Broadcasting and Telecommunications Legislative Review Panel: Biographies

From: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Janet Yale (Chair)

Janet Yale

Janet Yale is an accomplished leader and senior executive with long years of management experience in the private, public and not-for-profit sectors. Currently, she serves as the President and CEO of the Arthritis Society (Canada) after a long career in the telecommunications and broadcast sectors. In June 2018, she was appointed by the federal Ministers of Innovation, Science and Economic Development and Canadian Heritage to serve as Chair of The Broadcasting and Telecommunications Legislative Review Panel.

Previously, she served as President and CEO of the Canadian Cable Television Association and, later, as the Executive Vice President at TELUS. Ms. Yale also served as a Director General at the CRTC and as General Counsel at the Consumers Association of Canada.

Ms. Yale is Chair of the Arthritis Alliance of Canada, the out-going Chair of the Health Charities Coalition of Canada, Past-Chair of the Ontario Trillium Foundation and serves on the boards of Samara and the Ottawa Art Gallery. In 2008, she was awarded the United Way Community Builder Award for Volunteer of the Year.

During the course of her distinguished career, she has received a number of awards and recognitions. In 2001, she was named "Woman of the Year" by the Canadian Women in Communications Organization. She is a recipient of both the Queen Elizabeth II Golden and Diamond Jubilee Medals. She was also named as one of Canada's 100 Most Powerful Women by the Women's Executive Network from 2004 to 2006, and inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2007. In 2005, she was named Businesswoman of the Year by the Women's Business Network and in 2006 she was named Woman Leader of the Year by Federated Press.

A lawyer and economist by training, Ms. Yale is fully bilingual (English & French), a keen marathon runner and passionate about health, the arts and business. She splits her time between Ottawa and Toronto with her husband and grown children.

Peter Grant

Peter Grant

Peter Grant is Counsel and past Chair of the Technology, Communications and Intellectual Property Group at law firm McCarthy Tétrault LLP in Toronto. He is considered a pioneer in the field of communications law in Canada. His practice touches all areas of communications law, including broadcasting and cable television, discretionary programming services, digital media services on the internet, copyright collectives, and cultural industries.

Peter is the author of numerous articles and publications, including the Canadian Broadcasting Regulatory Handbook, a standard industry reference published every two years, now in its fourteenth edition. He was the former co-chair of the National Conference on Communications Law and Policy convened by the Law Society of Upper Canada every two years. The conference is now administered by the International Institute of Communications (IIC).

From 1974 to 1978, Peter was seconded to the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) under an Executive Exchange Agreement. During this period, Mr. Grant acted as a Special Counsel to the Commission and performed duties as Commission counsel in numerous broadcasting and telecommunications regulatory proceedings.

Peter was a member of the Canadian delegation to UNESCO in 1974, and to the G-7 conference on the Information Society in Brussels in 1995. Peter is a past national chair of the Media and Communication Section of the Canadian Bar Association (CBA) and a former chair of the CBA Special Committee on Freedom of Information.

He received his BA in 1964 and his LLB in 1967, both from the University of Toronto.

Hank Intven

Hank Intven

Hank Intven is a lawyer based in Victoria, British Columbia, where he teaches telecommunications, broadcasting and Internet law at the University of Victoria. For more than 30 years, he has been recognized as a leading advisor to business, governments and regulators in the telecommunications and broadcasting industries. He has advised a wide range of communications companies, investors, financial institutions, regulators, governments and other clients on communications-related business, regulatory and policy matters in Canada and in more than 25 other countries. He is the president of the Canadian chapter of the International Institute of Communications.

Hank was a partner in the law firm McCarthy Tétrault LLP from 1986 to 2013. Prior to that, he was Executive Director of Telecommunications at the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC). He was the main external advisor to the Canadian government in the preparation of the Canadian Telecommunications Act and was one of three members of the Government of Canada's Telecommunications Policy Review Panel, which delivered a blueprint for the future of Canadian telecommunications policy in March 2006. Earlier in his career, Hank was General Counsel with the Consumers Association of Canada, and Director of its Regulated Industries Program.

Hank is the author of the Canadian Telecommunications Regulatory Handbook, a comprehensive guide to Canadian telecommunications law and regulation, published between 2012 and 2017. He is also the editor of the international Telecommunications Regulation Handbook, published in 2000 and distributed around the world by The World Bank and the International Telecommunication Union.

Hank studied at Western University and Osgoode Hall Law School. He was admitted to the Ontario Bar in 1976 and the BC Bar in 2013.

Marina Pavlović

Marina Pavlović

Marina Pavlović is an Associate Professor at the Faculty of Law, Common Law Section at the University of Ottawa and is a member of its Centre for Law, Technology and Society.

Prior to joining the University of Ottawa, Professor Pavlović acted as an in-house counsel for a telecommunication company in Belgrade (Serbia) and practiced (as an of-counsel) in the area of international commercial arbitration with a law firm in Salzburg (Austria).

Her research expertise is in consumer rights in the cross-border digital economy and in technology policy and regulation.

She holds a law degree from the Faculty of Law at the University of Belgrade (Serbia), an LL.M with concentration in Law & Technology from the University of Ottawa, and is called to the Ontario bar. She received the 2015–2016 Common Law Section Excellence in Teaching Award and the 2017–2018 Common Law Section Public Engagement Award: Public Education and Outreach.

Monique Simard

Monique Simard

Monique Simard has a long and distinguished track record in the cultural industries. She was President and CEO of the Société de développement des entreprises culturelles (SODEC) from 2014 to 2018 and was previously Director General of the National Film Board of Canada's French Program. In April 2018, she was appointed as Chair of the Board of the Quebecor Fund.

Her other experience includes member of Committee on Science and Technology in Canada from 1989 to 1991, Producer and Vice President at Productions Virage from 1998 to 2008; President of the Board of the Cinémathèque from 2000 to 2004; member of the Board for l'Observatoire québécois de la mondialisation in 2002 and in 2003; and member of the Board of l'Association des producteurs de films et de télévision du Québec (APFTQ) and of the Rencontres internationales du documentaire de Montréal.

She studied political science and history at the Université du Québec à Montréal.

Monica Song

Monique Simard

Monica Song is a partner with Dentons Canada LLP and the head of the Communications Law group at the firm. A skilled administrative lawyer with in-depth knowledge of the business, legal, regulatory, licensing, and public policy issues affecting the communications industry, she has over 20 years' experience advising clients in the sector, including wireline and wireless carriers, resellers, satellite operators, cable companies, Internet service providers, cloud-based application service providers, digital media undertakings, content providers, and equipment manufacturers and distributors.

Monica has been a part-time professor at the University of Ottawa Faculty of Law for the past ten years and is frequently invited to speak at administrative and communications law, and other industry conferences.

Prior to entering private practice, Monica clerked with Justice John Charles Major at the Supreme Court of Canada. Holder of degrees in both of Canada's common and civil law traditions, Monica interned at the Québec Court of Appeal and is fluent in French.

Monica has a BA (Hons) from the University of Toronto, an LLB from the University of Western Ontario and an LL.B (Civ.) from l'Université Laval.

Pierre Trudel

Pierre Trudel

Pierre Trudel is a full Professor at the Public Law Research Center (Centre de recherche en droit public or CRDP) of the Faculty of Law at the l'Université de Montréal. He is a regular contributor at Le Devoir. He is an associate researcher at the Centre facilitating research and innovation in organizations (CEFRIO), member of the Council of the Center for Media Studies (Université Laval) and Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada.

He has been a visiting professor at the following universities: Université Laval (Quebec), Université Paris II (Panthéon-Assas) and Université Namur (Belgium). From 1986 to 1988, he was Director of Research for the Federal Task Force on Broadcasting Policy. From 1990 to 1995, he was the Director of the Public Law Research Center at the Université de Montréal. He currently teaches media law and cyberspace law. He has authored several books and articles in media law and information technology law, including Droit de la radio et de la télévision (1991).

He is currently working on research projects on the fundamental rights to information, protection of personal information online, evaluation of legal issues and risks, Internet of Things, e-health, audiovisual law and e-commerce.

He holds a LLM from Université de Montréal.

Date modified:

Groupe d'examen du cadre législatif en matière de radiodiffusion et de télécommunications : Biographies

De : Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

Janet Yale (Présidente)

Janet Yale (Présidente)

Janet Yale, leader et cadre supérieure accomplie, a accumulé de longues années d'expérience en gestion dans les secteurs privé, public et à but non lucratif. Après une longue carrière dans les domaines des télécommunications et de la radiodiffusion, elle est maintenant présidente et chef de la direction de la Société de l'arthrite (au Canada). En juin 2018, elle a été affectée par les ministres fédéraux de l'Innovation, de la Science et du Développement économique du Canada et de Patrimoine canadien au poste de présidente du Groupe d'examen du cadre législatif en matière de radiodiffusion et de télécommunications.

Elle a déjà été vice-présidente à la direction à TELUS, avant d'occuper le poste de chef de la direction à l'Association canadienne de télévision par câble. Mme Yale a également déjà agi à titre de directrice générale au CRTC et d'avocate générale à l'Association des consommateurs du Canada.

Mme Yale est présidente de l'Alliance de l'arthrite du Canada, présidente sortante de la Coalition canadienne et membre des conseils d'administration de Samara et de la Galerie d'art d'Ottawa des organismes de bienfaisance en santé. Elle a aussi été présidente de la Fondation Trillium de l'Ontario. En 2008, Centraide lui a décerné le Prix du bâtisseur communautaire à titre de bénévole de l'année.

Au cours de sa fructueuse carrière, elle a reçu de nombreux prix et distinctions. En 2001, elle s'est vue décerner le titre de « Femme de l'année » par l'Association canadienne des femmes en communications. Elle est récipiendaire des médailles du jubilé d'argent et du jubilé d'or de la Reine Elizabeth II et elle a aussi été nommée parmi les cent femmes les plus influentes au Canada par le Réseau des femmes exécutives de 2004 à 2006, qui l'a aussi intronisée à son Temple de la renommée en 2007. En 2005, elle s'est vue décerner le titre de « Femme d'affaires de l'année » par l'organisme Women's Business Network et en 2006, elle a été désignée leader féminine de l'année par les publications Federated Press.

Mme Yale, avocate et économiste de formation, est complètement bilingue (anglais et français), fervente marathonienne et passionnée de santé, des arts et des affaires. Elle partage son temps entre les villes d'Ottawa et de Toronto, auprès de son mari et de ses enfants, maintenant adultes.

Peter Grant

Peter-Grant

Peter Grant est avocat-conseil et ancien président du groupe du droit de la technologie, des communications et de la propriété intellectuelle du cabinet d'avocats McCarthy Tétrault s.r.l. à Toronto. Il est considéré un pionnier dans le domaine du droit des communications au Canada. Sa pratique est axée sur toutes les facettes du droit des communications, y compris la radiodiffusion et la câblodistribution, les services de programmation facultatifs, les services de médias numériques sur Internet, le droit d'auteur collectif et les industries culturelles.

Peter est l'auteur de plusieurs articles et publications, dont le Canadian Broadcasting Regulatory Handbook, un ouvrage de référence dans l'industrie qui est publié tous les deux ans, et qui en est actuellement à sa 14e édition. Il est l'ancien coprésident de la National Conference on Communications Law and Policy organisée par le Barreau du Haut-Canada tous les deux ans. La conférence est maintenant administrée par l'Institut international des communications (IIC).

De 1974 à 1978, Peter a été détaché au Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) en vertu d'un programme d'échange de cadres. Au cours de cette période, Peter a agi en tant que conseiller juridique spécial pour le Conseil et réalisé des tâches en tant qu'avocat du Conseil dans de nombreuses procédures règlementaires touchant les secteurs de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications.

Peter était membre de la délégation canadienne à l'UNESCO en 1974, et de la conférence sur la Société de l'information du G-7 à Bruxelles en 1995. Peter est l'ancien président national de la Section du droit de l'information et des télécommunications de l'Association du Barreau canadien (ABC) et l'ancien président du comité spécial de l'ABC sur l'accès à l'information.

Il a obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts en 1964 et un baccalauréat en droit en 1967, tous deux de l'Université de Toronto.

Hank Intven

Hank Intven

Hank Intven est un avocat établi à Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique, où il enseigne le droit de la radiodiffusion, des télécommunications et de l'Internet à l'Université de Victoria. Depuis plus de trente ans, il est reconnu comme étant un conseiller chevronné d'entreprises, de gouvernements et d'organismes de réglementation au sein des secteurs des télécommunications et de la radiodiffusion. Il a conseillé un large éventail d'entreprises de communication, d'investisseurs, d'institutions financières, d'organismes de réglementation, de gouvernements et d'autres clients sur des questions commerciales, réglementaires et politiques au Canada et dans plus de 25 pays, relatives au domaine des communications. Il est également président de la section canadienne de l'Institut international des communications.

Hank était associé au sein du cabinet McCarthy Tétrault, s.r.l., de 1986 à 2013. Auparavant, il occupait les fonctions de directeur exécutif des télécommunications au Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC). Il a été le principal conseiller externe du gouvernement du Canada dans la préparation de la Loi sur les télécommunications et l'un des trois membres du Groupe d'étude sur le cadre réglementaire des télécommunications du gouvernement du Canada qui a produit un plan pour l'avenir de la politique canadienne des télécommunications en mars 2006. Au début de sa carrière, Hank a occupé les postes d'avocat général de l'Association des consommateurs du Canada et de directeur du programme des industries réglementées de cette association.

Hank est l'auteur d'un guide détaillé sur la réglementation et les lois en matière de télécommunications au Canada publié de 2012 à 2017 et intitulé Canadian Telecommunications Regulatory Handbook. Il est aussi l'éditeur d'un guide sur la réglementation relative aux télécommunications à l'international, soit le Telecommunications Regulation Handbook, publié en 2000 et distribué à l'échelle mondiale par la Banque mondiale et l'Union internationale des télécommunications.

Hank a étudié à l'Université Western et à la faculté de droit Osgoode Hall. En 1976, il a été admis au Barreau de l'Ontario et en 2013 à celui de la Colombie-Britannique.

Marina Pavlović

Marina Pavlović

Marina Pavlović est professeure agrégée à la Faculté de droit, Section de common law de l'Université d'Ottawa où elle est membre du Centre de recherche en droit, technologie et société.

Avant de devenir professeure à l'Université d'Ottawa, Mme Pavlović a occupé le poste d'avocate à l'interne au sein d'une entreprise en télécommunications à Belgrade en Serbie et travaillé en tant qu'avocate-conseil dans le domaine de l'arbitrage commercial international au sein d'un cabinet de droit à Salzbourg en Autriche.

Son expertise en recherche porte sur les droits des consommateurs dans l'économie numérique transfrontalière ainsi que sur la politique et la réglementation en matière de technologies.

Elle est titulaire d'un diplôme en droit de la Faculté de droit de l'Université de Belgrade en Serbie et d'une maîtrise en droit de l'Université d'Ottawa portant principalement sur le droit et la technologie. Elle a également été admise au Barreau de l'Ontario. Mme Pavlović a reçu le Prix d'excellence en enseignement de la Section de common law 2015-2016 et le Prix de l'engagement envers le public : Éducation et sensibilisation du public de la Section de common law 2017-2018.

Monique Simard

Monique Simard

Monique Simard a une longue feuille de route remarquable dans les industries culturelles. Elle a été présidente et chef de la direction de la Société de développement des entreprises culturelles (SODEC) de 2014 à 2018, et elle a également été directrice générale du Programme français de l'Office national du film du Canada. En avril 2018, elle a été nommée présidente du conseil d'administration du Fonds Québecor.

Elle a également été membre du comité consultatif des sciences et de la technologies du Canada 1989-1991, productrice et vice-présidente chez Productions Virage de 1998 à 2008, présidente du conseil d'administration de la Cinémathèque de 2000 à 2004, membre du conseil d'administration de l'Observatoire québécois de la mondialisation en 2002 et en 2003, et membre du conseil d'administration de l'Association des producteurs de films et de télévision du Québec (APFTQ) et des Rencontres internationales du documentaire de Montréal.

Elle a étudié en sciences politiques et en histoire à l'Université du Québec à Montréal.

Monica Song

Monica Song

Monica Song est associée au cabinet Dentons Canada LLP et chef du groupe Droit des communications au cabinet. Avocate expérimentée en droit administratif possédant des connaissances approfondies des questions relatives aux affaires, au droit, à la réglementation, à l'octroi de licences et à la politique publique concernant l'industrie des communications, elle possède plus de 20 ans d'expérience en prestation de conseils à des clients dans le secteur, notamment des entreprises de services filaires et sans fil, des revendeurs, des exploitants de services par satellite, des câblodistributeurs, des fournisseurs de services Internet, des fournisseurs de services d'applications infonuagiques, des entreprises de médias numériques, des fournisseurs de contenu ainsi que des fabricants et distributeurs d'équipement.

Mme Song est professeure à temps partiel à la Faculté de droit de l'Université d'Ottawa depuis dix ans, et elle est fréquemment invitée à des conférences sur le droit administratif et le droit des communications et à d'autres conférences de l'industrie.

Avant de pratiquer le droit dans le privé, Mme Song a été greffière auprès du juge John Charles Major à la Cour suprême du Canada. Titulaire de diplômes en common law et en droit civil canadien, Mme Song a fait un stage à la Cour d'appel du Québec et parle couramment le français.

Mme Song est titulaire d'un baccalauréat (avec distinction) de l'Université de Toronto, d'un baccalauréat en droit de l'Université de Western Ontario et d'un baccalauréat en droit civil de l'Université Laval.

Pierre Trudel

Pierre Trudel

Pierre Trudel est professeur titulaire au Centre de recherche en droit public (CRDP) de la Faculté de droit de l'Université de Montréal. Il est chroniqueur régulier au journal Le Devoir. Il est chercheur associé au Centre facilitant la recherche et l'innovation dans les organisations (CEFRIO), membre du Conseil du Centre d'études sur les médias et membre de la Société royale du Canada.

Il a été professeur invité aux Universités Laval (Québec), Paris II (Panthéon-Assas) et Namur (Belgique). De 1986 à 1988, il a été directeur de la recherche du Groupe de travail fédéral sur la politique de radiodiffusion. De 1990 à 1995, il a été directeur du Centre de recherche en droit public de l'Université de Montréal. Il enseigne en droit des médias et en droit du cyberespace. Il est l'auteur de plusieurs livres et articles en droit des médias et en droit des technologies de l'information, dont Droit de la radio et de la télévision (1991).

Il travaille à des projets de recherche sur les droits fondamentaux de l'information, la protection de la vie privée en ligne, l'évaluation des enjeux et risques juridiques, les objets connectés, la e-santé, le droit de l'audiovisuel et le commerce électronique.

Il détient une maitrise en droit de l'Université de Montréal.

Date de modification :