Economic Strategy - Advanced Manufacturing Table

Leveraging rapid technological change in advanced manufacturing to strengthen Canada’s manufacturing sector.

Chair

Charles Deguire, Kinova Robotics

Members

Federal representatives

Sounding board members

Meetings

October 11, 2017 Location: Ottawa, Ontario

Focus

On October 11, 2017, the Advanced Manufacturing Economic Strategy Table held its first meeting in Ottawa, Ontario. Members gathered to discuss their vision for the manufacturing sector in Canada and set the forward workplan to unlock economic growth.

What we talked about

  1. Each member spoke to why they agreed to take time away from their businesses to join the Advanced Manufacturing Table. Some of what was said: I hope to position Canada so we are ready to meet future global demand; I joined to move the dial on investment in technology in Canada; I joined to develop a policy that is going to help Canadian companies compete globally, based on innovation and value.
  2. There was broad agreement that the mandate of the Advanced Manufacturing Table is to focus on the Canadian manufacturing sector and how to grow it through the adoption of advanced manufacturing processes. Access to technology is going to be important for our businesses to stay strong in the future.
  3. Members discussed how to frame a vision for manufacturing in Canada. The conversation is ongoing, but a preliminary consensus is that growth can be achieved by bringing value to customers through innovative and cost competitive products and services.
  4. All agreed to organize the upcoming program of work around three key themes: attracting global mandates; scaling up; and accelerating adoption of advanced manufacturing technology. Three champions stepped forward to drive the agenda on each theme.
  5. Each theme will be explored from the perspective of solutions tailored to the firm life cycle: different actions may be needed for start-ups, scale-ups and large firms. We will also ask: how can we accelerate the distribution of knowledge, so that we can leap forward based on lessons others have learned? how can we de-risk investments in innovation and increase access to capital? what are the skills needed for the jobs of tomorrow, and how can we equip Canadians to develop them?  

What we'll do next

  • Thematic champions will undertake deep dives on the three key themes.
  • All members will seek opportunities to engage with their communities and gather input to the Table's discussions.
  • The next meeting will take place in November 2017.

I am a very proud Canadian, and my family has been privileged to work in Canada and grow our business here. My hope is that together we will identify measurable actions that we can all be held accountable to achieve.

Advanced Manufacturing Table Member, October 11, 2017
November 14, 2017 Location: Ottawa, Ontario

Focus

On November 14, 2017, the Advanced Manufacturing Economic Strategy Table held its second meeting in Ottawa, Ontario. The conversation explored how to attract, expand and retain global mandates, and also how to unlock Canadian talent in advanced manufacturing, particularly by growing the participation of women in the sector.

What we talked about

  1. The conversation began with a tour de table in which CEOs spoke to their personal experience of what it would take to grow their business. It was quickly agreed that one of the key enablers of technology adoption and growth in manufacturing – including in Canada - is the workforce. In particular, strong skilled trades and engineers are a Canadian competitive advantage. However, there are shortages which create growth bottlenecks. The discussion explored best practice models for developing work-ready talent, both from within organizations and through post-secondary programs. It also spoke to the image of manufacturing today: are manufacturing firms able to express their purpose and vision in a way that resonates with the next generation? Is there a clear pathway to a career in manufacturing?
  2. There was a focussed discussion on the importance of making manufacturing in Canada a global investment destination, The Invest in Canada Hub presented the innovative model of client service that they are developing. Ray Tanguay also shared lessons learned from his work in the automotive sector. The presentations sparked a wider discussion about the criteria global firms use to make decisions to expand or continue their footprint in Canada. It was noted that both the Government and Canadian industry must be better at supporting domestic technologies and innovations, by being a first customer and early adopter, to increase efficiency and ultimately drive down production costs to become more globally competitive. These insights will continue to be explored and refined, and will be discussed further at future meetings.
  3. Members heard about the findings of Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters’ study “Women in Manufacturing”: women make up about 48% of the Canadian workforce, but only 28% of jobs in manufacturing, a ratio that has not changed significantly over the past 30 years. However, research shows that women working in manufacturing are happy with their career choice and would overwhelmingly recommend it to a female friend. The study has proposed a number of concrete steps that could help grow women’s participation in the manufacturing workforce.

What we'll do next

  • Refine and elaborate a bold vision for Canadian manufacturing and ambitious targets
  • Table members will undertake a number of broader engagement initiatives in the coming months to gather input from a larger sectoral audience.
  • The next meeting will take place in December 2017

We have something to sell here. But, to attract investment, we can’t be the same, we always have to be clearly better.

Advanced Manufacturing Table Member, November 14, 2017
December 18, 2017 Location: Ottawa, Ontario

Focus

The Advanced Manufacturing Table met Monday, December 18, for its third meeting, a half-day videoconference focused on skills and talent development, a key horizontal theme identified at both previous Table meetings– and featured presentations from Siemens Canada; Yves Landry Foundation; Centre de recherche industrielle du Québec; and Colleges and Institutes Canada.

What we talked about

  1. The introductory remarks took stock of the work completed to date including a summary of the All-Chairs meeting. The Table will continue to work collaboratively on the vision, targets and pipeline proposals with the goal of building them out ahead of the next meeting in January, 2018.
  2. Looking to build on previous meeting's topics, around the availability of skilled workforce: both skilled trades and engineering, and the number of bottlenecks (shortage of apprenticeship positions; retirement of skilled trade workforce; public perception of careers in manufacturing), there were presentations from four organizations focused on building manufacturing skills. ‎The Yves Laundry Foundation co-funds training and worker re-training (50% share with the company) in Ontario to achieve measurable improvement in innovation processes and technology integration in manufacturing; Siemens Canada has implemented the SCETA program (Siemens Canada Engineering and Technology Academy) that provides third year engineering and engineering technology students with the educational and professional foundation required for successful careers in the company through their work integrated learning focused on Industry 4.0; Centre de recherche industrielle du Québecprovides companies with the information, know-how, and services needed to excel in developing distinctive products (Industry 4.0 including Complex automation, Robotics, Additive manufacturing (3D), Quality control); and Colleges and Institutes Canada helps to customize corporate training delivery for post-secondary institutions.
  3. Discussion  focused on  bottlenecks that limit the reach of skilling programs, and there was broad consensus: oversubscription: the demand being higher than the availability of funding leaves hundreds on waiting lists; challenges faced by small firms in rural or mid-sized urban environments, for whom distance is a significant barrier to access to training ; need to educate both those on the shop floor and those managing process renewal; and  information gap:  many good potential options for training exist, but information  not centrally available ‎and application processes can be complex and discouraging
  4. ‎To build on the discussion, there will be more work done to consolidate information on existing skills and training programs and to develop a pipeline of potential recommendations.

What we'll do next

  • The Table is scheduled to hold two engagement sessions in January including the 10th in Montreal and the 12th in Toronto. The engagement days will include industry round tables as well as meetings with the provinces and key stakeholders.
  • The fourth Table meeting will take place on January 17 with a focus on growing firms to scale.

Not only will it be important to train our upcoming and new employees, but equally important is to train executives and business leaders who will be adopting industry 4.0.

Advanced Manufacturing Table Member, December 18, 2017
Date modified:

Tables sectorielles de stratégies économiques - Table sur la fabrication de pointe

Profiter de l'évolution technologique rapide dans le secteur de la fabrication de pointe pour renforcer le secteur manufacturier du Canada.

Président

Charles Deguire, Kinova Robotics

Membres

Représentants du gouvernement fédérale

Comité consultatif

Réunions

Le 11 octobre 2017 Lieu : Ottawa Ontario

Objet

Le 11 octobre 2017, la Table de stratégie économique sur la fabrication de pointe a tenu sa première réunion à Ottawa, Ontario. Les membres se sont réunis afin de discuter de leur vision du secteur manufacturier au Canada et d'établir un plan de travail pour favoriser la croissance économique.

Ce dont nous avons parlé

  1. Chaque membre a parlé de la raison pour laquelle il a accepté de prendre du temps pour participer à la Table sur la fabrication de pointe. Ce qui a J'espère positionner le Canada afin que nous soyons prêts à répondre à la demande mondiale future; Je me suis joint pour faire bouger l'aiguille sur l'investissment dans la technologie au Canada; Je me suis joint pour élaborer une politique qui aidera les entreprises canadiennes à faire face à la concurrence mondiale, grace à l'innovation et la valeur.
  2. Il y a eu un large consensus sur le fait que le mandat de la Table sur la fabrication de pointe est de se concentrer sur le développment du secteur manufacturier canadien par l'entremise de l'adoption de processus de fabrication de pointe. L'accès à la technologie sera important pour que nos entreprises restent fortes à l'avenir.
  3. La discussion s'est portée sur la vision pour le secteur manufacturier au Canada. C'est une conversation en cours, mais un consensus préliminaire est que nous pouvons atteindre la croissance en apportant de la valeur aux clients grâce à des produits et services innovants et compétitifs.
  4. Il était convenu d'organiser le programme de travail autour de trois thèmatiques: attirer des mandats mondiaux; l'expansion des entreprises; et l'adoption accélérée de la technologie de fabrication de pointe. Trois champions se sont portés volontaire pour faire avancer chaque thème.
  5. Chaque thème sera également examiné sous l'angle de solutions adaptées au cycle de vie de l'entreprise: différentes actions peuvent être nécessaires pour les start-up, les entreprises en croissance et les grandes entreprises. Nous demanderons également: comment pouvons-nous accélérer la diffusion des connaissances afin que nous puissions profiter des leçons apprises des autres? comment pouvons-nous réduire les risques associées à l'innovation et accroître l'accès au capital? quelles sont les compétences requises pour les emplois de demain et comment pouvons-nous outiller les Canadiens pour les développer?

Ce que nous ferons ensuite

  • Les champions thématiques entreprendront des recherches approfondis sur les trois thèmatiques.
  • Tous les membres chercheront des occasions d'engager leurs communautés et de recueillir des del'information qui supporteront les discussions de la Table.
  • La Table se rencontrera de nouveau en novembre 2017.

Je suis une Canadienne très fière et ma famille a eu le privilège de travailler au Canada et de faire croître notre entreprise ici. Mon espoir est qu'ensemble, nous identifierons des actions mesurables que nous serons responsables de les rencontrer.

Membre de la Table de fabrication de pointe, le 11 octobre 2017
Le 14 novembre 2017 Lieu : Ottawa Ontario

Objet

Le 14 novembre 2017, la Table de stratégie économique sur la fabrication de pointe a tenu sa deuxième à Ottawa, Ontario. La discussion s’est concentrée sur les stratégies pour attirer, développer et conserver des mandats mondiaux, et aussi comment libérer les talents canadiens dans la fabrication de pointe, notamment en augmentant la participation des femmes dans le secteur.

Ce dont nous avons parlé

  1. La discussion a débuté avec un tour de table pendant lequel les PDGs ont parlé de leur propre expérience et de ce qui est requis pour accroître la taille de leur entreprise. Ils se sont rapidement entendu sur le fait qu’un des facteurs essentiels dans l’adoption de technologies et la croissance du secteur de la fabrication, incluant au Canada, est la main d’œuvre. En particulier, les métiers spécialisés et les ingénieurs chevronnés constituent un avantage concurrentiel pour le Canada.Cependant, il existe des pénuries qui créent des goulets d'étranglement de croissance. La discussion a exploré les modèles de meilleures pratiques pour développer des talents prêts à travailler, à la fois au sein des organisations et à travers les programmes postsecondaires. Ils ont également parlé de l'image du sectuer de la fabrication aujourd'hui: les entreprises manufacturières sont-elles capables d'exprimer leur objectif et leur vision d'une manière qui résonne avec la prochaine génération? Y a-t-il une voie claire vers une carrière dans le secteur manufacturier?
  2. Il y a eu une conversation sur l'importance de faire du secteur de la fabrication au Canada une destination d'investissement mondiale. Le centre Investir au Canada a présenté le modèle novateur de service à la clientèle qu'il est en train d'élaborer. Ray Tanguay a également partagé les leçons tirées de son travail dans le secteur de l’automobile. Les présentations ont suscité une discussion plus large sur les critères que les entreprises mondiales utilisent pour prendre des décisions d'expansion ou de maintien de leur présence au Canada. Il a été noté que le gouvernement et l'industrie canadienne doivent davantage soutenir les technologies et les innovations nationales, en étant un premier client et utilisateur, pour accroître l'efficacité et, en bout de ligne, réduire les coûts de production. Ces idées continueront d'être explorées et affinées, et seront discutées plus en détail lors de futures réunions.
  3. Les membres ont entendu parler des conclusions de l'étude « Women in Manufacturing » de Manufacturiers et Exportateurs du Canada: les femmes représentent environ 48% de la main-d'œuvre canadienne, mais seulement 28% des emplois manufacturiers, un ratio qui n'a pas beaucoup changé depuis 30 ans. Cependant, l’étude montre que les femmes qui travaillent dans le secteur manufacturier sont satisfaites de leur choix de carrière et le recommanderaient à une amie. L'étude a proposé un certain nombre de mesures concrètes qui pourraient aider à accroître la participation des femmes à la main-d'œuvre manufacturière.

Ce que nous ferons ensuite

  • Affiner et élaborer une vision audacieuse pour le secteur de la fabrication canadienne ainsi que des objectifs ambitieux.
  • Les membres de la Table entreprendront un certain nombre d'initiatives d'engagement plus larges au cours des prochains mois afin de recueillir les commentaires d'un plus grand auditoire sectoriel.
  • La prochaine réunion aura lieu en décembre 2017.

Nous avons quelque chose à vendre ici. Mais, pour attirer l'investissement, nous ne pouvons pas être les mêmes, nous devons toujours être nettement meilleurs.

Membre de la Table de fabrication de pointe, le 14 novembre 2017
Le 18 décembre 2017 Lieu : Ottawa Ontario

Objet

La Table sur la fabrication de pointe s'est réunie le lundi 18 décembre pour sa troisième réunion, une vidéoconférence d'une demi-journée axée sur le développement des compétences et des talents, un thème horizontal clé identifié lors des deux rencontres précédentes – avec des présentations par Siemens Canada; Fondation Yves Landry; Centre de recherche industrielle du Québec; et Collèges et instituts Canada.

Ce dont nous avons parlé

  1. Les remarques d’introductions ont fait le point sur le travail accompli à ce jour, y compris un résumé de la réunion des présidents de toutes les Tables de stratégies économiques. La Table continuera à travailler en collaboration sur la vision, les cibles et les propositions de pipeline dans le but de les construire avant la prochaine réunion en janvier 2018.
  2. En s’appuyant sur les thèmes de la réunion précédente, sur la disponibilité de main-d'œuvre qualifiée: les métiers spécialisés et l'ingénierie, et le nombre de goulets d'étranglement (pénurie de postes d'apprentis, départs à la retraite), la Table a invité quatre organisations axées sur le renforcement des compétences de fabrication à partager leur vision et expréience. La Yves Laundry Foundation co-finance la formation et le recyclage des travailleurs (partage des coûts à 50% avec l'entreprise) en Ontario afin d'améliorer de façon mesurable les processus d'innovation et l'intégration de la technologie dans le secteur manufacturier; Siemens Canada a mis en œuvre le programme SCETA (Siemens Canada Engineering and Technology Academy) qui offre aux étudiants de troisième année en ingénierie et en technologie d’ingénierie les bases éducatives et professionnelles nécessaires pour réussir leur carrière dans l'entreprise grâce à leur apprentissage intégré axé sur Industrie 4.0; le Centre de recherche industrielle du Québec fournit aux entreprises l'information, le savoir-faire et les services nécessaires pour exceller dans le développement de produits distinctifs (industrie 4.0, incluant l'automatisation complexe, la robotique, la fabrication additive (3D), le contrôle de qualité); Collèges et instituts Canada aide à adapter la prestation de formation en entreprise aux établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire.
  3. Les discussions ont mis l'accent sur les goulots d'étranglement qui limitent la portée des programmes de formation professionnelle, et il y a eu un large consensus: sur inscription: la demande étant plus élevée que la disponibilité des fonds, des centaines d’entreprise sur des listes d'attente; les défis auxquels font face les petites entreprises dans les milieux urbains ruraux ou de taille moyenne, pour qui la distance constitue un obstacle important à l'accès à la formation; besoin d'éduquer à la fois ceux qui travaillent dans l'atelier et ceux qui gèrent le renouvellement des processus; et le manque d'information: de nombreuses bonnes options de formation existent, mais les informations ne sont pas centralisées et les processus de candidature peuvent être complexes et décourageants.
  4. Pour compléter la discussion, il y aura plus de travail pour consolider l'information sur les compétences et les programmes de formation existants et pour développer potentielles recommandations.

Ce que nous ferons ensuite

  • La Table tiendra deux séances d'engagement en janvier, dont le 10 à Montréal et le 12 à Toronto. Les journées d'engagement incluront des tables rondes de l'industrie ainsi que des rencontres avec les provinces et les intervenants clés.
  • La quatrième réunion de la Table aura lieu le 17 janvier avec un accent sur la croissance des entreprises à l'échelle.

Il sera non seulement important de former nos futurs et nouveaux employés, mais tout aussi important de former des cadres et des chefs d'entreprise qui adopteront l'industrie 4.0.

Membre de la Table de fabrication de pointe, le 18 décembre 2017
Date de modification :