Language selection

Search

Summary report: What we heard

A. Introduction

The Black Entrepreneurship Program (BEP) aims to provide Black business owners and entrepreneurs with the supports they need to move forward and recover from the COVID-19 pandemic, and it aims to lay a foundation that will enable them to grow their business in the months and years to come. The Program has three main components: a $50 million investment to create a National Ecosystem Fund for Black-led organizations; $158 million (a $30 million investment from the Government of Canada and $128 million from participating financial institutions) to build a loan fund for Black business owners and entrepreneurs; and a $5 million investment for a Black Entrepreneurship Knowledge HubFootnote 1. These investments will help thousands of Black business owners and entrepreneurs across the country by providing them with access to financing, mentorship opportunities, financial planning services, business trainings and more.

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) undertook a series of discussions with the Black Canadian community on the design and implementation of the program, further to the government’s announcement on September 9, 2020, that it would be “working closely with Black business owners and Black-led organizations across Canada so that the new Black Entrepreneurship Program reflects the realities and needs of Black Canadians.”

Discussions were held with the Black entrepreneurship community, specifically Black entrepreneurs and business owners, business organizations run by and serving the Black business community, academics and other key knowledge holders on Black entrepreneurship in Canada. A series of discussions (held virtually, in both English and French) were planned, and additional dates were added due to significant interest on the part of the community to be involved.

B. Who we heard from

Discussions were held over a 7-week period from September 9 to November 3, 2020. Discussion sessions were held virtually via MS Teams videoconferencing, and participants could dial into the session or connect by video. Over the course of this information-gathering phase, 11 virtual discussions were held with 125 participants in total and representation from 64 different organizations in the Black entrepreneurship ecosystem in Canada. In addition, separate phone calls and written submissions were received both as follow-up to the discussion sessions and in lieu of participation in the discussions, depending on the preferences of the participants. We asked the leadership of key groups in the Black entrepreneurship ecosystem to provide us with names of potential participants. We then asked those people for their involvement and also asked if they knew any other potential participants. In some cases, this resulted in additional discussions and, over the course of the consultation period, we doubled our initial number of sessions scheduled due to the overwhelming interest in the program. We also spoke to people over the phone and accepted input via email.

Statistics
Total number of virtual engagement sessions 11
Total number of organizations participating 64
Total participants in discussion sessions to date 125
Total written submissions in addition to or in lieu of discussion session 7

C. Methodology

The analysis for this report was done using a standardized content analysis method. Notes from the discussion groups as well as written submissions were reviewed. All comments were captured and coded, which allowed the themes to “emerge” from the transcripts. This report includes a high-level summary of the comments; a copy of the report with the number and percentage of coded comments is also available by request.

D. Key issues and themes

These are the key issues and themes that arose from the discussions and written submissions; they are general principles and applicable to all parts of the Black Entrepreneurship Program. Targeted input for different program components follows in section E.

1. The type of support provided to Black entrepreneurs matters

During the consultations, a great deal of the conversation revolved around the type of support that would be offered to Black entrepreneurs: in other words, the type of support matters. A wide variety of opinions were offered as to how the support through the program would be best structured. The following elements were raised most frequently by participants.

Training and support services

Training and other support services were the most frequently referenced needs for Black entrepreneurs. Participants suggested the need for a suite of tools and resources to provide business support services such as training, mentoring, coaching and capacity building. Much of the discussion focused on the need for wrap-around supports and, specifically, for tools that would allow new entrepreneurs to identify the opportunities in the market, to build strong projects, and to be equipped to transition successfully into the different phases of business development and operations.

In addition, it was noted that entrepreneurs need access to data and training so that they are able to develop ideas into a concrete business plan in an efficient manner. Many participants stated that business supports should be available to entrepreneurs prior to the beginning of their entrepreneurial journeys as well as to entrepreneurs who have already started and may be scaling their businesses. Overall, the discussions and input reflected a need to offer a suite of supports to cultivate an ecosystem that relies on knowledge, best practices, and sustainable support and training. In other words, participants indicated that these types of support would give Black entrepreneurs access to knowledge, expertise, experience and many other resources while helping them begin to face and overcome systemic barriers and obstacles to business creation and growth.

Funding and other supports

The importance of funding for Black entrepreneurs was discussed extensively, and funding was identified as an extremely important element for entrepreneurs. Participants noted, however, that while funding alone is not the answer to every problem Black entrepreneurs face, it is a crucial element nonetheless. Many participants noted that funding should not be the sole support given to entrepreneurs but rather that it should be complementary to other types of support.

2. Access to capital, lack of resources among support organizations, and data gaps continue to create barriers and obstacles for Black entrepreneurs

A significant portion of the discussion focused on barriers to entrepreneurship for Black entrepreneurs.

Access to capital

The issue of access to capital was identified by many participants as the most important issue for Black entrepreneurs. Participants noted that access to capital is crucial for any entrepreneur and that Black entrepreneurs have more difficulty than other entrepreneurs accessing capital. Participants noted that this state of affairs is related to the way the banking system works, including racism and systemic bias in the banking system, and a lack of appreciation among mainstream institutions for the need for different approaches related to cultural differences.

Access to data

Participants also noted that business progress for many Black entrepreneurs is negatively affected by a lack of access to needed data, knowledge and business education. Participants noted their view that this is a universal challenge for entrepreneurs, but a challenge that is more acute for Black entrepreneurs.

Capacity among support organizations

Another key issue highlighted by participants was that organizations that are on the ground to support Black entrepreneurs do not have enough resources for this purpose.

3. The program needs to be run by the Black Canadian community for the Black Canadian community

Participants were uniformly of the view that the Black Entrepreneurship Program should be run by the Black Canadian community for the Black Canadian community. Nonetheless, as participants gave their vision for how this would be achieved, there was some diversity in opinions. First, while most participants believed it had to be done by and for the Black community, some participants said they believed that expertise was a critical factor and should not be ruled out in favour of cultural background. In other words, some participants felt that expertise should be prioritized over cultural background.

Participants agreed that experience, expertise and awareness of the specific needs and challenges Black entrepreneurs face are important elements in determining who should run the program. Finally, participants said they believed that the organizations in charge will need to demonstrate that their objectives and mandate are aligned with the program’s objectives; show their willingness and ability to adjust the supports they offer and tailor them to the diversity of needs in the Black entrepreneurship community; be transparent and respectful to the Black community; and have history of working well with the Black community.

4. The program should build on, and not duplicate, knowledge or services coming from other organizations

Participants agreed on the need to learn from past or existing organizations, programs and frameworks in order to observe what works and to avoid duplication. Participants indicated that making program connections between relevant organizations to streamline program delivery for participants would be useful.

5. The program must be flexible to a variety of different needs

Participants discussed the need for adjustable programs in order to respond to the wide diversity of needs among Black entrepreneurs. In particular, they noted that there is a wide variety in terms of stages of business development; the sector in which businesses are operating in; the social reality of individuals looking for help as well as the variety of financial needs experienced by Black entrepreneurs, which are all important to take into account.

6. The administration of the program should be flexible and responsive to a variety of needs

Participants also thought that the administration of this program should be flexible and open and that definitions and parameters used should not be restrictive.

7. What level of approach should this program favour

Almost all participants agreed on the value of a decentralized and local approach, while a few noted it would also be important to have a model that recognizes and addresses the differences between regions and cities.

E. Addressing different elements of the Black Entrepreneurship Program

Black Entrepreneurship Loan Fund

1. Size and type of funding

While discussing the Loan fund, the issue of the type and the size of the loans was identified by participants as the most important issue. One of the major suggestions that came out of the discussions is that the fund should provide grants (e.g. standalone, once entrepreneurs complete a program, or structured as a partially forgivable loan). In addition, participants highlighted that the loan amounts should not be preconceived and pre-set amounts but rather be based on the needs of entrepreneurs in question. That said, many participants agreed that the minimum amount of loan, should there be a requirement to set it, has to be lower than the $25,000 that was announced (with $5,000 being the amount the most referred to by participants).

Black Entrepreneurship Knowledge Hub

1. Data collection

The Knowledge Hub element of the program generated discussion about data collection. Participants underlined the extreme importance of trust and transparency in this initiative. They also said they believed that data could be collected from the organizations and programs themselves by the banks, the municipalities and chambers of commerce. They also noted the view that the data collection should be decentralized.

2. Objectives and aims

The second theme identified was about the objectives and aims that such an initiative should have. Participants agreed that it should create and utilize the knowledge collected; help drive policy change; help and support the Black Canadian community; and be integrated in the education, training, mentoring and coaching of Black entrepreneurs. Participants also raised that a different name for this element of the program should be considered.

3. Main gaps in knowledge

Participants also discussed the main gaps in knowledge that currently exist for Black Canadian entrepreneurs. While participants agreed on the fact that data is missing on entrepreneurship in general and Black entrepreneurship in particular, they also identified many other gaps such as the reasons access to services and capital is more difficult for Black entrepreneurs as well as where opportunities for success might exist and what the consumption habits of Canadians are. Participants strongly stated their view that data is needed to provide better context around the situation and needs of Black entrepreneurs that would, in turn, ensure longer term success for their businesses and communities.

4. Partnerships and collaboration

Finally, the importance of true collaboration and partnerships were also key themes raised in the discussion of the Knowledge Hub. Participants underlined the general importance of this notion while emphasizing the crucial aspect of communication. The majority of participants said they believed a partnership with public institutions and academic institutions would benefit the program but that it was important that institutions involved understand and have experience with the Black Canadian community.

Black Entrepreneurship Ecosystem Fund

1. Thoughts on defining a Black-led organization

Participants discussed the definition of a Black-led organization and the pros and cons related to various ways to operationalize the definition. Participants noted that the definition should focus on elements of ownership, the mandate of the organization they represent, and experience and expertise. On the question of ownership, the following two positions were identified: that Black-led organizations should be at least be two-thirds owned by Black individuals; and that they should be owned by a majority of Black individuals (at least 50% +1). The majority of participants indicated the former point of view while fewer indicated the latter point of view. The following table shows how many times different focus areas were mentioned by participants:

Focus on ownership

23.91%

Focus on mandate

19.56%

Focus on expertise and experience

17.39%

Need of definitions/certification process

13.04%

2. The question of intersectionality

A significant majority of participants also thought it would be important that this program address the intersectionality within the Black Canadian community. Participants believe this program should consider every type of intersectionality, and that it should be inclusive of all minorities within the minority—with a particular focus on gender, youth, linguistic minorities and new Canadians. Participants also discussed the need for funds to flow to Black organizations as a priority, where they would be used to support the full diversity of the Black community rather than being flowed to other organizations that were not Black-led and run.

F. Closing statements

At the end of every discussion, participants in the discussion were thanked and recognized for their time and knowledge and for their support in bringing in new participants in many cases. They were assured that the input provided would be used to help design and implement the Black Entrepreneurship Program, and invited to send further comments should they wish. Further discussions will continue as the Black Entrepreneurship Program moves forward.

Any additional questions or comments can be sent to ic.bep-pecn.ic@canada.ca.

Annex
Organizations participating in the consultation process

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Rapport sommaire : Ce que nous avons entendu

A. Introduction

Le Programme pour l’entrepreneuriat des communautés noires vise à fournir aux propriétaires d’entreprise et aux entrepreneurs noirs le soutien dont ils ont besoin pour aller de l’avant et se remettre de la pandémie de COVID-19. Il vise aussi à jeter les bases qui leur permettront de faire croître leur entreprise dans les mois et les années à venir. Le programme comporte trois principales composantes : un investissement de 50 millions de dollars afin de créer le Fonds pour l’écosystème national, destiné aux organisations dirigées par des Noirs; 158 millions de dollars (un investissement de 30 millions de dollars du gouvernement du Canada et de 128 millions de dollars des institutions financières participantes) afin de mettre sur pied un fonds de prêts à l’intention des propriétaires d’entreprise et des entrepreneurs noirs; et un investissement de 5 millions de dollars afin d’établir le Carrefour du savoir pour l’entrepreneuriat des communautés noiresNote de bas de page 1. Grâce à ces investissements, des milliers de propriétaires d’entreprise et d’entrepreneurs noirs dans tout le pays auront accès à du financement, à des possibilités de mentorat, à des services de planification financière, à des formations relatives aux affaires et à bien plus encore.

Dans le cadre de son annonce du 9 septembre 2020, le gouvernement a affirmé qu’il entendait « travailler de près avec les propriétaires d’entreprise et les organisations dirigées par des Noirs à travers le Canada pour que le nouveau Programme pour l’entrepreneuriat des communautés noires reflète la réalité et les besoins de ces communautés ». Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) a donc par la suite entrepris un processus de consultation pour travailler avec la communauté noire canadienne à la conception et à la mise en œuvre du programme.

Des consultations ont été tenues auprès de la communauté entrepreneuriale noire, plus précisément auprès d’entrepreneurs et de propriétaires d’entreprise noirs ainsi que d’organisations commerciales dirigées par des Noirs ou au service de la communauté des entrepreneurs noirs, d’universitaires et d’autres détenteurs de savoir clés sur l’entrepreneuriat noir au Canada. Le processus comprenait une série de séances de discussion (tenues virtuellement, en anglais et en français), laquelle a été prolongée en raison de l’intérêt considérable manifesté par la communauté.

B. Qui s’est exprimé?

Les discussions se sont déroulées sur une période de 7 semaines, du 9 septembre au 3 novembre 2020. Les séances de consultation se sont déroulées virtuellement par l’entremise de Microsoft Teams, permettant ainsi aux participants d’y assister par téléphone ou par vidéo. Au cours de cette phase de collecte d’informations, 11 discussions virtuelles ont eu lieu, avec 125 participants au total et la représentation de 64 organisations différentes de l’écosystème de l’entrepreneuriat noir au Canada. De plus, des appels téléphoniques individuels ainsi que des soumissions écrites ont été reçus, à la fois aux fins de suivi des séances de discussion et pour remplacer la participation aux séances de discussion, selon les préférences des participants. Nous avons demandé aux dirigeants des principaux groupes de l’écosystème de l’entrepreneuriat noir de nous fournir le nom de participants potentiels. Nous avons ensuite demandé à ces personnes de prendre part au processus et nous leur avons également demandé si elles connaissaient d’autres participants potentiels. Dans certains cas, cela a donné lieu à des discussions supplémentaires et, au cours de la période de consultation, nous avons doublé le nombre de séances initialement prévues en raison de l’intérêt considérable suscité par le programme. Nous avons également parlé aux participants par téléphone et accepté les commentaires par courrier électronique.

Statistiques
Nombre total de séances de mobilisation virtuelles

11

Nombre total d’organisations participantes

64

Nombre total de participants aux séances de discussion à ce jour

125

Total des contributions écrites pour compléter ou remplacer la participation à une séance

7

C. Méthodologie

L’analyse contenue dans ce rapport a été effectuée selon une méthode d’analyse de contenu standardisée. Les notes des groupes de discussion ainsi que les contributions écrites ont été examinées. Tous les commentaires ont été saisis et codés, ce qui a permis aux thèmes de « ressortir » des transcriptions. Ce rapport comprend un résumé de haut niveau des commentaires; le rapport comportant le nombre et le pourcentage de commentaires codés est également disponible sur demande.

D. Principaux enjeux et thèmes

Voici les enjeux et les thèmes clés qui sont ressortis des discussions et des soumissions écrites; ce sont des principes généraux et applicables à toutes les parties du Programme pour l’entrepreneuriat des communautés noires. Des commentaires plus ciblés pour les différentes composantes du programme sont présentés à la section E.

1. Le type de soutien fourni aux entrepreneurs noirs compte

Au cours des consultations, une grande partie de la conversation a tourné autour du type de soutien qui serait offert aux entrepreneurs noirs; en d’autres termes, le type de soutien compte. Les avis variaient grandement quant à la meilleure façon de structurer le soutien fourni par le programme. Voici les éléments les plus fréquemment évoqués.

Formation et services de soutien

La formation et les autres services de soutien ont été les besoins les plus fréquemment mentionnés par les entrepreneurs noirs. Les participants ont suggéré une série d’outils et de ressources pour fournir des services de soutien aux entreprises, comme la formation, le mentorat, l’encadrement et le renforcement des capacités. Une grande partie de la discussion s’est concentrée sur la nécessité d’aides globales, notamment des outils qui permettraient aux nouveaux entrepreneurs de reconnaître les débouchés commerciaux, de concevoir des projets robustes et de gérer les différentes phases du développement de l’entreprise.

En outre, il a été noté que les entrepreneurs avaient besoin d’un accès aux données et à la formation afin de pouvoir transformer efficacement leurs idées en plans d’affaires concrets. De nombreux participants ont déclaré que les mesures de soutien aux entreprises devraient être offertes aux entrepreneurs avant le début de leur cheminement entrepreneurial ainsi qu’aux entrepreneurs qui se sont déjà lancés en affaires et qui peuvent être en train de faire croître leur entreprise. Dans l’ensemble, les discussions et les contributions ont fait ressortir la nécessité d’offrir une série de mesures de soutien pour établir un écosystème qui repose sur les connaissances, les pratiques exemplaires, et sur un soutien et une formation durables. En d’autres termes, ces types de soutien permettraient aux entrepreneurs noirs d’accéder à des connaissances, à de l’expertise, à de l’expérience et à de nombreuses autres ressources. Ils les aideraient aussi à faire face aux obstacles systémiques et à les surmonter.

Financement et autres mesures de soutien

Le financement a fait l’objet de discussions approfondies et a été cerné comme étant un élément extrêmement important pour les entrepreneurs noirs. Les participants ont indiqué que, même si le financement seul n’était pas la réponse à tous les problèmes auxquels font face les entrepreneurs noirs, il s’agissait néanmoins d’un élément crucial. De nombreux participants ont fait remarquer que le financement ne devrait pas être le seul soutien apporté aux entrepreneurs, mais qu’il devrait plutôt être complémentaire à d’autres types de mesures de soutien.

2. L’accès au capital, le manque de ressources des organismes de soutien et le manque de données continuent de créer des obstacles pour les entrepreneurs noirs

Une partie importante de la discussion s’est concentrée sur les obstacles à l’entrepreneuriat pour les Noirs.

Accès au capital

De nombreux participants ont indiqué que l’accès au capital était l’enjeu le plus important pour les entrepreneurs noirs. Les participants ont souligné que le capital était crucial pour tout entrepreneur, mais que les entrepreneurs noirs avaient plus de difficultés que les autres à y accéder. Les participants ont noté que cela était lié à la façon dont le système bancaire fonctionne, au racisme et aux préjugés systémiques dans le système bancaire, ainsi qu’au manque de prise en compte des différences culturelles au sein des institutions traditionnelles.

Accès aux données

Il a également été noté que les entrepreneurs noirs étaient freinés par un manque d’accès aux données, aux connaissances et à la formation sur le commerce nécessaires. Les participants ont indiqué qu’il s’agissait d’un défi commun, mais qui était exacerbé pour les entrepreneurs noirs.

Capacité des organisations de soutien

Les participants ont également souligné que les organisations qui sont sur le terrain pour soutenir les entrepreneurs noirs ne disposaient pas de ressources suffisantes pour pouvoir le faire.

3. Le programme doit être géré par la communauté noire canadienne pour la communauté noire canadienne

Les participants se sont entendus pour dire que le programme devait être géré par la communauté noire canadienne pour la communauté noire canadienne. Toutefois, lorsqu’ils ont donné leur vision de la manière dont cela serait réalisé, il y avait une certaine diversité d’opinions. Premièrement, si la plupart des participants estiment que cela doit être fait par et pour la communauté noire, certains participants ont indiqué que l’expertise était un facteur crucial et qu’il ne fallait pas l’exclure au profit de l’origine culturelle. En d’autres termes, certains participants ont estimé que l’expertise devait être privilégiée par rapport à l’origine culturelle.

Les participants ont convenu que l’expérience, l’expertise et la compréhension des besoins et des défis propres aux entrepreneurs noirs seraient des éléments importants pour déterminer qui dirigerait le programme. Enfin, les participants estiment que les organisations responsables devront : démontrer que leurs objectifs et leur mandat sont alignés sur les objectifs du programme; démontrer leur volonté et leur capacité d’adapter les mesures de soutien qu’elles offrent à la diversité des besoins de la communauté entrepreneuriale noire; être transparentes et respectueuses de la communauté noire; et avoir une expérience du travail avec la communauté noire.

4. Le programme devrait s’appuyer sur, et non pas reproduire, les connaissances ou les services d’autres organisations

Les participants ont discuté de la nécessité de tirer des enseignements des organisations, des programmes et des cadres passés ou existants afin d’observer ce qui fonctionne et d’éviter le chevauchement. Les participants ont indiqué qu’il serait utile d’établir des liens directs avec les organisations concernées afin de rationaliser la prestation du programme.

5. Le programme doit être souple pour répondre à une variété de besoins différents

Parmi les différents éléments soulevés tout au long des consultations, les participants se sont notamment penchés sur la capacité d’adapter les mesures d’aide à la diversité des besoins des entrepreneurs noirs. Les participants ont semblé s’accorder sur le fait que les entrepreneurs noirs vivaient des réalités diverses et que le Programme pour l’entrepreneuriat des communautés noires devrait prendre en compte cette diversité de besoins. Il est notamment important de tenir compte des différentes étapes du développement de l’entreprise, du secteur dans lequel l’entreprise va œuvrer ou œuvre, de la réalité sociale des personnes à la recherche d’une aide ainsi que de la variété des besoins financiers que connaissent les entrepreneurs noirs.

6. L’administration du programme doit être souple et répondre à une variété de besoins

Les participants ont également estimé que l’administration de ce programme devrait être souple et ouverte, et que les définitions et les paramètres utilisés ne devraient pas être contraignants.

7. Quel type d’approche ce programme devrait-il privilégier?

La quasi-totalité des participants a convenu de la valeur d’une approche décentralisée et locale, tandis que quelques-uns ont noté qu’il serait également important de s’attaquer aux différences entre les régions et les villes.

E. Discussions sur les différents éléments du Programme pour l’entrepreneuriat des communautés noires

Fonds de prêts pour l’entrepreneuriat des communautés noires

1. Montant et type de financement

Lors de la discussion sur le fonds de prêts, le type et le montant des prêts ont été définis comme étant les enjeux les plus importants pour les participants. L’un des principaux éléments qui sont ressortis des consultations est que ce fonds devrait fournir des subventions (autonomes, une fois que les entrepreneurs ont terminé un programme, ou sous forme de prêt partiellement remboursable). En outre, les participants ont souligné que les montants des prêts ne devraient pas être des montants prédéterminés, mais qu’ils devraient plutôt être basés sur les besoins des entrepreneurs. Cela dit, de nombreux participants ont convenu que le prêt minimum, s’il devait y en avoir un, devrait être inférieur au montant de 25 000 $ qui a été annoncé (5 000 $ est le montant le plus souvent mentionné).

Carrefour du savoir pour l’entrepreneuriat des communautés noires

1. Collecte de données

Le Carrefour du savoir a suscité des discussions sur la collecte de données. Les participants ont souligné l’extrême importance de la confiance et de la transparence dans cette initiative. Ils pensent également que les données peuvent être recueillies auprès des organisations et des programmes mêmes, par les banques, les municipalités et les chambres de commerce. Ils ont également estimé que la collecte de données devrait être décentralisée.

2. Objectifs et buts

Le deuxième thème défini concernait les objectifs et les buts qu’une telle initiative devrait avoir. Les participants ont convenu qu’elle devrait créer du savoir et utiliser les connaissances recueillies; contribuer à faire évoluer les politiques; aider et soutenir la communauté noire canadienne; et être intégrée dans l’éducation, la formation, le mentorat et l’encadrement des entrepreneurs noirs. Il a également été soulevé qu’il faudrait envisager un nom différent pour cette composante du programme.

3. Principales lacunes en matière de connaissances

Enfin, les participants ont discuté des principales lacunes en matière de connaissances qui existent actuellement pour les entrepreneurs noirs canadiens. Si les participants se sont accordés sur le fait qu’il manque de données sur l’entrepreneuriat en général et sur l’entrepreneuriat noir en particulier, de nombreuses autres lacunes ont été indiquées, comme : les raisons pour lesquelles l’accès aux services et aux capitaux est plus difficile pour les entrepreneurs noirs, quelles sont les possibilités de réussite ou encore les habitudes de consommation des Canadiens. Les participants ont exprimé fermement que des données sont nécessaires pour fournir un contexte aux entrepreneurs noirs, et que ce contexte garantirait, à son tour, un succès à plus long terme.

4. Partenariats et collaboration

Les partenariats et la collaboration ont également été l’un des thèmes clés soulevés lors de la discussion sur le Carrefour du savoir. Les participants ont souligné leur importance générale tout en insistant sur l’aspect crucial de la communication. La majorité des participants pensent qu’un partenariat avec des institutions publiques et des établissements universitaires serait bénéfique pour le programme, mais qu’il est important que les institutions participantes possèdent une compréhension de la communauté noire canadienne, et qu’elles aient de l’expérience avec elle.

Fonds pour l’écosystème national

1.Réflexions sur la définition d’une organisation dirigée par des Noirs

Les participants ont discuté de la définition d’une organisation dirigée par des Noirs et des avantages et des inconvénients liés aux différentes façons d’opérationnaliser la définition. Les participants ont noté que la définition devrait se concentrer sur les éléments suivants : propriété, mandat de l’organisation représentée, et expérience et expertise. En ce qui a trait à la propriété, les deux positions suivantes ont été cernées : les organisations dirigées par des Noirs devraient être détenues au moins aux deux tiers par des personnes noires; ou les organisations dirigées par des Noirs devraient être détenues par au moins une majorité de personnes noires (50 % + 1). La majorité des participants ont opté pour la première position. Le tableau suivant montre combien de fois les différents domaines d’intervention ont été mentionnés.

Mettre l’accent sur la propriété

23.91%

Mettre l’accent sur le mandat

19.56%

Mettre l’accent sur l’expertise et l’expérience

17.39%

Besoin de définitions/processus de certification

13.04%

2. La question de l’intersectionnalité

La grande majorité des participants ont également estimé qu’il serait important que ce programme aborde l’intersectionnalité au sein de la communauté noire canadienne. Les participants estiment que ce programme devrait tenir compte de chaque intersectionnalité, c’est-à-dire qu’il devrait être inclusif pour toutes les minorités au sein de la minorité, en mettant l’accent sur le genre, les jeunes, les minorités linguistiques et les nouveaux Canadiens. Néanmoins, les participants ont également discuté de la nécessité d’allouer en priorité des fonds aux organisations noires, où ils seraient utilisés pour soutenir toute la diversité de la communauté noire plutôt que d’être alloués à d’autres organisations qui ne sont pas dirigées par des personnes noires.

F. Observations finales

À la fin de chaque discussion, on a remercié les participants d’avoir offert leur temps et leurs connaissances, et d’avoir contribué, dans de nombreux cas, à attirer de nouveaux participants. Ils ont été assurés que les contributions fournies seraient utilisées dans le cadre de la conception et de la mise en œuvre du Programme pour l’entrepreneuriat des communautés noires, et ils ont été invités à envoyer d’autres commentaires s’ils le souhaitaient. D’autres discussions se poursuivront à mesure que le programme progressera.

On peut adresser toute question et tout commentaire additionnels à l’adresse ic.bep-pecn.ic@canada.ca.

Annexe
Organisations ayant participé au processus de consultation

Date de modification :