Language selection

Search

Factsheet: Copyright Board Reform

From: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Government consultations demonstrated the urgent need to address the procedural and structural challenges faced by the Copyright Board (Board). The chief concern is that decision-making processes take too long, with tariffs routinely taking years to be approved.

The Government is taking comprehensive action to tackle these issues through Budget 2018, with a 30% increase in financial resources for the Board, accompanied by legislative proposals. Together with new appointments at the Board, these measures would set a new course for decision-making.

A well-functioning Board should facilitate the development and growth of markets that rely on copyright in Canada, serve as a specialized, independent, quasi-judicial decision-maker, and safeguard the public interest.

Clearer rules and processes

Consultations indicated that the current decision-making framework, which includes evolving Board practices, previous Board rulings, decisions from reviewing courts, and practice notices, is not clear to all prospective participants. These reforms would provide clear markers to guide participants and the Board so that they can prepare and engage more efficiently in proceedings.

Clear mandate: The proposed amendments would formalize the de facto substantive mandate of the Board, which is to set ‘fair and equitable’ rates for uses of copyright-protected content. The proposed amendments would also introduce a procedural mandate for the Board to act as informally and expeditiously as the circumstances and considerations of fairness allow. This will promote a culture of efficiency at the Board and instill more discipline upon participants for the overall benefit of the entire process.

Clear criteria: The proposed amendments would require the Board to consider two criteria in its decisions: what would be agreed upon between a willing buyer and a willing seller in a competitive market, and the public interest. The Board would retain discretion to consider additional factors when appropriate. Establishing clear criteria would help participants to better present their cases and the Board to more clearly focus its decisions.

Empowered case management: Case management has been demonstrated to be a highly effective tool to advance contested proceedings in a flexible and efficient manner. The proposed amendments would establish a formal framework for case management by the Board. Case managers would have the authority to make orders of the Board to facilitate swift resolution of questions and issues. They would be able to work with the parties directly throughout the process to ensure that their arguments and evidence are relevant and focused.

Streamlined timelines

Delays in tariff setting are in large part structural and have impaired the efficiency of copyright markets in Canada. Users wait years to balance their books, and collectives cannot fully distribute royalties to their members until royalty rates are determined. Online music streaming services have cited long delays in the tariff-setting process and the resulting price uncertainty as a disincentive to entering the Canadian market, thereby reducing opportunities for Canadian creators and consumers. These reforms would provide the means for faster and more prospective proceedings.

Earlier filing, longer duration: The proposed amendments would require tariff proposals to be filed with the Board at least five and a half months earlier (i.e., October 15 instead of the following March 31) and be effective for a minimum of two years longer (i.e., three years instead of one).

Modernized publication: The proposed amendments would empower the Board to publish proposed tariffs by any means it sees fit rather than mandatorily in the Canada Gazette, as at present. This flexibility in publication could reduce the length of proceedings by a few months.

Shorter opposition period: The period for filing tariff objections would be reduced from the current 60-day period to 30 days to reduce statutory delays to the maximum extent feasible.

Decision-making deadlines: A new regulatory power would enable the Governor in Council to establish timelines or deadlines for any procedural step in a matter, such as the time the Board takes to render a decision after a hearing. Stakeholders would have the opportunity to comment on the proposed regulations before they are finalized.

Letting willing buyers and willing sellers agree

Collectives and users of communication and public performance rights for music currently have to go to the Board to establish royalty rates. Currently, the Copyright Act does not expressly allow these parties to negotiate directly. This is a significant obstacle for efficient rights management in the music industry. By allowing more direct agreements and withdrawal of proposed tariffs that are no longer required, these reforms would ensure that the Board is only adjudicating matters when needed, freeing resources for more complex and contested proceedings.

Agreements: The proposed amendments would allow direct negotiation between users and collectives for communication and public performance rights for music, just as the Copyright Act already allows for reproduction rights. These copyright owners would no longer need to seek the Minister’s approval to enforce rights outside of a tariff context.

Individual dispute settlement: All users and collectives empowered under the Copyright Act to enter into agreements, would be able to access the Board’s individual dispute settlement mechanism. For instance, if negotiations come to an impasse, either party would be able to ask the Board to set royalty rates between those parties. While those proceedings are underway, users are authorized to use the copyright-protected content, as long as they offer to pay the rates set by the Board.

Enforcement and remedies: To maintain the current balance with regards to remedies, existing statutory damages would continue to be available to collectives and their members in respect of communication and public performance for certain forms of music where the Board has set a fair rate. Otherwise, monetary remedies for these activities would be determined by courts.

Filing and review of agreements: The existing mechanisms which allow either party to file agreements with the Board and have them available for potential review would be extended to all music rights for which direct negotiation is possible.

Robust protection of the public interest

Consultations indicated that a lack of information and the potentially high cost of participating in Board processes was a barrier to some potential participants. In addition to clarifying and streamlining the procedural framework in which the Board operates, these reforms would clarify and ease the integration of public perspectives into the decision-making process.

Considering the public interest: Within the context of fair, equitable and expeditious decision-making, these reforms would formally establish the public interest as one of the criteria that the Copyright Board must consider in its decisions. This would ensure that the Board takes into account the broader impact of its decisions, including the impact on those who are not directly involved in a particular proceeding such as end consumers and the public at large.

Public participation: The Board plans to propose regulations that would formalize the ways for the public to be involved without having to incur the costs of full participation. Public consultations would allow stakeholders to provide feedback regarding the regulations.

Modernized website: Additional resources earmarked in Budget 2018 will enable the Board to revitalize its website to more clearly convey to Canadians information about their ongoing operations as well as proceedings. It will also allow Canadians and interested parties to subscribe to receive relevant information, such as rulings, when they want it.

Expected outcomes

All in all, the reforms seek to ensure that royalty rates are determined faster and with more certainty while continuing to protect the public interest. They seek to reduce litigation and transactions costs for users and creators alike, and allow royalties currently kept in reserve or on contingency to be put to more productive uses. Users would know the cost of royalties earlier, and collectives could more rapidly pass on those royalties to their members.

All Canadians benefit when Canada has a robust creative economy in which the creative and innovative sector can thrive. Canadians deserve timely access to diverse cultural content and to the kinds of services that are available world-wide. These reforms would eliminate barriers for businesses and services wishing to innovate or enter the Canadian market. They would also better position Canadian creators and cultural entrepreneurs to succeed so they can continue producing high-quality Canadian content.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Fiche d'information : Réforme de la Commission du droit d’auteur

De : Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

Les consultations effectuées par le gouvernement ont démontré un besoin urgent de réagir aux défis procéduraux et structurels auxquels la Commission du droit d’auteur (la Commission) est confrontée. La préoccupation principale est que les processus sont trop longs et que la Commission prend habituellement plusieurs années pour homologuer les tarifs.

Le gouvernement prend des mesures globales pour régler ces enjeux par l’entremise du budget de 2018, avec une augmentation de 30 pour cent des ressources financières de la Commission assortie de propositions législatives. Conjointement avec les nouvelles nominations à la Commission, ces mesures établiraient de nouvelles orientations pour la prise de décision.

Une Commission mieux outillée devrait faciliter le développement et la croissance des marchés qui s’appuient sur le droit d’auteur au Canada, tout en agissant comme un décideur quasi judiciaire, et autonome et spécialisé qui protège l’intérêt public.

Règles et processus clairs

Les consultations ont révélé que le cadre décisionnel actuel, qui comprend les pratiques évolutives de la Commission, ses jugements antérieurs, les décisions des tribunaux de contrôle et des énoncés de pratique, n’est pas clair pour tous les participants potentiels. Ces réformes fourniraient des balises précises pour guider les participants et la Commission.

Mandat clair : Les modifications proposées permettraient d’officialiser le mandat fondamental de facto de la Commission, qui est d’établir des taux « justes et équitables » pour l’utilisation d’œuvres protégées par le droit d’auteur. Les modifications proposées introduiraient aussi un mandat procédural pour que la Commission agisse de manière aussi informelle et rapide que les circonstances et les considérations d’équité le permettent. Ainsi, une culture d’efficacité sera encouragée à la Commission et inculquerait davantage de discipline aux participants, ce qui serait globalement avantageux pour l’ensemble du processus.

Critères précis : Dans le cadre des modifications proposées, la Commission aurait à tenir compte de deux critères dans ses décisions : ce qui aurait été accepté par un vendeur et un acheteur consentant dans un marché concurrentiel, et l’intérêt public. La Commission retiendrait le pouvoir discrétionnaire de prendre en compte des éléments additionnels au besoin. L’établissement de critères précis aiderait les participants à mieux présenter leurs dossiers et la Commission à orienter plus clairement ses décisions.

Faciliter la gestion d’instances : La gestion d’instances est manifestement un outil très efficace pour faire évoluer les procédures contestées de manière souple et efficace. Les modifications proposées permettraient à la Commission d’établir un cadre officiel de gestion d’instances. Les gestionnaires de dossiers auraient l’autorisation de rendre des ordonnances de la Commission pour faciliter la résolution rapide de questions et de problèmes. Ils pourraient travailler directement avec les parties tout au long du processus pour veiller à ce que leurs arguments et leurs preuves soient pertinents et ciblés.

Échéanciers rationalisés

Les délais dans la fixation des tarifs sont en grande partie structurels et ont nui à l’efficacité des marchés du droit d’auteur au Canada. Les utilisateurs attendent plusieurs années pour équilibrer leurs budgets, tandis que les sociétés de gestion ne sont pas en mesure de distribuer entièrement les redevances à leurs membres jusqu’à ce que les taux des redevances soient déterminés. Les services de transmission en continu de musique sur Internet ont souligné que les longs délais dans le processus d’établissement des tarifs et l’incertitude des prix qui en découle constituent un obstacle à l’entrée sur le marché canadien, réduisant ainsi les possibilités pour les créateurs et les consommateurs canadiens. Ces réformes permettraient d’accélérer et d’améliorer les procédures.

Dépôt plus tôt, durée plus longue : En raison des modifications proposées, les propositions tarifaires seraient déposées auprès de la Commission au moins cinq mois et demi plus tôt (c.-à-d. le 15 octobre, plutôt que le 31 mars suivant) et seraient en vigueur pour au moins deux ans de plus (c.-à-d. trois ans au lieu d’un).

Publication modernisée : Les modifications proposées habiliteraient la Commission à publier les propositions tarifaires par tout moyen qui lui semblerait approprié plutôt que de le faire obligatoirement dans la Gazette du Canada, comme c'est actuellement le cas. Cette souplesse pourrait réduire de quelques mois la longueur des procédures.

Période d’opposition plus courte : La période de dépôt des objections tarifaires serait réduite de la période actuelle de 60 jours à 30 jours pour réduire les délais statutaires dans toute la mesure du possible.

Délais dans la prise de décision : Un nouveau pouvoir réglementaire permettrait au gouverneur en conseil d’établir des délais ou échéances pour toute étape procédurale, comme le temps pris par la Commission pour prendre une décision suite à une audience. Les intervenants auraient la possibilité de commenter les règlements proposés avant qu’ils soient complétés.

Permettre aux vendeurs et aux acheteurs consentants de s’entendre

Les sociétés de gestion et les utilisateurs de droits de communication et d’exécution publique de la musique doivent passer par la Commission pour établir des redevances. À l’heure actuelle, la Loi sur le droit d’auteur ne permet pas explicitement à ces parties de négocier directement, ce qui constitue un obstacle important pour la gestion efficace des droits dans l’industrie de la musique. En permettant la conclusion d’ententes directes et le retrait de propositions tarifaires qui ne sont plus requises, ces réformes permettraient à la Commission de se prononcer seulement lorsque nécessaire, ce qui libérerait des ressources pour les procédures plus complexes et contestées.

Accords : Les modifications proposées permettraient aux utilisateurs et aux sociétés de gestion de négocier directement les droits de communication et d’exécution publique de la musique, comme la Loi sur le droit d’auteur le permet déjà pour les droits de reproduction. Ces titulaires n’auraient plus besoin de demander l’approbation du ministre pour faire respecter leurs droits à l’extérieur d’un contexte tarifaire.

Règlement de différends individuels : Tous les utilisateurs et les sociétés de gestion habilités en vertu de la Loi sur le droit d’auteur à conclure des accords pourraient avoir accès au mécanisme de règlement des différends individuels de la Commission. Par exemple, si les négociations en arrivaient à une impasse, chaque partie pourrait demander à la Commission d’établir des redevances entre ces parties. Pendant ces procédures, les utilisateurs auraient l’autorisation d’utiliser l’œuvre protégée par le droit d’auteur, à condition qu’ils offrent de payer les taux établis par la Commission.

Application et recours : Pour maintenir l’équilibre actuel en ce qui a trait aux recours, les dommages-intérêts préétablis existants continueraient d’être à la disposition des sociétés de gestion et de leurs membres relativement à la communication et à l’exécution publique de certaines formes de musique pour lesquelles la Commission a établi un taux équitable. Sinon, des recours monétaires pour ces activités seraient déterminés par les tribunaux.

Dépôt et examen des accords : Les mécanismes existants qui permettent à l’une ou à l’autre partie de déposer des accords auprès de la Commission seraient étendus à tous les droits sur la musique pour lesquels la négociation directe est possible.

Protection robuste de l’intérêt public

Les consultations ont permis de conclure qu’un manque d’information ainsi que le coût élevé potentiel d’une participation aux processus de la Commission sont des obstacles pour certains intervenants éventuels. En plus de clarifier et de rationaliser le cadre procédural dans lequel la Commission fonctionne, ces réformes clarifieraient et faciliteraient l’intégration des perspectives du public dans le processus de prise de décisions.

Prise en compte de l’intérêt public : Dans le contexte d’un processus décisionnel juste, équitable et rapide, ces réformes établiraient officiellement l’intérêt public comme l’un des critères dont la Commission du droit d’auteur doit tenir compte dans ses décisions. Ainsi, la Commission aurait à prendre en compte l’incidence plus générale de ses décisions, y compris l’incidence sur les personnes qui ne sont pas directement touchées par une procédure particulière, comme le consommateur final et le public.

Participation du public : La Commission entend proposer des règlements qui officialiseraient les moyens de participation du public sans avoir à subir les coûts d’une pleine participation. Des consultations publiques permettraient aux parties intéressées de fournir leurs commentaires sur ces règlements.

Site Web modernisé : Les ressources additionnelles réservées dans le budget de 2018 permettront à la Commission de revitaliser son site Web afin de mieux informer les Canadiens de ses activités et de ses procédures. Les Canadiens et les parties intéressées pourront s’abonner pour recevoir des renseignements pertinents, comme les décisions, quand ils le souhaitent.

Résultats escomptés

Globalement, les réformes visent une détermination plus rapide et plus prévisible des redevances, tout en continuant à protéger l’intérêt public. Elles cherchent à réduire les coûts de litiges et de transactions autant pour les utilisateurs que pour les créateurs, tout en permettant aux redevances tenues en réserve ou en prévision d’être utilisées de manière plus productive. Les utilisateurs pourraient connaître le coût des redevances plus rapidement, tandis que les sociétés de gestion pourraient transmettre ces redevances de manière accélérée à leurs membres.

Lorsque le Canada dispose d’une économie créative robuste dans laquelle le secteur créatif et innovant peut prospérer, tous les Canadiens en profitent. Les Canadiens méritent d’avoir un accès rapide à des œuvres culturelles diversifiées et aux types de services qui sont accessibles dans le monde entier. Ces réformes élimineraient les obstacles pour les entreprises et services qui souhaitent innover ou entrer dans le marché canadien. Les créateurs canadiens et les entrepreneurs culturels seraient mieux positionnés pour réussir et donc continuer à produire des œuvres canadiennes de haute qualité.

Date de modification :