Language selection

Search

Clean Technology Data Strategy

Clean technology activity in Canada contributes to clean growth and the transition to a low-carbon economy. It provides environmental solutions to issues such as climate change, air and water pollution, and resource scarcity. Clean technologies also contribute to economic growth and diversification by increasing access to international markets and creating well-paying jobs for Canadians.

The economic and environmental impacts of clean technologies in Canada can be difficult to clearly measure as clean technology activities cut across all major economic sectors. That is why the Government of Canada provided $14.5 million over four years in Budget 2017 to establish the Clean Technology Data Strategy (CTDS). This Strategy aims to ensure data is available to understand the economic and environmental contribution of clean technologies in Canada.

The Strategy, which is a joint initiative led by Natural Resources Canada (NRCan), Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED), the Clean Growth Hub, and Statistics Canada (StatCan), supports the collection of data and regular reporting on clean technology activities. Better data strengthens the evidence-base for decisions, improves the understanding of the emerging clean technology landscape, and ensures the creation of impactful policies and programs to support the production and adoption of clean technology.

Three components of the CTDS

The CTDS has three main components:

Text version

The Clean Technology Data Strategy is a joint initiative led by Natural Resources Canada, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, the Clean Growth Hub, and Statistics Canada, to improve data collection and reporting activities related to clean technology in Canada.

There are three main components in the Strategy and ongoing engagement with key stakeholders.

Component 1, led by Statistics Canada

  • Development and dissemination of authoritative clean technology statistics

Component 2, led by Natural Resources Canada

  • Leveraging industry data

Component 3, led by Clean Growth Hub

  • Leveraging administrative data

1
Development and dissemination of authoritative clean technology statistics

(led by Statistics Canada)

Expand the collection and production of statistics and macroeconomic indicators on the clean technology economy.

2
Industry data

(led by Natural Resources Canada)

Collect firm-level data to establish a common set of indicators across industries, allowing a better understanding of challenges and opportunities faced by clean technology companies.

3
Administrative data

(led by Clean Growth Hub)

Use existing administrative data to track impacts of government programs that support clean technology.

Ongoing engagement with key stakeholders

Provincial and territorial, federal and industry partners are engaged on an ongoing basis so that outputs of the CTDS will respond to current and emerging information needs.

Authoritative statistics and macroeconomic component (StatCan in cooperation with NRCan and ISED)

Canada was among the first countries in the world to measure the impact of clean technologies and environmental goods and services on a national level and commit to the regular publication of data on clean technology to inform decision-making, improve knowledge, and foster innovation.

The statistics and macroeconomic component of the CTDS consists of foundational economic and independent data published by Statistics Canada:

Industry component (NRCan)

Industry-level data is necessary to track smaller enterprises which may not be captured by StatCan surveys such as the Survey of Environmental Goods and Services. As such, NRCan launched a project with MaRS Discovery District to obtain survey data at the industry-level. Leveraging industry-level data to establish a common set of indicators across industries will allow a better understanding of challenges and opportunities faced by clean technology companies.

The industry data survey collects information on clean technology firms across Canada. Key indicators being gathered include investment and financing information, skills needs and market access. MaRS published a summary of the data from the 2017 pilot survey on the Globe Series webpage.

Administrative component (Clean Growth Hub)

Administrative Data is the data that government programs collect from applicants and funding recipients during program administration. Work under the administrative data component will enhance the federal capacity to track government investments and their impacts. This work is done by developing guidance for programs so that the program data collected are more consistent and comparable between programs, and are complementary to data collected by the other components of the Strategy. This work will improve the Government's ability to report on outcomes and design impactful programs.

A list of key clean technology programs implemented by the Government of Canada is available on the Clean Growth Hub website.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Stratégie relative aux données sur les technologies propres

Les activités dans le domaine des technologies propres au Canada favorisent la croissance propre et la transition vers une économie à faibles émissions de carbone. Les technologies propres offrent des solutions environnementales à des problèmes comme les changements climatiques, la pollution de l'air et de l'eau et la pénurie des ressources. De plus, elles contribuent à la croissance et à la diversification de l'économie en améliorant l'accès aux marchés internationaux et en créant des emplois bien rémunérés pour les Canadiens.

Il peut être difficile de mesurer clairement les retombées pour l'économie et l'environnement des technologies propres au Canada, car les activités liées aux technologies propres touchent tous les grands secteurs économiques. Voilà pourquoi le gouvernement du Canada a prévu 14,5 millions de dollars sur quatre ans dans le budget de 2017 pour établir la Stratégie relative aux données sur les technologies propres (SRDTP). L'objectif de cette stratégie est de s'assurer que des données sont disponibles pour comprendre la contribution des technologies propres sur les plans de l'économie et de l'environnement au Canada.

Cette stratégie, qui est une initiative conjointe de Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan), Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE), le Carrefour de la croissance propre et Statistique Canada (StatCan), contribue à la collecte de données et à la production régulière de rapports sur les activités liées aux technologies propres. Des données de meilleure qualité renforcent la base factuelle pour les décisions, améliorent la compréhension du nouveau contexte des technologies propres et assurent l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes qui génèrent des retombées pour favoriser la production et l'adoption des technologies propres.

Les trois volets de la SRDTP

La SRDTP se compose de trois grands volets :

Version textuelle

La Stratégie relative aux données sur les technologies propres est une initiative conjointe de Ressources naturelles Canada, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada, le Carrefour de la croissance propre et Statistique Canada qui améliorera les activités de collecte de données et la déclaration de résultats reliées aux technologies propres au Canada.

La stratégie comporte trois composantes principales et un engagement continu avec des partenaires clés.

volet 1, dirigé par Statistique Canada

  • Élaboration et diffusion de données fiables sur les technologies propres

volet 2, dirigé par Ressources naturelles Canada

  • Utiliser les données de l'industrie

volet 3, dirigé par Carrefour de la croissance propre

  • Tirer parti des données administratives

1
Élaboration et diffusion de données fiables sur les technologies propres

(Dirigé par Statistique Canada)

Élargir la collecte et la production de statistiques et d'indicateurs macroéconomiques sur l'économie des technologies propres.

2
Données de l'industrie

(Dirigé par Ressources naturelles Canada)

Collecter des données auprès des entreprises pour établir un ensemble commun d'indicateurs pour l'ensemble des secteurs d'activité, ce qui permet d'avoir une meilleure compréhension des défis et des occasions qui se présentent aux entreprises de technologies propres.

3
Données administratives

(Dirigé par le Carrefour de la croissance propre)

Utiliser les données administratives actuelles pour assurer un suivi sur les répercussions des programmes gouvernementaux en appui aux technologies propres.

Dialogue continu avec les intervenants

Les partenaires provinciaux, territoriaux, fédéraux et industriels sont mobilisés de manière continue de telle sorte que les résultats de la SRDTP répondront aux besoins en information actuels et futurs.

Volet des statistiques fiables et des indicateurs macroéconomiques (StatCan en collaboration avec RNCan et ISDE)

Le Canada figurait parmi les premiers pays à mesurer les répercussions des technologies propres et des biens et services environnementaux à l'échelle nationale et à s'engager à publier de manière régulière des données sur les technologies propres pour orienter la prise de décisions, améliorer les connaissances et favoriser l'innovation.

Le volet des statistiques et des indicateurs macroéconomiques de la SRDTP se compose des données économiques et indépendantes de base publiées par Statistique Canada.

Volet des données de l'industrie (RNCan)

Des données provenant de l'industrie sont nécessaires pour suivre les petites entreprises qui pourraient ne pas être prises en compte dans les enquêtes de StatCan comme l'Enquête sur les biens et services environnementaux. Par conséquent, RNCan a lancé un projet avec MaRS Discovery District dans le but d'obtenir des données d'enquête à l'échelon de l'industrie. Utiliser les données recueillies auprès de l'industrie pour établir un ensemble commun d'indicateurs pour l'ensemble des secteurs d'activité permettra d'avoir une meilleure compréhension des défis et des occasions qui se présentent aux entreprises de technologies propres.

L'enquête pour obtenir des données auprès de l'industrie recueille de l'information sur les entreprises de technologies propres partout au Canada. Parmi les principaux indicateurs recueillis figurent de l'information sur les finances et les investissements, les besoins en compétences et l'accès aux marchés. MaRS a publié un résumé des données tirées de l'enquête-pilote, tenue en 2017, sur le site Web de Globe Series (anglais).

Volet des données administratives (Carrefour de la croissance propre)

Les données administratives sont les données qui sont recueillies dans le cadre des programmes gouvernementaux auprès des demandeurs et des bénéficiaires d'aide financière au cours de l'administration de ces programmes. Le travail effectué dans le cadre du volet des données administratives permettra d'améliorer la capacité du gouvernement fédéral à assurer un suivi sur les investissements gouvernementaux et les effets de ces investissements. Ce travail est réalisé en mettant au point une orientation pour les programmes pour que les données recueillies sur les programmes soient plus uniformes et comparables entre les programmes et complémentaires aux données collectées dans le cadre des autres volets de la Stratégie. Ce travail permettra d'améliorer la capacité du gouvernement à produire des rapports sur les résultats et à concevoir des programmes qui génèrent des retombées.

Une liste des programmes de technologies propres mis en œuvre par le gouvernement du Canada figure sur le site Web du Carrefour de la croissance propre.

Date de modification :