Payment methods

From: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Offering a familiar and reliable payment method will go a long way toward helping tourists from China feel comfortable and encouraging them to spend money at your business.

One of the most popular payment methods among tourists from China is UnionPay; 62% name UnionPay as a preferred method of payment for booking accommodations while travelling. UnionPay has been available in Canada since 2009 and is now accepted at over 150,000 merchants and at 90% of ATMs across the country. Vancouver's CF Pacific Centre and Toronto's Yorkdale Mall house dozens of the many Canadian businesses that successfully implemented UnionPay to improve the shopping experience for tourists from China. In March 2018, UnionPay and the Tourism Industry Association of Canada (TIAC) announced a partnership to collaborate on business development and joint promotional activities, and UnionPay contributes to TIAC's 2018 Tourism Town Hall series.

Another preferred method of payment among tourists from China is mobile payment applications—digital wallets that allow users to make purchases at points of sale by scanning or holding their phones in front of a terminal and transferring money between accounts. These platforms also allow people to make web payments using their mobile device. The most popular mobile payment methods among tourists from China are Alipay and WeChat Pay, with 31% and 9% of tourists, respectively, preferring these platforms to book accommodations.

Alipay is accepted at many Canadian merchants, mainly in Vancouver and Toronto. WeChat Pay is built off the popular mobile messenger platform WeChat. Tourism Toronto and OTT Financial partnered to introduce WeChat Pay and Alipay to Toronto, where they have been rolled out in the Yorkdale Shopping Centre, Square One Mall, the CN Tower and Ripley's Aquarium of Canada. Tourism attractions across New Brunswick have also successfully implemented AliPay and WeChat Pay to better serve Chinese tourists.

Tourists from China also use common North American payment methods such as Visa, Mastercard and cash.

Date modified:

Modes de paiement

De : Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

L'utilisation de modes de paiement familiers et fiables permettra aux touristes chinois de se sentir en confiance et les incitera à dépenser de l'argent dans votre entreprise.

UnionPay est un des plus populaires modes de paiement utilisés par les visiteurs chinois. En fait, il obtient la faveur de 62 % des touristes en provenance de la Chine quand il est question de réserver un lieu de séjour au cours d'un voyage. UnionPay est disponible au Canada depuis 2009, est maintenant accepté par plus de 150 000 marchands et peut être utilisé dans plus de 90 % des guichets automatiques à travers le pays. Aux centres commerciaux CF Pacific Centre de Vancouver et Yorkdale Mall de Toronto, on trouve quelques douzaines des nombreuses entreprises canadiennes qui offrent UnionPay afin d'améliorer l'expérience de magasinage des visiteurs chinois. En mars 2018, UnionPay et l'Association de l'industrie touristique du Canada (AITC) ont annoncé qu'ils devenaient partenaires d'affaires et uniraient aussi leurs forces pour des activités promotionnelles. UnionPay participe au Programme d'assemblées locales sur le tourisme 2018 d'AITC.

Les applications de paiement mobile sont aussi populaires auprès des voyageurs chinois. Afin d'utiliser ces portefeuilles numériques qui servent à faire des achats, il suffit de balayer ou de tenir un téléphone cellulaire devant un terminal pour effectuer un transfert d'argent entre comptes. Ces plateformes permettent aux gens d'effectuer des paiements Web au moyen de leur appareil mobile. Pour la réservation d'un lieu de séjour, les touristes chinois préfèrent majoritairement Alipay (31 %) et WeChat Pay (9 %) comme modes de paiement mobiles.

Alipay est accepté dans plusieurs commerces canadiens, situés surtout à Vancouver et à Toronto. WeChat Pay est dérivé de la populaire plateforme de messagerie mobile WeChat. Tourisme Toronto et OTT Financial ont travaillé de concert pour introduire WeChat Pay et Alipay à Toronto. Ces applications ont été testées aux centres commerciaux Yorkdale Shopping Centre et Square One Mall ainsi qu'à la Tour CN et à Ripley's Aquarium of Canada. Des attractions touristiques au Nouveau-Brunswick ont aussi adopté avec succès AliPay et WeChat Pay afin de mieux servir les visiteurs de la Chine.

Les touristes chinois utilisent aussi les modes de paiement nord-américains comme Visa, Mastercard et l'argent comptant.

Date de modification :