Frequently asked questions: Clean Growth Hub

What is the Clean Growth Hub?

The Clean Growth Hub is a whole-of-government focal point for clean technology focused on supporting companies and projects, coordinating programs and tracking results. The Hub's team of experts from across government will help companies and researchers pursuing clean technology projects identify the federal programs and supports most relevant to their needs. Hub representatives can also help answer questions regarding policy, regulatory and procurement issues.

Which federal departments and agencies are participating in the Clean Growth Hub?

The Clean Growth Hub is a new service model that provides access to representatives of a number of federal departments and agencies with policies or programs that support clean technology. They are co-located together in Ottawa but serve all of Canada. This model leverages existing knowledge, expertise and working relationships while providing an easy, single point of contact for clean technology users and producers.

Participating departments and agencies include:

  • Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
  • Business Development Bank of Canada
  • Canadian Commercial Corporation
  • Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada
  • Environment and Climate Change Canada
  • Export Development Canada
  • Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Global Affairs Canada (Trade Commissioner Service)
  • Indigenous Services Canada
  • Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (Co-Chair)
  • National Research Council Canada
  • Natural Resources Canada (Co-Chair)
  • Standards Council of Canada
  • Sustainable Development Technology Canada
  • Transport Canada
  • Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (Centre for Greening Government)
What are clean technologies?

Clean technologies are defined as any process, good, or service that reduces environmental impacts through:

  • Environmental protection activities that prevent, reduce, or eliminate pollution or any other degradation of the environment;
  • Resource management activities that result in the more efficient use of natural resources, thus safeguarding against their depletion; or
  • The use of goods that have been adapted to be significantly less energy or resource intensive than the industry standard.

(Source: Statistics Canada)

How much funding is available?

The Clean Growth Hub helps stakeholders access the over $2.3 billion in Budget 2017 funding dedicated to clean technology, as well as other existing Government of Canada funding. The Hub does not provide funding directly to companies and stakeholders.

Does the Clean Growth Hub provide funding?

No, the Clean Growth Hub does not provide funding directly to companies and stakeholders. Clients must apply directly to programs. The Hub is meant to facilitate connections and help potential applicants navigate the federal funding landscape. It will also provide advice and information regarding policy, regulatory and procurement issues.

Do companies need to go through the Clean Growth Hub to get program funding?

No, the Clean Growth Hub is meant to facilitate connections and help potential applicants navigate the federal funding landscape. The Hub offers no-wrong-door access and provides a single, easy point of contact for connecting with clean technology programs and services. It will not take the place of existing funding or assessment processes and applicants can apply directly to programs.

How do I contact the Clean Growth Hub?

Send us an email at info.cgh-ccp@canada.ca to get started. We will ask you for some basic details about your company and your project.  Then, we will review your information and get back to you, answer any of your questions and connect you with the programs and services that may be right for you.

What services will the Clean Growth Hub provide?

The Clean Growth Hub will:

  • Help in navigating federal clean technology programs and services at the right stage for a specific company or project
  • Provide advice and information regarding policy, regulatory and procurement issues;
  • Improve the effectiveness of federal clean technology activities; and,
  • Track outcomes by ensuring comprehensive data collection, coordinated metrics, and reporting of results.
Are Clean Growth Hub services targeted at a certain type of company?

Services are available to firms of all sizes in the clean technology space, and across all sectors of the economy, recognizing that proponents will be at different stages of development with different needs.

We would love to speak to you if your project:

  • Is a clean technology that improves business performance;
  • Is new, novel or not widely commercially available; and
  • Uses resources more responsibly and reduces or eliminates negative environmental impact.
How does the Clean Growth Hub tie into provincial support provided for clean technology?

While Clean Growth Hub services will initially focus on connecting proponents to federal investments, it will gradually expand its network to connect proponents to relevant provincial, territorial, municipal, private sector and international networks and resources, whenever possible.

How is the Clean Growth Hub different than other Hubs created in Budget 2017?

The purpose of the Clean Growth Hub is to improve clean technology outcomes for Canada through support for improved product commercialization and company growth, higher rates of clean technology adoption, export and revenue growth, and increases in the number of quality clean technology jobs. The Hub also supports the Invest in Canada Hub and Global Affairs Canada in attracting clean technology related foreign direct investment, advances the Clean Technology and Innovation pillar of the Pan-Canadian Framework on Clean Growth and Climate Change, and is part of the Innovation and Skills Plan.

How is the Clean Growth Hub different from the Accelerated Growth Service (AGS), National Research Council (NRC) Concierge Service and the Trade Commissioner Service (TCS)?

The Clean Growth Hub is a dedicated service for clean technology producers and users that will provide advice to clients on where they can access dedicated clean technology supports as well as general innovation measures. This includes working with other federal client-oriented services like the AGS, TCS and NRC's Concierge Service by directing specific companies to these three services when they meet eligibility criteria. In addition, part of the Hub's mandate involves improving the effectiveness of federal clean technology activities and tracking outcomes by ensuring comprehensive data collection, coordinated metrics, and reporting of results.  The Clean Growth Hub advances the Clean Technology and Innovation pillar of the Pan-Canadian Framework on Clean Growth and Climate Change, and is part of the Innovation and Skills Plan.

What is Innovation Canada?

From funding to expert advice to driving new collaborations, there are hundreds of programs and services designed to help businesses innovate, create jobs and grow Canada's economy. Innovation Canada links them all in one place, digitally.

What is a company's Technology Readiness Level (TRL)?

Technology Readiness Levels Technology readiness levels (TRLs) are used to measure and evaluate the maturity of a specific innovation. TRL definitions are below:

Technology readiness levels definitions
Technology readiness level Definition
TRL 1—Basic principles observed and reported Lowest level of technology readiness. Scientific research begins to be translated into applied research and development. Examples might include paper studies of a technology's basic properties.
TRL 2—Technology concept and/or application formulated Invention begins. Once basic principles are observed, practical applications can be invented. Applications are speculative, and there may be no proof or detailed analysis to support the assumptions.
TRL 3—Analytical and experimental critical function and/or characteristic proof of concept Active research and development is initiated. This includes analytical studies and laboratory studies to physically validate the analytical predictions of separate elements of the technology.
TRL 4—Product and/or process validation in laboratory environment Basic technological products and/or processes are tested to establish that they will work.
TRL 5—Product and/or process validation in relevant environment Reliability of product and/or process innovation increases significantly. The basic products and/or processes are integrated so they can be tested in a simulated environment.
TRL 6—Product and/or process prototype demonstration in a relevant environment Prototypes are tested in a relevant environment. Represents a major step up in a technology's demonstrated readiness. Examples include testing a prototype in a simulated operational environment.
TRL 7—Product and/or process prototype demonstration in an operational environment Prototype near or at planned operational system and requires demonstration of an actual prototype in an operational environment (e.g. in a vehicle).
TRL 8—Actual product and/or process completed and qualified through test and demonstration Innovation has been proven to work in its final form and under expected conditions. In almost all cases, this TRL represents the end of true system development.
TRL 9—Actual product and/or process proven successful Actual application of the product and/or process innovation in its final form or function.
Date modified:

Foire aux questions : Carrefour de la croissance propre

Qu'est-ce que le Carrefour de la croissance propre?

Le Carrefour de la croissance propre est un point de contact pangouvernemental pour les technologies propres axé sur le soutien des entreprises et des projets, la coordination des programmes et le suivi des résultats. L'équipe de spécialistes provenant de l'ensemble du gouvernement aide les développeurs et les utilisateurs de technologies propres à trouver les programmes fédéraux et le soutien pertinents pour leurs besoins. Les représentants du Carrefour peuvent aussi répondre aux questions relatifs aux politiques, à la réglementation, à l’accès aux laboratoires fédéraux, à l’approvisionnement et aux compétences/formations liés aux technologies propres.

Quels ministères et organismes fédéraux participent au Carrefour de la croissance propre?

Le Carrefour de la croissance propre est un nouveau modèle de services qui offre l'accès à des représentants de ministères et d'organismes fédéraux avec des politiques et des programmes qui appuient les technologies propres. La plupart sont situés à Ottawa dans le même bureau (ou participent virtuellement), mais offrent leurs services à l'ensemble du Canada. Ce modèle tire parti des connaissances existantes, de l'expertise et des relations de travail, tout en offrant un point de contact simple et unique aux utilisateurs et producteurs de technologies propres.

Parmi les ministères et organismes participants figurent :

  • Affaires mondiales Canada (Service des délégués commerciaux)
  • Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada
  • Banque de développement du Canada
  • Conseil canadien des normes
  • Conseil national de recherches du Canada
  • La Corporation commerciale canadienne
  • Environnement et Changement climatique Canada
  • Exportation et développement Canada
  • Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (coprésident)
  • Pêches et Océans Canada
  • Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada
  • Ressources naturelles Canada (coprésident)
  • Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada (Centre pour un gouvernement vert)
  • Services aux Autochtones Canada
  • Technologies du développement durable du Canada
  • Transports Canada
En quoi consistent les technologies propres?

Les technologies propres sont définies comme étant des procédés, produits ou services qui réduisent les effets environnementaux au moyen de ce qui suit :

  • des activités de protection de l'environnement qui préviennent, réduisent ou éliminent la pollution ou toute autre dégradation de l'environnement;
  • des activités de gestion des ressources qui entraînent une utilisation efficace des ressources naturelles, et par conséquent, empêchent leur épuisement;
  • une utilisation de biens qui ont été adaptés pour consommer considérablement moins d'énergie ou pour mobiliser moins de ressources que les normes de l'industrie.

(Source : Statistique Canada)

À combien s'élève le financement disponible?

Le Carrefour de la croissance propre aide les intervenants à avoir accès à plus de 2,3 milliards de dollars réservés pour les technologies propres dans le budget de 2017, ainsi qu'à d'autres fonds existants fournis par le gouvernement du Canada. Le Carrefour n'offre pas de financement directement aux entreprises et aux intervenants.

Est-ce que le Carrefour de la croissance propre fournit du financement?

Non, le Carrefour de la croissance propre n'offre pas de financement directement aux entreprises et aux intervenants. Les clients présentent une demande directement aux programmes. Le Carrefour vise à faciliter l'établissement de liens et à aider les demandeurs potentiels dans le cadre du processus de financement. Il offre également des conseils et des renseignements en matière de politiques, de réglementation et d'approvisionnement.

Les entreprises doivent-elles passer par le Carrefour de la croissance propre pour obtenir du financement dans le cadre des programmes?

Non, le Carrefour vise à faciliter l'établissement de liens et à aider les demandeurs potentiels à s'y retrouver dans le contexte de financement fédéral. Le Carrefour assure un accès « sans fausse route » et offre un point de contact simple et unique pour trouver des programmes et des services qui appuient les technologies propres. Il ne remplacera pas les processus actuels de financement ou d'évaluation et les demandeurs peuvent présenter une demande directement aux programmes.

Comment puis-je communiquer avec le Carrefour de la croissance propre?

Pour commencer, envoyez-nous un courriel à info.cgh-ccp@canada.ca. Nous vous demanderons quelques renseignements de base sur votre entreprise et votre projet. Ensuite, nous examinerons vos renseignements, puis nous répondrons à vos questions et vous ferons part des programmes et des services qui pourraient répondre à vos besoins.

Quels sont les services offerts par le Carrefour de la croissance propre?

Le Carrefour de la croissance propre peut :

  • aider à consulter les programmes et les services fédéraux de technologies propres au bon moment pour une entreprise ou un projet particulier;
  • offrir des conseils et des renseignements en matière de politiques, de réglementation et d'approvisionnement;
  • améliorer l'efficacité des activités du gouvernement du Canada en matière de technologies propres;
  • suivre les résultats en assurant une collecte exhaustive de données, de paramètres coordonnés et de rapports sur les résultats.
Existe-t-il des services du Carrefour de la croissance propre qui visent un certain type d'entreprise?

Les services sont offerts aux entreprises de toutes les tailles dans le domaine des technologies propres, et dans l'ensemble des secteurs de l'économie. Il va de soi que les promoteurs en seront à différentes étapes du développement et auront donc des besoins différents.

Nous serions ravis de vous parler si votre projet :

  • est une technologie propre qui améliore le rendement de votre entreprise;
  • est nouveau, unique ou n'est pas accessible sur l'ensemble du marché;
  • utilise des ressources de manière plus responsable et réduit ou élimine les effets néfastes sur l'environnement.
Comment le Carrefour de la croissance propre est-il lié à l'appui provincial pour les technologies propres?

Le Carrefour de la croissance propre commencera par aider les promoteurs à établir des liens avec des investissements fédéraux, puis élargira graduellement ses services pour établir des liens avec les provinces, les territoires, les municipalités, le secteur privé et les réseaux et ressources internationaux, lorsque possible.

Qu'est-ce que le niveau de maturité technologique (NMT) d'une entreprise?

Le niveau de maturité technologique (NMT) est utilisé pour mesurer la maturité d'une innovation particulière. En voici les définitions :

Technology readiness levels definitions
Niveau de maturité technologique Définition
NMT 1 — Principes de base observés et signalés Niveau le plus bas de maturité technologique. La recherche scientifique commence à se traduire en recherche-développement appliquée. Par exemple, cette phase pourrait inclure des études sur les propriétés de base d'une technologie.
NMT 2 — Concept technologique ou application déterminée Début des inventions. Une fois les principes de base observés, des applications pratiques peuvent être inventées. Les applications sont hypothétiques et il se peut qu'elles ne s'appuient sur aucune preuve ou aucune analyse détaillée.
NMT 3 — Fonction critique analytique et expérimentale et/ou validation de principe caractéristique La R et D active est lancée. Cette étape comprend des études analytiques et en laboratoire permettant de valider physiquement les prédictions analytiques d'éléments distincts de la technologie.
NMT 4 — Validation du produit et/ou du processus en laboratoire Les produits ou les processus technologiques de base sont éprouvés pour voir s'ils fonctionnent.
NMT 5 — Validation du produit et/ou du processus dans un environnement pertinent La fiabilité du produit et/ou du processus augmente considérablement. Les produits et/ou les processus de base sont intégrés afin d'être testés dans un environnement simulé.
NMT 6 — Démonstration du prototype d'un produit et/ou d'un processus dans un environnement pertinent Les prototypes sont testés dans un environnement pertinent. Cela constitue un grand pas en avant dans le NMT avéré. L'essai d'un prototype dans un environnement opérationnel simulé en est un exemple.
NMT 7 — Démonstration du prototype d'un produit et/ou d'un processus dans un environnement opérationnel Prototype dans un système planifié ou sur le point de l'être nécessitant la démonstration d'un prototype réel dans un environnement opérationnel (p. ex. dans un véhicule).
NMT 8 — Produit et/ou processus réel mis au point et qualifié par des essais et des démonstrations Innovation éprouvée dans sa forme finale et dans les conditions prévues. Dans presque tous les cas, ce NMT constitue le terme du développement du système réel.
NMT 9 — Produit et/ou processus réel éprouvé lors d'opérations réussies Application réelle du produit et/ou du processus novateur dans sa forme ou sa fonction finale.
Date de modification :