Frequently asked questions: Legislative Amendments to Copyright Act (Notice and Notice)

From: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

What is the Notice and Notice regime?

Notice and Notice is a tool established in the Copyright Act to help copyright owners address online copyright infringement. The mandatory regime requires Internet intermediaries, such as Internet Service Providers (ISPs) to forward on notices from copyright owners to Internet subscribers to alert them that their Internet accounts have been linked to alleged infringing activities, such as the illegal downloading of movies. The regime entered into force in January 2015, formalizing a pre-existing voluntary industry practice.

Why is the Government proposing to amend the Notice and Notice regime?

Soon after the regime entered into force, controversy arose over the practice of including settlement demands within notices. This practice could lead to abuses, given that consumers may be pressured into disclosing personal information and making settlement payments even in situations where they have not engaged in any acts that violate copyright laws. This practice circumvents the established court process for the disclosure of subscriber information in the context of copyright infringement lawsuits, which provides safeguards with respect to the sending of settlement demand letters to Internet subscribers. It was not the policy intent that Notice and Notice would be used for this purpose. The Government is proposing amendments to close this loophole and clarify that the sending of such notices does not comply with the Notice and Notice regime.

What changes is the Government proposing to make to the Notice and Notice regime?

The proposed amendments to the Copyright Act would clarify that a notice containing an offer to settle, or a request or demand for payment or for personal information, or a reference to any such offer, request or demand, in relation to the claimed infringement, does not comply with the regime. The proposed amendments would also help ‘future-proof’ the regime by clarifying that the Governor in Council can make regulations prescribing other information that is not permitted to be contained in a notice.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Foire aux questions : Modifications législatives à la loi sur le droit d’auteur (Avis et avis)

De : Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

En quoi consiste le régime d’avis et avis?

Le régime d’avis et avis est un outil mis en place dans la Loi sur le droit d’auteur pour aider les titulaires de droits d’auteur à contrer la violation de droits d’auteur en ligne. Ce régime obligatoire exige que les intermédiaires Internet, comme les fournisseurs de services Internet (FSI), transmettent des avis de la part des titulaires de droits d’auteur aux abonnés Internet pour les aviser que leurs comptes Internet sont liés à des activités alléguées de violation, comme le téléchargement illégal de films. Le régime est entré en vigueur en janvier 2015, officialisant une pratique déjà adoptée volontairement par l’industrie.

Pourquoi le gouvernement propose-t-il de modifier le régime d’avis et avis?

Peu après l’entrée en vigueur du régime, l’inclusion de demandes de règlement dans les avis a commencé à soulever la controverse. Cette pratique pourrait donner lieu à des abus, étant donné que les consommateurs peuvent être contraints à communiquer leurs renseignements personnels et à verser des paiements de règlement même lorsqu’ils ne se sont pas livrés à des actes qui violent les droits d’auteur. Cette pratique contourne le processus judiciaire établi relativement à la divulgation des renseignements sur les abonnés dans le contexte de poursuites pour violation du droit d’auteur, qui fournit des mesures de protection en ce qui concerne l’envoi de lettres de demande de règlement aux abonnés Internet. La politique ne visait pas à ce que le régime d’avis et avis soit utilisé à cette fin. Le gouvernement propose des modifications en vue de corriger cette faille et de préciser que l’envoi de tels avis n’est pas conforme au régime d’avis et avis.

Quelles modifications le gouvernement propose-t-il d’apporter au régime d’avis et avis?

Les modifications proposées à la Loi sur le droit d’auteur permettraient de préciser qu’un avis contenant une offre de règlement, ou une demande de paiement ou de renseignements personnels, ou un renvoi à une telle offre ou demande en lien avec la prétendue violation, n’est pas conforme au régime. Les modifications proposées permettraient également d’assurer la pérennité du régime en précisant que le gouverneur en conseil peut, par règlement, prévoir d’autres renseignements qu’il est interdit de présenter dans un avis.

Date de modification :