Notice of Opportunity for Ministerial Appointments: Directors, College of Patent Agents and Trademark Agents

As part of the Government of Canada's Intellectual Property Strategy announced in April 2018, a College of Patent Agents and Trademark Agents is being established for the professional oversight of IP agents in the public interest. Given the rising importance of IP in the innovation economy and the central role of patent and trademark agents, the College will be responsible for maintaining the high standards that are expected of trusted advisors.

The College will administer a licensing system to ensure that only qualified professionals are authorized to provide agent services. As an independent regulator it will also be responsible for enforcing a code of professional conduct to ensure that IP agents continue to deliver high quality advice. The College will also be responsible for implementing requirements for continuing professional development to ensure that agents stay informed of the ever evolving IP landscape. Ultimately, these measures will raise the bar of IP professional services in Canada.

The Government of Canada is currently seeking applications from diverse and talented Canadians who are interested in becoming a member of the Board of Directors of the College of Patent Agents and Trademark Agents. The Board will be comprised of five Directors on a part-time basis, two of whom will be appointed on the recommendation of the Intellectual Property Institute of Canada. Directors will serve for up to one year following the coming into force of the legislation establishing the College. In addition to overseeing the initial set-up of the College and hiring key staff, Directors will be responsible for passing by-laws regarding: rules of procedure of the Board; administrative matters of the College; continuing education programs and obligations; duties and functions of the Registrar and the maintenance of the register of agents; and fees to be paid by licensees. As such, membership on the Board of Directors is expected to encompass a full range of expertise, including from the intellectual property domain, corporate governance, and professional regulation.

A selection committee will evaluate applications and provide recommendations to the Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada for appointments to the Board of Directors.

Candidates must send a résumé and cover letter by March 8, 2019, to the following email address ic.ipstrategy-strategieenmatieredepi.ic@canada.ca.

Your cover letter should outline how you meet the education, experience, knowledge and personal attributes outlined below.

Official Languages and Diversity

The Government of Canada will consider bilingual proficiency and diversity in assessing candidates for these positions. You are therefore encouraged to include in your application your ability to speak and understand your second official language. Preference may be given to candidates who are members of one or more of the following groups: women, Indigenous peoples, persons with disabilities, and members of visible minority groups.

To be considered for one of these positions, please provide examples from your career that clearly demonstrate how you meet the following requirements in your application:

Education and Experience

Knowledge, Skills and Attributes

Personal Attributes

Eligibility Factors and Conditions of Employment

In your application, it will be important to confirm that you are able to abide by the following requirements:

Date modified:

Avis de possibilité de nominations ministérielles : administrateurs, Collège des agents de brevets et des agents de marques de commerce

Dans le cadre de la Stratégie en matière de propriété intellectuelle (PI) du gouvernement du Canada annoncée en avril 2018, un Collège des agents de brevets et des agents de marques de commerce est en voie d'établissement pour la surveillance professionnelle des agents de PI dans l'intérêt public. Compte tenu de l'importance croissante de la PI dans l'économie de l'innovation et du rôle central des agents de brevets et de marques de commerce, le Collège sera chargé de maintenir les normes élevées que l'on attend des conseillers de confiance. 

Le Collège administrera un système de délivrance de permis pour s'assurer que seuls des professionnels qualifiés sont autorisés à fournir des services d'agent. En tant qu'organisme de réglementation indépendant, il sera également chargé d'appliquer un code de déontologie professionnelle pour veiller à ce que les agents de PI continuent de fournir des conseils de grande qualité. Le Collège sera également chargé de mettre en œuvre les exigences en matière de perfectionnement professionnel continu de manière que les agents se tiennent au courant de l'évolution constante du contexte de la PI. Au bout du compte, ces mesures relèveront la barre des services professionnels en PI au Canada.

Le gouvernement du Canada est actuellement à la recherche de candidatures de Canadiens talentueux et issus d’horizons divers qui souhaitent devenir membres du conseil d’administration du Collège des agents de brevets et des agents de marques de commerce. Le conseil sera composé de cinq administrateurs à temps partiel, dont deux qui seront nommés sur recommandation de l’Institut de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada. Les administrateurs siégeront pour une durée maximale d’un an suivant l’entrée en vigueur de la loi établissant le Collège. En plus d’assurer la supervision de la mise en place initiale du Collège et l’embauche du personnel, les administrateurs seront responsables de l’adoption des règlements administratifs : les règlements de procédure du conseil, les questions administratives du Collège, les programmes et obligations en matière de formation continue, les responsabilités et fonctions du registraire, le maintien du registre des agents, et la cotisation à payer par les titulaires de permis. Ainsi, la composition du conseil d’administration devra englober toute une gamme de compétences, notamment dans les domaines de la propriété intellectuelle, de la gouvernance et de la réglementation professionnelle.

Un comité de sélection évaluera les candidatures et formulera des recommandations au ministre de l'Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique du Canada en vue des nominations au conseil d'administration.

Les candidats doivent envoyer un curriculum vitae et une lettre de présentation d'ici le 8 mars 2019 à l'adresse de courriel suivante ic.ipstrategy-strategieenmatieredepi.ic@canada.ca.

Votre lettre de présentation doit indiquer comment vous répondez aux exigences en matière d'études, d'expérience, de connaissances et de qualités personnelles décrites ci-dessous.

Langues officielles et diversité

Le gouvernement du Canada tiendra compte de la compétence bilingue et de la diversité dans l'évaluation des candidats à ces postes. Nous vous encourageons donc à inclure dans votre candidature votre capacité de parler et de comprendre votre deuxième langue officielle. La préférence pourrait être accordée aux candidats qui appartiennent à un ou plusieurs des groupes suivants : les femmes, les Autochtones, les personnes handicapées et les membres de minorités visibles.

Pour être pris en considération pour l'un de ces postes, veuillez fournir dans votre candidature des exemples tirés de votre carrière qui démontrent clairement comment vous répondez aux exigences suivantes :

Études et expérience

Connaissances et compétences

Qualités personnelles

Facteurs d'admissibilité et conditions d'emploi

Dans votre candidature, il est important de confirmer que vous pouvez vous conformer aux exigences suivantes :

Date de modification :