G7 Multistakeholder Conference on Artificial Intelligence: Final Summary Report

December 6, 2018

Please note: The discussion papers, conference discussion, and this Final Summary Report do not represent the views of the G7 or its members.

Final Summary Report (PDF, 0.95MB, 5 pages)

INTRODUCTION

On 6 December 2018, Montréal played host to the G7 Multistakeholder Conference on Artificial Intelligence. This Conference was an outcome of the 2018 G7 Ministerial Meeting on Preparing for the Jobs of the Future and built upon the G7 Innovation Ministers' Statement on Artificial Intelligence . Over 200 experts in artificial intelligence (AI) attended, representing all of the G7 countries and beyond, as well as key multistakeholder perspectives from industry, academia, civil society, and government. In advance of the Conference, consultations were also held in Toronto and Edmonton.

The overarching theme of the Conference was “Enabling the Responsible Adoption of AI”, with breakout sessions focusing on four separate topics:

Several key AI experts and G7 focal point organizations collaboratively drafted discussion papers for each topic and directed breakout sessions during the Conference.

WELCOME AND SETTING THE STAGE

The Conference was opened by Dr. Mona Nemer, Canada’s Chief Science Advisor, who delivered remarks on previous multilateral commitments on AI, Canada’s AI environment, and the importance of grounding AI innovation in the values of diversity, human rights, and inclusiveness.

During the Setting the Stage session moderated by Jean-François Gagné (Element AI), panelists Verity Harding (DeepMind Ethics & Society), Fanny Hidvegi (Access Now), Edward Santow (Australia Human Rights Commission), and Stefan Schnorr (Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy – Germany) discussed the multidisciplinary nature of AI and the need for a collective multistakeholder response to address the challenges and opportunities with AI. Key perspectives included the protection of human rights in the face of increasing technological capabilities, the role that government plays in encouraging AI and digital infrastructure development, where AI can be used to benefit the general public, and various global strategies on AI.

BREAKOUT SESSIONS AND PLENARY

Attendees divided into separate breakout sessions to further review the discussion papers drafted for the Conference.

AI for Society – Inclusion in AI Development and Deployment (Discussion Paper)
Breakout sessions led by: Marie-Josée Hébert (Canada) and Adrian Weller (UK), Plenary lead: Hébert

Participants in this session discussed the importance of inclusion in recognizing the benefits of AI and how the socio-economic benefits from the use of AI can positively impact societies by contributing to value-added outcomes. Topics discussed included:

Unleashing Innovation – Reducing Barriers to Innovation / Enhancing Market Confidence (Discussion Paper)
Breakout sessions led by: Finch Fulton (US) and Lucilla Sioli (EU), Plenary lead: Michael May (Germany)

In this session, participants addressed the balance between innovation and regulation in ensuring competitive and sustainable industries, institutions, and businesses. The following points were made:

Accountability in AI – Promoting Greater Societal Trust (Discussion Paper)
Breakout sessions led by: Jason Millar (Canada), Koichi Hori (Japan), Ian Kerr (Canada), and Kentaro Kotsuki (Japan), Plenary lead: Kerr

AI’s responsible deployment, including consumer protection, standards, and the appropriate level of trust were examined in this session. Key perspectives raised included maintaining the integrity in algorithms and addressing problems, while preventing the unethical development of AI to ensure societal trust in the technologies. Participants raised the following:

The Future of Work – Skills for the Modern Economy (Discussion Paper)
Breakout sessions led by: Nicolas Vayatis (France) and Giorgio Metta (Italy), Plenary lead: Metta

During this session, participants discussed the potential of AI to create a large number of jobs across the world, but also to act as a disruptor. Points were raised on the necessity to equip people with education and skills for success in the evolving labour market, while maintaining a multistakeholder role that ensures coordination across numerous fields. Points of discussion included:

PANEL: WHERE DOES AI GO FROM HERE?

During lunchtime, The Honourable Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development moderated a panel with three leading Canadian AI experts, Foteini Agrafioti (Borealis AI), Yoshua Bengio (MILA), and Geoffrey Hinton (Vector Institute), on the current state of AI development and potential future directions. They discussed how, in many fields, the potential benefits of commercializing AI far outweigh the negatives due to the prospect for the personalization of data and large-scale data analysis. While AI has the ability to perform the tedious and low-skilled jobs, at its current level of development, it does not have the ability to perform tasks requiring human creativity, reasoning, and understanding. The panel closed with a discussion on using AI for good and reflecting Canadian values such as human rights and diversity.

PANEL: FROM RESEARCH TO COMMERCIALIZATION

Moderated by James Kurose (National Science Foundation), the final panel of the Conference focused on the process of moving AI from research and development to commercialization from multiple perspectives. Andrew Greenshaw (APEC Digital Hub for Mental Health), Lucilla Sioli (DG CNECT), Geneviève Tanguay (National Research Council of Canada), and Michael Zeller (Software AG) each represented a different stakeholder view on the topic. The panel discussed bridging the gap between research and commercialization, especially with new innovative solutions in fields such as medicine, language interpretation, and manufacturing. The government plays a role in creating an environment for technologies to thrive, bringing together experts, and allocating budgets towards research and testing. The competition for talent is a challenge to address, especially since working for industry can provide a lucrative salary which the public and academic sectors are unable to match. Going forward, maintaining a multistakeholder perspective will be important for AI research and commercialization in order to meet challenges and to sustain growth in multiple fields.

CLOSING REMARKS

The Honourable Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development closed the Conference by providing remarks on the challenges and opportunities of AI going forward. He mentioned the importance for industry and government to address unknowns with regards to ethics, security, competition, and safety. He also stated that stakeholders should take a leadership role in fostering an ecosystem that supports responsible AI adoption for the benefit of all. Final thanks were given to all Conference attendees, and those throughout the G7 who collaborated towards the creation of a meaningful multistakeholder event.






For a detailed agenda of the day, please visit: http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/133.nsf/eng/00001.html.

For questions regarding the G7 Multistakeholder Conference on Artificial Intelligence, please contact the ISED G7 Secretariat at: ic.isedg7secretariat-secretariatdug7pourisde.ic@canada.ca.

Date modified:

Conférence multipartite du G7 sur l’intelligence artificielle : Rapport sommaire final

Le 6 décembre 2018

Veuillez noter : Les documents de travail, les discussions de la conférence et le présent rapport sommaire final ne représentent pas les points de vue du G7 ou de ses membres.

Rapport sommaire final (PDF, 1.0MB, 5 pages)

INTRODUCTION

Le 6 décembre 2018, Montréal a été hôte de la Conférence multipartite du G7 sur l’intelligence artificielle. Cette conférence était l’aboutissement de la réunion ministérielle 2018 du G7 : Se préparer aux emplois de l'avenir et s’appuyait sur la déclaration des ministres de l'innovation du G7 au sujet de l'intelligence artificielle. Plus de 200 experts en intelligence artificielle (IA) y ont participé, représentant tous les pays du G7 et d'autres pays, ainsi que des perspectives multipartites clés de l'industrie, du milieu universitaire, de la société civile et du gouvernement. Avant la Conférence, des consultations ont également eu lieu à Toronto et à Edmonton.

Le thème principal de la Conférence était « Permettre l'adoption responsable de l'IA », et des séances en petits groupes portaient sur quatre sujets distincts :

Plusieurs experts clés en intelligence artificielle et des organismes de coordination du G7 ont rédigé en collaboration des documents de travail pour chaque sujet et ont dirigé des séances en petits groupes pendant la Conférence.

MOT D’OUVERTURE ET DISCUSSION POUR PRÉPARER LE TERRAIN

La Conférence a été ouverte par Mme Mona Nemer, conseillère scientifique en chef du Canada, qui a prononcé des allocutions sur les engagements multilatéraux antérieurs en matière d'IA, sur l'environnement de l'IA au Canada et sur l'importance d'ancrer l'innovation en IA sur les valeurs de diversité, de respect des droits de l'homme et d'inclusion.

Au cours de la séance préparatoire animée par Jean-François Gagné (Element AI), les participants à la table ronde Verity Harding (DeepMind Ethics & Society), Fanny Hidvegi (Access Now), Edward Santow (Commission australienne des droits de la personne) et Stefan Schnorr (ministère fédéral des Affaires économiques et de l'Énergie, Allemagne) ont discuté du caractère multidisciplinaire de l'IA et de la nécessité de réagir collectivement avec plusieurs intervenants pour aborder les défis et les possibilités liés à l'AI. Les perspectives clés incluaient la protection des droits de l'homme face à l'augmentation des capacités technologiques, le rôle que le gouvernement joue pour encourager l'IA et le développement de l'infrastructure numérique, où l'IA peut être utilisée au profit du grand public, et diverses stratégies mondiales sur l'IA.

SÉANCES EN PETITS GROUPES ET SÉANCE PLÉNIÈRE

Les participants se sont divisés en petits groupes distincts pour examiner plus en détail les documents de travail rédigés pour la Conférence.

IA pour la société – Inclusion dans l’élaboration et le déploiement de l’IA (Document de discussion)
Séances en petits groupes dirigées par : Marie-Josée Hébert (Canada) et Adrian Weller (R.-U.), séance plénière : Hébert

Les participants à cette séance ont discuté de l'importance de l'inclusion dans la reconnaissance des avantages de l'IA et de la façon dont les avantages socio-économiques de l'utilisation de l'IA peuvent avoir un impact positif sur les sociétés en contribuant aux résultats à valeur ajoutée. Parmi les sujets abordés, mentionnons :

Libre cours à l’innovation – Réduire les obstacles à l’innovation / Accroître la confiance du marché (Document de discussion)
Séances en petits groupes dirigées par : Finch Fulton (É.U.) et Lucilla Sioli (U.-E.), séance plénière : Michael May (Allemagne)

Au cours de cette séance, les participants ont abordé l'équilibre entre l'innovation et la réglementation pour assurer la compétitivité et la durabilité des industries, des institutions et des entreprises. Les points suivants ont été soulevés :

Responsabilité en matière d’IA – Promouvoir une plus grande confiance sociétale (Document de discussion)
Séances en petits groupes dirigées par : Jason Millar (Canada), Koichi Hori (Japon), Ian Kerr (Canada) et Kentaro Kotsuki (Japon), séance plénière : Kerr

Le déploiement responsable de l’IA, y compris la protection des consommateurs, les normes et le niveau de confiance approprié ont été examinés au cours de cette séance. Les principaux points de vue soulevés comprenaient le maintien de l'intégrité des algorithmes et la résolution des problèmes, tout en empêchant le développement contraire à l'éthique de l'IA afin d'assurer la confiance de la société dans ces technologies. Les participants ont soulevé les questions suivantes :

L’avenir du travail – Des compétences pour l’économie moderne (Document de discussion)
Séances en petits groupes dirigées par : Nicolas Vayatis (France) et Giorgio Metta (Italie), séance plénière : Metta

Au cours de cette séance, les participants ont discuté de la possibilité que l'IA crée un grand nombre d'emplois à travers le monde, mais aussi qu’elle agisse comme un perturbateur. Des points ont été soulevés sur la nécessité de former les gens et de les doter des compétences nécessaires pour réussir sur le marché du travail en évolution, tout en maintenant un rôle multipartite qui assure la coordination dans de nombreux domaines. Les points suivants ont fait l'objet d'une discussion :

TABLE RONDE : PROCHAINES ÉTAPES CONCERNANT L’IA

Pendant le déjeuner, l'honorable Navdeep Bains, ministre de l'Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique, a animé une table ronde avec trois éminents experts canadiens en IA, Foteini Agrafioti (Borealis AI), Yoshua Bengio (MILA) et Geoffrey Hinton (Vector Institute), sur l'état actuel et les orientations futures possibles du développement de l'IA. Ils ont discuté de la façon dont, dans de nombreux domaines, les avantages potentiels de la commercialisation de l'IA l'emportent de loin sur les inconvénients en raison des perspectives de personnalisation des données et d'analyse des données à grande échelle. Bien que l'IA ait la capacité d'exécuter les tâches fastidieuses et peu spécialisées, à son niveau de développement actuel, elle n'a pas la capacité d'exécuter des tâches qui exigent la créativité, le raisonnement et la compréhension humains. La table ronde s'est terminée par une discussion sur l'utilisation de l'IA pour faire le bien et sur le fait de refléter les valeurs canadiennes telles que les droits de la personne et la diversité.

TABLE RONDE : RECHERCHE ET DÉVELOPPEMENT, DÉPLOIEMENT ET COMMERCIALISATION

Animée par James Kurose (National Science Foundation), la dernière table ronde de la Conférence portait sur le processus de transition de l'IA de la recherche et développement à la commercialisation selon de multiples perspectives. Andrew Greenshaw (Plateforme numérique pour la santé mentale du Forum de coopération économique Asie-Pacifique), Lucilla Sioli (DG CNECT), Geneviève Tanguay (Conseil national de recherches du Canada) et Michael Zeller (Software AG) représentaient chacun un point de vue différent des intervenants sur ce sujet. Les experts ont discuté des moyens de combler l'écart entre la recherche et la commercialisation, en particulier en matière de nouvelles solutions novatrices dans des domaines comme la médecine, l'interprétation linguistique et la fabrication. Le gouvernement joue un rôle dans la création d'un environnement propice à l'essor des technologies, en réunissant des experts et en allouant des budgets à la recherche et aux essais. La concurrence pour attirer les talents est un défi à relever, d'autant plus que le fait de travailler pour l'industrie permet d'obtenir un salaire lucratif que les secteurs public et universitaire ne peuvent égaler. À l'avenir, il sera important de maintenir une perspective multipartite pour la recherche et la commercialisation de l'IA afin de relever les défis et de soutenir la croissance dans de nombreux domaines.

DISCOURS DE CLÔTURE

L'honorable Navdeep Bains, ministre de l'Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique, a clôturé la Conférence en faisant des observations sur les enjeux et les possibilités de l'avenir de l'IA. Il a mentionné l'importance pour l'industrie et le gouvernement d'aborder les inconnues en matière d'éthique, de sécurité, de concurrence et de sûreté. Il a également déclaré que les intervenants devraient jouer un rôle de chef de file dans la promotion d'un écosystème qui appuie l'adoption responsable de l'IA au profit de tous. Des remerciements finaux ont été adressés à tous les participants à la Conférence et à tous ceux du G7 qui ont collaboré à la création d'un événement multipartite significatif.






Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le programme de la journée, veuillez consulter le site suivant : http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/133.nsf/fra/00001.html.

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de la Conférence multipartite du G7 sur l'intelligence artificielle, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat du G7 pour ISDE : ic.isedg7secretariat-secretariatdug7pourisde.ic@canada.ca.

Date de modification :