Why tourists from China choose Canada

From: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Tourists from China come to Canada to have unique and exciting experiences, but the specific kinds of experiences they are looking for will differ. Here are some of the most popular kinds of experiences that visitors from China are seeking during their time in Canada. Understanding how your business can offer one (or many!) of these can help you better market to Chinese guests.

The local experience

Some visitors from China will want to experience Canada the way that we, as locals, do. They visit Canada seeking out authentic experiences that they cannot get anywhere else. These tourists are likely to gravitate toward small businesses where they can taste local cuisine, purchase local products and get recommendations for other interesting attractions. Highlighting your business' connection to your area and the unique experience you can offer is a good way to connect with tourists seeking authentic experiences. Tourists who are interested in local experiences are also likely to be attracted to local heritage and may seek out museums, historic sites or heritage houses.

Connections to home

Many tourists from China travel to Canada to visit family or friends, and they are likely to make travel decisions based on their hosts' recommendations. Reaching out to local Chinese communities can be a great way to tap into the Chinese tourism market. The more well-known your business is in the local Chinese community, the more likely members of that community are to recommend you to their guests!

Some tourists from China are also interested in visiting places that are linked to China. Landmarks and historic sites that are connected to China and Canada's shared history, like the trees planted by Chinese leaders at Rideau Hall or the Norman Bethune Museum in Gravenhurst, Ontario, are attractive to tourists from China. Highlighting connections to Chinese history or culture can be a way to pique Chinese interest in your business and your community.

Prospective students

Some families travel to Canada to explore university campuses and scout out education opportunities for their children. Engaging with these tourists is a great opportunity for universities across Canada and for local businesses that cater to students. Connect with tourists from China by marketing yourself as an invaluable part of the local student experience.

Exploring the outdoors

One of Canada's most attractive features to tourists from China is its beautiful landscape. People come here to explore the outdoors and connect with nature. Outdoor explorer tourists will be attracted to backpacking opportunities, theme tours and eco-tours and will want to take part in exciting experiences like mountain climbing, hiking, camping or skiing.

Date modified:

Les raisons qui incitent les touristes chinois à visiter le Canada

De : Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

Les touristes de la Chine qui visitent le Canada veulent y vivre des expériences uniques et passionnantes. Certaines expériences les attirent tout particulièrement. Parmi les plus populaires, voici celles qu'ils préfèrent lors de leur séjour au Canada. Cherchez à savoir comment votre entreprise peut offrir une de ces expériences (ou plusieurs!) et les faire valoir pour attirer davantage de visiteurs chinois.

L'expérience de la vie locale

Certains visiteurs de la Chine veulent faire l'expérience du Canada telle que nous, les gens de la place, la vivons. Ils visitent le Canada à la recherche d'expériences authentiques qui n'existent pas ailleurs. Ces touristes ont tendance à graviter autour des petits commerces où ils peuvent découvrir la gastronomie régionale, acheter des produits locaux et se faire recommander d'autres attractions intéressantes. Il n'y a rien de tel que de souligner la dimension régionale de votre entreprise et l'expérience unique qu'elle a à offrir pour atteindre les touristes à la recherche d'expériences authentiques. Les touristes à l'affût d'expériences locales seront sans doute attirés par le patrimoine local et voudront visiter des musées, des lieux historiques ou des maisons patrimoniales.

Les rapports avec leur réalité

Bien des touristes de la Chine se rendent au Canada pour visiter des parents et amis et prendront probablement des décisions de voyage en fonction des recommandations de leurs hôtes. Vous avez donc tout intérêt à établir des rapports avec la communauté chinoise locale pour percer sur le marché touristique chinois. Plus votre entreprise est connue au sein de la population chinoise locale, plus ses membres sont susceptibles de la recommander à leurs invités!

Certains touristes de la Chine désirent également visiter des endroits liés à leur pays. Les points d'intérêt et les lieux historiques associés à l'histoire commune du Canada et de la Chine, comme les arbres plantés par des dirigeants chinois à Rideau Hall ou la Maison commémorative Bethune à Gravenhurst, en Ontario, attirent les touristes de la Chine. Vous pouvez établir des liens avec l'histoire ou la culture chinoise pour susciter l'intérêt des visiteurs de la Chine à l'égard de votre entreprise et de votre collectivité.

Les étudiants éventuels

Des familles d'origine chinoise viennent au Canada pour faire le tour des campus universitaires et explorer les endroits où leurs enfants pourraient poursuivre leurs études. D'excellentes occasions sont alors offertes aux universités de tout le Canada et aux entreprises locales de services aux étudiants qui cherchent à joindre ces touristes. Créez des liens avec des touristes de la Chine par des activités de marketing qui vous démarqueront comme un incontournable de l'expérience étudiante locale.

Les grands espaces à explorer

Pour les touristes de la Chine, l'un des principaux attraits du Canada réside dans la beauté de ses paysages. Les gens viennent ici pour faire des activités de plein air et communier avec la nature. Les possibilités d'excursions pédestres, de circuits thématiques et d'écotourisme intéressent grandement les touristes du voyage d'aventure qui recherchent des expériences palpitantes d'alpinisme, de randonnée, de camping ou de ski.

Date de modification :