Language selection

Search

Consultation on a Modern Copyright Framework for Online Intermediaries

Background

The dissemination and use of copyright-protected content on the Internet has expanded in recent years. Online intermediaries – the entities that facilitate access to such content – have also proliferated and diversified. In some cases, they now play more active roles in user activities involving copyright-protected content. These developments have increasingly brought into focus the liability and obligations of online intermediaries, which is an evolving area of law around the world. In Canada, questions have emerged regarding the extent to which the copyright framework for online intermediaries still achieves its underlying objectives, including protecting and encouraging the use of copyright-protected content online, safeguarding individual rights and freedoms in an open Internet and facilitating a flourishing digital market.

Consultation

The goal of this consultation is to help the Government ensure that Canada's copyright framework for online intermediaries reflects this evolving digital world. The Government welcomes all comments providing additional perspectives or evidence concerning these issues and potential options.

How to Participate

The paper for the consultation on a Modern Copyright Framework for Online Intermediaries is available online in both HTML and PDF format. This consultation ran from April 14 to May 31, 2021 and is now closed. Comments received are being processed and will be made available as soon as possible. They will help inform the Government's policy development process.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Consultation sur un cadre moderne du droit d’auteur pour les intermédiaires en ligne

Contexte

Ces dernières années, la diffusion et l'utilisation de contenus protégés par le droit d'auteur sur Internet ont pris de l'ampleur. Les intermédiaires en ligne, c'est-à-dire les entités qui facilitent l'accès à ces contenus, se sont également multipliés et diversifiés. Dans certains cas, ils jouent désormais un rôle plus actif dans les activités des utilisateurs qui impliquent du contenu protégé par le droit d'auteur. Cette situation a mis en lumière la responsabilité et les obligations des intermédiaires en ligne, un domaine du droit en pleine évolution dans le monde entier. Au Canada, des questions ont été soulevées quant à la mesure dans laquelle le cadre du droit d'auteur pour les intermédiaires en ligne atteint toujours ses objectifs sous-jacents, notamment de protéger le contenu en ligne protégé par le droit d'auteur et d'encourager son utilisation, de préserver les droits et libertés individuels dans un Internet ouvert, ainsi que de faciliter un marché numérique florissant.

Consultation

Cette consultation a pour but d'aider le gouvernement à s'assurer que le cadre canadien du droit d'auteur pour les intermédiaires en ligne reflète ce monde numérique en évolution. Le gouvernement accueillera favorablement tout commentaire apportant des perspectives ou des preuves supplémentaires concernant ces questions et les options possibles.

Comment participer

Le document consultation sur un cadre moderne du droit d'auteur pour les intermédiaires en ligne est disponible en format HTML et PDF. Cette consultation s'est déroulée du 14 avril au 31 mai 2021 et est maintenant terminée. Les commentaires reçus seront analysés et rendus publics aussitôt que possible. Ils contribueront à éclairer le processus d'élaboration des politiques du gouvernement.

Date de modification :