Strategic Innovation Fund—Statement of Interest Guide

From: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

This publication is available online at http://www.canada.ca/en/innovation-science-economic-development/programs/strategic-innovation-fund/innovation-funding/application-toolkit/statement-of-interest.html.

To obtain a copy of this publication, or to receive it in an alternate format (Braille, large print, etc.), please fill out the Publication Request Form or contact:

Web Services Centre
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
C.D. Howe Building
235 Queen Street
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0H5
Canada

Telephone (toll-free in Canada): 1-800-328-6189
Telephone (international): 613-954-5031
TTY (for hearing impaired): 1-866-694-8389
Business hours: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Eastern Time)
Email: ISED@Canada.ca

Permission to Reproduce

Except as otherwise specifically noted, the information in this publication may be reproduced, in part or in whole and by any means, without charge or further permission from the Department of Industry, provided that due diligence is exercised in ensuring the accuracy of the information reproduced; that the Department of Industry is identified as the source institution; and that the reproduction is not represented as an official version of the information reproduced, or as having been made in affiliation with, or with the endorsement of, the Department of Industry.

For permission to reproduce the information in this publication for commercial purposes, please fill out the Application for Crown Copyright Clearance or contact the Web Services Centre mentioned above.

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, as represented by the Minister of Industry, 2018.

Cat. No. Iu37-7/2-2017E-PDF

ISBN 978-0-660-08807-5

Aussi offert en français sous le titre Fonds stratégique pour l'innovation — Guide de déclaration d'intérêt

Overview

The Strategic Innovation Fund (SIF) seeks to support projects and investments put forward by companies of different sizes and from a range of sectors to encourage and accelerate the development of innovative and/or growth-oriented initiatives.

In addition to this guide, please review the Strategic Innovation Fund Program Guide for information on strategic objectives, eligibility criteria, information requirements and assessment process.

The Statement of Interest Form is applicable to Streams 1, 2, 3 and 5 as described in the Program Guide.

The purpose of the Statement of Interest Form is for Applicants to:

  1. provide an understanding of what the proposed project is and what the company hopes to achieve by undertaking the project; and
  2. demonstrate a basic management, technical and financial capacity to complete the project.

This guide is organized according to the sections of the Statement of Interest Form and provides more detailed guidance and explanations on how to complete the Form. Fields in the Form that are self-explanatory are not referenced in this guide.

When completing the Form, Applicants are expected to complete the fields in each section or indicate if a field is not applicable.

Please limit individual answers to the space provided in the Form. Also note that the use of point form (or bulleted lists) is acceptable, provided that the information is clear.

Use the best available information at the time of completion of this Form. It is understood that the information provided in this Statement of Interest Form may be preliminary.

Completing the Statement of Interest Form

This section provides guidelines and information on how to complete the various sections of the Statement of Interest Form.

Applicant Information

  • Legal name of the Applicant: The name of the incorporated business.
  • Operating name of the Applicant: The name under which business is publicly conducted. e.g. 123460 Canada Inc. may operate under Main Street Technologies.
  • Business Number: A company's nine-digit business number (BN). A BN is mandatory and is issued by the Canada Revenue Agency. You can register your business on the Canada Revenue Agency website.
  • Applicant Location: The complete address where the headquarters of the company is located.
  • Date of Incorporation: The date stated on the company's articles of incorporation.
  • If applicable, number of years the business was in operation before incorporation: This is to indicate when business operations first started, if they pre-date incorporation. These are the years in which business revenue was reported in a Canada Revenue Agency tax return.
  • Is the Applicant a public or private corporation? A public corporation is one which has its shares traded on a public stock exchange. For all other companies, including not-for-profit corporations, indicate private corporation.
  • Is the Applicant a subsidiary? If yes, identify the parent entity and its location: A subsidiary is a company which has a controlling interest in its shares owned by another company. Provide the legal name of the parent and head office location.
  • Brief description of the Applicant and its principal line(s) of business: Describe the applicant and the main areas of business which generate sales for the company.
  • Number of employees: Indicate the number of full-time and part-time employees in Canada, then the total number of employees, including those working for operations outside Canada.
  • Provide the number of employees engaged in R&D in Canada/outside of Canada: Indicate the number of full-time and part-time employees whose main duties are to conduct R&D activities.
  • Is the Applicant, its directors or officers is a party to legal proceedings that may adversely affect the business? Indicate if there are any current legal actions which could, directly or indirectly, affect the company.

Authorized Project Contact

  • Provide contact information for the person who is authorized to represent the company and who will be the main point of contact regarding the project.
  • If the person is not a signing officer of the company, confirmation of that person's right to represent the company may be required.

Project Information

This section is to provide a high-level understanding of the project.

  • Project Title: Provide a title for the project for reference purposes only.
  • Project Stream: Using the Program Guide, select a Stream that best describes your project. The Stream selection will be reviewed by, and may be modified by the program officials.
  • Select the Economic Strategy Table and the primary Canadian industry sector to which your project best relates. Also provide a secondary Canadian industry sector and if applicable; the Emerging Technology your project will be leveraging the most.
  • What is the Technology Readiness Level? The Technology Readiness Level (TRL) is a scale of 1 to 9 which reflects different stages of development of a given technology. Indicate which TRL best represents the current development stage of the project (a project goal may be to develop a technology or product to a higher TRL, but indicate the starting TRL). For reference, please refer to the Annex A—Technology Readiness Level Scale.
  • Confirm the company owns, or has the rights to, the required background Intellectual Property (IP) required to complete the project. The program requires that Applicants own or hold sufficient background IP rights to undertake the project's activities. Costs related to the acquisition of background IP rights are not eligible under the program.
  • Provide a description of the project, including the:
    • Objective(s) and expected outcome(s) anticipated from the project: The objectives are the company's reasons for undertaking the project and the outcomes are the anticipated results from the project. These should be described from the company's perspective, and would be applicable whether the program funding is obtained or not. This provides an understanding of how the project will impact the company and what it is trying to achieve.
    • Main activities to be undertaken to complete the project including any key partners: Briefly describe the main activities to be undertaken that are key to completing the project, including the key partners associated with these activities. As applicable, indicate critical milestones or anticipated risks to a successful outcome.
    • Any other information that provides a better understanding of the project: Input for this field is not required but it is provided to allow Applicants the opportunity to provide additional information which may assist the program officials to better understand the project. The space can also be used to continue the activities section.
  • Estimated starting and ending dates of the project: The start and end date refer to when project costs are estimated to start and stop being incurred.
  • Provide the primary physical address where the project will occur: Indicate where the main project work will be undertaken.
  • Are any of the activities of the proposed project expected to be completed to occur outside of Canada? If yes, indicate the locations and proportion of the project activities and project costs expected to be incurred outside of Canada.
  • Provide an estimate of total project costs in Canadian dollars: Costs estimates are only for direct costs attributable to the project and required for the project to be completed successfully. For Overhead costs, insert an amount in the Statement of Interest Form equal to 55% of Direct Labour costs in order to provide an estimate for project financial planning purposes.

Project Benefits

Describe the benefits that will result from the successful achievement of the project outcomes, using the following 3 categories: Based on the project outcomes indicated in the project description, identify the benefits that could result from those outcomes. Depending on the project Stream and the Technology Readiness Level, the type and level of benefit will vary by project.

Where possible, please provide metrics with timeframes and the type of benefits anticipated, such as, increase of sales by 30% over 4 years, 3 new patent applications in 2 years.

Economic Benefits: Benefits related to increased economic activity. For example, job creation and/or retention, impact in sales such as growth or market diversification, commercialization of project results.

Innovation Benefits: Benefits related to technological advancements. For example, creation of IP, improving the commercialization potential of a product or technology by advancing it to a higher Technology Readiness Level, potential market disruption.

Public Benefits: Benefits related to the public at large. For example, environmental improvements, increased local community involvement, increased gender balance in the workforce.

Please see the Program Guide for more information on project benefits.

Corporate Information

  • Provide a brief summary biography of key management staff required to complete the project. Information may include relevant prior experience, education, professional designation(s), etc. Please be brief with 1 or 2 lines per person, focussing on relevant information to demonstrate their ability to manage the project. For large companies where a description of the management team is more appropriate, please provide information for the key team leaders.
  • Provide a brief summary biography of key technical staff that will lead the project. Information may include relevant prior experience, education, professional designation(s), scientific publications, and patents or relevant technological achievements. Please be brief with 1 or 2 lines per person, highlighting expertise required to complete the project. For large companies where a description of the technical team is more appropriate, please provide information for the key team leaders.
  • Describe the company's major technological achievements in the past 3 years: Achievements can include externally visible indicators such as patents or internal technical achievements.
  • What were the company's R&D expenditures for the most recent fiscal year? Describe the nature of the company's R&D program: Indicate the approximate total amount spent on R&D by the company in the last year. Provide a very brief overview on the type of R&D work done and its timeframe, in other words, an ongoing program vs a one-time initiative.

Financial Information

  1. Attach the company's annual financial statements for the past 3 years. If the company has not been in operation for 3 years, provide the financial statements for the years it has been in operation (mandatory). A minimum of one year is (typically) required. Acceptable financial statement standards include:

    • audited;
    • review engagement;
    • notice to reader; or
    • CFO attested, or by the CEO if a company does not have a CFO.

    At a minimum, an Income Statement, Balance Sheet and Statement of Cash Flows are required and should have notes attached. If unable to provide financial statements for at least one year, an Applicant may submit an explanation and a substantive funding plan to demonstrate that the company has the financial means to support both the project and its business operations.

  2. Complete and attach a spreadsheet following the format of the table titled "Estimated Project Funding Sources" below to indicate how the company anticipates funding the project.

    The table is to provide an initial idea of how the project will be funded. This project funding does not need to be secured at this time. Complete the fields in your table that are relevant for the project.

    Provide your spreadsheet as an attachment to the Form.

Table 1—Estimated Project Funding Sources

Table 1—Estimated Project Funding Sources
Project Cost Amount Status (1)
Total Project Cost (from the table in Project Information) $  
Project Funding
Amount requested under SIF $
Amount Applicant contributes
Internal sources of funds:
—Cash on hand
—Forecast Cash from operations

$
$
Debt Financing (Loan, credit facilities, etc.) $
Equity Financing $
Other Sources (parent/partner/customer, etc.) $
Provincial and Federal ITCs $
Other Government Funding (2):
—Federal Program A
—Federal Program B
—Provincial Program A
—Municipal Program A

$
$
$
$
Total Project Funding (3) $  

(1) Status—indicate the sources that have been secured or the status if not. For example: Secured and available, application to be made, funding approved, shares to be issued.
(2) If more than one government source, list the sources and the status for each.
(3) "Total Project Funding" must equal "Total Project Cost".

Annex A—Technology Readiness Level Scale

Annex A—Technology Readiness Level Scale
Technology Readiness Level Description
TRL 1—Basic principles observed and reported Lowest level of technology readiness. Scientific research begins to be translated into applied research and development (R&D). Examples might include paper studies of a technology's basic properties.
TRL 2—Technology concept and/or application formulated Invention begins. Once basic principles are observed, practical applications can be invented. Applications are speculative, and there may be no proof or detailed analysis to support the assumptions.
TRL 3—Analytical and experimental critical function and/or characteristic proof of concept Active R&D is initiated. This includes analytical studies and laboratory studies to physically validate the analytical predictions of separate elements of the technology.
TRL 4—Product and/or process validation in laboratory environment Basic technological products and/or processes are tested to establish that they will work.
TRL 5—Product and/or process validation in relevant environment Reliability of product and/or process innovation increases significantly. The basic products and/or processes are integrated so they can be tested in a simulated environment.
TRL 6—Product and/or process prototype demonstration in a relevant environment Prototypes are tested in a relevant environment. Represents a major step up in a technology's demonstrated readiness. Examples include testing a prototype in a simulated operational environment.
TRL 7—Product and/or process prototype demonstration in an operational environment Prototype near or at planned operational system and requires demonstration of an actual prototype in an operational environment (e.g. in a vehicle).
TRL 8—Actual product and/or process completed and qualified through test and demonstration Innovation has been proven to work in its final form and under expected conditions. In almost all cases, this TRL represents the end of true system development.
TRL 9—Actual product and/or process proven successful Actual application of the product and/or process innovation in its final form or function.
Date modified:

Fonds stratégique pour l'innovation — Guide de déclaration d'intérêt

De : Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

Cette publication est également offerte en ligne : http://www.canada.ca/fr/innovation-sciences-developpement-economique/programmes/fonds-strategique-innovation/financement-innovation/trousse-demande/guide-declaration-interet.html.

Pour obtenir un exemplaire de cette publication ou un format substitut (Braille, gros caractères, etc.), veuillez remplir le formulaire de demande de publication ou communiquer avec :

Centre de services Web
Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada
Édifice C.D.Howe
235, rue Queen
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0H5
Canada

Téléphone (sans frais au Canada) : 1-800-328-6189
Téléphone (international) : 613-954-5031
ATS (pour les personnes malentendantes) : 1-866-694-8389
Les heures de bureau sont de 8 h 30 à 17 h (heure de l'Est).
Courriel : ISDE@Canada.ca

Autorisation de reproduction

À moins d'indication contraire, l'information contenue dans cette publication peut être reproduite, en tout ou en partie et par quelque moyen que ce soit, sans frais et sans autre permission du ministère de l'Industrie, pourvu qu'une diligence raisonnable soit exercée afin d'assurer l'exactitude de l'information reproduite, que le ministère de l'Industrie soit mentionné comme organisme source et que la reproduction ne soit présentée ni comme une version officielle ni comme une copie ayant été faite en collaboration avec le ministère de l'Industrie ou avec son consentement.

Pour obtenir l'autorisation de reproduire l'information contenue dans cette publication à des fins commerciales, veuillez demander l'affranchissement du droit d'auteur de la Couronne ou communiquer avec le Centre de services Web aux coordonnées ci-dessus.

© Sa Majesté la Reine du Chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de l'Industrie, 2018

N° de catalogue Iu37-7/2-2017F-PDF

ISBN 978-0-660-08808-2

N.B. Dans cette publication, la forme masculine désigne tant les femmes que les hommes.

Also available in English under the title: Strategic Innovation Fund—Program Guide.

Aperçu

Le Fonds stratégique pour l'innovation sert à soutenir les projets et les investissements proposés par des entreprises de tailles différentes et de divers secteurs pour encourager et accélérer le développement d'initiatives novatrices ou axées sur la croissance.

En plus de ce guide, veuillez consulter le Guide du programme du Fonds stratégique pour l'innovation pour obtenir des renseignements sur les objectifs stratégiques, les critères d'admissibilité, les exigences en matière d'information et le processus d'évaluation. Le Formulaire de déclaration d'intérêt est applicable aux volets 1, 2, 3 et 5 tel que décrit dans le Guide du programme.

Le Formulaire de déclaration d'intérêt permet aux demandeurs :

  1. d'expliquer ce qu'est le projet proposé et ce que l'entreprise espère réaliser en entreprenant le projet;
  2. de démontrer sa capacité administrative, technique et financière à mener à bien le projet.

Ce guide est organisé selon les sections du Formulaire de déclaration d'intérêt et fournit des directives et des explications plus détaillées sur la façon de remplir le formulaire. Les champs du formulaire qui se passent d'explication ne sont pas décrits dans le guide.

Quand ils remplissent le formulaire, les demandeurs doivent remplir les champs dans chacune des sections ou indiquer si un champ n'est pas applicable.

Veuillez limiter vos réponses aux lignes prévues à cet effet dans le formulaire. Notez également que l'utilisation de puces est acceptable, à condition que l'information soit claire.

Donnez les renseignements les plus précis possible au moment de remplir le formulaire. Il est entendu que l'information fournie dans ce formulaire de déclaration d'intérêt peut être préliminaire.

Remplir le Formulaire de déclaration d'intérêt

Cette section fournit des directives et des informations sur la façon de remplir les différentes sections du Formulaire de déclaration d'intérêt.

Renseignements sur le demandeur

  • Raison sociale du demandeur : Nom de l'entreprise constituée en société.
  • Nom commercial du demandeur : Le nom sous lequel l'entreprise est connue du public. Par exemple, 123460 Canada Inc. peut être connue sous le nom de Main Street Technologies.
  • Numéro d'entreprise : Numéro d'entreprise (NE) à neuf chiffres. Le numéro d'entreprise est obligatoire et il est émis par l'Agence du revenu du Canada. Vous pouvez inscrire votre entreprise sur le site Web de l'Agence du revenu du Canada.
  • Adresse du demandeur : L'adresse complète du siège social de l'entreprise.
  • Date de constitution : La date figurant dans les statuts constitutifs de la société.
  • Nombre d'années pendant lesquelles la société a été en activité avant sa constitution, s'il y a lieu : Il s'agit d'indiquer quand l'entreprise est entrée en activité si c'est avant sa constitution en société, ce sont les années pendant lesquelles les revenus de l'entreprise ont été déclarés à l'Agence du revenu du Canada.
  • Le demandeur est-il une société publique ou privée? Une société publique est inscrite en bourse et y transige des actions. Pour toutes les autres entreprises, incluant les sociétés à but non lucratif, indiquez société privée.
  • Le demandeur est-il une filiale? Dans l'affirmative, indiquez l'entité mère et son emplacement : Une filiale est une entreprise dont une part majoritaire des actions est détenue par une autre entreprise. Indiquez la dénomination sociale de la société mère et le lieu de son siège social.
  • Courte description du demandeur et de son ou de ses secteurs d'activité principaux : Décrivez le demandeur et les secteurs d'activités principaux qui génèrent le chiffre d'affaires de l'entreprise.
  • Nombre d'employés : Indiquez le nombre d'employés à temps plein et à temps partiel au Canada, puis le nombre total d'employés, y compris ceux qui travaillent à l'extérieur du Canada.
  • Nombre d'employés participant à des activités de R et D au Canada et à l'extérieur du Canada : Indiquez le nombre d'employés à temps plein et à temps partiel dont la principale fonction est la R et D.
  • Est-ce que le demandeur, ou encore l'un de ses directeurs ou de ses agents est une partie à des procédures judiciaires pouvant avoir des effets néfastes sur la société? Indiquez si des procédures judiciaires sont en cours qui pourraient toucher l'entreprise directement ou indirectement.

Personne-ressource autorisée pour le projet

  • Fournir les coordonnées de la personne autorisée à représenter l'entreprise et qui sera le principal point de contact concernant le projet.
  • Si la personne n'est pas signataire de la société, la confirmation du droit de cette personne de représenter l'entreprise peut être requise.

Renseignements sur le projet

Cette section vise à donner des renseignements généraux sur le projet.

  • Titre du projet : Indiquez le titre du projet à des fins de référence uniquement.
  • Volet du projet : Au moyen du Guide du programme du Fonds stratégique pour l'innovation, sélectionnez le volet qui décrit le mieux votre projet. Le volet choisi sera revu et pourrait être modifié par les agents du programme.
  • Selectionnez la table sectorielle de stratégies économiques et le secteur canadien de l'industrie primaire avec lequel votre projet a le plus d'affinités. De plus, indiquez un secteur canadien de l'industrie secondaire et s'il y a lieu; la technologie émergente qui sera la plus utilisée au cours de votre projet.
  • Quel est le niveau de maturité technologique du projet? Le niveau de maturité technologique (NMT) est une échelle de 1 à 9 qui reflète divers stades de développement d'une technologie donnée. Indiquez le NMT qui représente le mieux le stade de développement du projet (un objectif du projet peut être de développer un nouveau produit ou une nouvelle technologie pour l'amener à un NMT supérieur, mais vous devez indiquer le NMT de départ.) Pour référence, reportez-vous à l'annexe A — Échelle des niveaux de maturité technologique.
  • La société détient-elle les droits de propriété intellectuelle d'amont requis pour mener à bien le projet ou a-t-elle obtenu les droits pour utiliser cette propriété intellectuelle? Le programme exige que les demandeurs détiennent la propriété intellectuelle ou des droits d'utilisation suffisants pour entreprendre les activités du projet. Les coûts liés à l'acquisition de droits de propriété intellectuelle ne sont pas admissibles dans le cadre du programme.
  • Fournissez une description du projet qui comprend les renseignements ci-dessous.
    • Objectif(s) et résultat(s) prévu dans le cadre du projet : Les objectifs sont les raisons pour lesquelles l'entreprise met en branle le projet et les résultats sont les retombées prévues du projet. Ceux-ci doivent être décrits du point de vue de l'entreprise, et seraient applicables que le financement du programme soit obtenu ou non. Ils permettent de voir quelles seront les incidences du projet pour l'entreprise et ce qu'elle essaie d'accomplir.
    • Activités principales à réaliser pour mener à bien le projet, incluant tout partenaires clés : Décrivez brièvement les principales activités essentielles à la réalisation du projet, incluant les partenaires clés associés à ces activités. Le cas échéant, indiquez les jalons cruciaux ou les risques prévus pour le succès du projet.
    • Toute autre information permettant de mieux comprendre le projet : Il n'est pas nécessaire de remplir ce champ, mais il permet aux demandeurs de donner des renseignements supplémentaires qui peuvent aider les agents du programme à mieux comprendre le projet. Cet espace peut également être utilisé pour continuer la section des activités.
  • Dates estimatives de début et de fin du projet : Les dates de début et de fin font référence au moment où les coûts devraient commencer à être engagés et où ils cesseront de l'être.
  • Adresse municipale où le projet sera réalisé : Indiquez où les travaux du projet principaux seront entrepris.
  • Est-ce que vous vous attendez à ce que des activités du projet proposé soient réalisées à l'extérieur du Canada? Si oui, indiquez les endroits et la proportion des activités du projet et les coûts prévus à l'extérieur du Canada.
  • Fournissez une estimation des coûts totaux du projet en dollars canadiens : Les estimations des coûts servent uniquement à indiquer les coûts attribuables au projet et exigent que le projet soit mené à bien. En ce qui concerne les frais généraux, inscrivez un montant au Formulaire de déclaration d'intérêt correspondant à 55 % des coûts de main-d'œuvre directe afin d'obtenir un estimé pouvant servir à la planification financière du projet.

Avantages du projet

Décrivez les avantages qui seront tirés de l'atteinte des objectifs du projet en utilisant les trois catégories suivantes : Selon les résultats du projet indiqués dans la description du projet, nommez les avantages qui en découleraient. Selon le volet du projet et le niveau de maturité technologique, le type et le niveau d'avantage varieront selon le projet.

Dans la mesure du possible, veuillez fournir des mesures avec des délais et le type d'avantages prévus, tels que l'augmentation des ventes de 30 % sur 4 ans, 3 nouvelles demandes de brevet en 2 ans.

Avantages économiques : Avantages liés à l'accroissement de l'activité économique, par exemple, la création d'emploi et le maintien en poste, les incidences sur le chiffre d'affaires comme la croissance et la diversification des marchés, la commercialisation des résultats des projets.

Avantages sur le plan de l'innovation : Les avantages liés aux progrès technologiques, par exemple, la création de propriété intellectuelle, l'amélioration du potentiel de commercialisation d'un produit ou d'une technologie en l'amenant à un niveau de maturité technologique supérieur, la désorganisation potentielle du marché.

Avantages publics : Avantages pour le grand public dans son ensemble, par exemple, des améliorations environnementales, une participation accrue des collectivités locales, une augmentation de la parité entre les sexes dans la main-d'œuvre.

Veuillez vous référer au Guide du programme pour obtenir plus d'information sur les avantages du projet.

Renseignements sur l'organisation

  • Fournissez de courtes notes biographiques sur les principaux membres de la direction qui sont requis pour la réalisation du projet. L’information peut porter sur l’expérience pertinente, les études, les titres professionnels, etc. Soyez bref avec 1 ou 2 lignes par personne. Concentrez-vous sur les informations pertinentes afin de démontrer votre capacité à gérer le projet. Pour les grandes entreprises où une description de l’équipe de direction est plus appropriée, veuillez fournir des informations sur les principaux chefs d’équipe.
  • Fournissez de courtes notes biographiques sur les principaux employés techniques qui dirigeront le projet. L’information peut porter sur l’expérience pertinente, les études, les titres professionnels, les publications scientifiques, les brevets ou les réalisations technologiques pertinentes. Soyez bref avec 1 ou 2 lignes par personne, mettant en évidence l’expertise requise pour réaliser le projet. Pour les grandes entreprises où une description de l’équipe technique est plus appropriée, veuillez fournir des informations sur les principaux chefs d’équipe.
  • Décrivez les réalisations technologiques importantes que la société a menées à bien au cours des trois dernières années. Les réalisations peuvent inclure des indicateurs externes tels que les brevets ou les réalisations techniques internes.
  • Quelles dépenses en recherche et développement la société a-t-elle engagées au cours du dernier exercice financier? Décrivez la nature du programme de recherche et développement de la société. Indiquez le montant total approximatif dépensé en R et D par la société au cours de la dernière année. Donnez un aperçu sur le type de travaux de R et D réalisés et leur calendrier, c’est-à-dire un programme en cours par rapport à une initiative ponctuelle.

Information financière

  1. Fournissez les trois derniers états financiers annuels de la société. Si la société est en exploitation depuis moins de trois ans, fournissez les états financiers des années pendant lesquelles elle était en exploitation (obligatoire). Au moins un état financier annuel doit (normalement) être fourni. Pour être acceptables, les états financiers doivent :
    • être vérifiés;
    • comprendre un examen de l’engagement;
    • comprendre un avis au lecteur;
    • être attestés par le directeur financier ou, à défaut, par le chef de la direction.

    Au minimum, un état des résultats, un solde et un état des flux de trésorerie sont obligatoires et doivent être joints. S'il s'avérait que le demandeur soit dans l'incapacité de fournir des états financiers couvrant minimalement une année, le demandeur peut fournir une explication, ainsi qu'un plan de financement détaillé démontrant que la compagnie possède les moyens financiers lui permettant de supporter à la fois le projet et ses opérations régulières.

  2. Complétez et fournissez une feuille de calcul suivant le format proposé sous le gabarit ci-dessous intitulé « Sources de financement prévues pour le projet » pour indiquer la façon dont la société prévoit financer le projet.

    Le tableau sert à donner une idée initiale de la façon dont le projet sera financé. Le financement de ce projet n'a pas besoin d'être confirmé pour le moment. Dans votre tableau, ne complétez que les champs qui sont pertinents au projet.

    Fournissez votre feuille de calcul en pièce jointe au formulaire.

Tableau 1 — Sources de financement prévues pour le projet

Tableau 1 — Sources de financement prévues pour le projet
Coût du projet Montant Situation (1)
Coût total du projet (tiré du tableau d'information sur le projet) $  
Financement du projet
Montant demandé dans le cadre du Fonds stratégique pour l'innovation $
Montant de la contribution du demandeur
Source interne de financement
— Encaisse
— Flux de trésorerie prévu provenant de l'exploitation

$
$
Financement de la dette (prêt, facilités de crédit, etc.) $
Financement par actions $
Autres sources (parent/partenaire/client, etc.) $
Crédit d'impôt à l'investissement provincial et fédéral $
Autre financement gouvernemental (2) :
— Programme fédéral A
— Programme fédéral B
— Programme provincial A
— Programme municipal A

$
$
$
$
Financement total du projet (3) $  

(1)Situation — indiquez les sources obtenues ou la situation à cet égard. Par exemple : Obtenu et disponible, demande à faire, financement approuvé, actions à émettre.
(2) Si plus d'une source gouvernementale, énumérez les sources et le statut de chacune.
(3) Le « financement total du projet » doit être égal au « coût total du projet ».

Annexe A — Échelle des niveaux de maturité technologique

Annexe A — Échelle des niveaux de maturité technologique
Niveau de maturité Description
NMT 1 — Principes de base observés et signalés Niveau le plus bas de maturité technologique. La recherche scientifique commence à être convertie en recherche et développement (R et D) appliqués. Les exemples peuvent comprendre les études sur les propriétés fondamentales d'une technologie.
NMT 2 — Concept technologique ou application déterminé(e) Début de l'invention. Une fois les principes de base observés, il s'agit de trouver les applications pratiques. Ces applications étant hypothétiques il se peut qu'elles ne n'appuient sur aucune preuve ni aucune analyse détaillée.
NMT 3 — Fonction analytique et expérimentale critique et/ou validation de principe caractéristique La R et D active est lancée. Cette étape comprend des études analytiques et en laboratoire permettant de valider physiquement les prédictions analytiques d'éléments distincts de la technologie.
NMT 4 — Validation du produit et/ou du processus en laboratoire Les produits ou les processus technologiques de base sont éprouvés pour voir s'ils fonctionnent.
NMT 5 — Validation du produit et/ou du processus dans un environnement pertinent La fiabilité du produit et/ou du processus augmente considérablement. Les produits et/ou les processus de base sont intégrés afin d'être testés dans un environnement simulé.
NMT 6 — Démonstration du prototype d'un produit et/ou d'un processus dans un environnement pertinent Prototypes testés dans un environnement pertinent. Cela constitue un grand pas dans la démonstration du niveau de maturité technologique. L'essai d'un prototype dans un environnement opérationnel simulé en sont des exemples.
NMT 7 — Démonstration du prototype d'un produit et/ou d'un processus dans un environnement opérationnel Prototype dans un système planifié (ou sur le point de l'être). nécessitant la démonstration d'un prototype réel dans un environnement opérationnel (p. ex. dans un véhicule).
NMT 8 — Produit et/ou processus réel achevé et fonctionnel à la suite d'essais réussis Innovation éprouvée dans sa forme finale et dans les conditions prévues. Dans presque tous les cas, ce NMT représente la fin du développement d'un système.
NMT 9 — Produit et/ou processus réel éprouvé à la suite d'essais réussis Application réelle du produit et/ou du processus novateur dans sa forme ou sa fonction finale.
Date de modification :