SME Profile: Financing and Growth of Co-operatives in Canada, 2017

From: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

This publication is available online at https://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/106.nsf/eng/h_00044.html.

To obtain a copy of this publication, or to receive it in an alternate format (Braille, large print, etc.), please fill out

the Publication Request Form at www.ic.gc.ca/Publication-Request or contact:

Web Services Centre

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

C.D. Howe Building

235 Queen Street

Ottawa, ON K1A 0H5

Canada

Telephone (toll-free in Canada): 1-800-328-6189

Telephone (international): 613-954-5031

TTY (for hearing impaired): 1-866-694-8389

Business hours: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Eastern Time)

Email: ISED@canada.ca

Permission to Reproduce

Except as otherwise specifically noted, the information in this publication may be reproduced, in part or in whole and by any means, without charge or further permission from the Department of Industry, provided that due diligence is exercised in ensuring the accuracy of the information reproduced; that the Department of Industry is identified as the source institution; and that the reproduction is not represented as an official version of the information reproduced or as having been made in affiliation with, or with the endorsement of, the Department of Industry.

For permission to reproduce the information in this publication for commercial purposes, please fill out the Application for Crown Copyright Clearance at www.ic.gc.ca/copyright-request or contact the Web Services Centre mentioned above.

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, as represented by the Minister of Industry, 2019.

Aussi offert en français sous le titre Profil des PME : Financement et croissance des coopératives au Canada, 2017.

Written by: Adrian Egbers, Lucas Rivet-Crothers and Lyming Huang

Contents

PDF version


Summary

This report summarizes findings from the 2017 Survey on Financing and Growth of Small and Medium-sized Enterprises to offer a snapshot of the financing and growth activities of co-operatives corporationsFootnote 1 in Canada.

In Canada, there is a well established co-operativeFootnote 2  business sector, yet there has been little data to help understand the financing, growth, procurement, innovation and exports of co-operatives, as well as the obstacles they face. The 2017 Survey on Financing and Growth of Small and Medium-sized Enterprises is an effort by Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada to provide more concrete data and analysis on co-operatives, and this profile highlights key data points to better understand how they operate in and contribute to the Canadian economy.Footnote 3

As outlined in this profile, the survey data returned some interesting financing and growth trends of the co-operative sector in Canada. For instance, the co-operatives that responded to the survey demonstrated this business sector seeks more external financing than SMEs and generally have higher financing approval rates. Debt financing is the most prevalent form of capital that co-operatives are seeking, mostly in the form of term loans used for working capital.

Co-operatives have high growth projections, including intentions to expand to new markets, over the next three years and are more likely than SMEs to develop a new innovation. Co-operatives also have diverse ownership, with a strong percentage of the businesses owned by women and Indigenous Peoples, and are very mature with an average business age of 43.7 years.

The following sections of this profile provides more details of how co-operatives are accessing financing, growing and innovating across Canada.

Financing

More co-operatives request external financing than SMEs

finance related icon (dollar sign)In 2017, 64.9% of all co-operatives requested external financing for their businesses, compared to 47.1% of all SMEs. Overall, co-operatives were authorized for over $389 million in 2017 when adding all the financing types together.

In 2017, 64.4% of co-operatives that received debt financing received it from credit unions and caisses populaires, 27.3% from domestic chartered banks, and 20.2% from a government institution.Footnote 4 By comparison, 69.9% of the SMEs that made a request for external financing received financing from domestic chartered banks, 8.7% from government, and 23.6% from credit unions.

finance related icon (symbol of co-operation)Co-operatives had generally higher financing approval rates than SMEs, with an approval rate of 95.0% for debt financing, 100% for trade credit,Footnote 5 and 84.1% for government financing. By comparison, SMEs' approval rates for these financing types were 89.2%, 98.9% and 76.6%, respectively.

Both co-operatives and SMEs primarily rely on debt financing and trade credit

More co-operatives (38.1%) relied on debt financing (non-residential mortgages, line of credits, term loans and credit card) than SMEs (25.6%). Co-operatives and SMEs relied on trade credit and lease financing in similar numbers, but co-operatives relied more heavily on equity financingFootnote 6 and government funding than SMEs.

Figure 1: Financing type

Bar chart illustrating financing types of SMEs and co-operatives (the long description is located below the image)
Description of Figure 1
Financing Type
  Debt Financing Lease Financing Trade Credit Equity Financing Government Funding
SME 25.6% 7.2% 25.7% 0.8% 3.7%
Co-operative 38.0% 6.4% 30.5% 7.2% 15.6%

In 2017, co-operatives secured over $262 million in debt financing. Co-operatives were getting the largest amount of debt financing from term loans ($118.6 million), followed by lines of credit ($87.7 million). The majority (55.8%) of co-operatives' intended use of this debt financing was for working capital.

Growth and Innovation

Co-operatives expect to grow and expand sales

Icon image of line chartIn the last three years, 57.6% of co-operatives experienced growth between 1 to 10%, and 7.5% of co-operatives experienced growth between 11 and 20%. Moreover, co-operatives seem to have confidence in the road ahead as, over the next three years, 63.4% of the co-operatives expected to grow between 1 and 10%, and 9.9% of co-operatives expected to grow between 11 and 20% a year.

Icon image of procurement agentThe majority of co-operatives, nearly 88%, simply indicated that the federal government was not a potential client. Although there is no further questions that explored this element, it is likely because these co-operatives are focused on meeting the needs or their members, which are often also their main customers and clients (e.g., retail co-operatives). Three percent of co-operatives and 3.3% of SMEs indicated making 1 to 10% of all their sales through federal government procurement. Only 0.5% of co-operatives and 0.8% of SMEs indicated making 11% to 50% of their sales through federal government procurement. Few co-operatives were unaware of contracting opportunities (3.0%) or indicated that the application process was too complicated (3.9%).

Icon image of plane in flight Forty-six percent of SMEs and 48.9% of co-operatives had intentions to expand sales to new markets over the next 3 years. While the US is the primary market that both SMEs and co-operatives expected to expand into, co-operatives particularly targeted the UK, Europe, Japan and Latin America.

Figure 2: Intention to expand by destination

Bar charts illustrating Intention to expand by destination for SMEs and co-operatives (the long description is located below the image)
Description of Figure 2
  US UK Europe (excluding UK) Latin America (excluding Brazil) Japan
SME 89.3% 28.8% 36.1% 17.7% 18.0%
Co-operative 91.1% 51.4% 69.3% 27.9% 33.2%

Co-operatives are drivers in innovation

human figure iconCo-operatives are innovative businesses. Forty-two percent of co-operatives had developed at least one type of innovation, while 31% of SMEs had developed at least one. In addition, 25% of co-operatives had developed a new or significantly improved good or product, compared to 19% of the SMEs surveyed.

Co-operatives are also more likely to adopt a new technology than traditional SMEs. Fifty-three percent of co-operatives adopted at least one new technology over the last three years compared to 46.3% of SMEs. Data analytics (29.3%) and cloud computing (25.4%) were the technologies that co-operatives were most likely to adopt.

Co-operatives face some obstacles to growth

human figure and key iconA significant proportion of co-operatives indicated that increasing competition (74.5%) and rising cost of inputs (70.1%) were obstacles to growth. Over 60% of all co-operatives pointed out that recruiting and retaining skilled employees (64.5%) and fluctuations in consumer demand (64.4%) were obstacles to growth.

In contrast, over 40% of co-operatives indicated that shortage of labour (46.0%), maintaining cash flow (40.8%), and the corporate tax rate (48.1%) were not obstacles to growth; 50.6% indicated that government regulations were not an obstacle to growth; and, 63.3% indicated that obtaining financing was not an obstacle to growth.

Business Characteristics

Co-operatives are diverse businesses with strong female, aboriginal, and francophone presence

human figures icon Co-operatives and SMEs have similar proportions of businesses that are majority female owned businesses (around 15%), majority male owned businesses (around 60%), and businesses with equal female and male ownership (around 20%). However, over 50% of SMEs, regardless of size, have no female ownership. In contrast, only 18.1% of co-operatives have no female ownership.

Figure 3: Ownership base

Bar charts illustrating ownership base for SMEs and co-operatives (the long description is located below the image)
Description of Figure 3
Ownership base
  Majority Male Equal Ownership Majority Female
SME 63.5% 20.9% 15.6%
Co-operative 60.5% 23.3% 16.2%

human figure iconIn 2017, 6.8% of co-operatives were majority aboriginal owned businesses, compared to 1.4% of all SMEs.  As well, 47% of the co-operatives surveyed indicated that the primary decision maker's mother tongue was French, compared to 21% for all SMEs.Footnote 7

Co-operatives tend to be more mature businesses, but fewer are created

data chart iconWith nearly 71.0% of all co-operatives over 20 years old, the survey shows that co-operatives are stable and long-term businesses. The corresponding number for SMEs is 31.3% that were 20 years or older. In addition, the average age of co-operatives was 43.5 years compared to 16.7 years for all SMEs

Co-operatives may well remain anchored in the Canadian landscape as 91% of the co-operatives surveyed indicated they had no intention to sell, transfer, or close their business in the next five years, as opposed to 70.7% of SMEs that have no intention to sell, transfer or close.

However, the survey also shows fewer co-operatives were created than SMEs. As little as 1.7% of the co-operatives surveyed had been in business for under 2 years, compared to 9.5% for SMEs. In addition, only 26.6% of co-operatives were between 3 and 20 years old, when nearly 60.0% of all SMEs were in that age tranche.

Figure 4: Business Age

Bar charts illustrating business age for SMEs and co-operatives (the long description is located below the image)
Description of Figure 4
Business Age
  < 2 years 3–10 years 10–20 years >20 years
SME 9.5% 33.3% 26.0% 31.0%
Co-operative 1.7% 13.7% 13.9% 70.7%

Data & Methodology

The data in this profile is collected from the 2017 Survey on the Financing and Growth of Small and Medium-sized Enterprises. The survey focused on SMEs that generated over $30,000 in annual gross revenue and that employed between 1 and 499 employees and a special sample frame of co-operatives were included. The total sample frame was 617 co-operatives, of which 399 responded to the questionnaire, resulting in a 78% response rate compared to a 59% response rate for all SMEs. For more information on the survey questionnaire and methodology, please click here.

A co-operative must be incorporated under specific provincial, territorial or federal co-operative corporate Acts. Co-operatives have many similarities and differences to regular corporations. In order to better understand these differences, please visit the how is a co-operative different from other business forms as well as the Information Guide on Co-operatives.

Please note, co-operatives were also included in the 2014 Survey on the Financing and Growth of Small and Medium-Sized Enterprises. You can see a see a complete 2014 profile here.

Date modified:

Profil des PME : Financement et croissance des coopératives au Canada, 2017

De : Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

La présente publication est accessible en ligne à l'adresse https://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/106.nsf/fra/00154.html.

Pour en obtenir une copie ou la recevoir en média substitut (braille, gros caractères, etc.), veuillez remplir le formulaire de demande de publications à l'adresse www.ic.gc.ca/demande-publication ou écrire à l'adresse suivante :

Centre de services Web
Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada
Édifice C.-D. Howe
235, rue Queen
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H5
Canada

Téléphone (sans frais au Canada) : 1-800-328-6189
Téléphone (international) : 613-954-5031
TTY (pour les personnes malentendantes) : 1-866-694-8389
Heures de bureau : de 8 h 30 à 17 h (heure de l'Est)
Courriel : ISED@canada.ca

Autorisation de reproduction

Sauf indication contraire, l'information contenue dans cette publication peut être reproduite, en tout ou en partie et par quelque moyen que ce soit, sans frais et sans autre permission du ministère de l'Industrie, pourvu qu'une diligence raisonnable soit exercée afin d'assurer l'exactitude de l'information reproduite, que le ministère de l'Industrie soit mentionné comme organisme source et que la reproduction ne soit présentée ni comme une version officielle ni comme une copie ayant été faite en collaboration avec le ministère de l'Industrie ou avec son consentement.

Pour obtenir la permission de reproduire l'information contenue dans cette publication à des fins commerciales, veuillez remplir la Demande d'affranchissement du droit d'auteur de la Couronne à www.ic.gc.ca/Demandes de droit d'auteur ou communiquer avec le Centre de services Web aux coordonnées ci-dessus.

© Sa Majesté la reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de l'Industrie 2019

Also offered in English under the title SME Profile: Financing and Growth of Co-operatives in Canada, 2017.

Préparé par : Adrian Egbers, Lucas Rivet-Crothers et Lyming Huang

Table des matières

Version PDF


Résumé

Le présent rapport résume les résultats de l'Enquête sur le financement et la croissance des petites et moyennes entreprises effectuée en 2017 afin d'offrir un aperçu des activités de financement et de croissance des coopérativesNote de bas de page 1 au Canada.

Au Canada, il existe un secteur coopératifNote de bas de page 2 bien établi, mais peu de données ont permis de comprendre le financement, la croissance, l'approvisionnement, l'innovation et les exportations des coopératives, ainsi que les obstacles auxquels elles font face. L'Enquête 2017 sur le financement et la croissance des petites et moyennes entreprises est une initiative d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada visant à fournir des données et des analyses plus concrètes sur les coopératives, et le présent profil met en évidence des données clés pour mieux comprendre leur fonctionnement et leur contribution à l'économie canadienneNote de bas de page 3.

Comme il est indiqué dans ce profil, les données de l'enquête ont permis de dégager des tendances intéressantes en matière de financement et de croissance dans le secteur coopératif au Canada. Par exemple, les coopératives qui ont répondu à l'enquête ont démontré que ce secteur d'activité recherche plus de financement externe que les PME et ont de taux d'approbation de financement plus élevés. Le financement par emprunt est la forme de capital la plus courante que les coopératives recherchent, principalement sous forme de prêts à terme utilisés pour le fonds de roulement.

Les coopératives affichent des projections de croissance élevée, y compris des intentions d'expansion vers de nouveaux marchés, au cours des trois prochaines années et sont plus susceptibles que les PME d'innover. Les coopératives ont également des propriétaires diversifiés (un fort pourcentage d'entreprises appartient à des femmes et à des peuples autochtones) et sont très matures avec un âge moyen de 43,7 ans.

Les sections suivantes de ce profil fournissent plus de détails sur l'accès au financement, la croissance et l'innovation des coopératives à l'échelle du pays.

Financement

Les coopératives sont plus nombreuses que les PME à demander un financement externe

finance related icon (dollar sign)En 2017, 64,9 % de toutes les coopératives ont demandé un financement externe pour appuyer leurs activités, comparativement à 47,1 % de l'ensemble des PME. Dans l'ensemble, en 2017, le financement autorisé pour les coopératives, si l'on additionne tous les types de financement, totalisait 389 millions de dollars.

En 2017, 64,4 % des coopératives qui ont reçu un financement par emprunt l'ont obtenu de coopératives de crédit et de caisses populaires, 27,3 % l'ont obtenu de banques à charte canadiennes et 20,2 % l'ont obtenu d'une institution gouvernementaleNote de bas de page 4. Par comparaison, 69,9 % des PME qui ont fait une demande de financement externe l'ont obtenu de banques à charte canadiennes, 8,7 % l'ont obtenu du gouvernement et 23,6 % l'ont obtenu de coopératives de crédit.

finance related icon (symbol of co-operation)En général, les taux d'approbation du financement des coopératives étaient plus élevés que ceux des PME, avec un taux d'approbation de 95,0 % pour le financement par emprunt, de 100 % pour le crédit commercialNote de bas de page 5 et de 84,1 % pour le financement gouvernemental. En comparaison, les taux d'approbation des PME pour ces types de financement étaient respectivement de 89,2 %, 98,9 % et 76,6 %.

Les coopératives et les PME ont principalement recours au financement par emprunt et au crédit commercial

Plus de coopératives (38,1 %) que de PME (25,6 %) ont eu recours au financement par emprunt (prêts hypothécaires non résidentiels, marges de crédit, prêts à terme et cartes de crédit). Les coopératives et les PME ont eu recours au crédit commercial et au crédit-bail dans des proportions semblables, mais les coopératives ont fait plus souvent appel au financement par actionsNote de bas de page 6 et au financement gouvernemental que les PME.

Figure 1 : Type de financement

Deux graphiques à barres illustrant respectivement les types de finacement des PME et des coopératives (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)
Description de la figure 1
Type de financement
  Financement par emprunt Crédit-bail Crédit commercial Financement par actions Financement gouvernemental
PME 25,6 % 7,2 % 25,7 % 0,8 % 3,7 %
Coopératives 38,0 % 6,4 % 30,5 % 7,2 % 15,6 %

En 2017, les coopératives ont obtenu plus de 262 millions de dollars en financement par emprunt. Elles ont reçu le plus important montant de financement par emprunt sous forme de prêts à terme (118,6 millions de dollars), puis de marges de crédit (87,7 millions de dollars). La majorité (55,8 %) des coopératives avaient l'intention d'utiliser ce financement par emprunt pour leur fonds de roulement.

Croissance et innovation

Les coopératives prévoient prendre de l'expansion et accroître leurs ventes

Icon image of line chartAu cours des trois dernières années, 57,6 % des coopératives ont connu une croissance de 1 à 10 % et 7,5 % des coopératives ont connu une croissance de 11 à 20 %. En outre, les coopératives semblent avoir confiance en l'avenir puisque, au cours des trois prochaines années, 63,4 % d'entre elles prévoient une croissance de 1 à 10 %, et 9,9 % des coopératives prévoient une croissance de 11 à 20 % par an.

Icon image of procurement agentLa majorité des coopératives, soit près de 88 %, ont simplement indiqué que le gouvernement fédéral n'était pas un client potentiel. Bien qu'aucune question supplémentaire ne permette d'approfondir la question, cela s'explique probablement par le fait que ces coopératives se concentrent sur la satisfaction des besoins de leurs membres, qui sont souvent aussi leurs principaux clients (p. ex. les coopératives de détail). Trois pour cent des coopératives et 3,3 % des PME ont indiqué qu'elles réalisaient de 1 à 10 % de toutes leurs ventes par l'entremise des marchés publics fédéraux. Seulement 0,5 % des coopératives et 0,8 % des PME ont indiqué qu'elles réalisaient de 11 à 50 % de leurs ventes par l'entremise des marchés publics fédéraux. Quelques coopératives n'étaient pas au courant des possibilités de marchés (3,0 %) ou ont indiqué que le processus de demande était trop compliqué (3,9 %).

Icon image of plane in flightQuarante-six pour cent des PME et 48,9 % des coopératives avaient l'intention d'accroître leurs ventes dans de nouveaux marchés au cours des trois prochaines années. Bien que les États-Unis soient le principal marché dans lequel les PME et les coopératives prévoient prendre de l'expansion, les coopératives ciblent particulièrement le Royaume-Uni, l'Europe, le Japon et l'Amérique latine.

Figure 2 : Expansion prévue par destination

Deux graphiques à barres illustrant respectivement l'expansion prévue par destination des PME et des coopératives (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)
Description de la figure 2
  É.-U. R.-U. Europe (sauf le R.-U.) Amérique latine (sauf le Brésil) Japon
PME 89,3 % 28,8 % 36,1 % 17,7 % 18,0 %
Coopératives 91,1 % 51,4 % 69,3 % 27,9 % 33,2 %

Les coopératives, des moteurs de l'innovation

human figure iconLes coopératives sont des entreprises novatrices. Quarante-deux pour cent des coopératives avaient développé au moins un type d'innovation, comparativement à 31 % des PME. De plus, 25 % des coopératives avaient développé un bien ou un produit nouveau ou considérablement amélioré, comparativement à 19 % des PME interrogées.

Les coopératives sont également plus susceptibles d'adopter une nouvelle technologie que les PME traditionnelles. Cinquante-trois pour cent des coopératives ont adopté au moins une nouvelle technologie au cours des trois dernières années, comparativement à 46,3 % des PME. L'analyse des données (29,3 %) et l'informatique en nuage (25,4 %) étaient les technologies que les coopératives étaient les plus susceptibles d'adopter.

Certains obstacles à la croissance des coopératives

human figure and key iconUne proportion importante de coopératives ont indiqué qu'une concurrence accrue (74,5 %) et l'augmentation du coût des intrants (70,1 %) étaient des obstacles à la croissance. Plus de 60 % de toutes les coopératives ont souligné que le recrutement et le maintien en poste d'employés qualifiés (64,5 %) et les fluctuations de la demande des consommateurs (64,4 %) étaient des obstacles à la croissance.

En revanche, plus de 40 % des coopératives ont indiqué que la pénurie de main-d'œuvre (46,0 %), le maintien des flux de trésorerie (40,8 %) et le taux d'imposition des sociétés (48,1 %) n'étaient pas des obstacles à la croissance; 50,6 % ont indiqué que la réglementation gouvernementale ne constituait pas un obstacle à la croissance et 63,3 % ont indiqué que le financement ne faisait pas obstacle à la croissance.

Caractéristiques des entreprises

Les coopératives sont des entreprises diversifiées comptant une forte présence féminine, autochtone et francophone

human figures iconLa proportion d'entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des femmes (environ 15 %), d'entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des hommes (environ 60 %) et d'entreprises appartenant à parts égales à des femmes et à des hommes (environ 20 %) est semblable pour les coopératives et les PME. Toutefois, plus de 50 % des PME, quelle que soit leur taille, ne sont pas détenues par des femmes. En revanche, seulement 18,1 % des coopératives ne sont pas détenues par des femmes.

Figure 3 : Propriétaires

Graphiques à barres illustrant le genre des propriétaires des PME et des coopératives (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)
Description de la figure 3
Propriétaires
  Majoritairement des hommes Parts égales Majoritairement des femmes
PME 63,5 % 20,9 % 15,6 %
Coopératives 60,5 % 23,3 % 16,2 %

human figure iconEn 2017, 6,8 % des coopératives étaient des entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des Autochtones, comparativement à 1,4 % de toutes les PME. De plus, 47 % des coopératives interrogées ont indiqué que la langue maternelle du décideur principal était le français, comparativement à 21 % pour l'ensemble des PMEote de bas de page 7.

Les coopératives sont généralement des entreprises plus matures, mais moins d'entreprises de ce type sont créées.

data chart iconComme près de 71,0 % de toutes les coopératives ont plus de 20 ans, l'enquête révèle que les coopératives sont des entreprises stables et à long terme. Le chiffre correspondant pour les PME est de 31,3 % qui avaient 20 ans ou plus. De plus, l'âge moyen des coopératives était de 43,5 ans, comparativement à 16,7 ans pour l'ensemble des PME.

Les coopératives pourraient bien demeurer ancrées dans le paysage canadien puisque 91 % des coopératives sondées ont indiqué qu'elles n'avaient aucune intention de vendre, de transférer ou de fermer leur entreprise au cours des cinq prochaines années, comparativement à 70,7 % de PME qui n'ont aucune intention de vendre, transférer ou fermer leur entreprise.

Toutefois, l'enquête révèle également que le nombre de coopératives créées est inférieur à celui des PME. Seulement 1,7 % des coopératives interrogées menaient des activités depuis moins de deux ans, comparativement à 9,5 % des PME. De plus, seulement 26,6 % des coopératives avaient entre 3 et 20 ans, alors que près de 60,0 % de toutes les PME faisaient partie de cette tranche d'âge.

Figure 4 : Âge de l'entreprise

Deux graphiques à barres illustrant l'âge des entreprises pour les PMEs et les coopératives (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)
Description de la figure 4
Âge de l'entreprise
  < 2 ans 3-10 ans 10-20 ans >20 ans
PME 9,5 % 33,3 % 26,0 % 31,0 %
Coopératives 1,7 % 13,7 % 13,9 % 70,7 %

Données et méthodologie

Enquête de 2017 sur le financement et la croissance des petites et moyennes entreprises. Cette enquête ciblait les PME qui ont généré plus de 30 000 $ en revenus bruts annuels et qui comptaient entre 1 et 499 employés. Un échantillon particulier de coopératives a également été inclus. La base d'échantillonnage totale était de 617 coopératives, dont 399 ont répondu au questionnaire, ce qui a donné un taux de réponse de 78 %. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le questionnaire et la méthodologie de l'enquête, veuillez cliquer ici.

Une coopérative doit être constituée en société en vertu de lois provinciales, territoriales ou fédérales spécifiques sur les coopératives. Les coopératives présentent de nombreuses similitudes et différences avec les sociétés ordinaires. Afin de mieux comprendre ces différences, veuillez consulter la section En quoi une coopérative diffère-t-elle des autres entreprises? ainsi que le Guide d'information sur les coopératives.

Veuillez noter que les coopératives ont également été incluses dans l'Enquête de 2014 sur le financement et la croissance des petites et moyennes entreprises. Pour consulter le profil complet de 2014, cliquez ici.

Date de modification :