Language selection

Search

Consultation on a Modern Copyright Framework for Artificial Intelligence and the Internet of Things

From: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Background

Developments in artificial intelligence (AI) are raising questions as to whether the copyright framework can adequately address new situations. Examples of new situations include the use of copyrighted works as part of text and data mining to train and develop AI applications, and the use of AI to create, produce and distribute literary, musical and other kinds of works. At the same time, the increase in the number of software-enabled products and the growth of the Internet of things (IoT) is introducing its own set of new challenges to copyright law. The IoT highlights not only the importance of technological protection measures (TPMs) for rights holders, but also the barriers to consumers' ability to repair certain software-enabled products equipped with TPMs that prevent access to software. Challenges are also appearing in certain manufacturing industries, where small and medium enterprises are encountering increasing difficulties in developing interoperable products, in part because of the presence of TPMs.

Consultation

The goal of this consultation is to help the Government ensure that Canada's copyright framework for AI and the IoT reflects this evolving digital world. The Government welcomes all comments providing additional perspectives or evidence concerning these issues and potential approaches.

How to participate

The paper for the consultation on a modern copyright framework for artificial intelligence and the Internet of things is available online in both HTML and PDF format. This consultation ran from July 15 to September 17, 2021 and is now closed. Comments received are being processed and will be made available as soon as possible. They will help inform the Government's policy development process.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Consultation sur un cadre moderne du droit d’auteur pour l’intelligence artificielle et l’Internet des objets

De : Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

Contexte

Les avancées dans le développement de l'intelligence artificielle (IA) soulèvent des questions quant à savoir si le cadre du droit d'auteur peut répondre adéquatement à de nouvelles situations. Parmi les nouvelles situations qui surviennent, mentionnons l'utilisation d'œuvres protégées par le droit d'auteur dans le cadre de la fouille de textes et de données (FTD) pour former et développer des applications d'IA, et l'utilisation de l'IA pour créer, produire et distribuer des œuvres littéraires, musicales et autres. En même temps, l'augmentation du nombre de produits avec logiciels intégrés et la croissance de l'Internet des objets (IdO) créent leur propre ensemble de nouveaux défis dans la législation sur le droit d'auteur. L'IdO met en évidence non seulement l'importance des mesures techniques de protection (MTP) pour les titulaires de droits, mais aussi les obstacles qui empêchent les consommateurs de réparer certains produits avec logiciels équipés de MTP qui empêchent l'accès au logiciel. Des pressions apparaissent également dans certaines industries manufacturières, où les petites et moyennes entreprises éprouvent de plus en plus de difficultés à développer des produits interopérables, en partie en raison de la présence de MTP.

Consultation

Le but de cette consultation est d'aider le gouvernement à s'assurer que le cadre du droit d'auteur du Canada pour l'IA et l'IdO reflète cette réalité numérique en évolution. Le gouvernement invite tous les commentaires qui fournissent des points de vue ou des preuves supplémentaires concernant ces questions et les approches possibles à examiner.

Comment participer

Le document de consultation sur un cadre moderne du droit d'auteur pour l'intelligence artificielle et l'Internet des objets est disponible en ligne en formats HTML et PDF. Cette consultation s'est déroulée du 15 juillet au 17 septembre 2021 et est maintenant terminée. Les commentaires reçus seront analysés et rendus publics aussitôt que possible. Ils contribueront à éclairer le processus d'élaboration des politiques du gouvernement.

Date de modification :