Robust "Beyond Line of Sight" (BLOS) Communications in Satellite-Denied Environments

From Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Provide robust approaches to over-the-horizon/BLOS communications in satellite-denied environments.

Sponsoring Department: Department of National Defence

Funding Mechanism: Contract

Opening date: February 19, 2018
Closing date: April 20, 2018, 14:00, Eastern Daylight Time (EDT)

Log in to view your submissions

Challenge

Problem statement

The Canadian Armed Forces uses both High Frequency (HF) and satellite communications (SATCOM) systems for beyond line of sight (BLOS) communications. While the HF band supports global communications, it is subject to widely varying performance due to interference, atmospheric conditions and, in times of conflict, jamming. Satellite communications can also be subject to denial jamming.

The challenge is to consider new approaches to providing robust, over-the-horizon/BLOS communications in satellite-denied environments, either by enhancing the reliability of HF and/or SATCOM approaches, or by exploring new technologies and techniques. While satellite communications have become (almost) ubiquitous, the satellites themselves are vulnerable to attack and therefore represent a potential point of failure. Canada, therefore, continues to need a robust backup for satellite communications under jamming in order to ensure strategic and operational command and control.

Desired outcomes & considerations

DND needs either more resilient/robust satellite communications or a robust backup for satellite communications (instead of using High Frequency (HF) systems) for beyond line of sight (BLOS) communications under various environmental and geographical conditions including in urban setting and remote locations.

Solutions need to support digital communications for tactical and operational communications including text and computer-computer traffic and, depending on the particular solution, digital voice. Further, in the presence of fading channels or interference, the system must gracefully degrade to supporting more basic text traffic using appropriate quality of service rule sets to prioritize. For system integration, an IP interface to terminal units would be preferred.

Bidders may consider other concepts such as tropospheric scattering, meteor trails and deploying orbiting High Altitude Long Endurance Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (HALE UAVs) as communications relays and propose alternative ways for over-the-horizon/BLOS communications to HF. Bidders may also consider concepts for more robust/resilience BLOS satellite communications under jamming conditions. As there are a number of conventional solutions available using very-high frequency (VHF) and ultra-high frequency (UHF), proposed solutions should extend well beyond those ranges.

Background & context

Background & Current efforts/technologies being explored:

Communications in satellite-denied environments remains a challenge in various settings; In order to mitigate the risk and challenge, efforts require either enhancing the reliability of HF approaches, or exploring new technologies and techniques to ensure uninterrupted command and control functions.

Solutions to communication systems in satellite denied environments may also find market in non-defence sectors as well as in international markets.

Please refer to the tender notice for this challenge on Buy and Sell.

Maximum value and travel

Maximum contract value:

Multiple contracts could result from this Challenge.

The maximum funding available for any Phase 1 Contract resulting from this Challenge is $150,000.00 CAD (plus tax) including shipping, travel and living expenses, as applicable.

The maximum funding available for any Phase 2 Contract resulting from this Challenge is $1,000,000.00 CAD (plus tax) including shipping, travel and living expenses, as applicable. Only eligible businesses that have completed Phase 1 could be considered for Phase 2.

This disclosure is made in good faith and does not commit Canada to contract for the total approximate funding.

Travel:  No travel anticipated.

Eligibility

Solution proposals can only be submitted by a small business that meets all of the following criteria:

  • for profit
  • incorporated in Canada (federally or provincially)
  • 499 or fewer full-time equivalent (FTE) employeesFootnote *
  • research and development activities that take place in Canada
  • 50% or more of its annual wages, salaries and fees are currently paid to employees and contractors who spend the majority of their time working in CanadaFootnote *
  • 50% or more of its FTE employees have Canada as their ordinary place of workFootnote *
  • 50% or more of its senior executives (Vice President and above) have Canada as their principal residenceFootnote *

Application guide

All federal departments and agencies that issue ISC challenges, regardless of whether they use a grant or a contract as the financial instrument to support research and development (R&D) in Phases 1 and 2, will assess proposals and bids from small businesses based on standard questions. The online application and bid submission system will contain these standard questions and provide guidance on the length of responses.

Assessment process

Once a complete application or bid is submitted, it will be sent to the department and agency that issued the challenge as well as to the Industrial Research Assistance Program (IRAP) for assessment. It is the prerogative of the challenge sponsoring department or agency to decide which businesses will receive funding for Phase 1. All businesses that submit an application or bid will receive feedback.

In advance of accepting applications and bids from eligible businesses, the following is meant to provide guidance to businesses on what could be asked as part of the application and bid submission process. The information below may be used to evaluate proposals and is subject to change.

Innovation

  • Please be prepared to identify the starting technology readiness level (TRL) of the solution and the anticipated TRL at the completion of Phase 1. Reminder, Phase 1 is meant for solutions in the TRL range from 1 to 4.
  • Be prepared to describe the novelty of your solution and how it advances the state-of-the-art over existing technologies, including competing solutions. Include in your description the scientific and technological basis upon which your solution is proposed.
  • Be prepared to identify what are the key scientific and technical risks facing your solution and how those risks would be addressed in Phase 1.

Benefits to Canada

  • Please be prepared to provide a brief description of your proposed solution and how it addresses the problem identified by the department or agency that issued the challenge statement.
  • Be prepared to describe the benefits to Canada that could result from the successful development of your solution, with a focus on three types of benefits: Economic Benefits, Innovation Benefits, Public Benefits.

Economic Benefits: Consider the proposed solution's potential impact on the growth of your firm but other firms in Canada more broadly. This could include the development of new clusters and supply chains. Consideration should be given to the number of jobs created, number of high-paying jobs, project-related revenue growth, etc.

Innovation Benefits: Consider the proposed solution's expected contribution towards the enhancement or development of new industrial or technological innovation within your firm. For example, potential spillover benefits, creation of intellectual property, impact on productivity of the new technology, etc.

Public Benefits: Consider the proposed solution's expected contribution to the broader Canadian public, including but not limited to inclusive business and hiring practices (e.g., gender balance), investment in skills and training and the environment.

Management and technological capability

  • Please be prepared to identify the work plan for Phase 1 including key milestones and activities anticipated, the total time foreseen to complete Phase 1 (not more than 6 months), resources required to complete the project and the key success criteria.
  • Be prepared to identify the potential project risks (e.g., financial, project management, human resources, etc.) to the successful development of the solution and how those risks would be managed in Phase 1.
  • Be prepared to provide a brief description of the project implementation team including specific members, partners, their roles and responsibilities, and how their expertise is relevant to the project. The team members must include a Project lead.
  • Be prepared to describe what your business is doing to encourage greater inclusivity in its innovation activities. One of the objectives of the program is to encourage greater participation of under-represented groups (e.g., women, Indigenous people, youth, persons with disabilities, visible minorities) in the innovation economy.

Financial capability

  • Please be prepared to provide a financial proposal for R&D in Phase 1. Be sure to check the details of each challenge posting which will indicate the maximum funding available for Phase 1 as well as any eligible or ineligible costs.
  • In addition, please be prepared to provide information on funding received from other orders of government (i.e., federal, provincial and municipal) for the same work being proposed in your application or submission.
  • Please be prepared to describe the financial controls and oversight that your business has in place to manage public funds if selected to proceed into Phase 1.

Commercialization

  • Please be prepared to describe how you envision the commercialization of your solution and how potential risks or barriers to further commercialization would be mitigated.

Application guide

Questions and answers

Please visit Buy and Sell for all Questions and Answers related to this challenge.

Please visit Buy and Sell for all Questions and Answers related to the Call for Proposals.

If you have a question about a challenge, please send it to ISED-ISDE@canada.ca.

You can also consult the Frequently asked questions about the Innovation Solutions Program.

A glossary is also available.

Date modified:

Communications robustes « au-delà de la portée optique » (BLOS) dans des environnements sans satellite

De Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

Fournir des solutions robustes pour les communications transhorizon ou BLOS dans des environnements sans satellite.

Ministère responsable : Ministère de la Défense nationale

Mécanisme de financement: Contrat

Date d’ouverture : 19 février 2018
Date de clôture : 20 avril 2018, 14:00 Heure avancée de l'Est (HAE)

Connectez-vous pour accéder à vos soumissions

Défi

Énoncé du problème

Les Forces armées canadiennes utilisent des systèmes haute fréquence (HF) et de télécommunications par satellite (SATCOM) pour les communications au-delà de la portée optique (BLOS). Bien que la bande HF permette les communications à l'échelle mondiale, ses performances varient beaucoup en raison du brouillage non intentionnel, des conditions atmosphériques et, en période de conflit, du brouillage intentionnel. Les communications par satellite peuvent aussi subir du brouillage par inhibition.

Le défi consiste à examiner de nouvelles solutions pour fournir des communications transhorizon ou BLOS robustes dans des environnements sans satellite, que ce soit en améliorant la fiabilité des systèmes HF et/ou SATCOM ou en étudiant de nouvelles technologies et de nouvelles techniques. Bien que l'on retrouve les communications par satellite (presque) partout, les satellites sont en soi vulnérables aux attaques et représentent aussi un point de défaillance potentiel. Par conséquent, le Canada a encore besoin d'une solution complémentaire robuste pour les communications par satellite soumis au brouillage intentionnel afin d'assurer le commandement et le contrôle stratégique et opérationnel.

Résultats attendus et éléments à prendre en compte

Le MDN a besoin soit de communications par satellite plus résilientes et robustes, soit d’une solution complémentaire robuste pour les communications par satellite au lieu des systèmes haute fréquence (HF) pour les communications au-delà de la portée optique (BLOS) dans diverses conditions environnementales et géographiques, notamment en milieu urbain et en région éloignée.

Les solutions doivent prendre en charge les communications numériques pour les communications tactiques et opérationnelles, y compris les transferts en format texte et d’ordinateur à ordinateur et, selon la solution particulière, la voix numérique. En outre, en présence de canaux à évanouissement ou d’interférences, le système doit progressivement se dégrader pour prendre en charge un trafic en format texte plus basique en utilisant des ensembles de règles de qualité de service appropriées pour le hiérarchiser. En matière d’intégration du système, l’utilisation d’une interface IP vers les unités de terminaux serait préférable.

Les soumissionnaires peuvent envisager d’autres techniques, dont la diffusion troposphérique, les traînées météoriques et le déploiement de drones haute altitude et longue endurance (HALE) en orbite comme relais de communications, ainsi que proposer des solutions de rechange aux HF pour les communications transhorizon ou BLOS. Les soumissionnaires peuvent aussi examiner des concepts de communications par satellite BLOS plus résilientes et robustes soumises à des conditions de brouillage intentionnel. Comme il existe un certain nombre de solutions conventionnelles disponibles en technologie de la très haute fréquence (VHF) et ultra-hautes fréquences (UHF), les solutions proposées doivent s’étendre bien au-delà de ces portées.

Contexte

Contexte et efforts ou technologies actuels étudiés :

Les communications dans des environnements sans satellite demeurent problématiques dans divers contextes. En vue de réduire le risque et le défi, les efforts doivent porter soit sur l'amélioration de la fiabilité des systèmes HF, soit sur l'étude de nouvelles technologies et de nouvelles techniques pour assurer des fonctions de commandement et de contrôle sans interruption.

Les solutions pour les systèmes de communications dans des environnements sans satellite peuvent aussi être commercialisées dans des secteurs autres que la défense ainsi qu'à l'international.

Pour ce défi, s'il vous plait vous vous référer à l'appel d'offres sur Achats et ventes.

Valeur maximale et déplacement

Valeur maximale du contrat:

Ce défi pourrait donner lieu à de multiples contrats.

Un financement pouvant aller jusqu'à 150 000 $ CAN (plus taxes) pour une durée maximale de six mois pourrait être offert pour tout contrat de la phase 1 découlant de ce défi, incluant, si applicable, les frais de livraison, de déplacement et de subsistance.

Un financement pouvant aller jusqu'à 1 000 000 $ CAN  (plus taxes) pour une durée maximale de deux ans pourrait être offert pour tout contrat de la phase 2 découlant de ce défi, incluant, si applicable, les frais de livraison, de déplacement et de subsistance.

Seules les entreprises admissibles ayant terminé la phase 1 pourront être considérées pour la phase 2.

Cette divulgation est faite de bonne foi et n'engage pas le Canada à accorder un contrat correspondant à la valeur totale maximale du financement.

Déplacement : Aucun déplacement prévu.

Admissibilité

Les propositions de solutions peuvent uniquement être présentées par une petite entreprise qui satisfait aux critères suivants :

  • être à but lucratif
  • être constituée au Canada (au fédéral ou au provincial)
  • compter au plus 499 employés équivalent temps plein (ETP)Note de bas de page *
  • mener des activités de recherche-développement au Canada
  • verser présentement au moins 50 % de ses salaires, rémunérations et honoraires annuels à des employés et à des entrepreneurs qui passent la majeure partie de leurs heures de travail au CanadaNote de bas de page *
  • compter au moins 50 % de ses employés ETP dont le lieu de travail habituel est au CanadaNote de bas de page *
  • compter au moins 50 % de ses cadres supérieurs (vice-président ou niveaux supérieurs) dont la résidence principale est au CanadaNote de bas de page *

Guide de présentation d'une demande ou d'une soumission

Tous les ministères et organismes qui publient des défis dans le cadre du programme SIC, qu'ils offrent ou non une subvention ou un contrat comme instrument financier de soutien à la recherche et au développement (R et D) dans la première et la deuxième phases, évalueront les demandes et les soumissions de toutes les petites entreprises en se basant sur des questions types. Les formulaires de demande en ligne et le système de soumission comprendront ces questions types et des indications sur la longueur des réponses.

Processus d'évaluation

Les demandes ou soumissions complètes présentées seront transmises au ministère ou à l'organisme qui a publié le défi, ainsi qu'au Programme d'aide à la recherche industrielle (PARI) à des fins d'évaluation. Le ministère ou l'organisme qui parraine le défi a la prérogative de décider à quelles entreprises il octroie du financement dans le cadre de la première la phase. Toutes les entreprises qui présentent une demande ou une soumission recevront des commentaires.

Ce qui suit vise à donner des indications sur les questions qui pourraient être posées dans le cadre du processus de présentation de demandes ou de soumissions avant l'acceptation de ces dernières reçues d'entreprises admissibles. Les informations ci-dessous peuvent être utilisées pour évaluer les demandes et peuvent être modifiées en tout temps.

Innovation

  • Soyez prêt à indiquer le niveau de maturité technologique (NMT) de départ de la solution et le NMT prévu au terme de la première phase. Rappel : la première phase est réservée aux solutions de niveaux 1 à 4 de l'échelle du NMT.
  • Soyez prêt à décrire le caractère novateur de votre solution et la façon dont elle fait progresser l'état des connaissances par rapport aux technologies existantes, notamment les solutions concurrentes. Veuillez inclure dans votre description les bases scientifiques et technologiques sur lesquelles repose la solution que vous proposez.
  • Soyez prêt à déterminer les principaux risques scientifiques et techniques liés à votre solution et la manière dont ces risques seront gérés dans la première phase.

Avantages pour le Canada

  • Soyez prêt à fournir une brève description de la solution que vous proposez et de la façon dont elle résout le problème cerné par le ministère ou l'organisme qui a publié l'énoncé de défi.
  • Soyez prêt à décrire les avantages pour le Canada qui pourraient découler d'un développement réussi de votre solution en mettant l'accent sur trois types d'avantages : les avantages économiques, les avantages sur le plan de l'innovation et les avantages pour le public.

Avantages économiques : considérez l'incidence de la solution proposée sur la croissance de votre entreprise et d'autres entreprises au Canada. Il peut s'agir du développement de nouvelles grappes industrielles et chaînes d'approvisionnement. Il faut prendre en compte le nombre d'emplois créés, le nombre d'emplois bien rémunérés, la hausse des recettes liée au projet, etc.

Avantages sur le plan de l'innovation : l'apport escompté de la solution proposée à la création ou à l'amélioration d'innovations industrielles ou technologiques récentes au sein de votre entreprise. Par exemple, les retombées potentielles, la création de propriétés intellectuelles, l'incidence de la nouvelle technologie sur la productivité, etc.

Avantages pour le public : la contribution prévue de la solution proposée pour la population canadienne en général, notamment des pratiques commerciales et d'embauche inclusives (par ex. l'équilibre entre les sexes) et un investissement dans les compétences et la formation, ainsi que dans l'environnement.

Capacité de gestion et technologique

  • Soyez prêt à préciser le plan de travail de la première phase, notamment les principales étapes et activités prévues, le délai total prévu pour compléter la première phase (pas plus de six mois), les ressources requises pour achever le projet et les principaux critères de réussite.
  • Soyez prêt à préciser les risques potentiels du projet (par ex. risques financiers, gestion du projet, ressources humaines, etc.) qui peuvent menacer la réussite du développement de la solution et leur gestion dans la première phase.
  • Soyez prêt à donner une brève description de l'équipe de mise en œuvre du projet, notamment les membres, les partenaires, leurs rôles et responsabilités, ainsi que la pertinence de leur expertise dans le cadre du projet. Les membres de l'équipe doivent comprendre un chef de projet.
  • Soyez prêt à expliquer les mesures prises par votre entreprise pour favoriser une plus grande intégration dans ses activités d'innovation. Un des objectifs du programme consiste à favoriser une plus grande participation des groupes sous-représentés (par ex. les femmes, les Autochtones, les jeunes, les personnes handicapées et les membres des minorités visibles) à l'économie de l'innovation.

Capacité financière

  • Soyez prêt à fournir une proposition financière pour la recherche et le développement de la première phase. Assurez-vous de vérifier les détails de chaque défi publié relatifs aux coûts admissibles ou non et au maximum de financement disponible pour la première phase.
  • Soyez également prêt à fournir de l'information sur le financement reçu d'autres ordres de gouvernement (fédéral, provincial et municipal) pour le travail que vous proposez dans votre demande ou soumission.
  • Soyez prêt à préciser la surveillance et les contrôles financiers que votre entreprise a mis en place pour gérer les fonds publics advenant qu'elle soit choisie pour entamer la première phase.

Commercialisation

  • Soyez prêt à préciser comment vous envisagez la commercialisation de votre solution et comment vous comptez atténuer les risques ou les obstacles potentiels relatifs à sa commercialisation ultérieure.

Guide d'application

Questions et réponses

S'il vous plaît visitez Achats et ventes pour toutes les questions et réponses reliées à ce défi.

S'il vous plaît visitez Achats et ventes pour toutes les questions et réponses relatives à l'appel de propositions.

Si vous avez une question à propos d'un défi, veuillez l'envoyer à ISED-ISDE@canada.ca.

Vous pouvez également consulter la Foire aux questions sur le programme Solutions innovatrices Canada.

Un lexique est aussi disponible.

Date de modification :