Innovation Superclusters Initiative: Assessment process

From Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

The selection of successful superclusters was informed by a rigorous assessment process that identified the applications that would deliver the strongest value for Canada.

The assessment was conducted by officials from Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada with the support of relevant federal organizations, third-party contractors and expert reviewers. Together, their advice informed the Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development's consideration of the proposals.

Expert reviewers included leaders from the business and innovation communities. They provided their considerations on the merit, feasibility and value of supercluster applications in line with program objectives. Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada engaged in outreach and consultation to identify candidates with the appropriate experience and expertise that would allow them to make meaningful contributions to the assessment of applications and provide insight and perspective to the Minister. The selection of expert reviewers reflected gender parity and Canada’s cultural diversity.

Expert reviewers

Sylvie Chagnon has 15 years of experience in the private and public sectors in finance, strategic planning, project and risk management, and governance. Ms. Chagnon holds a Master of Business Administration and is a member of multiple ministerial committees and of several Boards, including recently as an independent member and Chair of the Board of the Financière agricole du Québec. Her leadership and vision have been recognized by l'Association des femmes en finance du Québec, Premières en affaires magazine, Réseau des Femmes d'affaires du Québec, and the Collège des administrateurs de sociétés.

Noémie Dupuy is the Founder and Co-Chief Executive Officer of Budge Studios Inc. With more than 20 years of experience in the tech industry, Ms.Dupuy is responsible for Budge's partnerships with licensors such as Mattel, Disney, Nickelodeon and Crayola, among others. Prior to founding Budge, Ms. Dupuy was Co-Founder and Business Development Director at Wave Generation and Audio, Video and Localization Director at Ubisoft. She is a board member of the Quebec Advisory Council on Economy and Innovation and was ranked eighth on the W100 2014 list of Canada's Top Female Entrepreneurs. She was nominated as Quebec's Woman Entrepreneur of the Year and has been invited to speak at various conferences including TEDx, the Game Developers Conference (GDC) and Kidscreen Summit.

Judy Fairburn is the Board Chair of Alberta Innovates and a member of the Board of Directors of Sustainable Development Technology Canada (SDTC) and the Public Policy Forum. Trained as a chemical engineer, she recently retired as the Executive Vice President, Safety and Chief Digital Officer of Cenovus Energy Inc. She was the co-founder and director of Evok Innovations and has over 30 years of experience in the energy sector. Ms. Fairburn is a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering, has been recognized as one of Canada's Clean 16 and is a member of Abundance 360.

Dr. Arvind Gupta is Professor of Computer Science at the University of British Columbia and will be Professor of Computer Science at the University of Toronto starting in July 2018. He has served as President and Vice-Chancellor of UBC and as the CEO and Scientific Director of Mitacs. Arvind helped create the Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences and the Banff International Research Station in Mathematical Innovation and Discovery (BIRS). Dr. Gupta was a Member of the Federal Science, Technology and Innovation Council and a Senior Fellow of the Asia-Pacific Institute. He is a Senior Fellow of the Brookfield Institute and serves on the Boards of the Canada-India Research Centre of Excellence, SimTrec, BIRS, the Fields Institute and the Canadian Statistical Sciences Institute.

Nitin Kawale is a business leader with over 30 years of domestic and international experience in the technology sector. A former president of Rogers and Cisco Systems Canada, Mr. Kawale is a recognized Canadian expert on the topics of innovation and productivity. He has also served on Ontario's Job's and Prosperity Council and as Chair of the Conference Board of Canada. He is a member of the Board of Directors of Toronto Global.

Dr. Sarah Lubik is Simon Fraser University's first Director of Entrepreneurship, promoting the power of, and need for, entrepreneurship education, interdisciplinary teams and commercialization of research to solve problems. She is Co-Champion of the Technology Entrepreneurship@SFU program, a lecturer in entrepreneurship and innovation at the Beedie School of Business and a researcher in technology management. Dr. Lubik is also a certified business coach and the co-founder of a high-tech startup, Lungfish Dive Systems.

Shelley Martin is currently President and CEO of Nestlé Canada Inc., prior to which she worked at General Mills. She also served as Chair of the Board of Directors for Food and Consumer Products Canada (FCPC) and as a member of the Board of Directors for Kids Help Phone. Ms. Martin now serves as a member of the Board for FCPC, the Grocery Innovation Foundation, and the Vineland Research and Innovation Centre. She was named one of Canada's Most Powerful Women – Top 100 by the Women's Executive Network and was the recipient of the Food Industry of Canada's 2017 Golden Pencil Award.

Dr. Peter Nicholson has served in numerous posts in government, business, science, and higher education. His career in the public service included positions such as Deputy Chief of Staff, Policy in the Office of the Prime Minister, and Special Advisor to the Secretary-General of the OECD. Dr. Nicholson's business career has included senior executive positions with Scotiabank and BCE Inc. He was founding president of the Council of Canadian Academies and was the founding chair of the Members of the Canada Foundation for Innovation.

Mark Podlasly is the founder of Brookmere Management Group, a consulting practice specializing in corporate strategy, strategic partnerships and revenue sharing related to extractive industries, and is a member of the Nlaka'pamux First Nation in British Columbia. Mr. Podlasly advises the Assembly of First Nations and the BC First Nations Energy and Mining Council on global energy and mining issues and their impact on indigenous lands and communities.

Gerry Pond has over 45 years of experience in the information and communications technology (ICT) industry. Mr. Pond is the Chairman and Co-Founder of Mariner Partners Inc. and has co-founded a number of successful ICT start-ups, including iMagicTV, Q1 Labs, Brovada Technologies, Radian6, Shift Energy and Cirrus9. He is a Director of Upside Foundation, NB Business Council and the National Angel Capital Organization.

Date modified:

Initiative des supergrappes d'innovation : Processus d'évaluation

De Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

Les supergrappes ont été sélectionnées à la suite d'un processus d'évaluation rigoureux visant à retenir les demandes qui apporteraient la plus forte valeur au Canada.

Le processus d'évaluation a été mené par les fonctionnaires d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada, avec le soutien d'organismes fédéraux compétents, de tiers entrepreneurs et d'examinateurs experts. Leurs conseils ont éclairé les décisions du ministre de l'Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique.

Les examinateurs experts comprenaient des chefs de file dans les domaines des affaires et de l'innovation. Ces personnes ont donné leur avis concernant le mérite, la faisabilité et la valeur des propositions de supergrappes à la lumière des objectifs du programme. Au moment de sélectionner les examinateurs, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada a effectué des consultations externes dans le but de trouver des candidats ayant l'expertise et l'expérience appropriées pour être en mesure d'examiner les demandes de manière approfondie et de donner des conseils et des avis au ministre. Les examinateurs experts ont été choisis dans un souci de parité des genres et de respect de la diversité culturelle du Canada.

Les examinateurs experts

Sylvie Chagnon possède 15 années d'expérience dans le secteur public et le secteur privé, dans les domaines des finances, de la planification stratégique, de la gestion de projets et des risques, et de la gouvernance. Elle est titulaire d'une maîtrise en administration des affaires et elle siège à plusieurs comités ministériels et conseils, y compris récemment à titre de membre indépendante et présidente du conseil de la Financière agricole du Québec. Son leadership et sa vision ont été reconnus par l'Association des femmes en finance du Québec, le magazine Premières en affaires, le Réseau des Femmes d'affaires du Québec et le Collège des administrateurs de sociétés.

Noémie Dupuy est fondatrice et coprésidente-directrice générale de Budge Studios inc. Elle compte plus de 20 années d'expérience dans l'industrie des technologies et est chargée des partenariats de l'entreprise avec des concédants de licences comme Mattel, Disney, Nickelodeon et Crayola. Avant de fonder Budge, Mme Dupuy a été la cofondatrice et directrice du développement des affaires chez Wave Generation, ainsi que directrice des services audio, vidéo et de localisation chez Ubisoft. Elle est membre du Conseil consultatif sur l'économie et l'innovation du Québec et elle s'est classée au huitième rang du palmarès W100 des meilleures entrepreneures canadiennes en 2014. Mme Dupuy a été finaliste au prix de l'entrepreneure féminine de l'année au Québec et elle a été invitée à prononcer des allocutions lors de plusieurs conférences, dont TEDx, la Game Developers Conference et le Kidscreen Summit.

Judy Fairburn est la présidente du conseil d'administration d'Alberta Innovates et membre du conseil d'administration de Technologies du développement durable Canada et du Forum des politiques publiques. Sa formation est en génie chimique. Elle a récemment pris sa retraite des fonctions de vice-présidente exécutive, Sécurité, et de chef, Services numériques, chez Cenovus Energy inc. Mme Fairburn a été cofondatrice et administratrice d'Evok Innovations et elle compte plus de 30 années d'expérience dans le secteur de l'énergie. Elle est Fellow de l'Académie canadienne du génie, a figuré au palmarès canadien Clean 16 et est membre du groupe Abundance 360.

Arvind Gupta, Ph. D., est professeur en informatique à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique et deviendra professeur en informatique à l'Université de Toronto à compter de juillet 2018. Il a occupé les fonctions de recteur et vice-chancelier de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique ainsi que de président-directeur général et scientifique en chef de l'organisme Mitacs. M. Gupta a participé à la création de l'Institut pacifique des sciences mathématiques (Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences) et du Centre de recherche international de Banff en innovations et découvertes mathématiques (Banff International Research Station in Mathematical Innovation and Discovery). M. Gupta a été membre du Conseil des sciences de la technologie et de l'innovation du gouvernement fédéral et agrégé supérieur à l'Institut Asie-Pacifique (Asia-Pacific Institute). Il est agrégé supérieur de l'Institut Brookfield et siège aux conseils d'administration du Centre d'excellence en recherche Canada-Inde, de SimTrec, du Centre de recherche international de Banff en innovations et découvertes mathématiques, de l'Institut Fields et de l'Institut canadien des sciences statistiques.

Nitin Kawale est un chef de file du milieu des affaires qui possède une feuille de route de plus de 30 ans dans le domaine des technologies au Canada et à l'étranger. M. Kawale a occupé la présidence de Rogers et de Cisco Systems Canada, et il est un expert canadien réputé dans les sphères de l'innovation et de la productivité. Il a également siégé au Conseil pour l'emploi et la prospérité de l'Ontario et a été président du conseil du Conference Board du Canada. Il est membre du conseil d'administration de Toronto Global.

Sarah Lubik, Ph. D., est la première directrice de l'Entrepreneuriat à l'Université Simon Fraser. Elle met en valeur l'importance de la formation en entrepreneuriat, de la constitution d'équipes pluridisciplinaires et de la commercialisation de la recherche pour en arriver à la résolution de problèmes. Mme Lubik est cochampionne du programme Technology Entrepreneurship@SFU, chargée de cours dans les domaines de l'entrepreneuriat et de l'innovation à la Beedie School of Business, et chercheuse en gestion des technologies. Elle est également accompagnatrice agréée en affaires et cofondatrice d'une entreprise de haute technologie en démarrage, Lungfish Dive Systems.

Shelley Martin est la présidente-directrice générale de Nestlé Canada inc. Elle a auparavant travaillé chez General Mills. Mme Martin a aussi présidé le conseil d'administration de Produits alimentaires et de consommation du Canada (PACC) et siégé au conseil d'administration de Jeunesse, j'écoute. Elle est membre du conseil d'administration de PACC, de la Grocery Innovation Foundation et du Centre de recherche et d'innovation Vineland. Mme Martin a figuré au palmarès des 100 femmes les plus influentes au Canada établi par le Réseau des femmes exécutives, et elle a été lauréate du Prix du crayon doré 2017 de l'Association de l'industrie alimentaire du Canada.

Peter Nicholson, Ph. D., a occupé un large éventail de fonctions au sein de l'administration publique, du monde des affaires, du milieu scientifique et du domaine universitaire. Dans le secteur public, il a notamment été chef de cabinet adjoint, Politiques, au Cabinet du premier ministre du Canada, et conseiller spécial du secrétaire général de l'OCDE. Dans le domaine des affaires, il a entre autres occupé des postes de haute direction à la Banque Scotia et chez BCE inc. M. Nicholson a été le président fondateur du Conseil des académies canadiennes, ainsi que le président fondateur des membres de la Fondation canadienne pour l'innovation.

Mark Podlasly est le fondateur du Brookmere Management Group, qui fournit des services consultatifs en stratégies d'affaires, en partenariats stratégiques et en partage de revenus tirés de l'extraction des ressources naturelles. Il est membre de la Première Nation Nlaka'pamux de la Colombie-Britannique. M. Podlasly conseille l'Assemblée des Premières Nations et le Conseil de l'énergie et des mines des Premières Nations de la Colombie-Britannique (BC First Nations Energy and Mining Council) sur les enjeux mondiaux en matière d'énergie et de mines, et sur l'incidence qu'elles ont pour les terres et les collectivités autochtones.

Gerry Pond compte plus de 45 années d'expérience dans l'industrie des technologies de l'information et des communications (TIC). Il est le président du conseil et cofondateur de Mariner Partners inc., et il a cofondé plusieurs entreprises en démarrage fructueuses dans le domaine des TIC, dont iMagicTV, Q1 Labs, Brovada Technologies, Radian6, Shift Energy et Cirrus9. M. Pond est administrateur de la Fondation Upside, du Conseil d'entreprises du Nouveau-Brunswick et de l'Organisation nationale des investisseurs providentiels (National Angel Capital Organization).

Date de modification :