Economic Strategy - Clean Technology Table

Driving transformative innovation and clean growth across all business sectors of the economy through increased development, commercialization and adoption of clean technology solutions.

Chair

Audrey Mascarenhas, Questor Technology Inc.

Members

  • Mike Andrade, Morgan Solar Inc.
  • Marvin DeVries, Trojan Technologies Inc.
  • Malini Giridhar, Enbridge Gas Distribution Inc.
  • Jodi Glover, Real Tech Inc.
  • Karen Hamberg, Westport Innovations Inc.
  • Judi Hess, CopperLeaf Technologies Inc.
  • David Isaac, W Dusk Energy Group Inc.
  • Andrée-Lise Méthot, Cycle Capital Management
  • Christofer Mowry, General Fusion Inc.
  • Robert Niven, CarbonCure Technologies Inc.
  • Tom Rand, ArcTern Ventures
  • Pierre Rivard, TUGLIQ Energy Co.
  • Annette Verschuren, NRStor Inc.
  • Daryl Wilson, Hydrogenics Corporation

Federal representatives

  • John Knubley, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
  • Philip Jennings, Natural Resources Canada

Meetings

December 7, 2017 Location: Ottawa, Ontario

Focus

On December 7, 2017, the Clean Technology Economic Strategy Table held its first meeting in Ottawa, Ontario. Members gathered to discuss their vision and set a forward workplan to grow Canadian clean technology capabilities.

What we talked about

  1. Members spoke to why they agreed to join the Table, some highlighting the economic and social opportunities clean technology present for the Canadian economy, while others noted their priorities for clean technology targets, actions and government leadership.
  2. Members shared their passion and desire to see Canada become a leader in clean technology development and adoption.
    • “Climate change and sustainability are the defining issue of our time. We need to be big; we need to be bold.”
    • “If you base the economy on resilient technologies, it will make the economy more resilient.”
  3. Federal presentations set the context on clean technology initiatives stemming from Budget 2017 and the Pan-Canadian Framework on Clean Growth and Climate Change.
  4. There was an engaged discussion regarding possible elements of the vision statement for clean technology, which will be further refined during future meetings.
    • “I would like to see our vision statement speak to reducing our carbon footprint at home and abroad.”
    • “I view this as the transition to the economy we want. How do we get the balance of speaking as individuals, as citizens, and what role can clean technology play in getting us to where we need to be—and how do we get there through a better way".
  5. The participants noted the need for concrete and targeted clean technology actions in four key areas to unlock bottlenecks in the growth of the sector, including:
    1. Innovation and growing firms to scale;
    2. Market development and trade;
    3. Regulation to drive innovation; and
    4. Jobs and skills.

What we'll do next

  • Thematic champions were identified and will move the discussion forward.
  • All members will seek opportunities to engage with their communities and gather input to the Table's discussions.
  • The next meeting will take place in January 2018.

Clean technology is a global issue. Canada has diversity and we can use our openness to come together and create solutions. This is our brand.

Clean Technology Table Member, December 7, 2017
January 25, 2018 Location: Vancouver, British Columbia

Focus

On January 25, 2018, the Clean Technology Economic Strategy Table met in Vancouver, British Columbia. Members gathered to discuss the challenges and opportunities for innovation and growing Canadian clean technology firms to scale.

What we talked about

  1. The introductory remarks took stock of the work completed to date including a summary of the All-Chairs meeting in December and a debrief of the stakeholder engagement session held in Toronto on January 17, 2018, which explored the theme of Innovation and Growing Firms to Scale.
    • “This is a big bold economic play...we can't solve this problem unless we build billion dollar companies. We can't shy away from taking our share of the global market, because we need to build this new economy world. It's about human survival."
  2. Members furthered the discussion on their aspirational vision and growth targets for the sector. They emphasized the importance of clean technology to achieve competitive and decarbonized economic growth in Canada. Members shared their desire and passion to build a clean technology economy that acts on the convergence of innovation, economic, social and environmental imperatives. The Table will continue to work collaboratively on the vision and targets.
    • "...Clean technology is emerging at an explosive rate: unprecedented global demand, acceleration of technologies, how do we position Canada as a global leader?"
  3. The Business Development Bank of Canada (BDC) presented an overview of recently announced federal funding support to Canadian clean technology firms.
  4. Ilse Treurnicht, a member of the Government's Advisory Council on Economic Growth, shared highlights and perspectives from her tenure as CEO of MaRS on successfully growing clean technology firms in Canada. Ms. Treurnicht emphasized that with recent investments made by the federal government in clean technology, there has never been a greater opportunity for the growth of a sector, and that timing is crucial to capitalize and position Canada as a global leader.
    • "We have not yet built the capacity to deploy capital at the scale needed fast enough, because our traditional investors have not moved into the market yet...How do we get our most promising companies over the line in the short term and also ensure long term sustainable growth?"
  5. Members identified and discussed barriers facing the scale-up of Canadian clean technology firms. They built on the work done during the Toronto engagement session to refine key policy ideas and proposals for action. These proposals and insights will continue to be explored and refined, at future meetings.

What we'll do next

  • The next meeting will take place in Toronto in March 2018.
  • Prior to the next meeting, a stakeholder engagement session will be held in Halifax to identify actionable proposals that address Canada's need to create an effective clean technology work force, with competitive skillsets to support inclusive and sustainable growth.

...If you step back, there has never been a bigger opportunity, in my lifetime, for any sector, for growth.

Clean Technology Table Member, January 25, 2018
March 1, 2018 Location: Toronto, Ontario

Focus

On March 1, 2018, the Clean Technology Economic Strategy Table held its third meeting in Toronto, Ontario. The discussions focused on refining the Table's vision for Canadian clean technology and building an effective and skilled clean technology workforce that is both inclusive and diverse.

What we talked about

  1. The meeting started with a discussion on the forward strategy for the Economic Strategy Tables process and the desired outcomes for the Table's recommendations. Senior federal representatives provided highlights of Budget 2018 as well as updates on other key federal initiatives.
  2. A draft vision statement and potential growth targets were presented and discussed. Members agreed that an aspirational vision for the clean technology sector should be short, bold and positive. The Table broadly supported language around growing clean technology as a “top five exporting industry” for Canada. There was also consensus that the vision should lead with an economic or global competitiveness target and include a value statement, likely around environmental outcomes.
  3. Table members revisited an earlier discussion on how to support the innovation and scale-up of Canadian clean technology firms. They underscored the challenges and importance of creating demand in incumbent industries and government procurement. They remain interested in how regulations will drive demand and adoption.
  4. The Table discussed key findings and recommendations stemming from the Jobs and Skills theme stakeholder engagement session held in Halifax on February 12, 2018. Recommendations emphasized the need to ensure Canada fosters an inclusive and diverse workforce and that specific measures should focus on increasing the number of underrepresented groups employed in the sector, particularly women and indigenous Canadians.
  5. Annette Verschuren, a member of the Canada – United-States Council for the Advancement of Women Entrepreneurs and Business Leaders, spoke about the work of the Council. Many of its recommendations for increasing the number of women –owned businesses in Canada were implemented in Budget 2018.

What we'll do next

  • The next meeting will take place in Calgary, Alberta.
  • Prior to the next meeting, two engagement sessions will be held in Vancouver and Montreal. The Vancouver session will explore the Market Development and Trade theme, whereas the Montreal session will explore the Regulations to Drive Innovation theme. The engagement sessions will include Table members and key stakeholders from both industry and government.

Culture eats strategy for breakfast. If we can tackle our culture, we'll be a lot further ahead. It's easy to throw money at things; our goal should be to find programs that unlock the potential by changing our culture.

Clean Technology Table Member, March 1, 2018
April 5, 2018 Location: Calgary, Alberta

Focus

On April 5, 2018, the Clean Technology Economic Strategy Table held its fourth meeting in Calgary, Alberta. The discussion centered on refining the Table’s recommendations, as well as its vision and targets for the Canadian clean technology sector.

What we talked about

  1. Senior federal representatives started the meeting with highlights of the All Chairs meeting, which convened the chairs of each Strategy Table. Table members were also briefed on the upcoming discussion at the All-Tables Workshop.
  2. Table members revisited an earlier discussion on supporting market development and trade for Canadian clean technology firms. They highlighted the strategic importance of domestic procurement in growing global exports. Members also agreed that Canada must leverage its brand and technological strengths to strategically grow the sector.
  3. Recommendations and insights emerging from the engagement session on Regulations to Drive Innovation were reexamined. This conversation emphasized the importance of aligning regulations across jurisdictions to bolster clean technology adoption and innovation. The Table remains interested in identifying specific regulations that are impeding growth.
  4. The discussion proceeded to recommendations for supporting innovation and growing firms to scale, specifically the Table’s recommendation focused on providing effective, targeted support (both financial and non-financial) for Canada’s leading clean technology firms and driving domestic demand through procurement.
  5. For job growth and advancing skills, the Table remains focused on looking at ways to build the business, entrepreneurial and market development competencies of clean technology firms.

What we'll do next

  • The Table will continue to refine the proposals and their vision for the Canadian clean technology sector, and identify ambitious and measurable targets.
  • The next meeting will take place in Ottawa, Ontario.

It may be risky to adopt new technology ideas; but let’s not hide that. Let’s spotlight it and champion it and say that it is worth taking that risk to do things better. And then, incent it as much as we can.

Clean Technology Table Member, April 5, 2018
Date modified:

Tables sectorielles de stratégies économiques - Table sur les technologies propres

Promouvoir l'innovation transformatrice et la croissance propre dans tous les secteurs d'affaires de l'économie grâce au développement, à la commercialisation et à l'adoption accrus de solutions axées sur les technologies propres.

Président

Audrey Mascarenhas, Questor Technology Inc.

Membres

  • Mike Andrade, Morgan Solar Inc.
  • Marvin DeVries, Trojan Technologies Inc.
  • Malini Giridhar, Enbridge Gas Distribution Inc.
  • Jodi Glover, Real Tech Inc.
  • Karen Hamberg, Westport Innovations Inc.
  • Judi Hess, CopperLeaf Technologies Inc.
  • David Isaac, W Dusk Energy Group Inc.
  • Andrée-Lise Méthot, Cycle Capital Management
  • Christofer Mowry, General Fusion Inc.
  • Robert Niven, CarbonCure Technologies Inc.
  • Tom Rand, ArcTern Ventures
  • Pierre Rivard, TUGLIQ Energy Co.
  • Annette Verschuren, NRStor Inc.
  • Daryl Wilson, Hydrogenics Corporation

Représentants du gouvernement fédérale

  • John Knubley, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada
  • Philip Jennings, Ressources naturelles Canada

Réunions

Le 7 décembre Lieu : Ottawa, Ontario

Objet

Le 7 décembre 2017, la Table sectorielle de stratégies économiques sur les technologies propres a tenu sa première réunion à Ottawa (Ontario). Les membres se sont réunis pour discuter de leur vision et établir un plan de travail en vue d'accroître les capacités du Canada en matière de technologies propres.

Ce dont nous avons parlé

  1. Les membres ont expliqué pourquoi ils ont accepté de participer à la Table. Certains ont souligné les possibilités économiques et sociales offertes à l'économie canadienne par les technologies propres, tandis que d'autres ont parlé de leurs priorités pour les cibles, les mesures et le leadership du gouvernement en matière de technologies propres.
  2. Les membres ont partagé leur passion et ont indiqué qu'ils souhaitent voir le Canada devenir un chef de file dans le développement et l'adoption des technologies propres.
    • « Le changement climatique et la durabilité constituent un enjeu déterminant pour notre époque. Nous devons voir grand et faire preuve d'audace. »
    • « Si on fonde l'économie sur les technologies résilientes, cela rendra l'économie plus résiliente. »
  3. Les présentations fédérales mettent en contexte les initiatives relatives aux technologies propres découlant du budget de 2017 et du Cadre pancanadien sur la croissance propre et les changements climatiques.
  4. Il y a eu une discussion animée concernant des éléments possibles de l'énoncé de vision pour les technologies propres, qui sera précisé plus en détail lors des prochaines réunions.
    • « J'aimerais que notre énoncé de vision porte sur la réduction de notre empreinte carbone au pays et à l'étranger. »
    • « À mon avis, il s'agit d'une transition vers l'économie que nous voulons. Comment pouvons-nous maintenir un équilibre entre le discours en tant qu'individus et en tant que citoyens? Quel rôle les technologies propres peuvent-elles jouer pour nous permettre de réaliser nos objectifs — et quelle est la meilleure façon d'atteindre ces objectifs?  »
  5. Les participants ont souligné la nécessité de prendre des mesures concrètes et ciblées sur les technologies propres dans quatre domaines pour éliminer les goulots d'étranglement dans la croissance du secteur, notamment :
    1. Innovation et expansion des entreprises;
    2. Développement des marchés et commerce;
    3. Réglementation pour stimuler l'innovation; et
    4. Emplois et compétences.

Ce que nous ferons ensuite

  • Des champions thématiques ont été désignés et feront avancer la discussion.
  • Tous les membres chercheront des occasions de mobiliser leur collectivité et de recueillir des commentaires sur les discussions de la Table.
  • La prochaine réunion aura lieu en janvier 2018.

Les technologies propres sont un enjeu mondial. Le Canada présente une diversité et nous pouvons utiliser notre ouverture pour collaborer et créer des solutions. Il s'agit de notre marque.

Membre de la Table sur les technologies propres, le 7 décembre 2017
Le 25 janvier Lieu : Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique

Objet

Le 25 janvier 2018, les membres de la Table de stratégies économiques du secteur des technologies propres se sont réunis à Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique, pour discuter des défis et des possibilités d'innovation et de l'expansion des entreprises canadiennes dans le secteur des technologies propres.

Ce dont nous avons parlé

  1. Le mot d'ouverture a permis de faire le point sur le travail accompli à ce jour, notamment un résumé de la réunion des présidents en décembre et un compte rendu de la séance de mobilisation des intervenants qui a eu lieu à Toronto le 17 janvier 2018 sur le thème de l'innovation et de l'expansion des entreprises.
    • «Nous sommes en présence d'un enjeu économique audacieux et important... nous ne pouvons pas résoudre ce problème, à moins de fonder des sociétés milliardaires. Ainsi, nous ne devons pas hésiter à saisir notre part du marché mondial, car il nous faut participer à l'élaboration de ce nouveau monde économique. C'est une question de survie humaine.»
  2. Les membres ont poursuivi la discussion sur leur vision ambitieuse du secteur et ses objectifs de croissance. Ils ont souligné l'importance des technologies propres pour assurer une croissance économique concurrentielle et décarbonisée au Canada. Les membres ont fait part de leur intérêt d'édifier une économie des technologies propres qui tire parti de la convergence de divers facteurs impératifs au chapitre de l'innovation, de l'économie, de la société et de l'environnement. Les membres de la table continueront de collaborer sur la vision et les objectifs.
    • « ...les technologies propres émergent à un rythme vertigineux : demande mondiale sans précédent, accélération des technologies, comment s'y prendre pour faire du Canada un chef de file mondial? »
  3. La Banque de développement du Canada (BDC) a donné un aperçu de l'appui financier fédéral récemment annoncé à l'intention des entreprises canadiennes de technologies propres.
  4. Ilse Treurnicht, membre du Conseil consultatif en matière de croissance économique, a fait part des points saillants et des points de vue liés à son mandat à titre de PDG de MaRS sur les entreprises de technologies propres florissantes au Canada. Selon Mme Treurnicht, les récents investissements du gouvernement fédéral dans les technologies propres constituent une occasion inégalée pour un secteur et le moment choisi est crucial pour tirer parti des possibilités offertes et positionner le Canada en tant que chef de file mondial.
    • «Nous n'avons pas encore développé la capacité de déployer des capitaux à l'échelle requise assez rapidement, car nos investisseurs traditionnels n'ont pas encore pénétré le marché…Comment faire en sorte que nos entreprises les plus prometteuses puissent pénétrer ce marché à court terme tout en leur assurant une croissance durable à long terme? »
  5. Les membres ont cerné les obstacles à l'expansion des entreprises canadiennes de technologies propres, pour ensuite en discuter . Ils se sont appuyés sur le travail accompli lors de la séance de mobilisation de Toronto pour peaufiner leurs principales idées stratégiques et proposer des mesures. Ces propositions et points de vue feront l'objet d'un examen et d'un peaufinage lors de prochaines réunions.

Ce que nous ferons ensuite

  • La prochaine réunion aura lieu à Toronto en mars 2018.
  • Avant la prochaine réunion, une séance de mobilisation des intervenants aura lieu à Halifax pour cerner les propositions réalisables qui répondent aux besoins du Canada de créer une main-d'œuvre efficace dans le domaine des technologies propres avec un ensemble d'habiletés concurrentielles pour appuyer une croissance inclusive et durable.

...si vous reculez dans le temps, vous serez à même de constater qu'une telle possibilité de croissance n'a jamais été offerte à un secteur.

Membre de la Table sur les technologies propres, le 25 janvier 2018
Le 1er mars 2018 Lieu : Toronto, Ontario

Objet

Le 1er mars 2018, la Table sectorielle de stratégies économiques sur les technologies propres a tenu sa troisième réunion à Toronto (Ontario). Les discussions ont porté sur la précision de la vision de la Table en ce qui concerne les technologies propres canadiennes et la mise en place d'un effectif efficace et compétent dans le secteur des technologies propres qui est à la fois inclusif et diversifié.

Ce dont nous avons parlé

  1. La réunion débute par une discussion sur la stratégie à venir pour le processus des Tables sectorielles de stratégies économiques et sur les résultats souhaités en ce qui concerne les recommandations de la Table. Des hauts représentants du gouvernement fédéral font état des points saillants du budget de 2018 et font le point sur d'autres initiatives fédérales clés.
  2. Un énoncé de vision provisoire et des cibles de croissance possibles sont présentés et font l'objet de discussions. Les membres conviennent qu'une vision ambitieuse pour le secteur des technologies propres devrait être courte, audacieuse et positive. La Table appuie largement un libellé sur la croissance des technologies propres en tant « qu'une des cinq meilleures industries d'exportation » pour le Canada. Les membres conviennent également que la vision devrait commencer par une cible économique ou relative à la concurrence mondiale, et qu'elle devrait comprendre un énoncé de valeur, portant probablement sur les résultats environnementaux.
  3. Les membres de la Table reviennent sur une discussion antérieure concernant la façon d'appuyer l'innovation et l'expansion des entreprises canadiennes de technologies propres. Ils soulignent les défis et l'importance de créer une demande dans les industries actuelles et les marchés publics. Ils s'intéressent toujours à la façon dont la réglementation stimulera la demande et l'adoption.
  4. Les membres de la Table discutent des principales constatations et recommandations découlant de la séance de mobilisation des intervenants sur le thème « Emplois et compétences », tenue à Halifax le 12 février 2018. Ces recommandations mettent l'accent sur la nécessité de s'assurer que le Canada favorise un effectif inclusif et diversifié, et de s'assurer que des mesures particulières portent sur l'augmentation du nombre de groupes sous-représentés qui travaillent dans le secteur, particulièrement les femmes et les Autochtones du Canada. ;
  5. Annette Verschuren, qui fait partie du Conseil canado-américain pour l'avancement des femmes entrepreneures et chefs d'entreprises, discute du travail effectué par le Conseil. Bon nombre de ses recommandations visant à accroître le nombre d'entreprises détenues par des femmes au Canada ont été mises en œuvre dans le budget de 2018.

Ce que nous ferons ensuite

  • La prochaine réunion aura lieu à Calgary (Alberta).
  • Avant la prochaine réunion, deux séances de mobilisation seront tenues à Vancouver et à Montréal. La séance de Vancouver portera sur le thème « Développement des marchés et commerce », tandis que la séance de Montréal portera sur le thème « La réglementation comme moteur d'innovation ». Les séances de mobilisation comprendront des membres de la Table et des intervenants clés de l'industrie et du gouvernement.

La culture mange de la stratégie pour le petit déjeuner. Si nous pouvons examiner notre culture, nous serons beaucoup plus avancés. Il est facile d'injecter des fonds dans des projets; notre objectif devrait consister à trouver des programmes qui optimisent le potentiel en changeant notre culture.

Membre de la Table sur les technologies propres, Le 1ermars 2018
Le 5 avril 2018 Lieu : Calgary, Alberta

Objet

Le 5 avril 2018, la Table sectorielle de stratégies économiques sur les technologies propres a tenu sa quatrième réunion à Calgary (Alberta). La discussion a porté sur le peaufinage des recommandations de la Table, ainsi que sur la vision et les objectifs du secteur canadien des technologies propres.

Ce dont nous avons parlé

  1. Les hauts représentants fédéraux commencent la réunion en faisant part des points saillants de la réunion de tous les présidents de chaque table stratégique. On informe également les membres de la Table des discussions à venir dans le cadre de l’atelier à l’intention de toutes les tables.
  2. Les membres de la Table examinent de nouveau la question sur l’appui des activités de développement du marché et les échanges commerciaux des entreprises canadiennes de technologies propres. Ils soulignent l’importance stratégique de l’approvisionnement intérieur dans la croissance des exportations mondiales. Enfin, les membres conviennent que le Canda doit tirer profit de sa marque et de ses atouts technologiques pour faire croître stratégiquement le secteur.
  3. Les membres examinent de nouveau les recommandations et les idées issues de la séance de mobilisation sur la réglementation comme moteur d’innovation. La conversation met l’accent sur l’importance d’harmoniser les règlements entre les administrations afin de favoriser l’adoption de technologies propres et l’innovation. Les membres de la Table souhaitent toujours cerner les règlements spécifiques qui nuisent à la croissance.
  4. La discussion se poursuit par des recommandations visant à soutenir l’innovation et la croissance des entreprises, en particulier la recommandation de la Table qui visait à fournir un soutien (financier et non financier) efficace et ciblé aux principales entreprises de technologies propres du Canada et à stimuler la demande intérieure par le biais de l’approvisionnement.
  5. En ce qui concerne la croissance de l’emploi et l’amélioration des compétences, les membres de la Table continuent de chercher des façons de développer les compétences en affaires, en entrepreneuriat et en développement des marchés des entreprises de technologies propres.

Ce que nous ferons ensuite

  • Les membres de la Table continueront de peaufiner les propositions et leur vision pour le secteur canadien des technologies propres et de définir des objectifs ambitieux et mesurables.
  • La prochaine réunion aura lieu à Ottawa (Ontario).

Même s’il est risqué d’adopter de nouvelles idées technologiques, il ne faut pas s’empêcher de le faire. Mettons les choses en lumière! Défendons nos idées! Le risque en vaut bien la chandelle. Encourageons le plus possible les idées nouvelles!

Membre de la Table sur les technologies propres, Le 5 avril 2018
Date de modification :