Get your business ready

中文

China is the world’s largest tourism source market and Chinese nationals are the largest spenders in international tourism. In 2016, 610,100 Chinese tourists visited Canada and spent approximately $1.5 billion (an average of $2,438 per visitor). China is now Canada’s third-largest tourism source market (behind the United States and the United Kingdom).

The Chinese tourist market is growing and represents an opportunity for Canadian businesses. Below, you will find a few key tips on how you can attract Chinese tourists.

Consider Chinese payment options

There are several Chinese-based credit and debit cards, as well as mobile payment applications that are used to pay for goods and services in China. Mobile payment applications are digital wallets that allow users to make purchases by scanning their phones. They are very popular in China. When travelling within China, the majority of Chinese tourists use mobile payments to pay for hotels and tourist attractions. Having mobile payment options available can make Chinese tourists feel more comfortable and facilitate spending at your business.

As with most payment systems, there are several Chinese credit/debit card options and mobile payment applications to choose from. Some examples include: UnionPay, Alipay, and WeChat Pay. There are also third parties in Canada that offer mobile application payment onboarding services.

Provide information in Mandarin

Although many Chinese tourists understand other languages, communicating in their standard language can make them feel more comfortable and welcome. Having a Chinese-language website, information and signage at your business (e.g. brochures, welcome letter to Chinese guests) could also go a long way in attracting Chinese tourists.

Market your business on Chinese social media and online platforms

The Chinese population is very active on social media. Given that some popular Western-based online platforms are not available in China, Canadian businesses could consider establishing an online presence through Chinese-based platforms such as Weibo, WeChat or Baidu (as compared to Facebook, Instagram or Google) in order to reach their target audience. In 2016, 58% of Chinese travelers to Canada booked their trip through online travel agencies. Marketing your business on Chinese social media and online platforms can help you attract Chinese tourists. Given the level of Internet use by the Chinese population, having WiFi readily available at your location can help you attract Chinese tourists and even allow them to share their tourism experiences through social media.

Learn more about the China tourism market

Destination Canada: Canada-China Year of Tourism plans

Highlight safety and security

Chinese tourists value safety and security when travelling. Highlighting the safety and security of your business could make it stand out.

Diversify your offerings

The Chinese tourist market is diverse. The majority of millennials often prefer customized and individual experiences, while most baby boomers generally prefer group tours. At the same time, we know that Chinese tourists look for a diverse offering of products and services, including a wide variety of food and beverage choices. In order to attract Chinese tourists, it would be important to know your target market and ensure that you offer many choices for your guests.

Use the Canada-China Year of Tourism logo

If you're a tourism provider or you operate a business, you can use the free Canada-China Year of Tourism logo to publicize your CCYT events and promotions.

Canada-China Year of Tourism logo guidelines

Date modified:

Préparez votre entreprise

中文

La Chine est le plus important marché source de touristes, et les ressortissants chinois sont ceux qui dépensent le plus en matière de tourisme international. En 2016, le Canada a accueilli 610 100 touristes chinois. Ces visiteurs ont dépensé environ 1,5 milliard de dollars au pays, soit une moyenne de 2 438 $ par visiteur. La Chine se trouve au troisième rang des pays d’origine pour les visiteurs au Canada, derrière les États-Unis et le Royaume-Uni.

Le marché touristique chinois est en croissance et offre des possibilités aux entreprises canadiennes. Vous trouverez ci-dessous quelques stratégies clés pour susciter l’intérêt des touristes chinois.

Envisagez d’utiliser des modes de paiement chinois

Il existe plusieurs types de cartes de crédit et de débit en Chine, ainsi que des applications de paiement mobile qui permettent de se procurer des biens et des services. Les applications de paiement mobile sont des portefeuilles numériques qui servent à faire des achats en balayant un téléphone cellulaire. Ces applications sont très populaires en Chine. Lors de leurs voyages à l’intérieur de leur pays, la majorité des touristes chinois font appel aux services de paiement mobile pour régler leurs chambres d’hôtel et visiter des attractions touristiques. En offrant les paiements mobiles, votre entreprise peut mettre les touristes chinois plus à l’aise et faciliter leurs achats.

Comme c’est le cas pour la plupart des systèmes de paiement, il y a plusieurs options en matière de cartes de crédit et de débit et d’applications de paiement mobile en Chine. UnionPay, Alipay et WeChat Pay en sont des exemples. Au Canada, des tierces parties offrent des services d’intégration qui donnent accès au paiement par applications mobiles.

Fournissez de l’information en mandarin

Même si de nombreux touristes chinois comprennent d’autres langues, le fait de communiquer dans leur langue maternelle leur permet de se sentir plus à l’aise et mieux accueillis. Vous pourriez attirer plus facilement ces touristes en vous dotant d’un site Web, de documentation et de signalisation en langue chinoise (dépliants, lettre de bienvenue aux visiteurs chinois).

Faites la promotion de votre entreprise sur les plateformes en ligne et de médias sociaux chinoises

La population chinoise est très active sur les médias sociaux. Étant donné que certaines plateformes occidentales populaires comme Facebook, Instagram ou Google ne sont pas disponibles en Chine, votre entreprise pourrait opter pour des services chinois comme Weibo, WeChat ou Baidu pour joindre son auditoire cible. En 2016, 58 % des voyageurs chinois au Canada avaient réservé leur voyage par l’entremise d’une agence de voyages en ligne. Le marketing à l’aide des médias sociaux et des plateformes en ligne pourrait vous aider à attirer des touristes chinois. De plus, les Chinois se servent beaucoup d’Internet. La disponibilité du service Wi-Fi à votre établissement pourrait attirer des touristes chinois et même les inciter à se servir des médias sociaux sur place pour parler de leurs expériences touristiques.

Au sujet du marché touristique chinois

Les projets de Destination Canada dans le cadre de l’Année du tourisme Canada-Chine (en anglais)

Mettez l’accent sur la sécurité

Les touristes chinois accordent de l’importance à la sécurité. Votre entreprise pourrait se démarquer des autres en mettant l’accent sur la sécurité de ses activités.

Diversifiez votre offre

Le marché touristique chinois est diversifié. Les membres de la génération Y préfèrent avant tout les expériences individuelles et sur mesure, tandis que les baby-boomers optent majoritairement pour les voyages de groupe organisés. En même temps, nous savons que les touristes chinois cherchent une offre diversifiée de produits et de services, y compris lorsque vient le temps de boire et manger. Pour attirer des touristes chinois, la clé est de bien connaître le marché cible et d’offrir de nombreux choix à vos invités.

Utilisez le logo de l’Année du tourisme Canada-Chine

Si vous êtes exploitant d’une entreprise touristique ou autre, vous pouvez utiliser gratuitement le logo de l’Année du tourisme Canada-Chine pour promouvoir les activités et les promotions que vous organiserez dans le cadre de l’ATCC.

Utilisation du logo de l’Année du tourisme Canada-Chine

Date de modification :