Advanced Coatings and Materials for Personal Protective Ensembles

From Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Identify and develop innovative solutions and technologies for materials and coatings to enhance Personal Protective Ensembles to counter Chemical/Biological/Radiological threats.

Sponsoring Department: Department of National Defence

Funding Mechanism: Contract

Opening date: February 19, 2018
Closing date: April 20, 2018, 14:00 Eastern Daylight Time (EDT)

Log in to view your submissions

Challenge

Problem statement

Personal Protective Ensembles (PPE) must be worn by Canadian Armed Force (CAF) personnel when they operate in Chemical/Biological/Radiological (CBR) permissive threat environments to minimise the adverse physiological health effects that may result from possible exposure to toxic chemicals and materials. Effective PPE requires a balance between functionality (ability to stay on task and complete a mission), protection and burden (physiological, physical and psychological).

The challenge is to identify and develop innovative solutions and technologies for materials and coatings to enhance PPE to counter CBR threats. These solutions could include “smart” materials that alter their state in response to an external trigger, either driven by the environment or activated by the user, which would, through a change in physical properties or wear characteristics, significantly enhance the functionality/ease of wear, protection or reduction in burden for users in a CBR hazard environment. Associated technologies could include coatings or materials which have selective permeability to enhance evaporative heat transfer from the body whilst preventing penetration of toxic chemicals to the skin; reactive constituents that neutralise toxic chemicals on contact; super-adsorbents/absorbents that trap and isolate chemicals to minimise exposure; super-repellant (super-amphiphobic) coatings that will resist wetting by very low surface tension chemicals; or, other solutions that disclose the physical presence of CBR contamination in the environment on surfaces of military relevance, thereby enhancing hazard mitigation and management.

Desired outcomes & considerations

Soldier's tasks and missions will continue to become ever more complex and the need for PPE to integrate seamlessly with the myriad of sophisticated equipment fielded during operations more pressing. DND/CAF need to continue the development and advancement of its suite of PPE to ensure that systems will provide the functionality necessary to meet a continuum of mission requirements whilst maintaining a balanced approach to protection based on the threat and expected hazards, and burden when worn in high threat state. There is a spectrum of agents that can be looked at for example, chemicals with surface tensions less than ‎25 mN/m and chemicals with very low vapour pressures (more than 1000 times less than water). Materials that will keep aerosols (particles) from depositing on the skin but continue to allow evaporative heat transfer may be of interest. It is expected that smart coatings or materials that enhance functionality, protection or reduce burden, which also may include such technologies as selective permeability, reactive constituents, super-absorbency/absorbency, super-repellency or disclosure will have been explored as solutions. Materials must reduce infrared (IR) signature and must be flame resistant. Typical colours of military relevance and clear coatings (not-shiny) are of interest.

Background & context

Military operations involving nonconventional warfare are demanding new approaches to providing the soldier protection against possible exposure to toxic chemicals and biological pathogens. Asymmetric attacks are expected to be less severe in magnitude and shorter in duration, but their occurrence almost impossible to predict. In effect, some limited level of protection would be of benefit all of the time during asymmetric operations, rather than the current situation which finds soldiers with no immediately available protection most of the time. To capably interdict or respond to emerging asymmetric threats and operate in the face of the many hazards that may arise from these, the Canadian Armed Forces has a need for specialised clothing and equipment for the soldier that will ensure operational tempo is maintained whilst providing balanced protection from harm and mitigation of the physiological impact from burden. Technologically advanced coatings and materials that lead to lighter weight, thinner and highly robust fabrics will be the foundation for the next generation of protective systems.

Please refer to the tender notice for this challenge on Buy and Sell.

Maximum value and travel

Maximum contract value:

Multiple contracts could result from this Challenge.

The maximum funding available for any Phase 1 Contract resulting from this Challenge is $150,000.00 CAD (plus tax) including shipping, travel and living expenses, as applicable.

The maximum funding available for any Phase 2 Contract resulting from this Challenge is $1,000,000.00 CAD (plus tax) including shipping, travel and living expenses, as applicable. Only eligible businesses that have completed Phase 1 could be considered for Phase 2.

This disclosure is made in good faith and does not commit Canada to contract for the total approximate funding.

Travel:  No travel anticipated.

Eligibility

Solution proposals can only be submitted by a small business that meets all of the following criteria:

  • for profit
  • incorporated in Canada (federally or provincially)
  • 499 or fewer full-time equivalent (FTE) employeesFootnote *
  • research and development activities that take place in Canada
  • 50% or more of its annual wages, salaries and fees are currently paid to employees and contractors who spend the majority of their time working in CanadaFootnote *
  • 50% or more of its FTE employees have Canada as their ordinary place of workFootnote *
  • 50% or more of its senior executives (Vice President and above) have Canada as their principal residenceFootnote *

Application guide

All federal departments and agencies that issue ISC challenges, regardless of whether they use a grant or a contract as the financial instrument to support research and development (R&D) in Phases 1 and 2, will assess proposals and bids from small businesses based on standard questions. The online application and bid submission system will contain these standard questions and provide guidance on the length of responses.

Assessment process

Once a complete application or bid is submitted, it will be sent to the department and agency that issued the challenge as well as to the Industrial Research Assistance Program (IRAP) for assessment. It is the prerogative of the challenge sponsoring department or agency to decide which businesses will receive funding for Phase 1. All businesses that submit an application or bid will receive feedback.

In advance of accepting applications and bids from eligible businesses, the following is meant to provide guidance to businesses on what could be asked as part of the application and bid submission process. The information below may be used to evaluate proposals and is subject to change.

Innovation

  • Please be prepared to identify the starting technology readiness level (TRL) of the solution and the anticipated TRL at the completion of Phase 1. Reminder, Phase 1 is meant for solutions in the TRL range from 1 to 4.
  • Be prepared to describe the novelty of your solution and how it advances the state-of-the-art over existing technologies, including competing solutions. Include in your description the scientific and technological basis upon which your solution is proposed.
  • Be prepared to identify what are the key scientific and technical risks facing your solution and how those risks would be addressed in Phase 1.

Benefits to Canada

  • Please be prepared to provide a brief description of your proposed solution and how it addresses the problem identified by the department or agency that issued the challenge statement.
  • Be prepared to describe the benefits to Canada that could result from the successful development of your solution, with a focus on three types of benefits: Economic Benefits, Innovation Benefits, Public Benefits.

Economic Benefits: Consider the proposed solution's potential impact on the growth of your firm but other firms in Canada more broadly. This could include the development of new clusters and supply chains. Consideration should be given to the number of jobs created, number of high-paying jobs, project-related revenue growth, etc.

Innovation Benefits: Consider the proposed solution's expected contribution towards the enhancement or development of new industrial or technological innovation within your firm. For example, potential spillover benefits, creation of intellectual property, impact on productivity of the new technology, etc.

Public Benefits: Consider the proposed solution's expected contribution to the broader Canadian public, including but not limited to inclusive business and hiring practices (e.g., gender balance), investment in skills and training and the environment.

Management and technological capability

  • Please be prepared to identify the work plan for Phase 1 including key milestones and activities anticipated, the total time foreseen to complete Phase 1 (not more than 6 months), resources required to complete the project and the key success criteria.
  • Be prepared to identify the potential project risks (e.g., financial, project management, human resources, etc.) to the successful development of the solution and how those risks would be managed in Phase 1.
  • Be prepared to provide a brief description of the project implementation team including specific members, partners, their roles and responsibilities, and how their expertise is relevant to the project. The team members must include a Project lead.
  • Be prepared to describe what your business is doing to encourage greater inclusivity in its innovation activities. One of the objectives of the program is to encourage greater participation of under-represented groups (e.g., women, Indigenous people, youth, persons with disabilities, visible minorities) in the innovation economy.

Financial capability

  • Please be prepared to provide a financial proposal for R&D in Phase 1. Be sure to check the details of each challenge posting which will indicate the maximum funding available for Phase 1 as well as any eligible or ineligible costs.
  • In addition, please be prepared to provide information on funding received from other orders of government (i.e., federal, provincial and municipal) for the same work being proposed in your application or submission.
  • Please be prepared to describe the financial controls and oversight that your business has in place to manage public funds if selected to proceed into Phase 1.

Commercialization

  • Please be prepared to describe how you envision the commercialization of your solution and how potential risks or barriers to further commercialization would be mitigated.

Application guide

Questions and answers

Please visit Buy and Sell for all Questions and Answers related to this challenge.

Please visit Buy and Sell for all Questions and Answers related to the Call for Proposals.

If you have a question about a challenge, please send it to ISED-ISDE@canada.ca.

You can also consult the Frequently asked questions about the Innovation Solutions Program.

A glossary is also available.

Date modified:

Matériaux et enduits de pointe pour ensembles de protection individuelle

De Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

Déterminer et élaborer des solutions et des technologies innovatrices pour les matériaux et les enduits dans le but d'améliorer les ensembles de protection individuelle visant à protéger le soldat contre les menaces de nature chimique, biologique et radiologique.

Ministère responsable : Ministère de la Défense nationale

Mécanisme de financement: Contrat

Date d'ouverture : 19 février 2018
Date de clôture : 20 avril 2018, 14:00 Heure avancée de l'Est (HAE)

Gagnants de la phase 1

Connectez-vous pour accéder à vos soumissions

Défi

Énoncé du problème

Lorsqu'il travaille dans des environnements permissifs à la menace chimique, biologique et radiologique (CBR), le personnel des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) doit porter des ensembles de protection individuelle (EPI) pour réduire au minimum les effets physiologiques néfastes pour la santé qui pourraient être causés par une éventuelle exposition à des matières et à des produits chimiques toxiques. Un EPI efficace exige d'assurer un équilibre entre la fonctionnalité (aptitude à demeurer concentré sur une tâche et à mener à bien la mission), la protection et la charge (physiologique, physique et psychologique).

Le défi consiste à déterminer et à élaborer des solutions et des technologies innovatrices pour les matériaux et les enduits qui serviront à améliorer les ensembles de protection individuelle visant à protéger le soldat contre les menaces CBR. Ces solutions pourraient inclure, sans toutefois s'y limiter : des matériaux « intelligents » qui modifient leur état en fonction d'un déclencheur externe, induit par l'environnement ou activé par l'utilisateur, qui pourraient, avec une modification de leurs propriétés physiques ou de leurs caractéristiques d'usure, améliorer considérablement la fonctionnalité, le confort et la protection, ou diminuer la charge pour les utilisateurs dans un contexte de menace CBR. Les technologies associées pourraient inclure des enduits ou des matériaux dotés d'une perméabilité sélective pour améliorer le transfert de chaleur par la transpiration du corps tout en empêchant la pénétration de produits chimiques toxiques dans la peau; des constituants réactifs qui neutralisent les produits chimiques toxiques en cas de contact; des matériaux hyper adsorbants ou absorbants qui piègent et isolent les produits chimiques pour réduire au minimum l'exposition; des enduits ultradéperlants (hyper-amphiphiles) qui résistent au mouillage grâce à des produits chimiques à très faible tension superficielle; ou d'autres solutions qui révèlent la présence physique d'une contamination CBR dans l'environnement sur des surfaces d'intérêt militaire, améliorant ainsi l'atténuation et la gestion des dangers.

Résultats attendus et éléments à prendre en compte

Les tâches et les missions des soldats continueront de se complexifier et la nécessité que l'EPI puisse s'intégrer parfaitement avec la myriade d'équipements perfectionnés utilisés sur le terrain pendant les opérations militaires s'affirme de plus en plus. Le MDN et les FAC doivent poursuivre le développement et les avancées en ce qui concerne sa gramme d'équipements de protection individuelle pour que ceux-ci offrant une fonctionnalité permettant de répondre à un éventail de besoins propres aux missions tout en maintenant l'équilibre entre la protection contre la menace et les dangers prévus et la charge de l'EPI lorsqu'il doit être porté dans une situation de menace élevée. Il existe un large éventail d'agents qui peuvent être considérés, par exemple, des produits chimiques avec des tensions de surface inférieures à 25 mN/m et des produits chimiques à très faible pression de vapeur (plus de 1 000 fois plus basse que l'eau). Les matériaux qui empêcheront les produits pulvérisés par aérosols (particules) de se déposer sur la peau, mais qui continueront à permettre le transfert thermique par évaporation peuvent être intéressants. Le MDN s'attend que des enduits ou des matériaux intelligents qui amélioreront la fonctionnalité et la protection, et qui réduiront la charge tout en incorporant des technologies comme la perméabilité sélective, des constituants réactifs, l'hyper-adsorption ou absorption, l'ultradéperlance ou la détection seront des solutions envisagées. Les matériaux doivent permettre de réduire la signature IR et doivent être résistants aux flammes. Les couleurs typiques d'utilisation militaire et des enduits clairs (non brillants) sont également intéressants.

Contexte

Les opérations militaires menées dans le cadre d'une guerre non conventionnelle sont des nouvelles approches qui exigent d'offrir au soldat une protection accrue contre une éventuelle exposition à des produits chimiques toxiques et à des pathogènes biologiques. On s'attend que les attaques asymétriques soient de moins grande ampleur et de plus courte durée, mais leur occurrence serait presque impossible à prévoir. En effet, un certain niveau de protection serait nécessaire en tout temps pendant une opération asymétrique, alors que la plupart du temps, les soldats n'ont pas présentement accès à une protection immédiate. Pour être en mesure de contrer ou de répondre aux nouvelles menaces asymétriques et de pouvoir fonctionner en présence des nombreux dangers qui peuvent surgir à cause de ces menaces, les Forces armées canadiennes ont besoin de vêtements et d'équipements spécialisés qui permettront aux soldats de maintenir la cadence opérationnelle tout en bénéficiant d'une protection équilibrée contre les blessures et une atténuation de l'impact physiologique de la charge. Des tissus plus légers, plus minces et très résistants produits au moyen de matériaux et d'enduits technologiquement évolués constitueront la base de la prochaine génération de systèmes de protection.

Pour ce défi, s'il vous plait vous vous référer à l'appel d'offres sur Achats et ventes.

Valeur maximale et déplacement

Valeur maximale du contrat:

Ce défi pourrait donner lieu à de multiples contrats.

Un financement pouvant aller jusqu'à 150 000 $ CAN (plus taxes) pour une durée maximale de six mois pourrait être offert pour tout contrat de la phase 1 découlant de ce défi, incluant, si applicable, les frais de livraison, de déplacement et de subsistance.

Un financement pouvant aller jusqu'à 1 000 000 $ CAN  (plus taxes) pour une durée maximale de deux ans pourrait être offert pour tout contrat de la phase 2 découlant de ce défi, incluant, si applicable, les frais de livraison, de déplacement et de subsistance.

Seules les entreprises admissibles ayant terminé la phase 1 pourront être considérées pour la phase 2.

Cette divulgation est faite de bonne foi et n'engage pas le Canada à accorder un contrat correspondant à la valeur totale maximale du financement.

Déplacement : Aucun déplacement prévu.

Admissibilité

Les propositions de solutions peuvent uniquement être présentées par une petite entreprise qui satisfait aux critères suivants :

  • être à but lucratif
  • être constituée au Canada (au fédéral ou au provincial)
  • compter au plus 499 employés équivalent temps plein (ETP)Note de bas de page *
  • mener des activités de recherche-développement au Canada
  • verser présentement au moins 50 % de ses salaires, rémunérations et honoraires annuels à des employés et à des entrepreneurs qui passent la majeure partie de leurs heures de travail au CanadaNote de bas de page *
  • compter au moins 50 % de ses employés ETP dont le lieu de travail habituel est au CanadaNote de bas de page *
  • compter au moins 50 % de ses cadres supérieurs (vice-président ou niveaux supérieurs) dont la résidence principale est au CanadaNote de bas de page *

Guide de présentation d'une demande ou d'une soumission

Tous les ministères et organismes qui publient des défis dans le cadre du programme SIC, qu'ils offrent ou non une subvention ou un contrat comme instrument financier de soutien à la recherche et au développement (R et D) dans la première et la deuxième phases, évalueront les demandes et les soumissions de toutes les petites entreprises en se basant sur des questions types. Les formulaires de demande en ligne et le système de soumission comprendront ces questions types et des indications sur la longueur des réponses.

Processus d'évaluation

Les demandes ou soumissions complètes présentées seront transmises au ministère ou à l'organisme qui a publié le défi, ainsi qu'au Programme d'aide à la recherche industrielle (PARI) à des fins d'évaluation. Le ministère ou l'organisme qui parraine le défi a la prérogative de décider à quelles entreprises il octroie du financement dans le cadre de la première la phase. Toutes les entreprises qui présentent une demande ou une soumission recevront des commentaires.

Ce qui suit vise à donner des indications sur les questions qui pourraient être posées dans le cadre du processus de présentation de demandes ou de soumissions avant l'acceptation de ces dernières reçues d'entreprises admissibles. Les informations ci-dessous peuvent être utilisées pour évaluer les demandes et peuvent être modifiées en tout temps.

Innovation

  • Soyez prêt à indiquer le niveau de maturité technologique (NMT) de départ de la solution et le NMT prévu au terme de la première phase. Rappel : la première phase est réservée aux solutions de niveaux 1 à 4 de l'échelle du NMT.
  • Soyez prêt à décrire le caractère novateur de votre solution et la façon dont elle fait progresser l'état des connaissances par rapport aux technologies existantes, notamment les solutions concurrentes. Veuillez inclure dans votre description les bases scientifiques et technologiques sur lesquelles repose la solution que vous proposez.
  • Soyez prêt à déterminer les principaux risques scientifiques et techniques liés à votre solution et la manière dont ces risques seront gérés dans la première phase.

Avantages pour le Canada

  • Soyez prêt à fournir une brève description de la solution que vous proposez et de la façon dont elle résout le problème cerné par le ministère ou l'organisme qui a publié l'énoncé de défi.
  • Soyez prêt à décrire les avantages pour le Canada qui pourraient découler d'un développement réussi de votre solution en mettant l'accent sur trois types d'avantages : les avantages économiques, les avantages sur le plan de l'innovation et les avantages pour le public.

Avantages économiques : considérez l'incidence de la solution proposée sur la croissance de votre entreprise et d'autres entreprises au Canada. Il peut s'agir du développement de nouvelles grappes industrielles et chaînes d'approvisionnement. Il faut prendre en compte le nombre d'emplois créés, le nombre d'emplois bien rémunérés, la hausse des recettes liée au projet, etc.

Avantages sur le plan de l'innovation : l'apport escompté de la solution proposée à la création ou à l'amélioration d'innovations industrielles ou technologiques récentes au sein de votre entreprise. Par exemple, les retombées potentielles, la création de propriétés intellectuelles, l'incidence de la nouvelle technologie sur la productivité, etc.

Avantages pour le public : la contribution prévue de la solution proposée pour la population canadienne en général, notamment des pratiques commerciales et d'embauche inclusives (par ex. l'équilibre entre les sexes) et un investissement dans les compétences et la formation, ainsi que dans l'environnement.

Capacité de gestion et technologique

  • Soyez prêt à préciser le plan de travail de la première phase, notamment les principales étapes et activités prévues, le délai total prévu pour compléter la première phase (pas plus de six mois), les ressources requises pour achever le projet et les principaux critères de réussite.
  • Soyez prêt à préciser les risques potentiels du projet (par ex. risques financiers, gestion du projet, ressources humaines, etc.) qui peuvent menacer la réussite du développement de la solution et leur gestion dans la première phase.
  • Soyez prêt à donner une brève description de l'équipe de mise en œuvre du projet, notamment les membres, les partenaires, leurs rôles et responsabilités, ainsi que la pertinence de leur expertise dans le cadre du projet. Les membres de l'équipe doivent comprendre un chef de projet.
  • Soyez prêt à expliquer les mesures prises par votre entreprise pour favoriser une plus grande intégration dans ses activités d'innovation. Un des objectifs du programme consiste à favoriser une plus grande participation des groupes sous-représentés (par ex. les femmes, les Autochtones, les jeunes, les personnes handicapées et les membres des minorités visibles) à l'économie de l'innovation.

Capacité financière

  • Soyez prêt à fournir une proposition financière pour la recherche et le développement de la première phase. Assurez-vous de vérifier les détails de chaque défi publié relatifs aux coûts admissibles ou non et au maximum de financement disponible pour la première phase.
  • Soyez également prêt à fournir de l'information sur le financement reçu d'autres ordres de gouvernement (fédéral, provincial et municipal) pour le travail que vous proposez dans votre demande ou soumission.
  • Soyez prêt à préciser la surveillance et les contrôles financiers que votre entreprise a mis en place pour gérer les fonds publics advenant qu'elle soit choisie pour entamer la première phase.

Commercialisation

  • Soyez prêt à préciser comment vous envisagez la commercialisation de votre solution et comment vous comptez atténuer les risques ou les obstacles potentiels relatifs à sa commercialisation ultérieure.

Guide d'application

Questions et réponses

S'il vous plaît visitez Achats et ventes pour toutes les questions et réponses reliées à ce défi.

S'il vous plaît visitez Achats et ventes pour toutes les questions et réponses relatives à l'appel de propositions.

Si vous avez une question à propos d'un défi, veuillez l'envoyer à ISED-ISDE@canada.ca.

Vous pouvez également consulter la Foire aux questions sur le programme Solutions innovatrices Canada.

Un lexique est aussi disponible.

Date de modification :