Addendum to Update Report on Developments in Data Protection Law in Canada (2001-2017)

Report to the European Commission
September 2017

PDF version

Table of Contents

  1. 1.0 Introduction
  2. 2.0 OPC Policies and Procedures on Enforcement (PIPEDA)
  3. 3.0 Substantially Similar Provincial Legislation
  4. 4.0 Compliance Agreements

1.0 Introduction

1.1 On July 13, 2017, Canadian Government and European Commission officials held a videoconference to review the May 2017 Update Report on developments in data protection law in Canada (2001-2017). During this session, EC officials sought clarification on several elements of the report. This Addendum has been prepared to provide additional information and clarification on elements that relate to the oversight role of the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada (OPC) as the regulator under the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA). The Addendum includes further information on the OPC policies and procedures on enforcement, a summary of trends related to PIPEDA investigations, an overview of "substantially similar" designations under the Act, and an explanation of compliance agreements and how they are being used.

1.2 Additional questions arising from the update report, those not confined to enforcement of PIPEDA, will be addressed in the next regular Update Report.

2.0 OPC policies and procedures on enforcement

2.1 In response to the request for additional information on the enforcement policies and procedures of the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada, with respect to the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act, as referenced in Section 3.1 of the May 2017 Update Report, we offer the following information with respect to the OPC, its oversight and enforcement functions, investigations by the Commissioner and how they were resolved, as well as significant trends that relate.

2.2 The Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada (OPC) oversees compliance with Part 1 of PIPEDA, which sets out the privacy obligations private sector organizations must adhere to when they handle personal information in the course of their commercial activities. For federally regulated organizations, PIPEDA also applies to the personal information of employees as well as applicants for employment.

2.3 The OPC oversees compliance with PIPEDA in a variety of ways, including formal and informal actions of both a reactive and proactive nature. Such activities include: investigating privacy complaints that are either filed by individuals or initiated by the Commissioner, following up on breach reports, resolving complaint matters through early resolution, conducting reviews of organizations' personal information handling practices, issuing letters of concern to organizations, and participating in sector or issue wide international privacy sweeps. For detailed information on the complaints process, please refer to www.priv.gc.ca/biens-assets/compliance-framework/en/index#.

2.4 Section 24 of PIPEDA requires the Commissioner to promote the purposes of the Act. This is done through a variety of means, including public education, the issuance of guidance and outreach activities (directed to organizations and consumers), undertaking and publishing research on privacy issues, and providing funding for academic or other research on privacy issues, for example, through the OPC's Contributions Program.

2.5 With respect to addressing and resolving complaints, the OPC follows the process outlined below:

2.6 For recent trends in PIPEDA investigations, please refer to the OPC's annual report, which was tabled in Parliament on September 21, 2017. Past annual reports can be found here.

3.0 Substantially Similar Provincial Legislation

3.1 In response to the request for additional information on the designation of "substantially similar" granted to provincial/territorial privacy legislation under PIPEDA, and the roles and responsibilities of data protection authorities in and across jurisdictions, we offer the following clarifications to Sections 3.3 to 3.5 of the May 2017 Update Report.

3.2 Under paragraph 26(2)(b) of PIPEDA, the Governor in Council can exempt an organization, a class of organizations, an activity or a class of activities from the application of PIPEDA with respect to the collection, use or disclosure of personal information that occurs within a province that has passed legislation deemed to be substantially similar to PIPEDA.

3.3 There are three fundamental requirements for a provincial law to be considered substantially similar to PIPEDA.

3.4 Organizations that are subject to provincial legislation deemed substantially similar are exempt from PIPEDA with respect to the collection, use or disclosure of personal information occurring within that province. PIPEDA continues to apply where there is no substantially similar legislation; where personal information crosses borders for consideration; and, where the collection, use or disclosure of personal information is carried out by federally regulated businesses irrespective of the province.

3.5 The determination of the substantially similar nature of a provincial private sector privacy law is made by Governor in Council, based on a recommendation by the Minister of IndustryFootnote 1. On August 3, 2002, Industry Canada published the "Process for the Determination of "Substantially Similar" Provincial Legislation by the Governor in Council" which, in addition to outlining the policy and criteria used to determine whether provincial legislation will be considered as substantially similar, states that the department of IndustryFootnote 2 will seek, consider and reflect the views of the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada in developing its recommendation to Governor in Council. Specifically,

"As an independent Officer of Parliament, the Privacy Commissioner can present his views on provincial/territorial privacy legislation, including draft legislation, as he deems appropriate. Subsection 25(1) of PIPEDA requires the Commissioner to report to Parliament annually, and to report specifically on the extent to which the provinces have enacted legislation that is substantially similar ... and the application of any such legislation. The Privacy Commissioner [shall] consult directly with his counterpart(s) or any other person who is in a position to assist him in the relevant provinces prior to the release of his Annual Report.

In order to allow the Privacy Commissioner to carry out his mandate under subsection 25(1) of PIPEDA, the Minister of Industry will inform the Privacy Commissioner of a request under subsection 26(2) when it is received, and will seek the Privacy Commissioner's view as to whether the legislation is substantially similar to PIPEDA. For all submissions to the Governor in Council, the Minister will consider and include the views of the Privacy Commissioner."

3.6 Section 23 of PIPEDA gives the Commissioner authority to consult with his provincial counterparts on a variety of privacy issues. For example, the OPC may communicate with Provincial offices with substantially similar laws to discuss jurisdictional issues to determine which office is better suited to handle a particular complaint.

3.7 The Information and Privacy Commissioners of British Columbia, Alberta and the OPC have signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) which sets out a framework for consulting, cooperating and sharing relevant information on private sector privacy issues, including with respect to investigations on matters of mutual interest which affect Canadians in each of our jurisdictions. An example of a joint federal-provincial investigation can be found here.

3.8 The OPC has also signed an MOU with the Ontario Information and Privacy Commissioner related to the administration and enforcement of PIPEDA and the Ontario Personal Health Information Protection Act (PHIPA).

3.9 Pursuant to the MOU between OPC, BC and AB, the Private Sector Privacy (PSP) Forum, consisting of representatives from the BC and AB privacy oversight offices and the OPC, is the primary vehicle for achieving the objectives set out in the MOU. Examples of PSP Forum activities may include discussing issues such as legislative changes, research and policy issues and also to collaborate on the development of guidance documents. An example of joint federal-provincial guidance is "Getting accountability right with a privacy management program." Although Quebec is not a signatory to the MOU, it does participate in the forum for discussions related to general privacy issues.

3.10 A subgroup of the PSP Forum is the Domestic Enforcement Collaboration Forum (DECF), which provides an opportunity for representatives from the BC and AB privacy oversight offices and the OPC to collaborate on enforcement matters. The DECF focuses on the following activities: 1) identifying new complaints or incidents of potential interest for collaboration; 2) providing updates and strategic advice on ongoing collaborative investigations and incidents and 3) discussing key investigations and other informal enforcement matters of interest to participants.

3.11 Collaborating on breach incidents has been a key focus of the DECF to ensure that a thorough and efficient assessment of the incident occurs to the benefit of all Canadians. In addition to breaches, each participating office is encouraged to highlight any active investigations which they think may be of interest to the other offices or may have a potential collaborative aspect. The discussions led to collaboration activities in some matters while ensuring a solidified approach was taken on certain positions. The DECF also discusses general trends, approaches and best practices with respect to complaints and investigations.

3.12 The OPC also may collaborate with provincial offices on private sector privacy matters as part of the Global Privacy Enforcement Network, for example in the annual GPEN Sweep initiative. For more information on GPEN sweeps, please refer to the GPEN and OPC websites.

4.0 Compliance Agreements

4.1 In response to the request for additional information on compliance agreements under PIPEDA and how they relate to court actions and the role of the Privacy Commissioner, we offer the following supplemental information to Section 3.14 of the May 2017 Update Report.

4.2 The Digital Privacy Act, 2015 includes provisions allowing the Privacy Commissioner to enter into compliance agreements aimed at ensuring organizations comply with PIPEDA. Compliance Agreements, as provided for under section 17.1 of PIPEDA,Footnote 3 may be invoked where the Commissioner believes on reasonable grounds that an organization has committed, is about to commit or is likely to commit an act or omission that could constitute a contravention of PIPEDA or a failure to follow a recommendation in Schedule I to the Act.

4.3 The OPC's submission to the Senate Committee studying Bill S-4 outlined the benefits of compliance agreements as a way of ensuring that organizations honour their commitments to improve privacy practices without the OPC having to resort to court action.

4.4 Compliance agreements are a fairly new tool under PIPEDA. If an organization fails to meet the commitments in a compliance agreement the OPC can apply to the Federal Court for an order requiring the organization to comply with the terms of the agreement. The fulfillment of Compliance Agreements is tracked internally by the Compliance Monitoring Unit. When the OPC has determined an organization has successfully executed all of their commitments in a compliance agreement it will notify the organization to that effect. Two examples of Compliance Agreements are as follows:

https://www.priv.gc.ca/en/opc-actions-and-decisions/investigations/investigations-into-businesses/2016/pipeda-2016-003/#appendix-d

https://www.priv.gc.ca/en/opc-actions-and-decisions/investigations/investigations-into-businesses/2016/2016_005_ca/

4.5 Additional information about compliance agreements can be found in the Enforcement of PIPEDA chart.

Date modified:

Addenda au Rapport d'étape sur les évolutions en matière de législation sur la protection des données au Canada (2001-2017)

Rapport à la Commission européenne
Septembre 2017

Version PDF

Table des matières

  1. 1.0 Introduction
  2. 2.0 Politiques et procédures d'application de la loi (LPRPDE) du CPVP
  3. 3.0 Lois provinciales essentiellement similaires
  4. 4.0 Accords de conformité

1.0 Introduction

1.1 Le 13 juillet 2017, des représentants du gouvernement du Canada et de la Commission européenne ont tenu une vidéoconférence pour examiner le rapport d'étape de mai 2017 au sujet des évolutions en matière de législation sur la protection des données au Canada (2001-2017). Au cours de cette séance, les représentants de la CE ont demandé des précisions sur plusieurs éléments du rapport. Le présent addenda vise à fournir des renseignements et des éclaircissements supplémentaires sur les éléments qui ont trait au rôle de surveillance du Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada (CPVP), l'organisme de réglementation en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (LPRPDE). L'addenda comprend de plus amples renseignements sur les politiques et les procédures d'application de la loi du CPVP, un résumé des tendances liées aux enquêtes en vertu de la LPRPDE, un aperçu de la désignation « essentiellement similaire » en vertu de la Loi et une explication des accords de conformité et de leur mode d'utilisation.

1.2 D'autres questions découlant du rapport d'étape, celles qui ne se limitent pas à l'application de la LPRPDE, seront traitées dans le prochain rapport d'étape régulier.

2.0 Politiques et procédures d'application de la loi du CPVP

2.1 En réponse à la demande de renseignements supplémentaires sur les politiques et procédures d'application de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques du CPVP, dont il est question à la section 3.1 du rapport d'étape de mai 2017, nous offrons les renseignements suivants au sujet du CPVP, de ses fonctions de surveillance et d'application de la loi, de ses enquêtes et de la façon dont les plaintes ont été réglées ainsi que des tendances importantes en la matière.

2.2 Le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada (CPVP) surveille la conformité à la partie 1 de la LPRPDE, qui énonce les obligations en matière de protection des renseignements personnels que les organisations du secteur privé doivent respecter lorsqu'elles traitent des renseignements personnels dans le cadre de leurs activités commerciales. Dans le cas des organisations sous réglementation fédérale, la LPRPDE s'applique également aux renseignements personnels des employés de celles-ci et des personnes qui postulent pour le devenir.

2.3 Le CPVP surveille la conformité à la LPRPDE de diverses façons, y compris en prenant des mesures officielles et officieuses de nature réactive et proactive. Ces activités comprennent : l'enquête sur les plaintes relatives à la protection de la vie privée qui sont déposées par des personnes ou dont le commissaire a pris l'initiative; le suivi des rapports d'atteinte à la vie privée; le règlement rapide des plaintes; l'examen des pratiques de traitement des renseignements personnels des organisations; l'envoi de lettres d'intérêt aux organisations; et la participation à des ratissages sectoriels ou internationaux pour la protection de la vie privée. Pour obtenir des renseignements détaillés sur le processus de plainte, veuillez consulter https://www.priv.gc.ca/biens-assets/compliance-framework/fr/index#.

2.4 L'article 24 de la LPRPDE exige que le commissaire fasse la promotion de l'objet de la Loi. Cela se fait par divers moyens, dont la sensibilisation du public, la publication de documents d'orientation et la tenue d'activités de sensibilisation (à l'intention des organisations et des consommateurs), la réalisation et la publication de recherches sur les questions de protection de la vie privée et le financement de recherches universitaires ou autres sur de telles questions, par exemple dans le cadre du Programme des contributions du Commissariat.

2.5. En ce qui concerne le traitement et le règlement des plaintes, le CPVP suit le processus ci dessous :

2.6 Pour connaître les tendances récentes dans les enquêtes liées à la LPRPDE, veuillez consulter le rapport annuel du CPVP, qui a été déposé au Parlement le 21 septembre 2017. Les rapports annuels antérieurs se trouvent ici.

3.0 Lois provinciales essentiellement similaires

3.1 En réponse à la demande de renseignements supplémentaires sur la désignation « essentiellement similaire » accordée aux lois provinciales et territoriales sur la protection des renseignements personnels en vertu de la LPRPDE ainsi que sur les rôles et responsabilités des autorités chargées de la protection des données dans et entre les provinces et territoires, nous apportons les précisions suivantes aux sections 3.3 à 3.5 du rapport d'étape de mai 2017.

3.2 En vertu de l'alinéa 26(2)b) de la LPRPDE, le gouverneur en conseil peut exclure une organisation, une catégorie d'organisations, une activité ou une catégorie d'activités de l'application de la LPRPDE à l'égard de la collecte, de l'utilisation ou de la communication de renseignements personnels dans une province qui a adopté une loi réputée être essentiellement similaire à la LPRPDE.

3.3 Une loi provinciale doit respecter trois exigences fondamentales pour être dite essentiellement similaire à la LPRPDE.

3.4 Les organisations assujetties aux lois provinciales jugées essentiellement similaires sont exemptées de la LPRPDE en l'égard à la collecte, l'utilisation ou la communication de renseignements personnels qui s'effectuent à l'intérieur de la province en cause. La LPRPDE continue de s'appliquer lorsqu'il n'y a pas de lois essentiellement similaires, lorsque des renseignements personnels font l'objet de communications transfrontalières pour examen, et lorsque la collecte, l'utilisation ou la communication de renseignements personnels est effectuée par des entreprises sous réglementation fédérale, quelle que soit la province.

3.5 Il incombe au gouverneur en conseil, sur recommandation du ministre de l'IndustrieNote de bas de page 1, de déterminer la nature essentiellement similaire d'une loi provinciale sur la protection des renseignements personnels dans le secteur privé. Le 3 août 2002, Industrie Canada a publié le Processus de détermination du caractère « essentiellement similaire » d'une loi provinciale par le gouverneur en conseilNote de bas de page 2, qui, en plus de décrire la politique et les critères utilisés pour déterminer si les lois provinciales seront considérées comme étant essentiellement similaires, stipule que le ministère de l'IndustrieNote de bas de page 3 demandera l'avis du Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada, et considérera et inclura les vues de celui-ci en préparant sa recommandation au gouverneur en conseil. Plus précisément :

« À titre de haut fonctionnaire du Parlement, indépendant du Gouvernement, le Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée peut, s'il le juge approprié, présenter ses vues concernant une loi provinciale/territoriale, y compris un projet de loi, sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Aux termes du paragraphe 25(1) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques, le Commissaire doit déposer un rapport annuel au Parlement, et faire un compte rendu plus précisément "sur la mesure dans laquelle les provinces ont édicté des lois essentiellement similaires à celle-ci et sur l'application de ces lois". Avant de publier son rapport annuel, le Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée peut consulter directement son (ses) homologue(s) ou toute autre personne susceptible de l'aider dans les provinces pertinentes.

Afin de permettre au Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée de s'acquitter de son mandat aux termes du paragraphe 25(1) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques, le ministre de l'Industrie l'informera d'une demande présentée aux termes du paragraphe 26(2) dès qu'il la recevra et il demandera au Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée de lui dire si, à son avis, la loi est "essentiellement similaire" à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements et les documents électroniques. Le ministre considérera et inclura les vues du Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée pour toutes les demandes qui seront soumises au gouverneur en conseil. »

3.6 L'article 23 de la LPRPDE donne au commissaire le pouvoir de consulter ses homologues provinciaux sur diverses questions de protection des renseignements personnels. Par exemple, le CPVP peut communiquer avec les commissariats provinciaux ayant des lois essentiellement similaires pour discuter de questions de compétence afin de déterminer quel commissariat est le mieux placé pour traiter une plainte particulière.

3.7 Les commissaires à l'information et à la protection de la vie privée de la Colombie-Britannique et de l'Alberta et le CPVP ont signé un protocole d'entente qui établit un cadre pour la consultation, la collaboration et l'échange de renseignements pertinents sur les questions relatives à la protection des renseignements personnels dans le secteur privé, y compris en ce qui a trait aux enquêtes sur des questions d'intérêt commun qui touchent les Canadiens dans chacun de nos champ de compétence administrations. Vous trouverez ici un exemple d'enquête fédérale-provinciale conjointe.

3.8 Le CPVP a également signé un protocole d'entente avec le commissaire à l'information et à la protection de la vie privée de l'Ontario au sujet de l'exécution et de l'application de la LPRPDE et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels sur la santé (LPRPS).

3.9 Conformément au protocole d'entente entre le CPVP, la Colombie-Britannique et l'Alberta, le Forum sur la protection des renseignements personnels dans le secteur privé (Forum), composé de représentants des bureaux de surveillance de la protection de la vie privée de la Colombie-Britannique et de l'Alberta et du CPVP, est le principal outil pour atteindre les objectifs énoncés dans le protocole d'entente. Les exemples d'activités du Forum peuvent comprendre la discussion de questions telles que les changements législatifs, les questions en matière de recherche et de politiques et la collaboration à l'élaboration de documents d'orientation. Un programme de gestion de la protection de la vie privée : la clé de la responsabilité est un exemple de document d'orientation fédéral-provincial conjoint. Bien que le Québec ne soit pas signataire du protocole d'entente, il participe aux discussions du Forum sur les questions générales de protection de la vie privée.

3.10 Un sous-groupe du Forum, le Forum national de collaboration sur l'application de la loi (FNCAL), offre aux représentants des bureaux de surveillance de la protection de la vie privée de la Colombie-Britannique et de l'Alberta et du Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada l'occasion de collaborer sur des questions d'application de la loi. Le FNCAL met l'accent sur les activités suivantes : 1) cerner les nouvelles plaintes ou les nouveaux incidents d'intérêt en matière de collaboration; 2) présenter des mises à jour et des conseils stratégiques sur les enquêtes collaboratives et les incidents en cours; 3) discuter d'enquêtes clés et d'autres questions informelles d'application de la loi intéressant les participants.

3.11 La collaboration en cas d'incident d'atteinte à la sécurité est l'un des principaux objectifs que s'est donnés le FNCAL pour veiller à ce qu'une évaluation exhaustive et efficace soit faite de l'incident dans l'intérêt de tous les Canadiens. En plus des infractions, chaque commissariat participant est encouragé à souligner toute enquête en cours qui serait, selon lui, susceptible d'intéresser les autres commissariats ou de les amener à collaborer. Les discussions ont mené à des activités de collaboration dans certains dossiers tout en permettant de renforcer la démarche à l'égard de certaines positions. Le FNCAL discute également de tendances générales, d'approches et de pratiques exemplaires en matière de plaintes et d'enquêtes.

3.12 Le CPVP peut également collaborer avec les commissariats provinciaux sur des questions de protection des renseignements personnels dans le secteur privé dans le cadre du Global Privacy Enforcement Network (GPEN), par exemple lors de l'initiative annuelle de ratissage du GPEN. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les ratissages du GPEN, veuillez consulter les sites Web du GPEN et du CPVP.

4.0 Accords de conformité

4.1 En réponse à la demande de renseignements supplémentaires sur les accords de conformité en vertu de la LPRPDE et sur leur rapport avec les poursuites en justice et le rôle du commissaire à la protection de la vie privée, nous offrons les renseignements suivants en guise de complément à la section 3.14 du rapport d'étape de mai 2017.

4.2 La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels numériques de 2015 renferme des dispositions permettant au commissaire à la protection de la vie privée de conclure des accords de conformité visant à s'assurer que les organisations respectent la LPRPDE. Les accords de conformité prévus à l'article 17.1 de la LPRPDE peuvent être invoqués lorsque le commissaire a des motifs raisonnables de croire à l'existence, à l'imminence ou à la probabilité d'un fait — acte ou omission — pouvant constituer une contravention à la LPRPDE ou une omission de mettre en œuvre une recommandation énoncée dans l'annexe 1 de la LoiNote de bas de page 4.

4.3 Dans son mémoire au comité sénatorial chargé d'étudier le projet de loi S-4, le CPVP décrivait les avantages qu'offrent les accords de conformité pour veiller à ce que les organisations respectent leurs engagements d'améliorer les pratiques en matière de protection des renseignements personnels sans que le CPVP ait à recourir aux tribunaux.

4.4 Les accords de conformité sont un outil relativement nouveau en vertu de la LPRPDE. Si une organisation ne respecte pas les engagements d'un accord de conformité, le CPVP peut demander à la Cour fédérale une ordonnance obligeant ladite organisation à respecter les modalités de l'accord. L'Unité de la vérification de la conformité assure le suivi interne de l'exécution des accords de conformité. Après avoir déterminé qu'une organisation a donné suite à tous ses engagements en vertu d'un accord de conformité, le CPVP l'en avise. Voici deux exemples d'accords de conformité :

https://www.priv.gc.ca/fr/mesures-et-decisions-prises-par-le-commissariat/enquetes/enquetes-visant-les-entreprises/2016/lprpde-2016-003/#appendix-d

https://www.priv.gc.ca/fr/mesures-et-decisions-prises-par-le-commissariat/enquetes/enquetes-visant-les-entreprises/2016/2016_005_ca/

4.5 Vous trouverez d'autres renseignements sur les accords de conformité dans le tableau Application de la LPRPDE.

Date de modification :