Space Advisory Board (SAB) Roundtable on Canada's Future in Space

April 28, 2017—Halifax

Hosted by: Jim Drummond and Gordon Osinski

Areas of Focus

  1. Grow Canada's Space Sector;
  2. Innovate and Explore Space;
  3. Strengthen long-term International Partnerships;
  4. Inspire the Next Generation;
  5. Contribute to our Understanding of the Earth;
  6. Improve Quality of Life for Canadians; and,
  7. Ensure a Safe and Secure Nation.

Highlights

Canada has key capabilities in Earth observation, and has developed leading edge technologies that can be used to address national priorities and global challenges, and to spur innovation. Canada has an opportunity to promote the growth of the space sector with open data policies (e. g., for Canada's RADARSAT) that would further enable the development of new applications and services, as many other countries have done in making publicly funded earth observation data accessible.  

Canada, as an Arctic and maritime nation with vast territory, can use space technologies, applications and services to grow the sector and to improve quality of life (e. g. , for emergency response, telecommunication in remote areas, coastal monitoring and navigation, forest fire surveillance, ice monitoring, sustainable mining and forestry development, and climate change).

There is considerable optimism and excitement regarding plans for a spaceport in the Province of Nova Scotia. Developing Canadian launch capabilities may provide new opportunities for economic and regional development (e. g. , jobs creation, skills and talent hub); increased access to space to deploy technologies in space; and public interest and support for the Canadian space program.

It was suggested that a focus in Canada's space strategy should be on inspiring the next generation, as well as the current generation. The objective to 'grow the space sector' is integrally linked to the second objective on 'quality of life' and the related goals.   Inspiring the next generation is a continuous process that begins young, and that ends with a job in their field. There is presently a perceived gap in the space sector and other high tech fields as talent and innovations continue to leave due to lack of opportunities in Canada.

Anticipation of opportunities — particularly international opportunities — and continuity of objectives (and funding processes) are keys to long term development of the sector.

Key Implementation Considerations/Challenges

Data policy: Free and open access to space data will help SMEs to scale up, and support development and innovation in new applications and services. Stakeholders await decisions on access to data from Canada's RADARSAT Constellation Mission (RCM) that will provide satellite imagery on Canada's territory and the world's surface. Availability of existing RADARSAT data and archive data was also identified as valuable for research.

Digital skills and infrastructure: As big data including Earth observation data becomes readily available, Canadians need to have the digital skills to analyze the information. Digital infrastructure to enable open access to space-related data sets may also need to be considered.

Space-related priorities: Government was advised to identify strategic priorities that will provide direction to industry and academia to plan and make decisions. A long-term space plan may help to grow the sector and address global challenges by establishing mandated activities/priorities for government, academia and the private sector to chart together. Reference was made to the approach used for shipbuilding (the National Shipbuilding Strategy) as a model to consider, particularly the long-term strategic development aspect.

Canada First: The principle of the Space Policy Framework, "Canadian interests first,” resonated with many participants as an important objective to maintain going forward.

International competition: Aligned with existing trade agreements, Canada may wish to pursue industrial policies and procurement models to support Canadian integration with global value chains and a strong domestic industry. A balanced approach is important; foreign competitors subsidized by other jurisdictions may limit the long-term sustainability of SMEs, while protectionist policies can hinder the ability of domestic firms to compete internationally in export markets.

Government procurement: As markets are opened to foreign competition through trade agreements such as the recent Canada — EU trade agreement (CETA), Industrial and Technological Benefits policy, Canadian content and Value Proposition requirements may safeguard scale-up and growth of Canadian firms/SMEs.

International contracts: Canadian firms need to have support from the Canadian government to bid on other government contracts and/or opportunities; this support can also take the form of coaching and mentoring as it can be challenging to leverage opportunities with other international governments/space agencies (such as ESA, NASA).

Inclusive growth: Programming, similar to the US Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) and US Small Business Technology Transfer (STTR) set-aside programs, may be models to advance innovative ideas with small businesses, academia, and minority groups through a phased approach to commercialization. Cooperative research between small business and universities under the STTR program also supports STEM development.

Outreach and awareness: Government outreach may raise the profile of existing opportunities available to the space sector. Stakeholders —  such as academia, companies, and associations — need to engage locally to promote their work, to help build the global brand of the Canadian space program and to inspire a talented workforce. The inclusion of STEM related activities by the Canadian Space Agency as a requirement in competitive processes (i. e. , Requests for Proposals), was lauded and encouraged.

Intellectual property: Intellectual property (IP) has the potential to enhance export opportunities, and innovation. IP could be made more widely available (e. g. , disseminate information on hardware solutions for other entities to sell and/or commercialize for spin off applications); or, incentives could be established to encourage investment and commercialization (making IP available after a certain amount of time has expired, 5 years or upon first right of refusal). Difficulties were acknowledged relating to the interests in the treatment of IP in contracting and research and development.

Public Communications:  Both educational information and entertaining content is important for captivating the public's attention and in particular youth. Innovative technologies can be equally inspiring as astronauts, and showcasing innovative space technologies is one way to spur interest in the space sciences. Enabling industry and academia to "get the word" out, particularly by younger members of the community, is important.

Emerging capabilities: Canada's future deep space activities could consider micro-systems and nanotechnologies (to reduce payload for space manufacturing) and habitats (for living outside low-earth orbit). Cross — disciplinary areas (systems development and data analysis) may have significant spin-off applications.

Top Ideas / Outcomes

Open data: To advance economic interests and societal benefits, space-related information/data should be available for the public through open data; this includes consideration of both historical data (past RADARSAT), and imagery that might be available in the future through the Government's RADARSAT Constellation Mission.

Modernize legislation: Canadian legislation and regulations need to be adapted to promote innovation and technology development. It was noted that GPS would not have been imaginable under the restrictions of the Remote Sensing Space Systems Act (RSSSA). For the proposed spaceport in Nova Scotia, there are a number of regulatory hurdles that must be overcome.

Encouraging effective collaboration and partnerships: Government, industry and academia can work together to create jobs and grow the space sector through specific initiatives and planning, similar to the experience of the National Shipbuilding Strategy. Outside of directly funding projects, the CSA can play a role to help bring stakeholders together and connect ideas to the marketplace. The Canadian Space Agency (CSA) may wish to actively work with industry/academia to encourage the formation of consortia to bid on international opportunities (e. g. , under ESA or NASA programs). Existing Government of Canada programs and/or contracts could also be structured to require consortia bidding.

Launch capabilities: Developing  launch capability in Canada may be an area for high growth that would establish anchor tenancy in the space sector and serve as a springboard for other priorities (such as Canada's Cubesat program). The satellite industry is a growing global market, and there is a level high demand from partners for launch services.

Continuity and stability: Enduring policy objectives, and stable funding levels for core activities (flagship missions), and to respond to emerging capabilities (mid-level, small missions) on an ongoing basis is important. It may be helpful to understand government decision-making processes and level of ambition (to be world leaders, or makers of small widgets). It was noted that big programs and or large contributions to other space agency programs help to attract and develop talent.

Participants

  • Bradley Farquhar—Space Generation Advisory Council
  • Carl Kumpic of IMP  Aerospace and Defence
  • Desmond Power—C-CORE
  • Duncan McSporran — Consortium for Aerospace Research and Innovation in Canada 
  • Harvey Doane—Nova Scotia Business Inc.
  • Howard Moyst—AIME Consulting Inc.
  • Jeff Burlock—Xplornet Communication Inc.
  • Luigi Gallo—St. Mary's University, Department of Astronomy and Physics 
  • Monique Arsenault, Nova Scotia Government
  • Penny Morrill—Memorial University of Newfoundland, Faculty of Sciences—Earth Sciences
  • Rich Billiard—Atlantic Alliance of Aerospace and Defense Associations
  • Rob Thacker—St. Mary's University, Department of Astronomy and Physics 
  • Stephen Matier —  Maritime Launch Services
Date modified:

Table ronde du Conseil consultatif sur l'espace sur l'avenir du Canada dans le domaine spatial

28 avril 2017 — Halifax

Hôtes du CCE : Jim Drummond et Gordon Osinski

Domaines d'intérêt

  1. Assurer la croissance du secteur spatial canadien;
  2. Innover et exploration de l'espace;
  3. Renforcement des partenariats internationaux à long terme;
  4. Inspirer la prochaine génération;
  5. Contribuer à notre compréhension de la Terre;
  6. Améliorer la qualité de vie des Canadiens et
  7. Assurer une nation sûre et sécuritaire.

Faits saillants

Le Canada possède des capacités importantes en observation de la Terre et a développé des technologies d'avant-garde pouvant servir à traiter les priorités nationales, à surmonter les difficultés mondiales et à stimuler l'innovation. Le Canada a la possibilité de favoriser la croissance du secteur spatial à l'aide de politiques en matière de données ouvertes (p. ex. pour RADARSAT du Canada) qui permettraient davantage l'élaboration d'applications et de services, comme de nombreux pays l'ont fait en rendant accessibles les données d'observation de la Terre financées par l'État.   

Le Canada, en tant que pays arctique et maritime dont le territoire est vaste, peut utiliser les technologies, les applications et les services spatiaux pour faire croître le secteur spatial et améliorer la qualité de vie (p. ex. concernant les interventions d'urgence, les télécommunications dans les régions éloignées, la surveillance et la navigation des côtes, la surveillance des feux de forêt, la surveillance des glaces, l'exploitation minière et le développement forestier durables ainsi que les changements climatiques).

Un optimisme et un enthousiasme considérables se font ressentir à l'égard du projet concernant la creation d'un centre spatial en Nouvelle-Écosse. Le développementdes capacités canadiennes de lancement peut entraîner de nouvelles possibilités de développement économique et régional (p. ex. la création d'emplois et d'un centre de compétences et de talents), accroître l'accès à l'espace afin de mettre en œuvre des technologies dans l'espace ainsi que susciter l'intérêt et l'appui du public relativement au Programme spatial canadien.

Il a été suggéré que la Stratégie spatiale canadienne devrait être axée sur l'inspiration de la prochaine génération, de même que la génération actuelle. L'objectif consistant à « assurer la croissance du secteur spatial » est intimement lié au deuxième objectif portant sur la « qualité de vie » et ses buts connexes. L'inspiration de la prochaine génération est un processus continu qui commence auprès des jeunes et qui se termine par un emploi dans leur domaine. Il y a actuellement une lacune perçue dans le secteur spatial et d'autres domaines de technologie de pointe puisque les talents et les innovations continuent de quitter en raison du manque de possibilités au Canada.   

L'anticipation des opportunités, en particulier les opportunités internationales, et la continuité des objectifs (et des processus de financement) sont essentiels au développement du secteur à long terme.

Considérations et difficultés clés en matière de miseen œuvre   

Politique sur les données : La liberté d'accès aux données spatiales aidera les PME à prendre de l'expansion et favorisera le développement et l'innovation pour de nouvelles applications et de nouveaux services. Les intervenants attendent encore que des décisions soient prises quant à l'accès aux données de la Mission de la Constellation RADARSAT (MCR) du Canada qui fournira une imagerie satellitaire du territoire canadien et de la surface de la Terre. La disponibilité des données RADARSAT et des données archivées a été jugée utile pour la recherche. 

Infrastructure et compétences numériques : Puisque des données volumineuses comme les données d'observation de la Terre deviennent facilement accessibles, les Canadiens doivent posséder les compétences numériques nécessaires pour analyser ces renseignements. Il faudrait peut-être aussi envisager une infrastructure numérique visant à permettre une liberté d'accès aux ensembles de données spatiales.

Priorités liées à l'espace : On a conseillé au gouvernement de cerner les priorités stratégiques qui aideront l'industrie et le milieu universitaire à planifier et à prendre des décisions. Un plan spatial à long terme pourrait favoriser la croissance du secteur et aider à surmonter les difficultés mondiales en établissant des priorités/activités obligatoires que le gouvernement, le milieu universitaire et le secteur privé planifieraient ensemble. On fait référence à l'approche utilisée pour la construction navale (la Stratégie nationale d'approvisionnement en matière de construction navale) comme modèle à prendre en considération, en particulier l'aspect de développement stratégique à long terme.

Le Canada d'abord : Le principe du Cadre de la politique spatiale « Les intérêts canadiens d'abord » a interpellé de nombreux participants en tant qu'objectif important à conserver à l'avenir.

Concurrence internationale : En harmonie avec les accords commerciaux existants, le Canada voudra peut-être mettre en œuvre des politiques industrielles et des modèles d'approvisionnement afin d'appuyer son intégration aux chaînes de valeur mondiales ainsi qu'une industrie nationale solide. Une approche équilibrée est importante, car les concurrents étrangers qui sont subventionnés par d'autres administrations peuvent restreindre la durabilité à long terme des PME, alors que les politiques protectionnistes peuvent nuire à la capacité des entreprises nationales d'entrer en concurrence internationale sur les marchés d'exportation.    

Marchés publics : Tandis que les marchés sont ouvertsà la concurrence étrangère par l'entremise d'accords commerciaux tels que lerécent accord économique et commercial global (AECG) entre le Canada et l'Unioneuropéenne, les exigences liées à la Politique des retombées industrielles ettechnologiques, au contenu canadien et à la proposition de valeur peuvent protégerl'expansion et la croissance des sociétés et des PME canadiennes.

Contrats internationaux : Les entreprises canadiennes ont besoin du soutien du gouvernement du Canada pour soumissionner sur des contrats/marchés de d'autres gouvernements. Ce soutien peut prendre la forme d'un encadrement et de mentorat, car il peut être difficile de profiter des possibilités offertes par les gouvernements étrangers et les agences spatiales internationales (comme l'ESA et la NASA).

Croissance inclusive : Des programmes semblables aux programmes réservés tels que le ‘Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR)' et ‘Small Business Technology Transfer (STTR)' des États-Unis pourraient servir de modèles pour faire avancer des idées novatrices au sein des petites entreprises, du milieu universitaire et des groupes minoritaires grâce à une approche progressive en matière de commercialisation. La recherche coopérative entre les petites entreprises et les universités dans le cadre du programme STTR soutient également le développement du STIM.

Rayonnement et sensibilisation : Le rayonnement du gouvernement peut accroître la visibilité des possibilités existantes qui s'offrent au secteur spatial. Les intervenants – tels que les représentants du milieu universitaire, d'entreprises et d'associations – doivent s'engager à l'échelle locale à promouvoir leur travail, à contribuer à la création de la marque mondiale du Programme spatial canadien et à inspirer une main-d'œuvre talentueuse. L'inclusion d'activités dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie, de l'ingénierie et des mathématiques par l'Agence spatiale canadienne à titre d'exigence dans les processus concurrentiels (p. ex. les demandes de propositions) a été louangée et encouragée.

Propriété intellectuelle : La propriété intellectuelle (PI) pourrait améliorer les possibilités d'exportation et l'innovation. Son accessibilité pourrait être accrue (p. ex. en diffusant de l'information sur les solutions matérielles pour que d'autres entités puissent vendre et/ou commercialiser des applications dérivées), ou encore des mesures incitatives pourraient être mises en place pour encourager l'investissement et la commercialisation (rendre la PI accessible après qu'un certain temps s'est écoulé, soit 5 ans ou au droit de premier refus). Des difficultés ont été signalées concernant les intérêts dans le traitement de la PI liée aux marchés et à la recherche et au développement.

Communications publiques : Les renseignements éducatifs et le contenu divertissant sont importants pour captiver l'attention du public et, plus particulièrement, des jeunes. Les technologies novatrices peuvent être tout aussi inspirantes que les  astronautes, et la présentation de technologies spatiales novatrices est une façon de stimuler l'intérêt envers les sciences spatiales. Il est important de permettre à l'industrie et aux milieux universitaires de « faire passer le mot », en particulier par les jeunes membres de la communauté.  

Capacités émergentes : Les futures activités du Canada liées à l'espace lointain pourraient tenir compte de microsystèmes et de nanotechnologies (pour réduire la charge utile de la fabrication spatiale), de même que d'habitats (pour habiter au-delà de l'orbite basse terrestre). Les domaines multidisciplinaires (développement de systèmes et analyse de données) peuvent avoir des applications dérivées importantes.

Principales idées et réalisations

Données ouvertes : Pour servir les intérêts économiques et augmenter les retombées sociétales, les renseignements/données sur l'espace devraient être à la disposition du public grâce à des données ouvertes, ce qui implique la prise en considération de données historiques et d'images pouvant être disponibles à l'avenir par l'entremise de la Mission de la Constellation RADARSAT (MCR) du gouvernement.

Modernisation de la législation : Les lois et les règlements canadiens doivent être adaptés pour favoriser l'innovation et le développement technologique. Il a été noté qu'il n'aurait pas été possible d'imaginer le système de localisation GPS sous le régime de la Loi sur les systèmes de télédétection spatiale (LSTS). Pour le centre spatial proposé en Nouvelle-Écosse, un certain nombre d'obstacles réglementaires doivent être surmontés.

Encourager la collaboration efficace et lespartenariats : Le gouvernement, l'industrie et le milieu universitaire peuvent collaborer pour créer des emplois et assurer la croissance du secteur spatial au moyen d'initiatives précises et de planification, similaire à l'expérience de la Stratégie nationale d'approvisionnement en matière de construction navale. En dehors des projets de financement direct, les CSA peuvent jouer un rôle pour rassembler les acteurs et relier les idées au marché. L'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) pourrait vouloir collaborer activement avec l'industrie/le milieu universitaire afin d'encourager la création de consortiums pour soumissionner sur des opportunités internationales (p. ex. dans le cadre des programmes de l'ESA ou de la NASA). De plus, les programmes et les contrats existants du gouvernement du Canada pourraient être structurés de façon à nécessiter que des consortiums présentent des soumissions.

Capacités de lancement : Le développement de la capacité de lancement au Canada peut être un domaine de croissance élevée qui établirait une location d'attache dans le secteur spatial et servirait de tremplin pour d'autres priorités (telles que le programme CubeSat du Canada). L'industrie du satellite est un marché mondial en expansion et il y a une demande élevée de la part des partenaires à l'égard des services de lancement.

Continuité et stabilité : Il est important de tolérer les objectifs des politiques et les niveaux de financement stables des activités de base (missions phares) ainsi que de répondre aux capacités émergentes (petites missions de niveau intermédiaire) de façon continue. Il peut être utile de comprendre les processus décisionnels et le niveau d'ambition du gouvernement (devenir un dirigeant mondial ou un fabricant de petits gadgets logiciels). Il a été noté que les gros programmes et les contributions importantes à des programmes de d'autres agences spatiales aident à attirer et à perfectionner des personnes de talent.

Participants

  • Bradley Farquhar — Space Generation Advisory Council
  • Carl Kumpic — IMP Aerospace and Defence
  • DesmondPower — C-CORE
  • DuncanMcSporran — Consortium en aérospatiale pour la recherche et l'innovation auCanada 
  • HarveyDoane — Entreprises Nouvelle-Écosse Inc.
  • Howard Moyst — AIME Consulting Inc.
  • JeffBurlock — Xplornet Communication Inc.
  • Luigi Gallo — Département d'astronomie et de physique de l'Université St. Mary's
  • MoniqueArsenault — Gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Écosse
  • Penny Morrill — Faculté des sciences — sciences de la Terre de l'Université Memorial deTerre-Neuve
  • Rich Billiard — Alliance des associations de l'aérospatiale et de la défense de l'Atlantique
  • Rob Thacker — Département d'astronomie et de physique de l'Université St. Mary's 
  • Stephen Matier — Maritime Launch Services
Date de modification :