Language selection

Search

Minister's Message

"The government will do its part to enable the success of important sectors, including automotive, aerospace and other manufacturing, as well as agriculture and other resource-based industries."

Speech from the Throne, October 5, 2004

"As we well know, [in the aerospace sector] Canada is among the best in the world and it is the government's intention to maintain the structures and policies that will see it continue."

Prime Minister Paul Martin, House of Commons, November 18, 2004

Canadians' prospects for the future are based on our collective ability to be competitive in a global economy. Canada currently enjoys strong economic fundamentals after having reversed its fiscal fortunes and improved its business environment. Canada has had eight consecutive years of budgetary surplus and has the lowest ratio of government debt to gross domestic product among G7 member countries. Its strong fiscal position has led to lower interest rates and taxes, while at the same time enabling increasing investments in key social and economic priorities such as education, infrastructure, health care, and science and technology.

Translating these advantages into well-paying jobs for Canadians is the goal of industrial policy. Enhancing individual industries' competitiveness is essential for sustaining strong economic performance and improving quality of life in the future.

As one of Canada's key high technology sectors, the aerospace and defence industry is an important sector in the Canadian economy. It has achieved a remarkable level of success in international markets, with Canadian aerospace and defence products well recognized around the world. The industry provides Canadians with highly skilled jobs and it is an engine of technology development. A strong aerospace and defence sector will contribute to the knowledge-based economy of the future.

The future will include many new challenges and opportunities for the Canadian aerospace and defence industry. To ensure that Canada addresses these challenges and seizes these opportunities, all stakeholders in the industry must take concerted action now. Securing the future health and growth of the aerospace and defence sector requires a strategic framework that anticipates emerging challenges and opportunities while implementing coordinated measures that position the industry to respond in a timely and effective manner.

The government has worked closely with aerospace and defence industry stakeholders to develop a National Aerospace and Defence Strategic Framework. The Canadian Aerospace Partnership provided a key forum for stakeholder discussion as well as consensus on many of the issues facing the industry and directions for moving forward. The Framework sets out Canada's position in the evolving global industry, a vision and objectives, and the strategic areas requiring attention by all industry stakeholders.

The Framework will provide the basis for the continuing development of federal aerospace and defence industrial policy. It provides the foundation for continued collaboration between industry stakeholders to maintain Canada's role as a leading player in the global aerospace and defence industry. We will continue to refine and deepen our efforts. This document is a milestone for the Canadian aerospace and defence industry, and will play a prominent role as we move forward.

The Honourable David L. Emerson
Minister of Industry

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Message du Ministre

« Le gouvernement fera sa part pour contribuer au succès de secteurs importants comme l'automobile, l'aérospatiale et les autres secteurs liés à la fabrication, ainsi que l'agriculture et les industries axées sur les ressources naturelles. »

Discours du Trône, le 5 octobre 2004

« On sait fort bien que c'est un domaine [l'aérospatiale] dans lequel le Canada se classe parmi les meilleurs au monde, et c'est l'intention du gouvernement d'avoir en place les structures et les politiques pour que cela puisse continuer. »

Premier ministre Paul Martin, Chambre des communes, le 18 novembre 2004

Les Canadiens et les Canadiennes envisagent l'avenir à la lumière de notre potentiel compétitif à l'heure de la mondialisation. Présentement, le Canada bénéficie d'assises économiques robustes après avoir effacé ses déboires fiscaux et amélioré le climat des affaires. Il vient d'afficher son huitième surplus budgétaire consécutif et, parmi les pays membres du G-7, possède le plus bas ratio de la dette au produit intérieur brut. Sa situation fiscale solide a mené à une baisse des taux d'intérêt et des taxes, tout en favorisant la croissance des investissements dans des domaines sociaux et économiques prioritaires, tels que l'éducation, les infrastructures, les soins de santé, ainsi que les sciences et la technologie.

L'objectif de la politique industrielle est de voir à ce que ces avantages produisent des emplois bien rémunérés au Canada. Il est essentiel de renforcer la compétitivité d'industries spécifiques pour conserver une performance économique forte et améliorer la qualité de vie de demain.

En sa qualité de secteur clé de la haute technologie au Canada, l'industrie de l'aérospatiale et de la défense est un volet important de l'économie canadienne. Elle a connu un degré de réussite remarquable sur les marchés internationaux, et ses produits sont bien cotés à l'international. Elle offre des emplois hautement qualifiés et est devenue un moteur du développement de la technologie. Un secteur de l'aérospatiale et de la défense solide contribuera à l'économie de demain basée sur le savoir.

L'avenir réserve de nombreux défis et possibilités d'un nouvel ordre à l'industrie de l'aérospatiale et de la défense. Afin que le Canada puisse relever ces défis et saisir ces possibilités, tous les intervenants de l'industrie doivent agir avec concertation, dès maintenant. Pour bien asseoir la santé et la croissance du secteur de l'aérospatiale et de la défense, il faut disposer d'un cadre stratégique qui permet de prévoir les défis et les possibilités tout en mettant en œuvre des mesures coordonnées pour que l'industrie réagisse d'une façon opportune et efficace.

Le gouvernement a travaillé étroitement avec les intervenants de l'aérospatiale et de la défense à l'élaboration du Cadre stratégique national pour le secteur de l'aérospatiale et de la défense. Le Partenariat canadien pour l'aérospatiale s'est avéré un forum crucial pour orienter les discussions et obtenir le consensus des intervenants sur les enjeux auxquels l'industrie fait face et les chemins à emprunter. Le présent Cadre stratégique précise la position du Canada au sein d'une industrie mondiale en constante évolution, une vision et des objectifs, ainsi que les domaines stratégiques auxquels tous les intervenants doivent s'intéresser.

Le Cadre stratégique servira de base à l'adaptation continue de la politique industrielle sur l'aérospatiale et de défense. Il présente les assises voulues pour maintenir la collaboration entre les intervenants de l'industrie afin que le Canada puisse conserver son rôle de membre clé de l'industrie mondiale de l'aérospatiale et de la défense. Nous continuerons à cibler et à intensifier nos efforts. Le présent document constitue en jalon pour le secteur canadien de l'aérospatiale et de la défense et jouera un rôle important dans notre progression.

Le ministre de l'Industrie,
L'honorable David L. Emerson

Date de modification :