Stream 5: National Ecosystems

From: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

This stream is focused on supporting national ecosystems. It will support large-scale initiatives that create high-impact collaborations to support Canadian innovation ecosystems.

How to Apply

Applications for the Stream 5 are accepted on a continuing basis. There are no submission deadlines. The application process consists of two steps:

  1. Statement of Interest: Applicants will be required to submit a high-level overview of their project.

    Applicants will be provided feedback on whether the Statement of Interest indicates potential for program funding and if advancing to Step 2 is advisable.

  2. Full Application: Applicants develop and submit a detailed Application Form. The information provided will be used to complete a due diligence and benefits assessment.

Eligibility

The Lead Applicant is either a not-for-profit organization incorporated in Canada or a for-profit corporation incorporated in Canada, in collaboration with Canadian universities, colleges, research institutes, for-profit corporations (including SMEs) and/or not-for-profit entities.

The Lead Applicant will be responsible for submitting an application to SIF on behalf of the ecosystem, managing the Ecosystem's projects, submitting claims, receiving the Government contribution, and reporting on results.

Apply now

General questions

1. What is Stream 5 of SIF?

A new stream of the Strategic Innovation Fund (SIF), Stream 5: National Ecosystems, will provide a new approach to enable disruptive innovation and growth of key sectors in Canada. The objective of Stream 5: National Ecosystems is to foster business-led collaboration between multiple organizations, including: SMEs, academic and research institutions, large corporations, and incubators/accelerators in order to accelerate commercialization in areas with demonstrated Canadian advantage to build Canadian ecosystems.

Since SIF is a business innovation program, collaboration with both SMEs and large corporations is critical to success. Proposals must leverage private sector co-investment to support SMEs and/or commercialization efforts. Private sector partners should provide demonstrated leadership to achieve the proposal's objectives, and be involved in industrial research projects with ecosystem partners.

Proposals funded under Stream 5 will seek to create a high-impact approach to technology development, commercialization, business development, scale up, and market growth. Proposals should target technology areas where Canadian firms exist at a significant scale, where key Canadian leaders are involved, and where Canada has strategic assets that can be commercialized. Target sectors should have both domestic growth and export potential.

2. What is meant by a "business-led" proposal?

Stream 5 Lead Applicants must be either a company incorporated in Canada or a non-profit organization incorporated in Canada. Since SIF is a business innovation program designed to advance industrial commercialization and sector growth, collaboration with industry — including both SMEs and large corporations — is critical to success.

Examples of criteria that demonstrate that a proposal is business-led may include:

  • Demonstrated private sector leadership that will be leveraged to achieve the proposal's objectives.
  • Significant private sector co-investment to support SMEs and/or commercialization.
  • Significant private sector involvement in the delivery of services within the ecosystem, such as mentoring and networking events.
  • Business involvement in industrial research projects with ecosystem partners.
  • Significant work-integrated learning and development opportunities for the workforce of the future (e.g. co-op opportunities, skills retraining within small and large private sector companies).
  • Significant collaborations among SMEs and large corporations, as well as ecosystem partners.
3. What is meant by "demonstrated Canadian advantage"?

Stream 5 proposals must target a sector or area with strong potential for both domestic growth and export.

Examples of demonstrated Canadian advantage may include:

  • Technology areas where Canadian firms exist at a significant scale and where key Canadian leaders (in SMEs, large corporations, and academia) are working together.
  • Regional networks exist that have demonstrated outcomes and are now coming together to grow and scale nationally for broad commercial impact.
4. What are the differences between SIF Stream 4 and Stream 5?

Both Stream 4 and Stream 5 are intended to support collaboration for the purpose of industrial research. Stream 5 is open to all areas and sectors of the economy through a continuous intake of proposals, whereas Stream 4 offers competitive calls for proposals in specific areas. Stream 5 will focus on commercialization initiatives and later stage TRLs in areas with demonstrated Canadian advantage and to help foster a stronger ecosystem.

Success of Stream 5 will be geared to Canadian SMEs and high growth industries attracting investments, improving competitiveness, advancing technologies, accelerating growth through expansion and facilitating access to diverse domestic and global markets, and supporting a stronger ecosystem. Successful proposals should target technology areas where Canadian firms exist at a significant scale, where key Canadian leaders are involved, and where Canada has strategic assets that can be commercialized.

Types of support (e.g. eligible costs, ineligible costs) for Stream 5 will be similar to those of Stream 4.

5. What are the differences between Stream 5 and the Innovation Superclusters Initiative?

SIF Stream 5 and the Innovation Superclusters Initiative (ISI) support business innovation through high-impact collaborations between SMEs, large corporations, academic and research institutions, and non-profit organizations to accelerate commercialization and economic growth. Both initiatives include the following elements:

  • Firms of all sizes and other ecosystem players (e.g. post-secondary institutions, non-profits)
  • Significant private sector co-investment
  • Open governance structure that allows for new partnerships over time
  • Projects have both domestic growth and export potential
  • Develop IP that maximizes benefits to Canada

The five Superclusters were assessed through an extensive process to be world leaders based on a globally competitive advantage. Unlike SIF Stream 5, the Superclusters include organizations from multiple industry verticals. Therefore, the scale and impact of the Superclusters is more significant than what can be expected of strong SIF Stream 5 proposals.

Supercluster participants can be located in the region to which the Supercluster belongs, or join as part of a larger network. ISI projects connect to global supply chains, transition to high-value activities and position partners to become global market leaders. To learn more, please visit the Innovation Superclusters Initiative's website.

6. What is the deadline to submit a statement of interest (SOI)?

Applications will be assessed on a continuous intake basis. However, given the range of programming available, we encourage potential applicants to consider their options by visiting the Innovation Canada platform and by contacting ic.sifintegrationteam-equipe integration-fsi.ic@canada.ca.

7. How many applications does ISED expect to fund under Stream 5?

Specific amounts and number of contributions will depend on the nature and scale of the applications received.

8. What type of proposal is a good fit for Stream 5 funding?

A strong Stream 5 proposal is a business-led proposal that facilitates collaboration across various organizations with the goal of accelerating demonstrated Canadian technological advantage towards commercialization. Proposals should target technology areas where Canadian firms exist at a significant scale and where key Canadian leaders are involved. Target sectors should have both domestic growth and export potential.

A proposal may be a new collaboration that builds upon historically successful small-scale, regional networks that are set to scale up for national impact. Private sector partners should provide demonstrated leadership to achieve the proposal's objectives, and be involved in industrial research projects with ecosystem partners. Proposals from networks for the commercialization of technology-based high growth companies may be considered.

Supported activities under Stream 5 will include TRLs 1 to 9, with a strong emphasis placed on supporting technology development to accelerate pathways to commercialization in areas of proven Canadian advantage. Supported proposals must leverage significant private sector co-investment and have a clear objective and/or a path to post-proposal sustainability.

9. What type of proposal is not a good fit for Stream 5 funding? Are there other innovation programs accepting applications?

Proposals that include early stage technologies, without either a clear pathway to commercialization, national impact or a strong, demonstrated Canadian advantage, would not be considered a good fit for Stream 5. Further, proposals that are not able to demonstrate a clear objective and/or a path to post-proposal sustainability may not be successful. Small-scale collaborations with few partners and requiring less than $10 million in federal funding over five years, or proposals that must be funded well beyond five years to achieve outcomes may be better suited to other government programs.

We recommend that you visit the Innovation Canada platform to discover other government programs that support innovative businesses.

10. Can a Canadian university apply as a lead applicant?

Stream 5 Lead Applicants must be a company incorporated in Canada or a non-profit organization incorporated in Canada.

As SIF is a business innovation program, an academic institution (such as a university) is not considered to be an eligible Lead Applicant, but may be a partner of the National Ecosystem.

11. How do I apply to SIF Stream 5?

Interested organizations will first submit a Statement of Interest (SOI). During this process, you will be asked to provide the following information:

  • Information about your organization and key partners;
  • A description of your proposal and its impact on the ecosystem;
  • A description of the anticipated benefits of your proposal;
  • A funding table outlining other support regarding your proposal; and
  • Financial information on your firm and your proposal, including financial statements for three years. We will consider SOIs from organizations that have been in existence for fewer than three years.

If invited by SIF to the Full Application process, you will be asked to provide details related to the following information:

  • Your organization and full partnership list;
  • Your project/proposal schedule, activities, costs and location of work;
  • Your organization's capability to undertake the project/proposal, which includes information on your organization's finances as well as its technological and managerial capabilities; and
  • Your proposal's expected innovation, economic, and public benefits to Canada.
12. What kind of assistance will ISED provide to Stream 5 applicants in filling out their applications?

Representatives from Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's SIF program will answer general questions about Stream 5 via email. Questions may be submitted to ic.sifintegrationteam-equipeintegration-fsi.ic@canada.ca with an acknowledgement of receipt within two days. Program representatives will not provide advice to shape specific proposals, so as to avoid real or perceived conflicts of interest in the assessment and approval process.

Date modified:

Volet 5 : Écosystèmes nationaux

De : Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

Ce volet permettra de soutenir des écosystèmes nationaux. Il soutiendra également des initiatives à grande échelle qui entraînent des collaborations à forte incidence à l'appui des écosystèmes d'innovation canadiens.

Comment faire une demande

Les demandes liées au volet cinq sont acceptées sur une base continue. Il n'y a pas de date limite. Le processus de demande comporte deux étapes :

  1. Déclaration d'intérêt : Les demandeurs doivent présenter un aperçu général de leur projet.

    Les demandeurs recevront de la rétroaction sur leur déclaration d'intérêt à savoir si leur projet peut potentiellement recevoir du financement dans le cadre du programme et s'il est conseillé de passer à l'étape 2.

  2. Demande complète : Les demandeurs préparent et présentent une demande détaillée. L'information fournie servira à faire un examen de diligence raisonnable et une évaluation des avantages qui en découleraient.

Admissibilité

Le demandeur principal est une entité à but non lucratif ou à but lucratif constituée en personne morale au Canada, et il travaille en collaboration avec des universités, des collèges, des instituts de recherche, des entités à but lucratif (y compris les PME) ou des organismes à but non lucratif du Canada.

Le demandeur principal aura la responsabilité de présenter une demande au FSI au nom de l'écosystème, de gérer les projets montés dans le cadre de l'écosystème, de présenter les demandes de remboursement des dépenses, de recevoir la contribution du gouvernement et de présenter des rapports sur les résultats.

Présentez une demande

Questions générales

1. En quoi consiste le volet 5 du FSI?

Le nouveau volet du Fonds stratégique pour l'innovation (FSI), le volet 5 : Écosystèmes nationaux, fournira une nouvelle approche pour faciliter l'innovation perturbatrice et la croissance des secteurs clés au Canada. L'objectif du volet 5 : Écosystèmes nationaux est de favoriser la collaboration menée par les entreprises entre plusieurs organisations, notamment les PME, les organismes sans but lucratif, les établissements d'enseignement et de recherche, les grandes entreprises et les incubateurs et accélérateurs, afin d'accélérer la commercialisation dans les domaines où le Canada a démontré son avantage pour bâtir des écosystèmes canadiens.

Comme le FSI est un programme d'innovation pour les entreprises, les PME et les grandes entreprises jouent un rôle clé dans sa réussite. Les propositions doivent exploiter les co-investissements du secteur privé pour appuyer les PME ou les efforts de commercialisation. Les partenaires du secteur privé doivent faire preuve de leadership afin d'atteindre les objectifs de la proposition et de participer à des projets de recherche industrielle, de concert avec les partenaires de l'écosystème.

Les propositions financées dans le cadre du volet 5 chercheront à créer une approche à incidence élevée en matière de développement technologique, de commercialisation, de développement commercial, d'expansion et de croissance du marché. Les propositions doivent cibler les domaines technologiques où il existe des entreprises canadiennes à grande échelle, où des chefs de file canadiens sont impliqués et où le Canada possède des atouts stratégiques qui peuvent être commercialisés. Les secteurs cibles doivent avoir à la fois un potentiel de croissance intérieure et un potentiel d'exportation.

2. Qu'est-ce qu'une proposition dirigée par les entreprises?

Dans le cadre du volet 5, les demandeurs principaux doivent être soit une entreprise constituée en société au Canada, soit un organisme sans but lucratif constitué en société au Canada. Comme le FSI est un programme d'innovation pour les entreprises conçu pour promouvoir la commercialisation industrielle et la croissance sectorielle, la collaboration avec l'industrie (dont les PME et les grandes entreprises) est essentielle à la réussite.

Exemples de critères caractéristiques d'une proposition dirigée par les entreprises :

  • la démonstration du leadership du secteur privé mis à profit pour mener à la réalisation des objectifs de la proposition;
  • des co-investissements importants du secteur privé pour appuyer les PME ou la commercialisation.
  • la participation importante du secteur privé dans la prestation de services au sein de l'écosystème (p. ex. mentorat et activités de réseautage);
  • la participation des entreprises dans des projets de recherche industrielle avec des partenaires de l'écosystème;
  • des possibilités importantes d'apprentissage en milieu de travail et de perfectionnement professionnel pour l'effectif de l'avenir (p. ex. occasions de stage en régime coopératif, recyclage professionnel dans les petites et grandes entreprises du secteur privé);
  • des collaborations importantes entre les PME et les grandes entreprises ainsi que les partenaires de l'écosystème.
3. Que signifie « un avantage canadien avéré. »?

Les propositions du volet 5 doivent cibler un secteur ou un domaine qui a à la fois un potentiel de croissance intérieure et un potentiel d'exportation.

Exemples d'avantages canadiens avérés :

  • des domaines technologiques où il existe des entreprises canadiennes à grande échelle et où des chefs de file canadiens (au sein des PME, des grandes entreprises et des établissements d'enseignement) travaillent ensemble;
  • des réseaux régionaux ayant démontré des résultats qui s'unissent pour croître et prendre de l'expansion sur la scène nationale pour générer de vastes retombées commerciales.
4. Quelles sont les différences entre le volet 4 et le volet 5 du FSI?

Les volets 4 et 5 visent tous deux à appuyer la collaboration aux fins de la recherche industrielle. Le volet 5 est ouvert à tous les domaines et secteurs de l'économie grâce à une réception continue de propositions, tandis que le volet 4 offre des appels de propositions concurrentiels dans des domaines particuliers. Le volet 5 mettra l'accent sur les initiatives de commercialisation et les niveaux de maturité technologique (NMT) à un stade ultérieur dans les domaines où le Canada a démontré son avantage, en vue de contribuer au renforcement de l'écosystème.

Le succès du volet 5 sera axé sur les PME canadiennes et les industries à forte croissance qui attirent les investissements, améliorent la compétitivité, font avancer les technologies, accélèrent la croissance par l'expansion, facilitent l'accès à divers marchés nationaux et mondiaux, et soutiennent un écosystème plus solide. Les propositions retenues doivent cibler les domaines technologiques où il existe des entreprises canadiennes à grande échelle, où des chefs de file canadiens sont impliqués et où le Canada possède des atouts stratégiques qui peuvent être commercialisés.

Les types de soutien (p. ex. coûts admissibles, coûts non admissibles) pour le volet 5 seront semblables à ceux du volet 4.

5. Quelles sont les différences entre le volet 5 et l'Initiative des supergrappes d'innovation?

Le volet 5 du FSI et l'Initiative des supergrappes d'innovation (ISI) appuient l'innovation en entreprise grâce à des collaborations entre les PME, les grandes entreprises, les organismes sans but lucratif et les établissements d'enseignements et de recherche afin d'accélérer la commercialisation et la croissance économique. Les deux initiatives comprennent les éléments suivants :

  • des entreprises de toutes les tailles et d'autres intervenants de l'écosystème d'innovation (p. ex. établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire, organismes sans but lucratif);
  • des co-investissements importants du secteur privé;
  • une structure de gouvernance ouverte qui permet la création de nouveaux partenariats au fil du temps;
  • les projets ont à la fois un potentiel de croissance intérieure et un potentiel d'exportation;
  • des stratégies de PI élaborées pour maximiser les avantages pour le Canada.

Les cinq supergrappes ont été évaluées au moyen d'un vaste processus comme étant des chefs de file en fonction de leur avantage concurrentiel à l'échelle internationale. Contrairement au volet 5 du FSI, les supergrappes incluent des organisations de plusieurs secteurs verticaux de l'industrie. L'envergure et l'incidence des supergrappes sont donc plus importantes que ce à quoi l'on peut s'attendre de propositions solides du volet 5 du FSI.

Les participants des supergrappes peuvent se situer dans la région à laquelle est rattachée la supergrappe ou faire partie d'un plus grand réseau. Les projets de l'ISI s'intègrent aux chaînes d'approvisionnement mondiales, font une transition vers des activités de grande valeur et deviennent des chefs de file du marché mondial. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter le site Web de l'Initiative des supergrappes d'innovation.

6. Quelle est la date limite pour soumettre une déclaration d'intérêt (DI)?

Les demandes seront évaluées de façon continue. Toutefois, compte tenu de l'éventail de programmes disponibles, nous encourageons les demandeurs potentiels à réfléchir à leurs options en visitant la plateforme Innovation Canada et en envoyant un courriel à l'adresse ic.sifintegrationteam-equipe integration-fsi.ic@canada.ca.

7. Combien de demandes de financement ISDE prévoit-il accepter dans le cadre du volet 5?

Le nombre de contributions et les montants précis dépendront de la nature et de la portée des demandes reçues.

8. Quel type de proposition correspond bien au financement du volet 5?

Une proposition solide dans le cadre du volet 5 est une idée dirigée par les entreprises qui facilite la collaboration entre diverses organisations dans le but d'accélérer la démonstration d'un avantage technologique canadien en vue de la commercialisation. Les propositions doivent cibler les domaines technologiques où il existe des entreprises canadiennes à grande échelle et où des chefs de files canadiens sont impliquées. Les secteurs cibles doivent avoir à la fois un potentiel de croissance intérieure et un potentiel d'exportation.

Une proposition peut être une nouvelle collaboration qui s'appuie sur des réseaux régionaux à petite échelle qui ont connu du succès dans le passé et qui sont prêts à prendre de l'expansion pour avoir des répercussions à l'échelle nationale. Les partenaires du secteur privé doivent faire preuve de leadership afin d'atteindre les objectifs de la proposition et de participer à des projets de recherche industrielle, de concert avec les partenaires de l'écosystème. Les propositions des réseaux pour la commercialisation d'entreprises à croissance élevée axées sur les technologies peuvent être prises en considération.

Les activités soutenues dans le cadre du volet 5 comprendront les NMT 1 à 9, l'accent étant mis sur le soutien au développement technologique afin d'accélérer les voies de commercialisation dans les domaines où le Canada a démontré son avantage. Les propositions appuyées doivent tirer parti des co-investissements du secteur privé et avoir un objectif clair ou une voie à suivre pour assurer la durabilité après la présentation de la proposition.

9. Quel type de proposition ne convient pas au financement dans le cadre du volet 5? Existe-t-il d'autres programmes d'innovation qui acceptent les demandes?

Les propositions visant des technologies qui n'en sont qu'à un stade précoce, sans cheminement clair vers la commercialisation, sans répercussions nationales ou qui ne démontrent pas un fort avantage canadien, ne seraient pas considérées comme un bon choix pour le volet 5. De plus, les propositions qui ne sont pas en mesure de démontrer un objectif clair ou une voie à suivre pour assurer la durabilité après la présentation de la proposition pourraient ne pas être retenues. Les collaborations à petite échelle et comptant peu de partenaires qui nécessitent un financement fédéral de moins de 10 millions de dollars sur cinq ans, ou les propositions qui doivent être financées bien au-delà de cinq ans pour obtenir des résultats, pourraient être mieux adaptées à d'autres programmes gouvernementaux.

Nous vous recommandons de visiter la plateforme Innovation Canada pour découvrir d'autres programmes gouvernementaux qui appuient les entreprises novatrices.

10. Une université canadienne peut-elle présenter une demande à titre de demandeur principal?

Dans le cadre du volet 5, les demandeurs principaux doivent être une entreprise constituée en société au Canada ou un organisme sans but lucratif constitué en société au Canada. Comme le FSI est un programme d'innovation pour les entreprises, un établissement d'enseignement (comme une université) n'est pas considéré comme un demandeur principal admissible, mais peut être un partenaire de l'écosystème national.

11. Comment présenter une demande de participation au volet 5 du FSI?

Les organisations intéressées devront d'abord soumettre une déclaration d'intérêt (DI). Au cours de ce processus, on vous demandera de fournir les renseignements suivants :

  • des renseignements sur votre organisation et vos partenaires clés;
  • une description de votre proposition et de ses répercussions sur l'écosystème;
  • une description des avantages escomptés de votre proposition;
  • un tableau de financement présentant les autres formes de soutien en ce qui concerne votre proposition;
  • des renseignements financiers sur votre organisation et votre proposition, y compris les états financiers des trois dernières années.

Nous examinerons tout de même les DI des organisations qui existent depuis moins de trois ans.
Si vous êtes invités par le FSI à passer au processus de demande complète, vous devrez fournir des détails sur les renseignements suivants :

  • votre organisation et vos partenaires;
  • le calendrier, les activités, les coûts et le lieu des travaux de votre projet ou proposition;
  • la capacité de votre organisation à mener à bien le projet ou la proposition, notamment des précisions sur les finances de votre organisation ainsi que sur ses capacités en matière de technologie et de gestion;
  • les avantages escomptés en matière d'innovation et d'économie et les avantages publics de votre proposition pour le Canada.
12. Quel type d'aide ISDE offrira-t-il aux demandeurs du volet 5 pour remplir leurs formulaires de demande?

Des représentants du programme du FSI d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada pourront répondre à des questions d'ordre général sur le volet 5 par courriel. Les questions peuvent être envoyées à ic.sifintegrationteam-equipeintegration-fsi.ic@canada.ca et un accusé de réception vous parviendra dans un délai de deux jours. Les représentants du programme ne donneront pas de conseils pour façonner les propositions afin d'éviter tout conflit d'intérêts réel ou perçu dans le cadre du processus d'évaluation et d'approbation.

Date de modification :