Accommodating tourists from China

From: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

There are several services or amenities that you can offer to improve the experiences of your guests from China. Stakeholders have said that tourists from China put a premium on safe, clean and efficient venues.

Free WiFi

Offering free Wi-Fi is one of the most important ways to help social media–savvy tourists from China have a positive experience at your business. It helps guests easily stay connected to their families and friends while travelling and allows them to post on social media and write online reviews about their experience at your business. Offering free Wi-Fi is a great way to improve your guests' experience at your business and increase your visibility in the Chinese market.

Information in Mandarin

Mandarin is the official language of China and is likely to be the native language of many Chinese tourists. English is taught as a second language in China, so many younger tourists are likely to feel comfortable speaking English or be fluent in English. It is less likely that tourists from China will speak or understand French.

Even tourists who do speak English prefer to read in their native language, so it can be helpful to provide information on websites, menus, brochures, maps and catalogues in Mandarin. Having pricing information in Mandarin is also useful. Developing your website (or app if you have one) will also help tourists from China find your business when planning their trip. Providing information in Mandarin will help ensure a positive experience for your guests from China and increase the likelihood that they will recommend your business to friends and family travelling to Canada.

Efficient service

Most tourists from China want to squeeze in as many experiences as they can while visiting Canada and will not want to spend extended periods of time waiting for a service. Offering efficient service that will allow them to experience your business without wasting time is crucial to ensuring a positive experience.

Cleanliness and safety

Canada's reputation as clean and safe is attractive to Chinese tourists. Ensuring that your business is clean and feels safe and comfortable will help ensure they have a positive experience.

Make recommendations

Train members of your front-line staff so they can recommend local attractions, shopping districts and restaurants. Many tourists from China want to experience places they visit as a local would, so highlight unique attractions that only your region has to offer.

Tip:

Consider partnering with other local businesses or tourism associations to develop recommended itineraries that highlight interesting and unique businesses and experiences in your area. Here are some examples of mock itineraries for Vancouver (Opens in a new window) and Montreal (Opens in a new window) that Destination Canada has developed.

Familiar payment methods

Offering familiar payment methods will make tourists from China feel more comfortable and encourage them to spend money at your business. See our page on Payment Methods for information on which methods Chinese tourists prefer and how they are being rolled out in Canada.

Date modified:

Accueillir les touristes chinois

De : Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

Certains services et commodités sont particulièrement prisés des visiteurs chinois et leur permettent de vivre une expérience de voyage positive. Les parties prenantes ont indiqué que les touristes chinois accordent une grande importance à la sécurité, à la propreté et au déroulement efficace des activités.

Wi-Fi gratuit

Le Wi-Fi gratuit est un atout considérable pour votre entreprise. Les touristes chinois sont adeptes des médias sociaux et une connexion Internet rendra leur visite chez vous plus agréable. Vos invités pourront communiquer facilement avec leurs amis et leur famille, publier des messages sur les médias sociaux et rédiger des évaluations en ligne au sujet de votre entreprise, ce qui vous donnera plus de visibilité sur le marché chinois.

Information en mandarin

Le mandarin est la langue officielle de la Chine et la langue maternelle d'une importante proportion de touristes chinois. L'anglais est enseigné comme langue seconde en Chine, et les jeunes visiteurs sont nombreux à pouvoir converser dans cette langue ou à la parler couramment. La compréhension ou la maîtrise du français est plus rare chez les touristes chinois.

Les Chinois, même ceux qui comprennent l'anglais, préfèrent lire dans leur langue maternelle. Il pourrait donc être avantageux de produire du contenu Web, des menus, des brochures, des cartes et des catalogues en mandarin. Afficher vos prix en mandarin est également utile. Les sites Web et les applications mobiles (le cas échéant) aident aussi les touristes chinois à repérer des entreprises lors de la planification de leur voyage. En fournissant de l'information en mandarin, vous offrez une expérience positive à vos invités chinois, et vous les incitez à recommander votre entreprise à leurs amis et aux membres de leur famille qui viendront au Canada.

Efficacité des services

Les touristes chinois ont un horaire de voyage bien rempli, et ils ne veulent pas attendre longtemps avant d'obtenir des services. Organisez l'offre de votre entreprise de manière efficace et éliminez les pertes de temps. Ainsi, l'expérience des visiteurs sera plus satisfaisante.

Propreté et sécurité

Le Canada jouit d'une réputation de destination propre et sécuritaire auprès des touristes chinois. Assurez-vous que votre entreprise se conforme à ces critères et que les visiteurs chinois s'y sentent bien accueillis. Leur expérience n'en sera que meilleure.

Recommandations

Fournissez à votre personnel de première ligne de l'information au sujet des attractions locales, des secteurs commerciaux et des restaurants à proximité. Dans bien des cas, les voyageurs chinois aiment vivre des expériences typiquement locales. Il est donc avantageux de leur proposer des attractions qui n'existent nulle part ailleurs.

Conseil :

Examinez les possibilités de partenariat avec d'autres entreprises ou avec des associations touristiques locales. Vous pourriez établir des itinéraires recommandés qui mettent en valeur les entreprises et les expériences uniques et intéressantes de votre région. Par exemple, Destination Canada a monté des itinéraires suggérés pour Vancouver (anglais) (Ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre) et Montréal (anglais) (Ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre).

Modes de paiement

Les touristes chinois sont plus à l'aise et ont plus tendance à effectuer des dépenses lorsqu'une entreprise leur propose des modes de paiement qui leur sont familiers. Consultez notre page sur les modes de paiement pour en savoir plus sur les façons de payer qui conviennent le mieux aux touristes chinois et sur leur déploiement au Canada.

Date de modification :