Space Advisory Board

On October 17, 2016, the Government of Canada initiated plans to renew the Space Advisory Board, and the Department launched an open, merit-based application process for the selection of members. In November 2016, the Government of Canada announced plans to launch a Space Strategy by June, and that the Space Advisory Board would consult stakeholders to define key elements of this strategy.

The Honourable Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development, announced on April 18, 2017 the renewed board. These talented and diverse individuals from industry, the academic and research communities, and the not-for-profit sector have been appointed based on their significant knowledge of, and expertise in, the space sector.

The Board is chaired by Dr. Marie Lucy Stojak, Director of the School on Management of Creativity and Innovation at HEC Montréal. The members of the board are:

  • Dr. James Drummond, Professor, Dalhousie University
  • William MacDonald Evans, President, W. MacDonald Evans Consulting Inc.
  • Stéphane Germain, President and CEO, GHGSat Inc.
  • Dr. Douglas Hamilton, Clinical Associate Professor of Internal Medicine and Adjunct Professor of Electrical Engineering, University of Calgary
  • Kate Howells, Global Community Outreach Consultant, The Planetary Society
  • Michelle Mendes, Executive Director, Canadian Space Commerce Association
  • Dr. Gordon Osinski, Associate Professor, Western University and Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada Industrial Research Chair in Earth and Space Exploration
  • Michael Pley, President, Pley Consulting Inc. and Chair of the Aerospace Industries Association of Canada's Space Committee
  • Dr. Afzal Suleman, Canada Research Chair in Computational and Experimental Mechanics and Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering and Director of the Centre for Aerospace Research, University of Victoria
  • Christine Tovee, independent consultant

Complete biographies

The Space Advisory Board was renewed to advise the Government of Canada on long-term objectives for space and to engage with Canadians. This initiative is part of the Government’s Innovation and Skills Plan, a multi-year strategy to create well-paying jobs for the middle class.

Engagement activities

As a part of the Government's Innovation and Skills Plan, the Space Advisory Board has been engaging with Canadians to help support the development of a new vision for Canada's space sector and to define key elements of a space strategy. The Board's input will inform the strategy, which will focus on using space to drive broader economic growth and innovation, while inspiring the next generation of space scientists.

Consultation Paper for the Space Advisory Board: Driving Canada's Future in Space - HTML version or PDF version (1.6MB)

Roundtables

The Space Advisory Board conducted a series of roundtables by invitation only, to engage stakeholders on Canada's space sector. Summaries of each roundtable will be posted to this page as they become available.

On behalf of the Space Advisory Board, we thank you for participating in the roundtable events and for sharing your ideas.

A Report on Consultations

The Space Advisory Board’s report, titled Consultations on Canada’s Future in Space: What We Heard summarizes the feedback board members received from stakeholders during the public consultations.

Interested in providing input?

We invited Canadians to contribute their views and to participate in the consultation process, led by the Space Advisory Board. Both individuals and groups were encouraged to contribute their views. This initial consultation period is now closed. We thank you for your input.

The Government of Canada is committed to stakeholder engagement and wants to hear your views. If you would like to provide input to the Space Advisory Board on Canada’s future and long-term priorities for space, please send correspondence in electronic format to the following email address: ic.sab-cce.ic@canada.ca.

Date modified:

Comité consultatif de l’espace

Le 17 octobre 2016, le gouvernement du Canada a initié le renouvellement du Comité consultatif sur l'espace l et le Ministère a lancé un processus ouvert et fondé sur le mérite pour la sélection des membres. En novembre 2016, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé son intention de lancer une stratégie spatiale d'ici juin et que le conseil consultatif de l'espace consulterait les différents intervenants pour définir les éléments clés de cette stratégie.

Le ministre de l'Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique, l'honorable Navdeep Bains, a annoncé 18 avril 2017 le renouvellement du Comité. Ces personnes de talent et de divers horizons du milieu universitaire, de la communauté de recherche et d'organismes sans but lucratif ont été nommées en fonction de leurs grandes connaissances et de leur expertise dans le secteur de l'espace.

Le Comité est présidé par Marie Lucy Stojak, directrice de l'École en management de la créativité et de l'innovation à HEC Montréal. Il sera constitué des membres suivants :

  • James Drummond, professeur à l'Université Dalhousie;
  • William MacDonald Evans, président de W. MacDonald Evans Consulting Inc.;
  • Stéphane Germain, président et chef de la direction de GHGSat Inc.;
  • Douglas Hamilton, professeur agrégé de médecine interne et professeur adjoint de génie électrique à l'Université de Calgary;
  • Kate Howells, Consultante en sensibilisation communautaire globale, The Planetary Society
  • Michelle Mendes, directrice exécutive de l'Association canadienne du commerce spatial;
  • Gordon Osinski, professeur agrégé à l'Université Western et titulaire de la Chaire recherche industrielle en exploration terrestre et spatiale du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada;
  • Michael Pley, président de Pley Consulting Inc. et président du Comité exécutif du conseil d'administration de l'Association des industries aérospatiales du Canada;
  • Afzal Suleman, titulaire de la chaire de recherche du Canada en mécanique expérimentale et computationnelle et professeur au Département de génie mécanique et directeur du Centre de recherche aérospatiale de l'Université de Victoria;
  • Christine Tovee, consultante indépendante.

Biographies complètes

Le mandat du Comité consultatif de l’espace a été renouvelé afin de conseiller le gouvernement du Canada sur les objectifs à long terme pour l’espace et d’entrer en communication avec les Canadiens. Cette initiative fait partie du Plan pour l’innovation et les compétences du gouvernement : une stratégie pluriannuelle visant à créer des emplois bien rémunérés pour la classe moyenne.

Activités de sensibilisation

Dans le cadre du Plan pour l'innovation et les compétences du gouvernement, le Comité consultatif sur l'espace a fait appel à la population canadienne afin d’aider à élaborer une nouvelle vision du secteur canadien de l'espace et de définir les éléments clés d'une stratégie spatiale. Les recommandations du Comité serviront à la mise au point de la stratégie, qui consistera d'abord et avant tout à exploiter l'espace pour stimuler davantage la croissance économique et l'innovation, tout en servant de source d'inspiration pour la prochaine génération de scientifiques.

Document de consultation a l’intention sur Comite consultatif de l’espace : Propulser l'avenir du Canada dans l’espace - version HTML ou version PDF (1 600 ko)

Table ronde

Le Comité consultatif sur l'espace a organisé une série de tables rondes uniquement sur invitation, afin d'engager les intervenants sur le secteur spatial canadien. Les comptes rendus de chaque table ronde seront affichés sur cette page à mesure qu'ils seront disponibles.

Au nom du Comité consultatif sur l’espace, nous vous remercions d’avoir participé aux tables rondes et d’y avoir partagé vos idées.

Rapport sur les consultations

Le rapport du Comité consultatif de l’espace, intitulé Consultations sur l’avenir du Canada dans l’espace : Ce que nous avons entendu, résume les commentaires que les membres du Comité ont reçus durant les consultations publiques.

Intéressé à fournir des commentaires?

Nous avons invité les Canadiens à faire part de leurs points de vue et à participer au processus de consultation, dirigé par le Conseil consultatif de l'espace. Les individus et les groupes ont été encouragés à apporter leurs points de vue. Cette période initiale de consultation est maintenant fermée. Nous vous remercions de votre contribution.

Le gouvernement du Canada tient à mobiliser les parties prenantes et invite les Canadiens à donner leur avis. Si vous souhaitez faire part de vos commentaires au Comité consultatif sur l’avenir et les priorités à long terme du Canada pour l’espace, vous pouvez le faire en utilisant cette adresse électronique :ic.sab-cce.ic@canada.ca.

Date de modification :