Artificial Intelligence and Big Data Analytics for Advanced Autonomous Space Systems

From Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

The challenge is to apply artificial intelligence and big data analytics to bring tangible advancements in the operation and utilization of space assets in support of government operations, public safety, public health and discovery.

Sponsoring Department: Canadian Space Agency

Funding Mechanism: Contract

Opening date: February 19, 2018
Closing date: April 11, 2018, 14:00 Eastern Daylight Time (EDT)

Log in to view your submissions

Challenge

Problem statement

While space operations environments, including those in Government of Canada, continue to incrementally automate data processing and analysis pipelines, this automation tends to be focused within missions. There has been little advancement in merging large and diffuse datasets, despite the ongoing growth of open data archives across the globe. Such datasets are no doubt complementary but new methods – leveraging recent advancements in artificial intelligence and big data analytics - are needed to take advantage of and draw new meaning from the data from multiple space, airborne and ground platforms.

Benefits of such large-scale analysis include:

  • Improved coordination and efficiency of planning of spacecraft tasking;
  • Improved identification of anomalies, hazards or performance degradation over time;
  • Innovative autonomous detection and learning of subtle phenomenon not easily observed or expected by studying data in isolation.

The challenge is to apply artificial intelligence and big data analytics to bring tangible advancements in the operation and utilization of space assets in support of government operations, public safety, public health and discovery. Mining of long-term telemetry archives can lead to enhanced operations of space assets. In space exploration, recombination of data from a variety of sensors observing space and other celestial bodies could lead to new discoveries and new lines of inquiry into the universe. Terrestrially, these methods could enable autonomous prediction of natural or man-made disasters and lead to transition from reactionary imaging in response to crises to new services in predicting and preventing disasters (including fires, floods, disease outbreak, space weather events, etc.).

Desired outcomes & considerations

The potential benefits of applying artificial intelligence and big data analytics to large and heterogeneous space data sets include:

  • Improved coordination and efficiency in task planning, for example, to minimize redundancy between disparate missions imaging the same targets (which can even cause interference in the case of active sensing);
  • Improved identification of and recovery from anomalies, hazards or performance degradation by discovering new information in mission telemetry. Such discovery could lead to new techniques/calibration and to maintain/improve performance and extend mission duration. In the case of the International Space Station (ISS), this could include taking advantage of its many cameras to draw knowledge on the state of the ISS structure over time and/or insights into the surrounding environment and potential shielding strategies;
  • Learning subtle new phenomenon to enable autonomous prediction of natural or man-made disasters, which could allow Earth observation platforms to transition from reactionary imaging in response to crises to new services in predicting and preventing disasters, (including fires, floods, disease outbreak, space weather events, etc.);
  • Enhancing space exploration by combining data and applying relevant new techniques to the datasets from the variety of telescopes and sensors looking into space, or observing other celestial bodies, to contribute to new discoveries and an improved understanding of processes relevant to space exploration or astronomy;
  • Other discoveries not envisioned above, but enabled by applying new techniques to the wealth and depth of available space-based data.

Background & context

Space platforms are becoming increasingly popular, with several private companies announcing new satellite constellations/platforms to provide a multitude of services on Earth and far beyond. With lower cost, higher productivity and increasing autonomy of such space assets, the space operations community will soon be dealing with a multitude of missions becoming operational and an exponential increase in the amount of data available to be processed, analyzed and turned into operational products.

Beyond the large telemetry archives typically available within space operations data centres, commonly accessible archives of potentially relevant data include:

  • Government of Canada Open Data Portal;
  • National Earth Observation Data Framework Catalogue (NEODF);
  • NASA Open Data Portal;
  • Canadian Astronomy Data Centre (CADC);
  • Minor Planet Centre;
  • USGS Landsat Global Archive;
  • Copernicus Open Access Hub.

It is believed that new methods based on recent advancements in artificial intelligence and big data analytics can be applied to directly support the Canadian Space Agency in managing its space asset fleet and yield far-reaching potential in improving public safety, public health and discovery.

This initiative is aligned with the Government of Canada's Open Data Policy, which is challenging for space data, given data policy factors such as security and commercial sensitivity for some subsets of the data. Segregating the data to ensure compliance with all applicable data policy factors would also need to be addressed as part of the work.

Please refer to the tender notice for this challenge on Buy and Sell.

Maximum value and travel

Maximum contract value

Multiple contracts can result from this Challenge.

The maximum funding available for any Phase 1 Contract resulting from this Challenge is $150,000.00 CAD (plus tax) including shipping, travel and living expenses, as applicable.

The maximum funding available for any Phase 2 Contract resulting from this Challenge is $1,000,000 CAD (plus tax) including shipping, travel and living expenses, as applicable. Only eligible businesses that have completed Phase 1 could be considered for Phase 2.

This disclosure is made in good faith and does not commit Canada to contract for the total approximate funding.

Travel: For Phase 1 it is anticipated that three meetings will require the successful bidder(s) to travel to the location identified below:

Kick-off meeting
CSA
St-Hubert, Québec

Progress Review Meeting
Teleconference/videoconference

Final Review Meeting
CSA
St-Hubert, Québec

Eligibility

Solution proposals can only be submitted by a small business that meets all of the following criteria:

  • for profit
  • incorporated in Canada (federally or provincially)
  • 499 or fewer full-time equivalent (FTE) employeesFootnote *
  • research and development activities that take place in Canada
  • 50% or more of its annual wages, salaries and fees are currently paid to employees and contractors who spend the majority of their time working in CanadaFootnote *
  • 50% or more of its FTE employees have Canada as their ordinary place of workFootnote *
  • 50% or more of its senior executives (Vice President and above) have Canada as their principal residenceFootnote *

Application guide

All federal departments and agencies that issue ISC challenges, regardless of whether they use a grant or a contract as the financial instrument to support research and development (R&D) in Phases 1 and 2, will assess proposals and bids from small businesses based on standard questions. The online application and bid submission system will contain these standard questions and provide guidance on the length of responses.

Assessment process

Once a complete application or bid is submitted, it will be sent to the department and agency that issued the challenge as well as to the Industrial Research Assistance Program (IRAP) for assessment. It is the prerogative of the challenge sponsoring department or agency to decide which businesses will receive funding for Phase 1. All businesses that submit an application or bid will receive feedback.

In advance of accepting applications and bids from eligible businesses, the following is meant to provide guidance to businesses on what could be asked as part of the application and bid submission process. The information below may be used to evaluate proposals and is subject to change.

Innovation

  • Please be prepared to identify the starting technology readiness level (TRL) of the solution and the anticipated TRL at the completion of Phase 1. Reminder, Phase 1 is meant for solutions in the TRL range from 1 to 4.
  • Be prepared to describe the novelty of your solution and how it advances the state-of-the-art over existing technologies, including competing solutions. Include in your description the scientific and technological basis upon which your solution is proposed.
  • Be prepared to identify what are the key scientific and technical risks facing your solution and how those risks would be addressed in Phase 1.

Benefits to Canada

  • Please be prepared to provide a brief description of your proposed solution and how it addresses the problem identified by the department or agency that issued the challenge statement.
  • Be prepared to describe the benefits to Canada that could result from the successful development of your solution, with a focus on three types of benefits: Economic Benefits, Innovation Benefits, Public Benefits.

Economic Benefits: Consider the proposed solution's potential impact on the growth of your firm but other firms in Canada more broadly. This could include the development of new clusters and supply chains. Consideration should be given to the number of jobs created, number of high-paying jobs, project-related revenue growth, etc.

Innovation Benefits: Consider the proposed solution's expected contribution towards the enhancement or development of new industrial or technological innovation within your firm. For example, potential spillover benefits, creation of intellectual property, impact on productivity of the new technology, etc.

Public Benefits: Consider the proposed solution's expected contribution to the broader Canadian public, including but not limited to inclusive business and hiring practices (e.g., gender balance), investment in skills and training and the environment.

Management and technological capability

  • Please be prepared to identify the work plan for Phase 1 including key milestones and activities anticipated, the total time foreseen to complete Phase 1 (not more than 6 months), resources required to complete the project and the key success criteria.
  • Be prepared to identify the potential project risks (e.g., financial, project management, human resources, etc.) to the successful development of the solution and how those risks would be managed in Phase 1.
  • Be prepared to provide a brief description of the project implementation team including specific members, partners, their roles and responsibilities, and how their expertise is relevant to the project. The team members must include a Project lead.
  • Be prepared to describe what your business is doing to encourage greater inclusivity in its innovation activities. One of the objectives of the program is to encourage greater participation of under-represented groups (e.g., women, Indigenous people, youth, persons with disabilities, visible minorities) in the innovation economy.

Financial capability

  • Please be prepared to provide a financial proposal for R&D in Phase 1. Be sure to check the details of each challenge posting which will indicate the maximum funding available for Phase 1 as well as any eligible or ineligible costs.
  • In addition, please be prepared to provide information on funding received from other orders of government (i.e., federal, provincial and municipal) for the same work being proposed in your application or submission.
  • Please be prepared to describe the financial controls and oversight that your business has in place to manage public funds if selected to proceed into Phase 1.

Commercialization

  • Please be prepared to describe how you envision the commercialization of your solution and how potential risks or barriers to further commercialization would be mitigated.

Application guide

Questions and answers

Please visit Buy and Sell for all Questions and Answers related to this challenge.

Please visit Buy and Sell for all Questions and Answers related to the Call for Proposals.

If you have a question about a challenge, please send it to ISED-ISDE@canada.ca.

You can also consult the Frequently asked questions about the Innovation Solutions Program.

A glossary is also available.

Date modified:

Intelligence artificielle et analytique de données massives pour des systèmes spatiaux autonomes avancés

De Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

Le défi consiste à appliquer l'intelligence artificielle et l'analytique de données massives afin d'apporter des améliorations tangibles au fonctionnement et à l'utilisation des ressources spatiales à l'appui des opérations gouvernementales, de la sécurité publique, de la santé publique et de la découverte.

Ministère responsable : Agence spatiale canadienne

Mécanisme de financement: Contrat

Date d'ouverture : 19 février 2018
Date de clôture : 11 avril 2018, 14:00 Heure avancée de l'Est (HAE)

Connectez-vous pour accéder à vos soumissions

Défi

Énoncé du problème

Alors que les environnements opérationnels spatiaux, y compris ceux du gouvernement du Canada, ne cessent d'accroître l'automatisation du traitement de données et des pipelines d'analyse de données, l'automatisation a tendance à se limiter aux données des missions. La fusion de grands ensembles de données diffuses demeure embryonnaire, malgré la croissance continue des archives de données ouvertes dans le monde. Ces ensembles de données sont indubitablement complémentaires, mais il faut de nouvelles méthodes, exploitant les récentes percées de l'intelligence artificielle et de l'analytique des données massives, pour profiter des données issues de nombreuses plateformes spatiales, aériennes et terrestres et en tirer de nouvelles connaissances.

Voici quelques-uns des avantages d'une analyse à grande échelle de ce type :

  • meilleure coordination et plus grande efficacité de la planification des tâches des engins spatiaux;
  • amélioration de la découverte d'anomalies, de dangers ou de la dégradation du rendement au fil du temps;
  • détection autonome novatrice et apprentissage de l'existence de phénomènes subtils qui ne s'observent pas ou ne se prévoient pas facilement à partir de l'étude de données en vase clos.

La difficulté consiste à s'appuyer sur l'intelligence artificielle et l'analytique des données massives pour apporter des progrès tangibles à l'exploitation et l'utilisation de nos ressources spatiales, afin de soutenir les opérations gouvernementales, la sécurité publique, la santé publique et la découverte. L'exploitation des archives de télémétrie accumulées sur une longue période peut améliorer l'utilisation des biens spatiaux. Dans l'exploration spatiale, la recombinaison de données issues de divers capteurs d'observation de l'espace et des corps célestes peut entraîner de nouvelles découvertes et ouvrir de nouvelles perspectives d'enquête sur l'univers. Sur Terre, ces méthodes permettraient la prévision autonome de catastrophes naturelles ou anthropiques et ainsi de passer d'une imagerie réactive venant en réponse aux crises à de nouveaux services de prévision et de prévention des catastrophes (notamment les incendies, les inondations, les flambées de maladie, les phénomènes météorologiques spatiaux, etc.).

Résultats escomptés et considérations

Les avantages de l'application de l'intelligence artificielle et de l'analytique des données massives à des ensembles de données spatiales volumineux et hétérogènes seraient entre autres les suivants :

  • la meilleure coordination et l'efficacité accrue de la planification des tâches, par exemple pour réduire la redondance entre différentes missions recueillant les images de cibles identiques (ce qui peut même causer des interférences en cas de télédétection active);
  • une meilleure définition des anomalies, des dangers et de la dégradation du rendement et l'amélioration du rétablissement dans ces cas, grâce à de nouvelles informations découvertes dans les données télémétriques des missions. Ces découvertes pourraient entraîner de nouvelles techniques ou de nouveaux étalonnages, maintenir ou améliorer le rendement et prolonger la durée des missions. Dans le cas de la Station spatiale internationale (SSI), il pourrait aussi s'agir d'exploiter les nombreuses caméras pour mieux connaître l'évolution de l'état de la structure de la SSI au fil du temps ou en apprendre plus au sujet de son environnement et de possibles stratégies de blindage;
  • assimilation de nouveaux phénomènes subtils rendant possible la prévision autonome de catastrophes naturelles ou anthropiques, ce qui permettrait aux plateformes d'observation de la Terre de passer d'une imagerie réactive venant en réponse aux crises à de nouveaux services de prévision et de prévention des catastrophes (notamment les incendies, les inondations, les éclosions de maladie, les phénomènes météorologiques spatiaux, etc.).
  • le renforcement de l'exploration spatiale par la combinaison de données et l'application judicieuse de nouvelles techniques aux ensembles de données provenant de divers télescopes et capteurs observant l'espace ou des corps célestes pour contribuer à de nouvelles découvertes et améliorer les connaissances sur des processus connexes à l'exploration spatiale ou l'astronomie;
  • d'autres découvertes non envisagées ci-dessus, mais rendues possibles par l'application de nouvelles techniques aux riches ensembles de données spatiales dont nous disposons.

Renseignements généraux et contexte

Les plateformes spatiales sont de plus en plus courantes. Ainsi, plusieurs entreprises privées ont annoncé de nouvelles plateformes satellitaires et constellations de satellites, destinées à fournir une multitude de services sur Terre et ailleurs dans l'espace. En raison des coûts moindres, de la productivité accrue et de la plus grande autonomie de ces biens spatiaux, les acteurs du milieu de l'exploitation spatiale verront de nombreuses missions entrer en activité et une augmentation exponentielle de la quantité de données à traiter, analyser et transformer en produits opérationnels.

Outre les grandes archives de télémétrie généralement disponibles dans les centres de données de l'exploitation spatiale, voici quelques-unes des archives de données potentiellement pertinentes et communément accessibles sont :

  • le portail Données ouvertes du gouvernement du Canada;
  • le Cadre national des données d'observation de la Terre (CNDOT);
  • le portail des données ouvertes de la NASA;
  • le Centre canadien de données astronomiques (CCDA);
  • le Centre des planètes mineures;
  • l'USGS Landsat Global Archive;
  • le Copernicus Open Access Hub.

On estime qu'il est possible d'appliquer de nouvelles méthodes fondées sur les percées récentes de l'intelligence artificielle et de l'analytique des données massives pour aider l'Agence spatiale canadienne à gérer sa flotte de biens spatiaux et à exploiter l'immense potentiel de ces nouveautés en vue d'améliorer la sécurité publique, la santé publique et la découverte.

Cette initiative est conforme à la politique du gouvernement du Canada en matière de données ouvertes, ce qui est parfois problématique quand il s'agit de données spatiales, en raison de certains facteurs de la politique de données sur la sécurité ou le caractère sensible du point de vue commercial de certains sous-ensembles de données. Dans le cadre de ce travail, il faudra aussi traiter de la séparation des données, de façon à respecter toutes les exigences de la politique de données qui s'appliquent.

Pour ce défi, s'il vous plait vous vous référer à l'appel d'offres sur Achats et ventes.

Valeur maximale et déplacement

Valeur maximale du contrat:

Ce défi pourrait donner lieu à de multiples contrats.

Un financement pouvant aller jusqu'à 150 000 $ CAN (plus taxes) pour une durée maximale de six mois pourrait être offert pour tout contrat de la phase 1 découlant de ce défi, incluant, si applicable, les frais de livraison, de déplacement et de subsistance.

Un financement pouvant aller jusqu'à 1 000 000 $ CAN (plus taxes) pour une durée maximale de deux ans pourrait être offert pour tout contrat de la phase 2 découlant de ce défi, incluant, si applicable, les frais de livraison, de déplacement et de subsistance.

Seules les entreprises admissibles ayant terminé la phase 1 pourront être considérées pour la phase 2.

Cette divulgation est faite de bonne foi et n'engage pas le Canada à accorder un contrat correspondant à la valeur totale maximale du financement.

Déplacement :

Pour la phase 1, il est prévu que jusqu'à trois réunions pourraient exiger que le(s) candidat(s) retenu(s) se déplace(nt) aux endroits ci-dessous :

Rencontre de démarrage
ASC
St-Hubert, Québec

Suivi des progrès
Téléconférence/vidéoconférence

Rapport Final
ASC
St-Hubert, Québec

Admissibilité

Les propositions de solutions peuvent uniquement être présentées par une petite entreprise qui satisfait aux critères suivants :

  • être à but lucratif
  • être constituée au Canada (au fédéral ou au provincial)
  • compter au plus 499 employés équivalent temps plein (ETP)Note de bas de page *
  • mener des activités de recherche-développement au Canada
  • verser présentement au moins 50 % de ses salaires, rémunérations et honoraires annuels à des employés et à des entrepreneurs qui passent la majeure partie de leurs heures de travail au CanadaNote de bas de page *
  • compter au moins 50 % de ses employés ETP dont le lieu de travail habituel est au CanadaNote de bas de page *
  • compter au moins 50 % de ses cadres supérieurs (vice-président ou niveaux supérieurs) dont la résidence principale est au CanadaNote de bas de page *

Guide de présentation d'une demande ou d'une soumission

Tous les ministères et organismes qui publient des défis dans le cadre du programme SIC, qu'ils offrent ou non une subvention ou un contrat comme instrument financier de soutien à la recherche et au développement (R et D) dans la première et la deuxième phases, évalueront les demandes et les soumissions de toutes les petites entreprises en se basant sur des questions types. Les formulaires de demande en ligne et le système de soumission comprendront ces questions types et des indications sur la longueur des réponses.

Processus d'évaluation

Les demandes ou soumissions complètes présentées seront transmises au ministère ou à l'organisme qui a publié le défi, ainsi qu'au Programme d'aide à la recherche industrielle (PARI) à des fins d'évaluation. Le ministère ou l'organisme qui parraine le défi a la prérogative de décider à quelles entreprises il octroie du financement dans le cadre de la première la phase. Toutes les entreprises qui présentent une demande ou une soumission recevront des commentaires.

Ce qui suit vise à donner des indications sur les questions qui pourraient être posées dans le cadre du processus de présentation de demandes ou de soumissions avant l'acceptation de ces dernières reçues d'entreprises admissibles. Les informations ci-dessous peuvent être utilisées pour évaluer les demandes et peuvent être modifiées en tout temps.

Innovation

  • Soyez prêt à indiquer le niveau de maturité technologique (NMT) de départ de la solution et le NMT prévu au terme de la première phase. Rappel : la première phase est réservée aux solutions de niveaux 1 à 4 de l'échelle du NMT.
  • Soyez prêt à décrire le caractère novateur de votre solution et la façon dont elle fait progresser l'état des connaissances par rapport aux technologies existantes, notamment les solutions concurrentes. Veuillez inclure dans votre description les bases scientifiques et technologiques sur lesquelles repose la solution que vous proposez.
  • Soyez prêt à déterminer les principaux risques scientifiques et techniques liés à votre solution et la manière dont ces risques seront gérés dans la première phase.

Avantages pour le Canada

  • Soyez prêt à fournir une brève description de la solution que vous proposez et de la façon dont elle résout le problème cerné par le ministère ou l'organisme qui a publié l'énoncé de défi.
  • Soyez prêt à décrire les avantages pour le Canada qui pourraient découler d'un développement réussi de votre solution en mettant l'accent sur trois types d'avantages : les avantages économiques, les avantages sur le plan de l'innovation et les avantages pour le public.

Avantages économiques : considérez l'incidence de la solution proposée sur la croissance de votre entreprise et d'autres entreprises au Canada. Il peut s'agir du développement de nouvelles grappes industrielles et chaînes d'approvisionnement. Il faut prendre en compte le nombre d'emplois créés, le nombre d'emplois bien rémunérés, la hausse des recettes liée au projet, etc.

Avantages sur le plan de l'innovation : l'apport escompté de la solution proposée à la création ou à l'amélioration d'innovations industrielles ou technologiques récentes au sein de votre entreprise. Par exemple, les retombées potentielles, la création de propriétés intellectuelles, l'incidence de la nouvelle technologie sur la productivité, etc.

Avantages pour le public : la contribution prévue de la solution proposée pour la population canadienne en général, notamment des pratiques commerciales et d'embauche inclusives (par ex. l'équilibre entre les sexes) et un investissement dans les compétences et la formation, ainsi que dans l'environnement.

Capacité de gestion et technologique

  • Soyez prêt à préciser le plan de travail de la première phase, notamment les principales étapes et activités prévues, le délai total prévu pour compléter la première phase (pas plus de six mois), les ressources requises pour achever le projet et les principaux critères de réussite.
  • Soyez prêt à préciser les risques potentiels du projet (par ex. risques financiers, gestion du projet, ressources humaines, etc.) qui peuvent menacer la réussite du développement de la solution et leur gestion dans la première phase.
  • Soyez prêt à donner une brève description de l'équipe de mise en œuvre du projet, notamment les membres, les partenaires, leurs rôles et responsabilités, ainsi que la pertinence de leur expertise dans le cadre du projet. Les membres de l'équipe doivent comprendre un chef de projet.
  • Soyez prêt à expliquer les mesures prises par votre entreprise pour favoriser une plus grande intégration dans ses activités d'innovation. Un des objectifs du programme consiste à favoriser une plus grande participation des groupes sous-représentés (par ex. les femmes, les Autochtones, les jeunes, les personnes handicapées et les membres des minorités visibles) à l'économie de l'innovation.

Capacité financière

  • Soyez prêt à fournir une proposition financière pour la recherche et le développement de la première phase. Assurez-vous de vérifier les détails de chaque défi publié relatifs aux coûts admissibles ou non et au maximum de financement disponible pour la première phase.
  • Soyez également prêt à fournir de l'information sur le financement reçu d'autres ordres de gouvernement (fédéral, provincial et municipal) pour le travail que vous proposez dans votre demande ou soumission.
  • Soyez prêt à préciser la surveillance et les contrôles financiers que votre entreprise a mis en place pour gérer les fonds publics advenant qu'elle soit choisie pour entamer la première phase.

Commercialisation

  • Soyez prêt à préciser comment vous envisagez la commercialisation de votre solution et comment vous comptez atténuer les risques ou les obstacles potentiels relatifs à sa commercialisation ultérieure.

Guide d'application

Questions et réponses

S'il vous plaît visitez Achats et ventes pour toutes les questions et réponses reliées à ce défi.

S'il vous plaît visitez Achats et ventes pour toutes les questions et réponses relatives à l'appel de propositions.

Si vous avez une question à propos d'un défi, veuillez l'envoyer à ISED-ISDE@canada.ca.

Vous pouvez également consulter la Foire aux questions sur le programme Solutions innovatrices Canada.

Un lexique est aussi disponible.

Date de modification :