Examples of China-ready businesses

From: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Businesses across Canada are developing a wide range of strategies to attract and welcome tourists from China. Some businesses are offering unique Canadian experiences, while others are hiring staff members who speak Mandarin. Several businesses report that attending trade shows and building relationships with Chinese tour operators is one of the best ways to reach the Chinese market. Read about how businesses across Canada have become China-ready and learn from their experience so you can implement China-readiness strategies that work for your business.

Sun Peaks Resort – British Columbia

Sun Peaks is a four-season mountain resort in British Columbia that offers a European-style ski-in ski-out experience in the winter and a wide range of outdoor activities—including biking, hiking and golf—in the summer. According to Colin Brost, Sun Peaks' Director of Market Development, one of the resort's most successful strategies to attract tourists from China has been building relationships with tourism organizations and Chinese receptive tour operators. Sun Peaks has been an active member of the Canadian Inbound Tourism Association – Asia Pacific (CITAP) for over 10 years, has attended Showcase Canada several times and collaborates with Chinese tour operators on an ongoing basis. The resort has also developed packages specifically targeted to tourists from China and translated marketing materials into simplified Chinese.

Sun Peak's China-readiness efforts have paid off, especially for summer tourism. Brost reports that in the summer of 2017, the number of tourists from China who visited Sun Peaks was up 175% from the same period in 2016. For its winter programming, Sun Peaks is capitalizing on China's growing "snow culture" leading up to the 2022 Winter Olympics in Beijing. For example, Sun Peaks is working to train and certify (Canadian Ski Instructors' Alliance) Chinese-language ski instructors so they can better serve tourists from China.

Tips from Sun Peaks:

  1. Think long-term. China-readiness strategies can take time and effort to implement, so it is important to plan ahead. Consider whether you will need to adapt your resort's accommodations or activities to welcome an influx of tourists from China. If so, start planning these changes early.
  2. Build strong, trusting relationships with Chinese tour operators and tourism associations. This will allow you to access the Chinese market and will give you connections that can provide you with useful feedback when you develop new products targeted to the Chinese market.
  3. Complete an audit of your business to assess whether your experiences and offerings line up with the demands of the Chinese market.

Target Tours Atlantic – Prince Edward Island

Target Tours Atlantic is an Island-owned tour operator based in Prince Edward Island that offers guests tours of Canada, the United States and Europe. After attending the Tourism Industry Association of Canada's (TIAC) China-readiness workshops, Target Tours Atlantic adapted some of its business practices to better serve tourists from China. John Dunphy, co-founder of Target Tours Atlantic, explained that one of the company's successful China-readiness steps was developing unique itineraries tailored to tourists from China that included activities like clam digging, strawberry picking, art lessons and golf lessons. Dunphy explains that these appeal to tourists from China because they are activities that they cannot try at home. Target Tours Atlantic also translated the itineraries into Mandarin to make them more accessible.

Tips from Target Tours Atlantic:

  1. Offer unique experiences that tourists cannot get in China to make sure tourists won't want to miss your business.
  2. Put your region on the map by collaborating with local tourism organizations and attending trade shows. If your destination is not well known, make a concerted effort to work with local tourism associations and other attractions to attract tourists from China to your region. Attending trade shows and missions is also a good way to build connections with Chinese tour operators that will help you reach the Chinese market.
  3. Be patient. You will need to invest time and money to develop your business in the Chinese market. Take the time to learn about Chinese culture and how Chinese people do business so that you can best tailor your approach to tourists from China and build good relationships with Chinese tour operators.

Hopewell Rocks – New Brunswick

The Hopewell Rocks in the Bay of Fundy is one of New Brunswick's top attractions. It is a self-directed park with interpretive staff located in key areas to answer questions from visitors. Annick Robichaud-Butland, the former Admission and Tours manager at Hopewell Rocks, reports that in 2013 one or two 55-person tour buses with Chinese tourists visited the site each day. That same year, Robichaud-Butland joined Destination Canada on a trade mission to China where she made contacts with tour operators. As a result, daily visits to the park by tourists from China doubled before the end of the season. Robichaud-Butland joined Destination Canada on another China trade mission in 2016. By 2017, between eight and nine 55-person tour buses with Chinese tourists were visiting Hopewell Rocks every day.

Tips from Hopewell Rocks:

  1. Have a strong Wi-Fi connection instead of spending money on developing a full Mandarin-language audio tour. Why? Many tour buses do multiple rapid stops in one day and their China-based operators have site descriptions on their social media channels.
  2. Do a site assessment and ask yourself these types of questions: Do I have the capacity to handle a sudden and large increase in tourist traffic. Are there signs for people who read something other than the Western alphabet? Do my on-site food offerings include any fast and ready-to-go foods that appeal to this new category of tourist?
  3. Work with experts like Destination Canada and the Tourism Industry Association of Canada, and if you can't go to China to attract business, go to travel trade shows like Rendez-vous Canada to meet Chinese operators. These partners can offer you resources—from translation to Chinese to support in learning to meet the needs of Chinese tourists.

Chelsea Hotel — Ontario

The Chelsea Hotel in downtown Toronto offers guests a wide range of amenities—from pools and a fitness centre to a family fun zone—that help ensure all guests feel at home. To help attract tourists from China and ensure that they enjoy their experience, the Chelsea Hotel is collaborating with Chinese tour operators and has implemented China-readiness strategies.

The Chelsea Hotel has taken steps to mitigate the challenges posed by the language barrier. When guests from China arrive at the hotel, they each receive a tailored welcome letter in simplified Chinese that includes information about local attractions, directions to Toronto's Chinatown, and information about Mandarin- and Cantonese-speaking staff members who can assist them with translation and directions.

In addition, the Chelsea Hotel has tailored its meal options to better serve guests from China. Breakfast now includes traditional Chinese foods, including congee, Chinese doughnuts and steamed buns. Hotel staff members report that the congee in particular is very well-received by Chinese tour operators and guests. At breakfast, lunch and dinner, Chinese groups receive a large pot of Chinese tea with Chinese style cups. Adding Chinese food and drink to the menu is an important way that the Chelsea Hotel makes its guests from China feel more at home.

Tips from the Chelsea Hotel:

  1. Research the needs of the Chinese market and tailor your offerings to fit their needs.
  2. Adapt business practices to ensure that tourists from China feel comfortable and welcome. Many of the Chelsea Hotel's successful China-readiness tactics, like providing information in simplified Chinese and offering traditional Chinese breakfast food, were centred on ensuring that tourists from China feel comfortable and at home at the hotel. These adaptations were well-received by Chinese guests and tour operators. Adapting your business practices based on market research will help ensure that tourists from China have a positive experience at your establishment.
Date modified:

Exemples d’entreprises prêtes à accueillir des touristes chinois

De : Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

Les entreprises canadiennes utilisent diverses stratégies pour attirer et accueillir les touristes de la Chine. Certaines d'entre elles offrent des expériences canadiennes uniques, alors que d'autres embauchent du personnel capable de s'exprimer en mandarin. Un certain nombre d'entreprises indiquent que la fréquentation des foires commerciales et l'établissement de relations avec les voyagistes chinois sont d'excellents moyens d'atteindre le marché chinois. Découvrez comment des entreprises canadiennes se sont préparées à accueillir les touristes chinois et tirez profit de leur expérience pour adopter vous aussi des stratégies bien adaptées à votre entreprise.

Centre de villégiature Sun Peaks – Colombie-Britannique

Sun Peaks (anglais) est un centre de villégiature quatre saisons situé en montagne en Colombie-Britannique qui offre une expérience de style européen « ski-in ski-out » (accès direct aux pistes) en hiver. En été, les activités de plein air offertes incluent les randonnées pédestres, le cyclisme et le golf. D'après Colin Brost, le directeur du développement des marchés de Sun Peaks, l'une des stratégies les plus fructueuses qu'a prises le centre de villégiature pour attirer les touristes de la Chine a été d'établir des relations avec des organisations de tourisme et des voyagistes chinois réceptifs. Sun Peaks est un membre actif de la Canadian Inbound Tourism Association – Asia Pacific (CITAP) (anglais) depuis plus de 10 ans, et a participé plusieurs fois au salon Showcase Canada (anglais). Il collabore de façon régulière avec les voyagistes chinois. Le centre de villégiature a adopté des forfaits adaptés aux touristes de la Chine et fait traduire son matériel promotionnel en chinois simplifié.

Les efforts de Sun Peaks pour se préparer à accueillir les touristes de la Chine ont porté des fruits spécialement durant l'été. Colin Brost rapporte que durant l'été de 2017, le nombre de touristes chinois qui ont visité Sun Peaks a augmenté de 175 % par rapport à la même période en 2016. Pour sa programmation hivernale, Sun Peaks mise sur la culture de plus en plus axée sur l'hiver en Chine en raison des prochains Jeux olympiques d'hiver qui auront lieu à Beijing en 2022. Par exemple, Sun Peaks travaille à former des instructeurs de ski accrédités par l'Alliance des moniteurs de ski du Canada qui parlent chinois pour qu'ils puissent mieux servir les touristes venant de la Chine.

Conseils émis par Sun Peaks :

  1. Penser à long terme. Il faut investir du temps et de l'énergie pour mettre en place une stratégie d'entreprise accueillante au marché chinois. Il faut aussi une vision à long terme. Demandez-vous si vous devrez adapter vos services d'hébergement ou les activités offertes par votre établissement pour accueillir l'afflux de touristes venant de la Chine. Si c'est le cas, il vaut mieux commencer à planifier ces changements sans tarder.
  2. Bâtir de solides relations de confiance avec les voyagistes et les associations de tourisme de la Chine. Cela vous permettra d'avoir accès au marché chinois et de gagner des contacts qui pourront vous fournir de la rétroaction lorsque vous développerez de nouveaux produits destinés au marché chinois.
  3. Évaluer votre entreprise pour voir si les expériences et les services que vous offrez correspondent aux besoins du marché chinois.

Target Tours Atlantic — Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Target Tours Atlantic (anglais) est une entreprise de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard qui organise des visites touristiques au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Europe. À la suite de leur participation aux ateliers sur la préparation à l'accueil de visiteurs chinois présentés par l'Association des industries touristiques du Canada (AITC), les dirigeants de Target Tours Atlantic ont modifié certaines pratiques pour mieux recevoir les Chinois. Selon John Dunphy, cofondateur de l'entreprise, l'une des stratégies fructueuses a été l'élaboration d'itinéraires sur mesure pour les touristes chinois, y compris l'inclusion d'activités comme la pêche de palourdes sur la plage, la cueillette de fraises, des cours d'art et des leçons de golf. M. Dunphy souligne que ces activités sont attrayantes pour les visiteurs chinois, car elles n'existent pas dans leur pays. Target Tours Atlantic a également traduit ses itinéraires en mandarin pour faciliter leur consultation par les touristes chinois.

Conseils de Target Tours Atlantic :

  1. Offrez des expériences uniques auxquelles les touristes chinois n'ont pas accès dans leur pays d'origine. L'offre de votre entreprise sera ainsi particulièrement attrayante.
  2. Faites connaître votre région en travaillant de pair avec les organismes de promotion du tourisme et en participant à des salons commerciaux. Si votre destination est encore méconnue, travaillez de concert avec les intervenants des associations et les responsables des attractions touristiques de votre région pour trouver des façons d'attirer des visiteurs chinois. La participation à des missions commerciales et à des salons touristiques permet d'établir des liens avec des entreprises chinoises qui vous ouvriront les portes de leur marché.
  3. Ayez de la patience, car il faut investir temps et argent pour enraciner une entreprise dans le marché chinois. Renseignez-vous sur la culture chinoise et sur les coutumes du monde des affaires. Vous pourrez ainsi choisir une approche qui trouvera écho chez les touristes chinois et qui vous permettra de bâtir une relation fructueuse avec les entreprises organisatrices de voyages de la Chine.

Rochers Hopewell Rocks – Nouveau-Brunswick

Le parc des rochers Hopewell Rocks de la baie de Fundy est une des plus importantes attractions touristiques du Nouveau-Brunswick. Il s'agit d'un parc de visites autonomes, où des guides-interprètes sont postés à des emplacements clés afin de répondre aux questions des visiteurs. Selon Annick Robichaud-Butland, ancienne gestionnaire des admissions et des visites de groupes à Hopewell Rocks, le site accueillait chaque jour, en 2013, un ou deux autocars de visiteurs chinois, d'une capacité de 55 personnes. Cette année-là, Mme Robichaud-Butland a participé à une mission de Destination Canada en Chine au cours de laquelle elle a pu établir des liens avec des voyagistes. À la suite de cette mission, le nombre de visites quotidiennes de voyageurs chinois a doublé, et ce, avant même la fin de la saison.

Mme Robichaud-Butland a de nouveau participé à une mission commerciale de Destination Canada en Chine en 2016, et, en 2017, le parc Hopewell Rocks accueillait entre huit et neuf autocars de visiteurs chinois par jour, transportant chacun 55 personnes.

Conseils découlant de l'expérience à Hopewell Rocks :

  1. Offrez des connexions Wi-Fi fiables au lieu d'investir dans la création d'une présentation audio en mandarin pour des visites guidées. Pourquoi? Les autocars font souvent le tour de plusieurs sites touristiques au cours d'une même journée, et les exploitants chinois affichent des descriptions des sites sur leurs médias sociaux.
  2. Évaluez les sites et demandez-vous si vous avez la capacité d'accueil nécessaire pour gérer la venue soudaine d'un grand nombre de visiteurs. Avez-vous prévu de la signalisation pour les visiteurs dont l'écriture n'est pas fondée sur l'alphabet latin? Est-ce que les mets offerts sur place comportent des repas faciles à préparer rapidement et intéressants pour cette nouvelle clientèle touristique?
  3. Travaillez avec des experts comme ceux de Destination Canada ou de l'Association de l'industrie touristique du Canada, et, si vous n'avez pas la chance d'aller en Chine pour faire de la promotion, participez à des salons touristiques comme Rendez-vous Canada pour y rencontrer des exploitants chinois d'entreprise touristique. Ces partenaires peuvent vous offrir des ressources, que ce soit pour de la traduction ou pour vous apprendre comment satisfaire aux besoins des touristes chinois.

Hôtel Chelsea — Ontario

L'Hôtel Chelsea (anglais), situé en plein cœur de Toronto, offre un large éventail de services, allant des piscines à un centre d'entraînement en passant par une aire familiale amusante, le tout pour veiller à ce que ses clients s'y sentent chez eux. En vue d'attirer des touristes de la Chine et de leur faire vivre une expérience positive, l'établissement collabore avec des voyagistes chinois et a mis en place des stratégies d'accueil.

L'Hôtel Chelsea a pris des mesures pour atténuer les défis posés par la barrière de la langue. Lorsque des voyageurs chinois arrivent à l'hôtel, ils reçoivent une lettre de bienvenue personnalisée en chinois simplifié qui comprend des renseignements sur les attractions locales, l'itinéraire vers le quartier chinois de Toronto, et de l'information sur les membres du personnel qui parlent le mandarin ou le cantonais et qui pourraient leur venir en aide avec la traduction et les itinéraires.

L'Hôtel Chelsea a par ailleurs adapté ses options culinaires afin de mieux servir ses convives de la Chine. Des plats traditionnellement chinois ont été ajoutés au menu du déjeuner, dont le congee, les beignets chinois et les petits pains à la chinoise. Les membres du personnel de l'hôtel ont affirmé que les voyagistes et touristes chinois appréciaient tout particulièrement le congee. Les groupes en provenance de la Chine se voient aussi servir à tous les repas une grande quantité de thé chinois dans des tasses de style chinois. En intégrant les aliments et les boissons de la Chine à son menu, l'Hôtel Chelsea a trouvé un moyen efficace de faire en sorte que les touristes chinois se sentent comme à la maison.

Conseils de l'Hôtel Chelsea :

  1. Faites de la recherche sur les besoins du marché chinois et personnalisez vos services pour y répondre.
  2. Adaptez vos pratiques commerciales pour que les touristes chinois se sentent à l'aise et les bienvenus. La plupart des tactiques adoptées par l'Hôtel Chelsea, comme la présentation de renseignements en chinois simplifié et l'offre d'aliments traditionnellement chinois au déjeuner, visaient à accueillir les touristes chinois de manière à ce qu'ils se sentent à l'aise et chez eux. Les mesures d'adaptation ont été bien reçues par les voyageurs et les voyagistes de la Chine. En adaptant vos pratiques commerciales en fonction des résultats de l'étude de marché, vous pourrez veiller à offrir aux touristes chinois une expérience positive au sein de votre établissement.
Date de modification :