WES Expert Panel Appointment Process

From: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

The Government of Canada used a transparent and merit-based process to appoint members of the Panel, which sought to have proper representation of Indigenous peoples and minority groups in positions of leadership.

To avoid potential conflicts of interest, Panel members were ineligible to apply for funding under the WES Ecosystem Fund and the Women Entrepreneurship Fund.

Candidates were required to send a résumé and cover letter addressed to the Deputy Minister of ISED to the following email address:ic.wes-sfe.ic@canada.ca. The deadline for interested Canadians to apply was November 16, 2018 at 23:59 PST.

The cover letter required candidates to outline how they met the experience, knowledge and personal attributes criteria outlined below.

Criteria Used to Appoint WES Expert Panel Members

Official Languages and Diversity

The Government of Canada considered bilingual proficiency and diversity in assessing candidates for these positions. Candidates were therefore encouraged to include in their application their ability to speak and understand their second official language. Preference was given to candidates who are members of one or more of the following groups: women, Indigenous peoples, persons with disabilities, and members of visible minority groups. Qualified male candidates were encouraged to participate in this process.

To have been considered for one of these positions, candidates were to provide in their application, examples from their career that clearly demonstrate how they meet at least two of each of the experience and knowledge requirements:

Experience and Education

Knowledge, Skills and Abilities

Personal Attributes

A reference check was completed to verify candidates’ demonstration of the experience requirements and the following personal attributes in their current and recently held positions:

Eligibility Factors and Conditions of Employment

In the application, candidates had to confirm that there were able to abide by the following requirements:

Chosen Panel members signed and agreed to the Appointment Agreement, including conflict of interest and confidentiality provisions, included below.

Conflict of interest and confidentiality provisions

Note

Unless the context clearly indicates the contrary, the feminine shall include masculine and the singular shall include the plural, and vice versa.

WES Expert Panel

1. Context

1.1 The Deputy Minister has established the WES Expert Panel comprised of diverse representatives to provide expert advice.

1.2 The applicant wishes to become a Member of the Panel.

1.3 It is important that the advice the Members provide to the Deputy Minister is not tainted by actual or potential bias and is free of any real or apparent conflict of interest. The Deputy Minister may consider the whole of the deliberations and recommendations of the Panel and the materials which its Members consider or generate as confidential.

2. Conflict of interest

2.1 The Member acknowledges the importance of offering advice and recommendations that are independent, expert, and made in good faith. The Member shall make all research and analysis gathered by the Member for the purposes of providing advice to the Deputy Minister available to the Deputy Minister or to the official(s) designated by the Deputy Minister.

2.2 The Member shall disclose to the Deputy Minister any advice which, if adopted and implemented, would result in financial gain to the Member, either professionally or personally, or to any person in the Member's immediate family or to any organization with which the Member is affiliated. The Member will be ineligible for funding under the WES Ecosystem Fund and the Women Entrepreneurship Fund.

2.3 In the event that the Member also sits on another advisory committee/board, the Member agrees not to share any information, documentation, deliberations, records or advice obtained, developed, or given by or to, the Panel Members with the members of the other advisory board, unless and until the Member is authorized to do so, in writing, by the Deputy Minister or an official designated by the Deputy Minister.

2.4 The Member shall immediately report to the Deputy Minister any circumstances in which the Member perceives a conflict or bias resulting from the Member's roles on the Panel and any outside interests or activities, including organizational affiliations or other advisory committees/boards. Should the Deputy Minister or an official designated by the Deputy Minister conclude that a real, apparent or perceived conflict of interest exists involving the Member's activities on the Panel and the outside interests or activities, including other advisory committees/boards, he may require the Member to abstain from participating in any related discussions or in the development of a related recommendation, or terminate the Member's membership in the Panel at the Deputy Minister's sole discretion.

2.5 In the event that the Member is already subject to the Value and Ethics Code for the Public Sector, Values and Ethics Codes for a Federal Department, the Conflict of Interest Act, or any other federal policy relating to conflict of interest, the Member acknowledges that she remains bound by these provisions and shall comply with their requirements in performing her duties under the terms of this Agreement.

3. Confidentiality

3.1 The Member agrees to treat any information which the Deputy Minister or ISED discloses to her in her capacity as a Panel member as confidential and subject to the Access to Information Act, the Security of Information Act and the Government Security Policy.

3.2 The Member agrees that she shall not, without the prior written permission of the Deputy Minister or an official designated by the Deputy Minister, disclose to any one, other than another Panel Member acting within the scope of her Panel role, the Deputy Minister or an official of ISED (including its Access to Information Coordinator), any information or documentation discussed or provided by ISED or by any other person, for or during Panel meetings, discussions or deliberations, except to the extent that such information or documentation is demonstrably in the public domain.

3.3 The Member shall not make use of the information or documentation disclosed or provided to the Member in her capacity as a Panel Member, except to the extent that it is demonstrably in the public domain, for any purpose other than her mandate as a Member of the Panel.

3.4 The Member agrees to return to the Deputy Minister any information disclosed to her in her capacity as a Panel Member at the end of her term.

3.5 These confidentiality provisions are subject to the operation of Canadian law and any validly issued Court order.

4. Survival

4.1 The obligations set out in this Annex shall survive the expiration or termination of the Appointment Agreement.

Date modified:

Processus de nomination du Comité d’experts de la SFE

De : Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada suivi a un processus transparent et axé sur le mérite, pour la nomination des membres du Comité. Le processus a assuré la représentation adéquate des Autochtones et des membres de groupes minoritaires dans les postes de direction.

Pour éviter les conflits d'intérêts potentiels, les membres du Comité n’étaient pas admissibles à présenter une demande de financement dans le cadre du Fonds pour l'écosystème de la SFE ou du Fonds pour les femmes en entrepreneuriat.

Les candidat(e)s étaient tenu(e)s de transmettre un curriculum vitæ et une lettre d'accompagnement au sous-ministre d'ISDE à l'adresse suivante : ic.wes-sfe.ic@canada.ca. La date limite pour les Canadien(ne)s intéressé(e)s à présenter une demande était le 16 novembre 2018, à 23 h 59, HNP.

Les candidat(e)s ont été demandé(e)s de décrire dans leur lettre d'accompagnement comment ils/elles répondaient aux critères présentés ci-dessous, qui portent sur l'expérience, les connaissances et les qualités personnelles.

Critères utilisé pour la nomination des membres du Comité d’expert de la SFE

Langues officielles et diversité

Le gouvernement du Canada a tenu compte du bilinguisme et de la diversité dans l'évaluation des candidatures à ces postes. Les candidat(e)s ont donc été encouragé(e)s à indiquer dans leur demande leur compréhension de la langue seconde et leur capacité de s’exprimer dans cette langue. La préférence a été accordée aux candidat(e)s qui appartiennent à l'un des groupes désignés suivants : femmes, Autochtones, personnes handicapées et membres d'un groupe de minorité visible. Les candidats de sexe masculin ont été encouragés à poster leur candidature.

Afin d’être considéré(e) pour l'un de ces postes, les candidat(e)s devaient fournir dans leur demande des exemples de leurs antécédents professionnels qui démontrent clairement de quelle façon ils/elles répondaient à au moins deux exigences pour chacune de ces expériences et connaissances.

Expérience et Études

Connaissances, compétences et capacités

Qualités personnelles

Une vérification des références personnelles a été effectuée pour vérifier comment les candidat(e)s ont satisfait aux exigences relatives à l'expérience et en quoi ils/elles ont manifesté, dans leurs postes actuels et occupés récemment, les qualités personnelles suivantes :

Facteurs d'admissibilité et conditions d'emploi

Les candidat(e)s ont confirmé dans leur demande qu’ils/elles pouvaient respecter les exigences suivantes :

Les membres du Comité ont signé et accepté l'entente de nomination qui suit, y compris les dispositions relatives aux conflits d'intérêts et à la protection des renseignements personnels.

Dispositions en matière de conflit d'intérêts et de confidentialité

Remarque

Sauf si le contexte indique clairement le contraire, le féminin comprend le masculin et le singulier comprend le pluriel et vice versa.

Comité d'experts de la SFE

1. Contexte

1.1 Le sous-ministre a constitué le Comité d'experts de la SFE formé de représentants de diverses origines qui donneront des conseils éclairés.

1.2 Le demandeur veut être membre du Comité.

1.3 Il est important que les conseils que le membre fournit au sous-ministre ne soient pas entachés par un parti pris réel ou potentiel et soient exempts de tout conflit d'intérêts réel ou apparent; et le sous-ministre peut considérer que l'ensemble des délibérations et des recommandations du Comité ainsi que les documents que ses membres étudient ou produisent sont confidentiels.

2. Conflit d'intérêts

2.1 Le membre reconnaît l'importance d'offrir des conseils et des recommandations indépendants, spécialisés, et formulés de bonne foi. Il met à la disposition du sous-ministre ou du ou des agents désignés par lui la totalité des recherches et des analyses qu'il a recueillies en vue de donner des conseils au sous-ministre.

2.2 Le membre doit divulguer au sous-ministre tout conseil qui, s'il était adopté et exécuté par ISDE, lui apporterait un gain financier sur le plan personnel ou professionnel ou en apporterait un à un membre de sa famille immédiate ou encore à tout organisme auquel il est affilié. Le membre ne sera pas admissible à présenter une demande de financement dans le cadre du Fonds pour l'écosystème de la SFE et du Fonds pour les femmes en entrepreneuriat.

2.3 Advenant que le membre siège aussi à un autre conseil consultatif, il convient de ne divulguer aux membres de cet autre conseil aucune information, documentation ou délibération, ni aucun dossier ou conseil obtenus, mis au point ou donnés par les membres dudit comité ou à ceux-ci, sauf si le sous-ministre ou un agent qu'il a désigné l'autorise par écrit à le faire.

2.4 Le membre signale sans délai au sous-ministre toute situation dans laquelle il perçoit un conflit ou un parti pris découlant du rôle qu'il joue au sein du Comité, ainsi que tout intérêt ou toute activité externe, y compris une affiliation à un autre organisme ou sa participation à un autre conseil consultatif. Si le sous-ministre ou un agent qu'il a désigné conclut à l'existence d'un conflit d'intérêts réel, perçu ou apparent en raison du rôle que joue le membre au sein du Comité, ainsi que de tout intérêt ou toute activité externe, y compris sa participation à un autre conseil consultatif, il peut exiger de lui qu'il s'abstienne de prendre part aux discussions connexes ou à la formulation d'une recommandation connexe, ou encore, à son entière discrétion, mettre fin à son mandat au sein du Comité.

2.5 Advenant que le membre soit déjà assujetti au Code de valeurs et d'éthique de la fonction publique, au Code de valeurs et d'éthique qui s'applique à un ministère fédéral, à la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts ou à toute autre politique fédérale régissant les conflits d'intérêts, il reconnaît qu'il demeure lié par ces dispositions et qu'il se conformera à leurs exigences dans le cadre de l'exercice de ses fonctions selon les modalités du présent accord.

3. Confidentialité

3.1 Le membre convient de traiter tous les renseignements que le sous-ministre ou ISDE lui communiquera en sa qualité de membre du Comité comme confidentiels et assujettis à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, à la Loi sur la protection de l'information ainsi qu'à la Politique sur la sécurité du gouvernement.

3.2 Le membre convient de ne divulguer à qui que ce soit, sauf à un autre membre du Comité agissant dans le cadre de son mandat, au sous-ministre ou à un agent d'ISDE (y compris son coordonnateur de l'accès à l'information), tout renseignement ou tout document ayant fait l'objet de discussions ou fourni par ISDE ou par toute autre personne, pour ou durant les réunions, les discussions ou les délibérations du Comité sans l'autorisation du sous-ministre ou d'un représentant qu'il a désigné, sauf dans la mesure où ce renseignement ou ce document appartient manifestement au domaine public.

3.3 Le membre n'est pas autorisé à utiliser les renseignements ou les documents qui lui sont communiqués ou fournis en sa qualité de membre du Comité à une fin autre que celles liées à son mandat de membre, sauf dans la mesure où ils appartiennent manifestement au domaine public.

3.4 Le membre convient de remettre au sous-ministre, à la fin de son mandat, tous les renseignements qui lui auront été communiqués en sa qualité de membre du Comité.

3.5 Ces dispositions concernant la confidentialité sont assujetties à la loi canadienne et à toute ordonnance du tribunal valide.

4. Maintien des obligations

4.1 Les obligations prévues dans la présente section subsisteront à l'expiration de la présente entente de nomination.

Date de modification :