Conflict of interest and confidentiality agreement—Economic Strategy Tables

1. Conflict of interest

1.1 The Member acknowledges the importance of offering advice and recommendations that are independent, expert, and made in good faith.

1.2 The Member shall disclose to the Deputy Minister any advice which, if adopted and implemented by Innovation Science and Economic Development Canada, could result in direct or immediate financial gain to the Member, either professionally or personally, or to any of the Member's family members or to any organization with which the Member is affiliated.

1.3 In the event that the Member also sits on another advisory committee or board of directors, the Member agrees not to share any information, documentation, deliberations, records or advice obtained, developed or given by or to the Table Members with the members of the other group, unless and until the Member is authorized to do so, in writing, by the Deputy Minister or an official designated by the Deputy Minister.

1.4 The Member shall immediately report to the Deputy Minister any circumstances in which the Member perceives a real, potential or apparent conflict or bias resulting from the Member's roles on the Tables and any outside interests or activities, including organizational affiliations, other advisory committees or boards of directors. Should the Deputy Minister or an official designated by the Deputy Minister conclude that a real, potential or apparent conflict of interest exists involving the Member's activities on the Tables and the outside interests or activities, he or she may require the Member to recuse themselves from participating in any related discussions or in the development of a related recommendation, or terminate the Member's membership in the Tables at the Deputy Minister's sole discretion.

1.5 In the event that the Member is already subject to the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Sector, the Conflict of Interest Act, the code of conduct for any other federal organization, or any other law, policy or regulation, the Member acknowledges that he or she remains bound by these provisions and shall comply with their requirements in performing his or her duties under the terms of this Agreement.

2. Confidentiality

2.1 The Member agrees that any views expressed to him or her in his or her capacity as a Table member shall not be attributed to individuals. Neither the identity nor the affiliation of the individual may be revealed. The Member agrees that unattributed ideas emerging from Table discussions may be disclosed, with the prior permission of the Deputy Minister or an individual designated by the Deputy Minister.

2.2 The Member recognizes that his or her correspondence with the Deputy Minister or with officials of Innovation Science and Economic Development Canada is subject to the Access to Information Act, the Security of Information Act, the Privacy Act and the Government Security Policy.

2.3 The Member recognizes that he or she will not be provided with confidential third-party records or protected Innovation Science and Economic Development Canada records.

2.4 The Member shall not make use of the information or documentation disclosed or provided to the Member in his or her capacity as a Table member, except to the extent that it is demonstrably in the public domain, for any purpose other than his or her mandate as a member of the Tables.

2.5 The obligations set out in this section shall survive the expiration or termination of the Member's position on the Tables.

Date modified:

Entente sur les conflits d'intérêts et la confidentialité — Tables sectorielles de stratégies économiques

1. Conflit d'intérêts

1.1 Le membre reconnaît l'importance de formuler des conseils et des recommandations qui sont éclairés, indépendants et de bonne foi.

1.2 Le membre fera part au sous-ministre de tout conseil qui, s'il était adopté et appliqué par Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada, procurerait un gain financier sur le plan professionnel ou personnel à lui ou à un membre de sa famille immédiate ou encore à toute organisation à laquelle le membre est affilié.

1.3 Advenant le cas où le Membre siège également sur un autre comité consultatif ou conseil d'administration, le Membre s'engage à ne pas divulguer les informations, la documentation, les délibérations, les dossiers ou les conseils obtenus, développés ou donnés aux ou par les Membres de la Table avec les membres de l'autre groupe, sauf si le membre est autorisé à le faire par le sous-ministre, ou un fonctionnaire désigné par le sous-ministre, par écrit.

1.4 Le membre signale sans délai au sous-ministre toute situation dans laquelle il perçoit un conflit ou un parti pris découlant du rôle qu'il joue au sein des Tables, ainsi que tout intérêt ou toute activité externe, y compris une affiliation à une autre organisation, sa participation à un autre comité consultatif ou conseil d'administration. Si le sous-ministre ou un fonctionnaire qu'il a désigné conclut à l'existence d'un conflit d'intérêts réel, perçu ou apparent en raison du rôle que joue le membre au sein des Tables ainsi que de tout intérêt ou toute activité externe, y compris sa participation à un autre comité consultatif, il peut exiger de lui qu'il s'abstienne de prendre part aux discussions connexes ou à la formulation d'une recommandation connexe, ou encore, à son entière discrétion, mettre fin à son mandat au sein des Tables.

1.5 Advenant que le membre soit déjà assujetti au Code de valeurs et d'éthique de la fonction publique, au Code de valeurs et d'éthique qui s'applique à un ministère fédéral, à la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts ou à toute autre politique fédérale régissant les conflits d'intérêts, le membre reconnaît qu'il demeure lié par ces dispositions et qu'il se conformera à leurs exigences dans le cadre de l'exercice de ses fonctions selon les modalités du présent accord.

2. Confidentialité

2.1 Le membre convient que les opinions qui lui seront communiquées en sa qualité de membre des Tables ne seront pas attribuées aux personnes. L'identité et l'affiliation de l'individu ne peuvent être révélées et demeureront confidentiels. Le membre accepte à ce que les idées non attribuées émanant des Tables ne puissent pas être divulguées sans l'autorisation préalable du sous-ministre ou d'un fonctionnaire désigné par le sous-ministre.

2.2 Le membre reconnaît que sa correspondance avec le sous-ministre ou avec un fonctionnaire d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada est assujettie à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, à la Loi sur la protection de l'information ainsi qu'à la Politique sur la sécurité du gouvernement.

2.3 Le membre reconnaît qu'on ne lui fournira pas de documents confidentiels de tierce-partie ou de dossiers protégés d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada.

2.4 Il est interdit au membre d'utiliser à une fin autre que celles liées à son mandat de membre des Tables, les renseignements ou les documents qui lui sont communiqués ou fournis en sa qualité de membre des Tables, sauf dans la mesure où ils appartiennent manifestement au domaine public.

2.5 Les obligations prévues dans la présente section subsisteront à l'expiration de la présente entente ou lors de la terminaison du mandat du membre au sein des Tables.

Date de modification :