WES Expert Panel

From: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Canada's Women Entrepreneurship Strategy is committed to helping women entrepreneurs grow their businesses through access to financing, talent, networks and expertise.

Members have backgrounds that include entrepreneurship (in various sectors), financial expertise, mentorship and academics.

What is the Expert Panel?

The Government of Canada has assembled diverse and talented Canadians to be members of an Expert Panel. The Panel is comprised of experts from the private sector and civil society from across the country, with significant experience, expertise, and knowledge in a range of disciplines. Members have backgrounds that include entrepreneurs (in various sectors), financial experts, mentors and academics.

Members of the Panel will act on a part-time, volunteer basis. To avoid potential conflicts of interest, panel members have been screened.

For further information, please review the WES Expert Panel appointment process.

WES Expert Panel

The selection of recipients under the Women Entrepreneurship Strategy will use a rigorous assessment and selection process in addition to advice provided by the WES Expert Panel.

To create the WES Expert Panel, the Government of Canada sought expressions of interest from diverse and talented Canadians through a public application process. Further details on the application process and requirements for the Selection Committee can be found at Departmental Appointment Opportunities. Applications from a number of highly-qualified candidates were received.

Following this open call for applications, ISED has established the WES Expert Panel. The members will provide diverse viewpoints from across the private sector and civil society, and deliver expert advice on a range of issues, including identifying and providing options to solve gaps in services and supports available to women entrepreneurs in Canada.

The committee will be co-chaired by Laura McGee, Founder and CEO, Diversio and Danièle Henkel, Founder, Daniele Henkel Inc.;

The panelists are:

  • Shauna Harper, CEO & Marketing Strategist, Live Work Communications;
  • Shannon Pestun, Director, Women's Entrepreneurship, ATB Financial;
  • Sharon Zohar, Founder & CEO, The Big Push;
  • Maudeleine Myrthil, President, Iweartech; Teacher, Commission scolaire Marguerite-Bourgeoys; and
  • Dr. Virginia McGowan, Co-Founder and Partner/Senior Researcher, Writer and Editor at McGowan & Co.: The Write Edit Group; Owner and Sole Proprietor/Author, Speaker, Consultant and Trainer at The Business Mentoring Solution

Ex-officio members include:

  • Sheldon Levy (Special Advisor, Small Business and Export Promotion)
  • Karen Kastner (Business Development Bank of Canada)
  • Wendy Cukier (Women Entrepreneurship Knowledge Hub)

Members of the committee will act on a part-time, volunteer basis.

Biographies of the WES Expert Panel members

Danièle Henkel

Founder and CEO, Danièle Henkel Inc.

Danièle Henkel is the founder and CEO of Danièle Henkel Inc., whose services are offered by health professionals in over 2,000 locations across Canada. Its beauty products were launched in 2017.

Danièle is the Canadian champion of the Women's Enterprise Leadership Group for the Women Entrepreneurs Finance Initiative (we-fi). She has received various awards, including the Medal of Honour from the National Assembly of Quebec.

Danièle has appeared on the past five seasons of "Dans l'œil du Dragon" as an investor and mentor.

Danièle was born in Morocco and grew up in Algeria. She immigrated to Canada in the 1990s and currently lives in Montreal, Quebec.

Laura McGee

Founder and CEO, Diversio

Laura McGee is the founder and CEO of Diversio, a software company that uses data analytics and machine learning to help companies become more inclusive. Laura also serves on the Board of Informed Opinions, Summit Leaders and the Ted Rogers School of Management.

Laura worked at McKinsey & Company where she was recognized as a thought-leader in women's advancement and public sector practice. She worked closely with the Canada-US Council for Advancement of Women Entrepreneurs and Business Leaders on their recommendations for supporting and growing women-owned businesses, which helped shape the Women Entrepreneurship Strategy.

Laura currently resides in Toronto, Ontario.

Shauna Harper

CEO and Marketing Strategist, Live Work Communications

Shauna Harper has been a full-time entrepreneur for 20 years and is a trained group process facilitator. She is the CEO and Marketing Strategist for Live Work Communications, a marketing communications business, and a volunteer mentor for the Women's Enterprise Centre of British Columbia.

Shauna founded and led Startup Prince George, a grassroots driven group in Prince George dedicated to creating a community passionate about entrepreneurship, collaboration and innovation.

From 2014-2017, Shauna served as the Co-Vice Chair of the BC Premier's Women's Economic Advisory Council. Shauna was also recognized as one of BC's Most Influential Women 2017 (Mentors Edition) by BC Business Magazine for her mentorship roles as founder and lead for Startup Prince George.

Shauna resides in Prince George, British Columbia.

Dr. Virginia McGowan

Co-Founder, Partner/Senior Researcher, Writer and Editor at McGowan & Co.: The Write Edit Group
Owner and Sole Proprietor/Author, Speaker, Consultant and Trainer at The Business Mentoring Solution

Dr. Virginia McGowan is the Co-Founder, Partner, senior researcher, writer, and editor at McGowan & Co.: The Write Edit Group. She is also the owner, speaker, consultant, and trainer at The Business Mentoring Solution. Dr. McGowan is currently an Adjunct Associate Professor in the Department of Community Health and Epidemiology at Dalhousie University. Dr. McGowan also volunteers with a number of organizations, including as a mentor for the Cherie Blair Foundation for Women and the Forum for Women Entrepreneurs.

Dr. McGowan holds numerous degrees and professional memberships, including a Doctor of Philosophy: Anthropology from the University of Toronto and a membership with the Editors' Association of Canada. She is also a professional-level member of the Professional Writers Association of Canada. Dr. McGowan resides in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island.

Maudeleine Myrthil

President, Iweartech
Teacher, Marguerite-Bourgeoy School Board

Maudeleine Myrthil is the President of Iweartech, a company specializing in the research, creation and marketing of smart products and accessories since 2015. She is also a teacher at the Marguerite-Bourgeoy School Board, in charge of the program "Lancement d'une entreprise et vente-conseil". In addition, Maudeleine is a lecturer at CÉGEP Marie-Victorin.

Maudeleine has worked for more than five years with Groupe 3737, a non-profit organization dedicated to providing entrepreneurial support services. The clientele served by Groupe 3737 is primarily composed of women entrepreneurs and business owners from diverse backgrounds.

Maudeleine resides in Laval, Quebec.

Shannon Pestun

Director, Women's Entrepreneurship, ATB Financial

Shannon is the Director of Women's Entrepreneurship, and part of the Indigenous Relations Advisory Circle, at ATB Financial, a financial institution and Crown Corporation owned by the Province of Alberta. Leading the strategy to reimagine banking for women, Shannon's work is centred around implementing critical changes and breaking down barriers women face in entrepreneurship. As a Métis woman, Shannon also strives to promote economic reconciliation through her work. Shannon is a recognized voice on women's entrepreneurship, and has been featured at business conferences, on podcasts, in business magazines, and broadcast/online media. Shannon was recently recognized by SHEInnovates Alberta, a pilot chapter for UN Women to celebrate and inspire women entrepreneurs and innovators.

Shannon resides in Calgary, Alberta.

Sharon Zohar

Founder and CEO, The Big Push

Sharon Zohar is the Founder and CEO of The Big Push, an all-women led business accelerator, dedicated to accelerating the growth of women-led start-ups, and helping to prepare them for Series A financing through a unique 'sweat for equity' model. Sharon is a serial entrepreneur and investor with more than twenty years experience founding, investing, advising, and operating technology, internet, and digital media companies.

In her pursuit of entrepreneurship, Sharon has successfully developed a number of mobile and software applications for health, finance, and media markets including Moodi, a mental health platform that won the Google Startup NEXT best company.

Sharon resides in Toronto, Ontario. 

Date modified:

Comité d'experts de la SFE

De : Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

La Stratégie pour les femmes en entrepreneuriat du Canada vise à aider les femmes entrepreneures à avoir plus facilement accès au financement, aux talents, aux réseaux et à l'expertise dont elles ont besoin pour faire croître leurs entreprises.

À l'appui de cette stratégie, le gouvernement du Canada a mis sur pied le Comité d’experts de la SFE, chargé de fournir des conseils et d'identifier les opportunités et les défis pour les femmes entrepreneures.

Qu'est-ce que le comité d'experts?

Le gouvernement du Canada a assemblé des Canadiens et des Canadiennes de diverses origines et de talent pour devenir membres d'un Comité d'experts. Ce comité est composé de sept experts du secteur privé et de la société civile de différentes régions à travers le pays qui possèdent une expérience, une expertise et des connaissances pertinentes dans un éventail de disciplines. Les membres du comité sont issus du milieu des entrepreneur(e)s (de secteurs variés), d'experts financiers, de mentors et d'universitaires.

Les membres du Comité d'experts sont bénévoles et agissent à temps partiel. Pour éviter les conflits d'intérêts potentiels, les membres du Comité ont été soumis à une présélection.

Pour établir le comité, le gouvernement du Canada a sollicité les expressions d'intérêt de divers(e)s Canadien(ne)s doué(e)s au moyen d'un processus de demande publique. Les candidatures de plusieurs candidat(e)s hautement qualifié(e)s ont été reçues.

Pour de plus amples renseignements à propos de la nomination des membres du Comité d'experts de la SFE, veuillez consulter le processus de nomination.

Le Comité conseille sur un éventail d’enPour de plusjeux, y compris l'identification et la présentation d'options pour combler les lacunes dans les services et soutiens disponibles pour les femmes entrepreneures au Canada.

Membres du comité

Le comité est coprésidé par Laura McGee, fondatrice et directrice générale de Diversio et Danièle Henkel, fondatrice de Daniele Henkel Inc.;

Video – Le Comité d'experts de la SFE : Laura McGee

Co-présidentes du Comité d'experts de la SFE Laura McGee, fondatrice and directrice générale de Diversio parle de la Stratégie pour les femmes en entrepreneuriat.

Video – Le Comité d'experts de la SFE : Danièle Henkel

Co-présidentes du Comité d'experts de la SFE Danièle Henkel, fondatrice de Daniele Henkel inc. parle de la Stratégie pour les femmes en entrepreneuriat.

Biographies des membres du Comité d'experts de la SFE

Danièle Henkel

Fondatrice et Directrice générale, Danièle Henkel Inc.

Danièle Henkel est la fondatrice et directrice générale des entreprises Danièle Henkel dont les services sont offerts par des professionnels de la santé dans plus de 2 000 endroits à travers le Canada. Ses produits de beauté ont été lancés en 2017.

Danièle est la championne canadienne au sein du Women's Enterprise Leadership Group, dans le cadre de l'Initiative de financement en faveur des femmes entrepreneures (we-fi). Elle est la récipiendaire de plusieurs prix, dont la médaille d'honneur de l'Assemblée nationale du Québec.

Danièle a participé à l'émission "Dans l'œil du Dragon" en tant qu'investisseur et mentor pendant cinq saisons.

Danièle est née au Maroc et élevée en Algérie. Elle a immigré au Canada dans les années 1990s et réside présentement à Montréal, Québec.

Laura McGee

Fondatrice et chef de la direction, Diversio

Laura McGee est la fondatrice et chef de la direction de Diversio, une entreprise de logiciels qui a recours à l'analyse de données et à l'apprentissage machine pour aider les entreprises à devenir plus inclusives. Elle siège aussi au Board of Informed Opinions, au Sommet Leaders et à l'école de gestion Ted Rogers.

Laura a travaillé à McKinsey & Company, où elle a été reconnue pour son leadership éclairé dans le domaine de l'avancement des femmes et des pratiques du secteur public. Elle a travaillé étroitement avec le Conseil canado-américain pour l'avancement des femmes entrepreneures et chefs d'entreprises afin de l'aider à formuler des recommandations concernant le soutien et la croissance des entreprises appartenant à des femmes, ce qui a contribué à façonner la Stratégie pour les femmes en entrepreneuriat.

Laura habite présentement à Toronto, Ontario.

Shauna Harper

Chef de la direction et stratège en marketing, Live Work Communications

Shauna Harper est une entrepreneure à temps plein depuis 20 ans et une animatrice de processus de groupe chevronnée. Elle est la chef de la direction et stratège en marketing pour Live Work Communications, une entreprise de communications en marketing, et une mentor bénévole pour le Centre d'entreprise des femmes de la Colombie-Britannique.

Shauna a fondé et dirigé Startup Prince George, un groupe communautaire de Prince George voué à la création d'une communauté passionnée par l'entrepreneuriat, la collaboration et l'innovation.

De 2014 à 2017, Shauna était la co-vice-présidente du Conseil consultatif des femmes sur l'économie de la première ministre de la Colombie-Britannique. Shauna a également été reconnue comme l'une des femmes les plus influentes de la Colombie-Britannique en 2017 (Mentors Edition) par le BC Business Magazine pour ses rôles en mentorat en tant que fondatrice et personne responsable de Startup Prince George.

Shauna réside à Prince George, Colombie-Britannique.

La Dre Virginia McGowan

Cofondatrice et associée/chercheuse principale, rédactrice et réviseure chez McGowan & Co. : The Write Edit Group
Propriétaire unique/auteure, conférencière, consultante et formatrice à The Business Mentoring Solution

La Dre Virginia McGowan est la cofondatrice, associée, chercheuse principale, rédactrice et réviseure chez McGowan & Co. : The Write Edit Group. Elle est également la propriétaire, conférencière, consultante et formatrice à The Business Mentoring Solution. La Dre McGowan est actuellement professeure agrégée adjointe au département de santé communautaire et d'épidémiologie de l'Université Dalhousie. La Dre McGowan fait également du bénévolat au sein d'un certain nombre d'organismes, dont the Cherie Blair Foundation for Women et le Forum for Women Entrepreneurs en tant que mentor.

Mme McGowan détient de nombreux diplômes et est membre de plusieurs associations professionnelles. Elle est titulaire d'un doctorat en philosophie (Ph.D.) en Anthropologie de l'Université de Toronto et membre de l'Association canadienne des réviseurs. Elle est également membre de niveau professionnel de la Professional Writers Association of Canada. Elle réside à Charlottetown, l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Maudeleine Myrthil

Présidente, Iweartech
Enseignante, Commission scolaire Marguerite-Bourgeoys

Maudeleine Myrthil est la présidente d'Iweartech, une entreprise qui se spécialise dans la recherche, la création et la mise en marché de produits et d'accessoires intelligents depuis 2015. Elle est aussi une enseignante à la Commission scolaire Marguerite-Bourgeoy, chargée du programme Lancement d'une entreprise et vente-conseil. De plus, elle est chargée de cours au CÉGEP Marie-Victorin.

Elle travaille depuis plus de cinq ans au sein du Groupe 3737, un organisme à but non lucratif qui a pour but d'offrir des services de soutien en entrepreneuriat. La clientèle desservie par le Groupe 3737 est essentiellement composée de femmes entrepreneures et des propriétaires d'entreprise issus de la diversité.

Maudeleine réside à Laval, Québec.

Shannon Pestun

Directrice, Women's Entrepreneurship, ATB Financial

Shannon est la directrice de Women's Entrepreneurship et fait partie du Cercle consultatif sur les relations avec les Autochtones d'ATB Financial, une institution financière et une société d'État appartenant à la province de l'Alberta. Dirigeant la stratégie visant à réinventer les services bancaires pour les femmes, Shannon s'occupe de mettre en œuvre des changements critiques et d'éliminer des obstacles auxquels les femmes font face en entrepreneuriat. En tant que Métisse, Shannon s'efforce aussi de promouvoir la réconciliation économique par son travail. Shannon est une voix reconnue dans le domaine de l'entrepreneuriat féminin et a été mise en vedette à travers des conférences d'affaires, des podcasts, des revues d'affaires et des médias électroniques. Shannon a récemment été reconnue par SHEInnovates Alberta, une section pilote de l'ONU Femmes qui vise à célébrer et à inspirer les femmes entrepreneures et innovatrices.

Shannon réside à Calgary, Alberta.

Sharon Zohar

Fondatrice et chef de la direction, The Big Push

Sharon Zohar est la fondatrice et chef de la direction de The Big Push, un accélérateur d'entreprises entièrement dirigé par des femmes qui se consacre à accélérer la croissance des entreprises en démarrage dirigées par des femmes et à les aider à se préparer au financement de série A grâce à un modèle unique de « mise à profit des capitaux propres ». Sharon est une entrepreneure en série et une investisseuse qui compte plus de 20 ans d'expérience dans la création, l'investissement, la prestation de conseils et l'exploitation de technologies, d'Internet et de médias numériques.

Dans le domaine de l'entrepreneuriat, Sharon a mis au point avec succès un certain nombre d'applications mobiles et logicielles pour les marchés de la santé, des finances et des médias, y compris Moodi, une plateforme de santé mentale qui a remporté le prix de la meilleure entreprise Google Startup NEXT.

Sharon réside à Toronto, Ontario. 

Les membres d'office

  • Sheldon Levy (Conseiller spécial, Petites entreprises et Promotion des exportations)
  • Karen Kastner (Banque de développement du Canada)
  • Wendy Cukier (Portail de connaissances pour les femmes en entrepreneuriat)
Date de modification :