacturing, integration, and testing of sophisticated combat and combat support vehicles.
In-Service Support
This represents a set of capabilities needed to operate and sustain a range of military platforms and systems operating in all domains across their lifespans. In this context, the phrase "operate and sustain" includes a wide array of activities, including maintenance, repair and overhaul; diagnostic, prognostic and health management; spares and supply chain management; configuration management; system and software modification and upgrade for both capability enhancement and life extension; and overall product support integration (PSI).
Marine Ship-Borne Mission and Platform Systems
Design, engineering, development, manufacturing, testing and evaluation services related to:
  • Marine Vessel Mission/Combat Systems including command, control, and communications; data link; replenishment at sea; combat management systems; integrated navigation systems; countermeasures; and helicopter haul-down and rapid securing devices.
  • Platform Systems including bridge and platform management systems; propulsion, battle damage and machinery control systems, climate control/ventilation (HVAC) systems; and electrical systems.
Munitions
This is defined as encompassing the full range of activities covered in Canada`s Munitions Supply Program (MSP).
Shipbuilding, Design and Engineering Services
This spans the range of capabilities required to build, integrate, and sustain naval and other marine vessels. This includes engineering and process management capabilities crucial to shipbuilding and integration.
Sonar and Acoustic Systems
This includes the design, manufacture and integration of sonar and/or acoustic systems used for navigation, surveillance, fire control, survey, scientific and other purposes, both military and civil. This spans both the "dry side" signal processing and system management capabilities, and the "wet side" sensor arrays.
Training and Simulation
End-to-end training and simulation capabilities that span the full breadth of live, virtual and constructive training solutions. These include simulator design, manufacture, integration and modification, training courseware development, design and integration of targets and training aids, and the provision of live, virtual, and classroom-based training services.
Date modified:

Capacités industrielles clés du Canada

L'adoption de capacités industrielles clés (CIC) permettra de faire en sorte que les approvisionnements en matière de défense favorisent mieux l'innovation, les exportations et la croissance des entreprises dans le cadre de la Politique sur les retombées industrielles et technologiques (RIT).

Selon l'actuelle Politique des RIT, les soumissionnaires retenus pour les approvisionnements en matière de défense et les approvisionnements importants de la Garde côtière canadienne doivent réaliser un certain nombre d'activités économiques au Canada dont la valeur est équivalente à celle du marché. Pour respecter cette obligation, ils peuvent fabriquer un produit ou fournir un service au Canada, investir dans la recherche et développement et le développement des compétences au Canada ou se procurer des biens ou des services auprès de fournisseurs canadiens.

Pour faire en sorte qu'un plus grand nombre de ces investissements continuent à soutenir le développement d'un secteur de la défense et de la sécurité qui est concurrentiel à l'échelle mondiale, le gouvernement du Canada a défini 16 CIC (voir les définitions complètes ci-dessous). Ces CIC sont liées à des domaines de technologies émergentes qui présentent un potentiel de croissance rapide et des débouchés importants, à des capacités établies par rapport auxquelles le Canada est concurrentiel à l'échelle mondiale et à des domaines où la capacité nationale est essentielle à la sécurité du pays. Les CIC sont les compétences, les technologies et les chaînes d'approvisionnement requises pour soutenir la croissance de ces capacités. Elles sont plus vastes que les entreprises associées à la solution finale; elles englobent les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire qui perfectionnent les compétences et les recherches, les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) qui font partie de la chaîne de valeur et la propriété intellectuelle qui est créée au Canada. 

Les 16 CIC ont été établies à la suite d'une série de consultations menées auprès de plus de 300 intervenants de l'industrie et du milieu universitaire, et elles ont été conçues pour cadrer avec la politique en matière de défense du Canada (Protection, Sécurité, Engagement) et le Plan pour l'innovation et les compétences.

Technologies émergentes

  • Matériaux de pointe
  • Intelligence artificielle
  • Cyberrésilience
  • Systèmes télépilotés et technologies autonomes
  • Systèmes spatiaux

Principales compétences et services industriels essentiels

  • Systèmes et composantes aérospatiaux
  • Blindage
  • Intégration des systèmes de défense
  • Systèmes électro-optiques/infrarouges
  • Solutions en matière de véhicules terrestres
  • Soutien en service
  • Systèmes de mission et systèmes de plateformes navales
  • Munitions
  • Services de construction navale, de conception et d'ingénierie
  • Sonars et systèmes acoustiques
  • Formation et simulation

Dans l'avenir, la Politique des RIT motivera l'industrie à faire des investissements liés à ces CIC d'un bout à l'autre de la chaîne d'approvisionnement dans le cadre des approvisionnements en matière de défense et des approvisionnements importants de la Garde côtière canadienne, le cas échéant. Cela donnera lieu à un plus grand nombre de débouchés pour les PME canadiennes dans des domaines qui devraient favoriser la croissance de l'emploi ainsi qu'à des investissements accrus du secteur privé dans les activités de recherche et développement novatrices notamment grâce à des partenariats avec des établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire du Canada. 

L'adoption des CIC a été recommandée pour la première fois dans le rapport Le Canada d'abord – Exploiter l'approvisionnement militaire en s'appuyant sur les capacités industrielles clés (2013) afin de servir de force motrice et habilitante pour exploiter pleinement les possibilités économiques offertes aux Canadiens par les dépenses en matière de défense sans précédent qui sont prévues.

Les CIC évolueront au fil du temps en fonction des avancées technologiques et des nouvelles exigences en matière de défense, et la liste sera examinée et actualisée régulièrement.

Définitions

Technologies émergentes
Matériaux de pointe
Englobe un éventail de matériaux et de processus de production connexes qui améliorent considérablement les capacités opérationnelles et/ou qui réduisent le coût du matériel exploité dans le cadre d'opérations militaires. Les améliorations consistent entre autres en une réduction du poids, une plus grande robustesse et une résistance accrue, une observabilité réduite. Les matériaux envisagés touchent bon nombre de technologies, notamment les structures en matériaux composites (y compris les aérostructures), les textiles, les métaux, les plastiques, les céramiques et les matières premières de pointe destinées à la fabrication additive. Les processus de production connexes pour produire les matériaux comprennent la fabrication additive, l'impression tridimensionnelle (3-D) et l'usinage de pointe, entre autres. Ces matériaux permettent de nombreuses applications dans les secteurs militaires aérospatiaux, terrestres, naval et spatiaux, ainsi que dans des secteurs commerciaux.
Intelligence artificielle
L'intelligence artificielle, ou IA, couvre un éventail de technologies qui permettent à des machines de réaliser des tâches qui nécessitent habituellement l'intelligence humaine, telles que la reconnaissance des formes et de la parole, la traduction, la perception visuelle et la prise de décisions. L'IA s'appuie sur diverses disciplines, comme les algorithmes de recherche et l'optimisation mathématique, l'apprentissage machine, l'apprentissage approfondi, l'autoapprentissage et les réseaux neuronaux, en plus d'étendre les connaissances qui s'y rattachent. Elle allège la charge de travail des utilisateurs et automatise les tâches facilement répétables où ils doivent intervenir. L'IA permet d'envisager un meilleur rendement du personnel formé, de soustraire celui-ci à des environnements dangereux et de s'adapter plus rapidement aux changements dans l'environnement opérationnel militaire. Elle simplifie également de nombreuses activités, telles que l'analyse de quantités massives de données à l'appui du renseignement, de la planification des missions, de l'entraînement connexe, de la logistique, de la gestion opérationnelle, de la cybersécurité et de la cyberrésilience. L'intelligence artificielle a sa place dans de nombreux domaines liés à la défense et d`autres secteurs.
Cyberrésilience
La cyberrésilience couvre tous les aspects des secteurs de la sécurité nationale, civile et commerciale et pallie les vulnérabilités créées par l'expansion de la technologie de l'information et de l'économie du savoir. La cyberrésilience comporte des activités de conception, d'intégration et de mise en œuvre de solutions technologiques qui protègent l'information et les réseaux de communication. Ces technologies, parmi d'autres, doivent être axées sur le développement efficace des cybercapacités suivantes :
Sécurité de l'information
La protection des données et des renseignements électroniques et numériques contre l'accès et toute intrusion, l'utilisation, la divulgation, la perturbation, la modification, la consultation, l'inspection, l'enregistrement ou la destruction non autorisé;
Sécurité informatique
La sécurisation du contenu et la gestion des menaces (point terminal, messagerie, réseaux, Web, nuage), sécurité, gestion des vulnérabilités et des risques, gestion de l'identité et de l'accès et autres produits, (p. ex., des trousses de chiffrement et de gestion des jetons et des essais de vérification de produits de sécurité), ainsi que des services d'éducation, de formation et de connaissance de la situation;
Sécurité des technologies opérationnelles
La surveillance, mesure et protection des systèmes d'automatisation et de contrôle des processus industriels et connexes. La cyberrésilience peut comprendre la création d'outils et l'intégration de systèmes et de processus qui renforcent la sécurité des systèmes tactiques ou des grands réseaux, le chiffrement, la cyber-expertise et les interventions en cas d'incident, entre autres. Les capacités établies dans ce domaine pourraient s'appuyer de plus en plus sur l'IA à titre de technologie habilitante. Ainsi, des réseaux feraient usage de leurs défenses de façon autonome et dynamique contre les intrusions et se répareraient eux-mêmes après une perturbation.
Systèmes télépilotés et technologies autonomes
Les plateformes et systèmes s'appuyant sur l'exploitation de machines autonomes, y compris des véhicules aériens, marins ou terrestres sans pilote qui intègrent les technologies de l'IA pour que les opérations tant militaires que commerciales soient de plus en plus autonomes. Ces technologies sont fondées sur diverses formes d'intelligence artificielle, notamment l'apprentissage machine, l'autoapprentissage et les réseaux neuronaux, afin d'accélérer les opérations ou en prolonger la durée, de soustraire les opérateurs aux environnements dangereux et d'améliorer l'efficacité des missions dans leur ensemble.
Systèmes spatiaux, y compris
Applications logicielles d'observation de la terre
Les logiciels et services à valeur ajoutée qui tirent parti des images satellitaires et des informations géospatiales de la Terre. Les solutions peuvent être élaborées en vue de diverses applications, y compris la navigation, la surveillance, la collecte de renseignements, la cartographie, l'observation du climat et d'autres utilisations militaires ou civiles. Ces solutions sont appelées à exploiter de plus en plus l'intelligence artificielle pour traiter des données et réaliser des analyses préliminaires de manière autonome.
Systèmes satellitaires
La conception et fabrication d'une vaste gamme de systèmes satellitaires et d'autres sous-systèmes liés aux engins spatiaux, y compris les composantes spatiales et terrestres. Cela comprend notamment les plateformes satellitaires, les charges utiles de communication ou d'imagerie, ainsi que les systèmes de propulsion et d'alimentation. Autre aspect essentiel, cette catégorie comprend également l'infrastructure de contrôle au sol nécessaire pour exploiter les satellites et gérer les données qu'ils produisent.
Principales compétences et services industriels essentiels
Systèmes et composantes aérospatiaux 
Conception, fabrication, assemblage et intégration d‘éléments structurels d’aéronefs, de surface de contrôle, de systèmes et de sous-systèmes d’aéronefs, de plateformes aériennes complètes avec pilote ainsi que des pièces et de composantes de ces dernières.  Cela comprend les systèmes et composants suivants : trains d’atterrissage (roues, amortisseurs et pièces connexes pour la rentrée et la sortie du train d’atterrissage des aéronefs, pontons d’hélicoptères, etc.), servocommandes de vol, matériel d’avionique, systèmes de propulsion et d’alimentation d’aéronefs militaires (turbines à gaz, compresseurs, système d’alimentation en carburant, etc.).
Blindage
Métaux, céramiques, composites et autres solutions matérielles servant à protéger à la fois les véhicules et les soldats. Cela comprend le développement et la fabrication des matériaux connexes, ainsi que la conception et la fabrication de solutions de blindage particulières à des fins militaires, de sécurité et d’application de la loi.
Intégration des systèmes de défense
Conception et intégration de systèmes militaires complexes qui dépendent de l’intégration harmonieuse de multiples sous-systèmes pour fournir une capacité opérationnelle efficace. Ces capacités couvrent diverses plateformes militaires et permettent l’exploitation et la gestion d’armes, de systèmes de défense, de systèmes de commande et de contrôle, de capteurs, de systèmes d’appui à la prises de décision, des dispositifs de guerre électronique et des sous-systèmes de base des plateformes d’une manière hautement coordonnée qui est essentielle dans des conditions de combat très exigeantes. Ces systèmes doivent présenter de façon compréhensible et sûre l’information provenant de multiples sources aux opérateurs et appuyer la prise de décisions dans un environnement complexe. Cette définition ne vise pas les divers systèmes constitutifs (systèmes de lancement de missiles, radars, systèmes de guerre électronique, etc.) à intégrer dans un ensemble cohérent, mais vise plutôt les compétences et les capacités nécessaires pour réaliser l’intégration et créer l’interface utilisateur requise dans des systèmes complexes destinés aux missions.
Systèmes électro-optiques/infrarouges
Conception, fabrication et intégration de systèmes électro-optiques et infrarouges destinés à la surveillance, à la reconnaissance, à la vision nocturne et au ciblage. La présente catégorie comprend les composants et les groupes de composants qui influent considérablement sur la capacité des systèmes, ainsi que les logiciels qui améliorent le rendement ou contribuent à une meilleure utilisation de l’information recueillie par les capteurs. Il peut s’agir d’applications militaires ou civiles installées sur de multiples supports, y compris des plateformes aériennes, des satellites, des véhicules terrestres, des navires, des sous-marins ou des infrastructures fixes.
Solutions en matière de véhicules terrestres
Conception, ingénierie, fabrication de pointe, intégration et mise à l’essai de véhicules perfectionnés de combat et d’appui au combat.
Soutien en service
Ensemble de capacités requises pour exploiter et maintenir en état de fonctionner un éventail de plateformes et de systèmes militaires dans tous les domaines, tout au long de leur vie utile. Dans ce contexte, l’expression « exploiter et maintenir » englobe une grande variété d’activités, y compris l’entretien, la réparation et la révision; l’établissement de diagnostics, de pronostics et la gestion de l’état de fonctionnement; la gestion des pièces de rechange et de la chaîne d’approvisionnement; la gestion de la configurations; la modification et la mise à jour de systèmes et de logiciels pour améliorer la capacité et la prolonger de la durée de vie, en plus de l’intégration du soutien des produits (ISP) dans son ensemble.
Systèmes de mission et systèmes de plateformes navales
Services de conception, d’ingénierie, de développement, de fabrication et de mise à l’essai et d’évaluation liés aux systèmes suivants :
  • Systèmes de mission et de combat de navires, y compris le commandement, le contrôle et les communications, la liaison de données, le ravitaillement en mer, les systèmes de gestion du combat, les systèmes de navigation intégrés, les contre-mesures, les dispositifs d'appontage et d'arrimage rapide des hélicoptères;
  • Systèmes de plateforme, y compris les systèmes de gestion de passerelle et de plateforme, les systèmes de propulsion, les systèmes de contrôle des avaries de combat et des machines, les systèmes de chauffage, de ventilation et de climatisation (CVC) et les systèmes électriques.
Munitions
Comprend l'ensemble des activités couvertes par le Programme d'approvisionnement des munitions (PAM) du Canada.
Services de construction navale, de conception et d'ingénierie
Comprend l'ensemble des capacités nécessaires pour construire, intégrer et maintenir les navires, ainsi que les capacités d'ingénierie et de gestion des processus essentiels à la construction et à l'intégration navales.
Sonars et systèmes acoustiques
Comprend la conception, la fabrication et l'intégration de sonars et de systèmes acoustiques utilisés à des fins de navigation, de surveillance, de conduite de tir et de levé pour appuyer des objectifs scientifiques, militaires et civils, y compris les capacités embarquées de traitement des signaux et de gestion des systèmes, ainsi que les réseaux de capteurs immergés.
Formation et simulation
Capacités de formation et de simulation de bout en bout, y compris un ensemble complet de solutions de formation en direct, virtuelles et constructives. Cela comprend la conception, la fabrication, l'intégration et la modification de simulateurs, le développement de didacticiels, la conception et l'intégration de cibles et de matériel de cours, ainsi que la prestation de services de formation en direct, de manière virtuelle ou en classe.
Date de modification :