Language selection

Search

Frequently asked questions: Digital Literacy Exchange Program

From Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Who does this program serve?

The Digital Literacy Exchange Program serves Canadians who are newly involved with, or haven't fully discovered the benefits of, the current digital economy. These include:

  • Persons with disabilities
  • Indigenous people
  • Individuals who have not completed high school
  • Residents of rural and remote areas
  • Language Minorities
  • Individuals who have low-income
  • Individuals aged 65 and older
  • Newcomers to Canada
  • Individuals who don't speak English at home
What type of digital literacy skills will be taught?

The Digital Literacy Exchange Program will invest in initiatives that will teach fundamental digital literacy skills that are needed to use the Internet on computers and/or mobile devices, and the knowledge required to use the Internet safely, securely and effectively. Some examples include:

  • the ability to use computer programs such as word processors, web browsers, email and other communication tools;
  • the ability to access and use knowledge resources, such as search engines and online databases; and
  • the ability to access emerging technologies such as cloud computing.
How many Canadians will benefit from this program?

Approximately 100,000 Canadians will benefit from these initiatives from coast to coast to coast. Many other Canadians will also indirectly benefit from these initiatives by accessing online training materials and through the program's train-the-trainer legacy.

Where will digital literacy training be offered?

Various digital literacy training initiatives will be available in locations across Canada. Visit the list of funded initiatives by provinces and territories page for a list of learning opportunities by location.

When will digital literacy training be offered?

Digital Literacy Exchange Program initiatives will start early in 2019 and will end by March 31, 2022. For more information regarding training initiatives in your region visit the list of funded initiatives, where you will find the contact information for delivery organizations.

How were the organizations that are going to deliver digital literacy training selected?

The delivery organizations were selected through a competitive process and were assessed against criteria such as their success in providing similar training in the past, the quality of the proposed training and how well it meets the needs of the target population. Organizations were also evaluated on their alignment with program objectives so that all Canadians have the necessary skills to get online using computers, mobile devices and the Internet safely and effectively. There was a lot of interest in the program and over 150 applications were received from across Canada. A diverse portfolio of organizations will deliver digital literacy training across the country, ranging from small community-based groups to national organizations.

How will the government know if this is helping Canadian's get online?

The Digital Literacy Exchange program will track the progress of each project through regular reporting requirements throughout the life of the project. This program is one of a suite of complementary programs that together, will help ensure that all Canadians have the skills and know-how to access online resources and participate in the digital economy. For example,

  • There's the CanCode program, which will give one million students from kindergarten to grade 12, and their teachers, the opportunity to learn coding and other digital skills. CanCode events are being held in every province and territory in Canada, with a focus on reaching traditionally under-represented groups – such as girls and Indigenous Peoples, disabled or at-risk youth.
  • The Computers for Schools (CFS) program provides refurbished computers to schools, libraries, not-for-profit organizations, Indigenous communities and eligible low-income individuals. The CFS program has donated more than 1.6 million computers and supported over 6,900 youth interns over its 25 years of operation.
  • And there's the Connecting Families initiative that is providing hundreds of thousands of Canadians with access to high speed Internet packages for $10 per month and up to 50,000 free computers to eligible low-income households.
Date modified:

Foire aux questions : Programme d'échange en matière de littératie numérique

De Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

Qui ce programme cible-t-il?

Le Programme d'échange en matière de littératie numérique cible les Canadiens pour qui l'économie numérique actuelle est une nouvelle réalité ou ceux qui n'en ont pas encore découvert tous les avantages. Ce sont :

  • les personnes ayant une déficience;
  • les Autochtones;
  • les personnes n'ayant pas terminé leurs études secondaires;
  • les résidants des régions rurales et éloignées;
  • les minorités de langue officielle;
  • les personnes à faible revenu;
  • les personnes âgées de 65 ans et plus;
  • les nouveaux arrivants au Canada et
  • les personnes qui ne parlent pas anglais à la maison.
Quel genre de compétences en matière de littératie numérique seront-elles enseignées?

Le Programme d'échange en matière de littératie numérique investira dans des initiatives qui enseigneront les compétences fondamentales en matière de culture numérique nécessaires pour utiliser un ordinateur ou des appareils mobiles, et les connaissances nécessaires pour utiliser l'Internet efficacement et en toute sécurité. Voici quelques exemples :

  • la capacité d'utiliser les programmes informatiques comme les logiciels de traitement de texte, les navigateurs Web, le courriel et d'autres outils de communication;
  • la capacité d'accéder aux outils de connaissances comme les moteurs de recherche et les banques de données en ligne, et de les utiliser;
  • la capacité d'accéder à de nouvelles technologies comme l'informatique en nuage.
Combien de Canadiens bénéficieront de ce programme?

On s'attend à ce qu'environ 100 000 Canadiens bénéficient des initiatives de formation en culture numérique d'un océan à l'autre. Plusieurs autres Canadiens en bénéficieront également indirectement en accédant au matériel de formation en ligne, ainsi que grâce aux connaissances et à la capacité de formation créée par la démarche de formation des formateurs du programme.

Où sera offerte la formation sur les compétences numériques?

Diverses initiatives de formation en littératie numérique seront offertes dans des endroits à travers le Canada. Consultez la liste des occasions d'apprentissage par endroit de la page des initiatives financées par province et territoire.

Quand la formation sur les compétences numériques sera-t-elle offerte?

Les initiatives du Programme d'échange en matière de littératie numérique commenceront au début 2019 et s'achèveront le 31 mars 2022. Pour obtenir plus d'information sur les initiatives de formation dans votre région, consultez la liste des initiatives financées qui vous fournira les coordonnées des organisations de prestation.

Comment les organisations qui offriront la formation en littératie numérique ont-elles été sélectionnées?

Les organisations de prestation ont été sélectionnées au moyen d'un processus concurrentiel et évaluées selon les critères comme leur réussite antérieure dans la prestation de formations semblables, la qualité de la formation proposée et la mesure à laquelle elle répond aux besoins de la population cible. Les organisations ont également été évaluées selon leur alignement sur les objectifs du programme de façon à ce que tous les Canadiens aient les compétences nécessaires pour aller en ligne au moyen d'ordinateurs, d'appareils mobiles et de l'Internet en toute sécurité et efficacement. Ce programme a suscité beaucoup d'intérêt et plus de 150 demandes nous sont parvenues de tout le Canada. Un ensemble d'organisations offriront une formation en littératie numérique à travers le pays, allant des petits groupes communautaires aux organisations nationales.

Comment le gouvernement saura-t-il si cela aide les Canadiens à se brancher en ligne?

Le Programme d'échange en matière de littératie numérique fera le suivi des progrès de chaque projet au moyen des exigences en matière de rapports pendant toute la durée du projet. Ce programme fait partie d'un portefeuille de programmes complémentaires qui, ensemble, feront en sorte que tous les Canadiens ont les compétences et le savoir-faire nécessaires pour accéder aux ressources en ligne et participer à l'économie numérique. Par exemple :

  • le programme CodeCan, qui donnera à un million d'étudiants de la maternelle à la 12e année et à leurs enseignants l'occasion d'apprendre le codage et d'acquérir d'autres compétences numériques. Des événements CodeCan sont tenus dans chaque province et territoire du Canada et sont axés sur les groupes traditionnellement sous-représentés, comme les filles et les peuples autochtones, les jeunes handicapés et à risque.
  • Le programme Ordinateurs pour les écoles (OPE) fournit des ordinateurs pour les écoles, les bibliothèques, les organisations sans but lucratif, les collectivités autochtones et les personnes à faible revenu admissibles. Le programme des OPE a fait don de plus de 1,6 million d'ordinateurs et soutenu plus de 6 900 jeunes stagiaires pendant ses 25 années d'existence.
  • Et il y a l'initiative Familles branchées qui fournit à des centaines de milliers de Canadiens l'accès à un forfait Internet haute vitesse pour 10 $ par mois et jusqu'à 50 000 ordinateurs gratuits aux ménages à faible revenu admissibles.
Date de modification :