Program details and criteria

The call for applications has closed. For newer funding for dynamic and emerging firms in high-growth sectors, visit the Strategic Innovation Fund.

PDF version

To obtain a copy of this publication or an alternative format (Braille, large print, etc.), please contact:

Industry Sector
Automotive and Transportation Industries Branch
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
Telephone: 343-291-3554
Fax: 343-291-2481
Email: Automotive Supplier Innovation Program

Release Note:
Published by Industry Canada, 2015.

Permission to reproduce:

Except as otherwise specifically noted, the information in this publication may be reproduced, in part or in whole and by any means, without charge or further permission from Industry Canada, provided that due diligence is exercised in ensuring the accuracy of the information reproduced; that Industry Canada is identified as the source institution; and that the reproduction is not represented as an official version of the information reproduced, nor as having been made in affiliation with, or with the endorsement of, Industry Canada.

For permission to reproduce the information in this publication for commercial purposes,
please contact:

Web Services Centre
Industry Canada
C.D. Howe Building
235 Queen Street
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
K1A 0H5

Telephone (toll-free in Canada): 1-800-328-6189
Telephone (Ottawa): 613-954-5031
Fax: 613-954-2340
TTY (for hearing-impaired): 1-866-694-8389
Business hours: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Eastern Time)
Email: ic.info-info.ic@canada.ca

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada,
represented by the Minister of Industry, 2015

Cat. No.: Iu44-99/2015E-PDF
ISBN: 978-0-660-2455-4

Aussi offert en français sous le titre Programme d'innovation pour les fournisseurs du secteur de l'automobile—Guide de Programme

Confidentiality:

The Applicant understands that the information provided may be accessible under the Access to Information Act ("ATIA"). No commercially confidential information which you submit to us will be disclosed unless otherwise authorized by you; required to be released by law (including ATIA); or required by the Minister of Industry to be released to an international or internal trade panel for the purposes of the conduct of a dispute in which Canada is a party or a third party intervener.

Information on the federal government's Access to Information Act is available on the following website:http://www.laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/A-1

Canada's automotive suppliers are essential to the success of the Canadian economy. As new manufacturers look to meet regulatory and consumer demands for fuel efficiency and vehicles with sophisticated technology, new opportunities are arising for suppliers that can compete to satisfy these demands. In order to create new jobs and stay competitive, companies must continue to develop cutting-edge products.

The Government of Canada will support automotive suppliers in developing ground-breaking, advanced products and processes. This support is essential to helping small and medium-sized businesses bring transformative ideas in their early stages to the marketplace. The Program will support activities such as prototype development, process engineering, and product testing.

What is the Automotive Supplier Innovation Program? (ASIP)

The Automotive Supplier Innovation Program (ASIP) is a five year, $100 million program that provides non-repayable contributions to support technology demonstration and prototyping activities of Canadian-based suppliers developing innovative products and/or processes in the automotive sector.

Who is eligible to apply?

Eligible recipients must be for-profit companies incorporated pursuant to the laws of Canada, carrying on business in Canada. The program funds innovative product or process development activities at the demonstration and/or prototyping stage targeted at the automotive sector in Canada. Priority for funding is given to small and medium-size enterprises (firms with either fewer than 500 employees globally OR global revenues of less than $1 billion). Larger firms are eligible, but must partner with at least one Canadian-based small and medium-sized enterprise. Each company is eligible to receive up to $10 million over the term of the Program. The Program will fund up to 50 percent of the total eligible costs of a project.

What is an eligible project?

ASIP's objectives are to contribute to automotive technology development and demonstration in Canada, foster the competitiveness of the Canadian automotive supply chain, encourage high-value, innovative development activities in the middle phases of the technology development continuum (technological readiness levels 4 through 7) which will position Canadian automotive suppliers, particularly small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), to develop the products of tomorrow, maintain high-skilled jobs, and support the Government's environmental, and science and technology agendas.

This Program is designed to support projects in the middle stages of innovation between early-stage basic research and pre-commercial development. Eligible activities will include prototype development, product and process engineering, and pre-commercial product and process testing and validation, for projects that would not proceed without federal funding.

Applicants and projects must first meet the objectives of the Program. Assuming that they do, eligible projects could include innovative product and/or process development activities in the middle stages of the innovative spectrum (defined as Technology Readiness Levels (TRL) 4 through 7). See Annex 1 for an explanation of the Technology Readiness Levels. Eligible project costs include direct labour, materials, equipment, overhead, and other costs directly related to the project. ASIP may cover up to half (50%) of the eligible project costs. Recipients will be expected to match ASIP's contribution through their own sources of funding.

What are the application and approval processes?

To be considered applicants must submit a project proposal with supporting documentation that demonstrates how the company and the project meet the eligibility and assessment criteria.

The ASIP Applicant Proposal Guide can be found atwww.Canada.ca/Automotive-Supplier-Innovation-Program for more information on assessment criteria and how to apply.

Proposals can be submitted at any time. Applicants are invited to contact Industry Canada where ASIP staff is available to provide advice with preparing project proposals.

Eligible projects considered for funding under the Program will be subject to a due diligence process that will examine the feasibility of the proposed project and the eligible recipient's ability to deliver on the proposed benefits. Due diligence will be conducted by Industry Canada with support from experts within other government organizations, and external experts. Program funding is subject to the approval of the Minister of Industry Canada. Upon the Minister's approval, a contribution agreement will be signed between Industry Canada and the applicant. The Program is designed to provide quick decisions, and is intended to provide funding decisions within 6 – 8 weeks from the date of a complete application.

What are the evaluation criteria?

Proposals will be assessed against the objectives of the Program. Please explain the applicability of your Project to the following criteria:

  1. Innovation:
    • Originality of the proposed research and positioning with respect to industry technology directions;
    • Evidence that the project falls within the appropriate stage of technology readiness (TRL level 4-7);
    • Degree of alignment with demonstrated clusters of associated expertise; areas of Canadian R&D strength;
    • Opportunities for collaboration in the supply chain or with Canadian universities and/or research institutions.
  2. Market Relevance:
    • Degree to which the project is well aligned with the projected needs of the industry;
    • Evidence that the technology, or its application, is likely to provide products and/or processes that are new (or substantially enhanced) to the industry;
    • Credibility of the product or process development plan leading to eventual commercialization.
  3. Economic Benefits:
    • Evidence that the project would not proceed without federal funding;
    • Potential for the proposed technology to create economic advantages for Canada (e.g. jobs, skills, R&D)
    • Potential for the project to provide opportunities for spillover benefits, such as increased R&D investment within Canada's automotive supply sector;
    • Potential for the innovation to provide opportunities for suppliers to enhance their integration into global supply chains;
    • Potential for the new technology to be used/manufactured in Canada.
  4. Environmental Benefits:
    • Expected environmental advantages/benefits.
  5. Science and Technology Benefits:
  6. Capability of Applicant/Recipient to achieve stated objectives:
    • Financial resources, management expertise and technical team's experience and expertise to conduct activities.

*May include other criteria that the Minister deems relevant for consideration of a proposal

What are the reporting requirements during and after the project?

Payments will be reimbursed against project claims (receipts). Recipients will be required to submit project reports to the Minister with their project claims. After projects are completed, recipients will be required to provide final reports on the overall project(s) objectives and results, as well as post-project reporting in subsequent years to demonstrate the longer-term benefits realized since the completion of the project(s).

For information on how to apply, please visit www.ic.gc.ca/asip

ASIP Contact Information:

Automotive and Transportation Industries Branch
235 Queen Street, 7th Floor
Ottawa ON K1A 0H5
Telephone: 343-291-3554
TTY: 1-866-694-8389
Fax: 343-291-2481
Email: Automotive Supplier Innovation Program
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
Website: Automotive Supplier Innovation Program

Annex 1–Technology Readiness Level (TRL) are a measure to evaluate the maturity of an evolving Innovation
Technology Readiness Level Description
* Build in Canada Innovation Program (BCIP)
Level 1: Basic principles of concept are observed and reported At this level scientific research begins to translated into applied research and development. Activities might include paper studies of a technology's basic properties.
Level 2: Technology concept and/or application formulated At this level invention begins. Once the basic principles are observed, practical applications can be invented. Activities are limited to analytical studies.
Level 3: Analytical and experimental critical function and/or proof of concept At this level active research and development is initiated. Activities might include components that are not yet integrated or representative.
Level 4: Component and/or validation in a laboratory environment At this level basic technological components are integrated to establish that they will work together. Activities include integration of "ad hoc" hardware in the laboratory.
Level 5: Component and/or validation in a simulated environment At this level the basic technological components are integrated for testing in a simulated environment. Activities include laboratory integration of components.
Level 6: System/subsystem model or prototype demonstration in a simulated environment At this level a model or prototype is developed that represents a near desired configuration. Activities include testing in a simulated operational environment or laboratory.
Level 7: Prototype ready for demonstration in an appropriate operational environment At this level the prototype should be at planned operational level and is ready for demonstration of an actual prototype in an operational environment. Activities include prototype field testing.
Level 8: Actual technology completed and qualified through tests and demonstrations At this level the technology has been proven to work in its final form and under expected conditions. Activities include developmental testing and evaluation of whether it will meet operational requirements.
Level 9: Actual technology proven through successful deployment in an operational setting At this level there is actual application of the technology in its final form and under real-life conditions, such as those encountered in operational test and evaluations. Activities include using the innovation under operational conditions.
Date modified:

Archivé — Détails et critères du programme

L'appel de demandes est maintenant terminé. Pour du financement plus récent pour les entreprises dynamiques et émergentes dans les secteurs à forte croissance, consultez le Fonds stratégique pour l'innovation.

Pour obtenir une copie de cette publication sur support substitut (braille, gros caractères, etc.), veuillez communiquer avec la Direction générale des industries de l'automobile et des transports :

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada
Téléphone : 343-291-3554
Télécopieur : 343-291-2481
Courriel : Fonds d'innovation pour le secteur de l'automobile

Autorisation de reproduction

Sauf indication contraire, l'information dans cette publication peut être reproduite, en partie ou en entier, par n'importe quel moyen, gratuitement et sans autre permission d'Industrie Canada, pourvu que toutes les précautions raisonnables soient prises pour assurer l'exactitude de l'information reproduite; qu'Industrie Canada soit désigné comme l'établissement source; et que la reproduction ne soit pas présentée comme la version officielle de l'information reproduite, ni comme ayant été établie de concert, ou avec l'approbation, d'Industrie Canada.

Pour obtenir la permission de reproduire l'information contenue dans cette publication à des fins commerciales, veuillez communiquer avec le :

Centre de services Web
Industrie Canada
Édifice C.D. Howe
235, rue Queen
Ottawa (Ontario)
Canada
K1A 0H5

Téléphone (sans frais au Canada) : 1-800-328-6189
Téléphone (Ottawa) : 613-954-5031
Télécopieur : 613-954-2340
ATS (pour les malentendants) : 1-866-694-8389
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 à 17 h (heure de l'Est)
Courriel : ic.info-info.ic@canada.ca

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, Représentée par le ministre de l'Industrie, 2015

No de catalogue : Iu44-99/2015F-PDF
ISBN : 978-0-660-02457-8

Aussi offert en français sous le titre Automotive Supplier Innovation Program  — Program Details and Criteria

Confidentialité

Le demandeur comprend que les renseignements fournis peuvent être accessibles aux termes de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information (LAI). Aucun des renseignements commerciaux confidentiels que vous nous soumettrez ne sera divulgué sans votre autorisation, à moins que la loi (y compris la LAI) ne nous y oblige ou que le ministre de l'Industrie ne nous donne l'ordre de les transmettre à un groupe d'experts commerciaux international ou interne, dans le but de régler un litige dans lequel le Canada est une partie ou un tiers intervenant.

Vous trouverez des renseignements sur la Loi sur l'accès à l'information du gouvernement fédéral à l'adresse suivante : http://www.laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/fra/lois/A-1/

Les fournisseurs du secteur canadien de l'automobile sont essentiels au succès de l'économie canadienne. Comme les fabricants veulent rencontrer de nouvelles réglementations et demandes du consommateur visant un meilleur rendement de carburant et une technologie sophistiquée, de nouvelles occasions se présentent aux fournisseurs. Afin de créer des emplois et de demeurer compétitives, les entreprises doivent continuer à mettre au point des produits à la fine pointe de la technologie.

Le gouvernement du Canada appuiera les fournisseurs du secteur de l'automobile dans la mise au point de produits et processus avancés et révolutionnaires. Ce soutien permettra aux petites et moyennes entreprises d'accélérer la commercialisation de leurs idées transformatrices. Les activités admissibles au programme comprendront l'élaboration de prototypes, l'ingénierie de procédés et la mise à l'essai de produits.

Qu'est-ce que le Programme d'innovation pour les fournisseurs du secteur de l'automobile?

Le Programme d'innovation pour les fournisseurs du secteur de l'automobile (PIFSA) est un programme de 100 millions de dollars s'étalant sur cinq ans qui fournit des contributions non remboursables à l'appui de projets de démonstration de technologie et de création de prototypes pour les fournisseurs canadiens qui mettent au point des produits et/ou des processus novateurs dans le secteur de l'automobile.

Qui peut présenter une demande?

Les demandeurs admissibles doivent être des entreprises à but lucratif constituées en société en vertu des lois du Canada, qui font des affaires au Canada. Le programme finance des activités de développement de produits ou de processus novateurs à l'appui de projets de démonstration de technologie et/ou de création de prototypes pour le secteur de l'automobile au Canada. La priorité en matière de financement est accordée aux petites et moyennes entreprises (entreprises de moins de 500 employés à l'échelle mondiale OU dont les recettes à l'échelle mondiale sont inférieures à un milliard de dollars). Les grandes entreprises sont admissibles, mais elles doivent former un partenariat avec au moins une petite et moyenne entreprise canadienne. Chaque entreprise peut recevoir jusqu'à 10 millions de dollars pendant la durée du programme. Le programme financera jusqu'à concurrence de 50 p. 100 du total des coûts admissibles des projets.

Qu'est-ce qu'un projet admissible?

Les objectifs du PIFSA sont de stimuler le développement et la démonstration de technologies dans le secteur de l'automobile au Canada, de favoriser la compétitivité de la chaîne d'approvisionnement de l'industrie automobile canadienne, d'encourager la tenue d'activités de développement novatrices et de grande valeur aux étapes intermédiaires du continuum de développement technologique (niveaux de maturité technologique de 4 à 7), ce qui permettra de créer les conditions propices pour que les fournisseurs du secteur canadien de l'automobile — particulièrement les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) — mettent au point des les produits de demain, de maintenir des emplois hautement spécialisés et d'appuyer les priorités du gouvernement en matière d'environnement, de sciences et de technologie.

Ce programme est conçu pour supporter des projets dans le milieu du continuum d'innovation, entre les étapes initiales de la recherche de base et le développement précommercial. Les activités admissibles comprennent l'élaboration de prototypes, l'ingénierie de produits et de processus ainsi que la mise à l'essai et la validation précommerciales de produits et de processus, visant des projets qui n'iraient pas de l'avant sans l'appui du gouvernement fédéral.

Les demandeurs et les projets doivent en premier lieu remplir les objectifs du PIFSA. Si tel est le cas, les projets admissibles peuvent inclure des activités de développement de produits et/ou de processus novateurs aux stades intermédiaires de l'échelle d'innovation (définis comme « niveaux de maturité technologique » [NMT] de 4 à 7). Voir l'annexe 1 pour l'explication des niveaux de maturité technologique. Les coûts de projet admissibles comprennent la main-d'œuvre directe, le matériel, l'équipement, les frais généraux et les autres coûts directement liés au projet. Le PIFSA peut couvrir jusqu'à la moitié (50 %) des coûts de projet admissibles. On s'attend à ce que les bénéficiaires investissent des fonds de contrepartie équivalents aux contributions du PIFSA, à partir de leurs propres sources de financement.

Quels sont les processus de demande et d'approbation?

Les demandeurs doivent soumettre une proposition de projet accompagnée de documents démontrant la conformité de l'entreprise et du projet aux critères d'évaluation et d'admissibilité du programme.

Pour plus de renseignements sur les critères d'évaluation et le processus de demande, consultez le Guide de proposition du demandeur du PIFSA à l'adresse www.Canada.ca/programme-innovation-fournisseurs-secteur-automobile.

Les propositions peuvent être soumises en tout temps. Les demandeurs sont invités à communiquer avec Industrie Canada. Des employés du PIFSA seront disponibles pour donner des conseils aux fins de la préparation des propositions de projet.

Les projets admissibles pris en considération en vue d'un financement dans le cadre du programme seront assujettis à un processus de diligence raisonnable qui évaluera la faisabilité du projet proposé et la capacité du bénéficiaire admissible à réaliser les objectifs prévus. Le processus sera mené par Industrie Canada en collaboration avec des experts d'autres organisations gouvernementales ainsi que des experts externes. Le financement relatif au PIFSA est assujetti à l'approbation du ministre d'Industrie Canada. Après l'approbation des projets, des ententes de contribution sont signées par Industrie Canada et le demandeur. Le programme est conçu pour soumettre les décisions de façon rapide et pour traiter les demandes dans un délai de 6 à 8 semaines à partir d'une proposition complète.

Quels sont les critères d'évaluation?

Les propositions seront évaluées en fonction des objectifs du programme, Veuillez expliquer l’applicabilité de votre projet par rapport aux critères suivants :

  1. Innovation
    • Originalité du projet proposé et positionnement par rapport aux orientations technologiques de l'industrie;
    • Projets s'inscrivant dans les niveaux de maturité technologique appropriés (NMT de 4 à 7);
    • Harmonisation avec les réseaux d'expertise connexes et les secteurs forts de R-D canadiens;
    • Possibilités de collaboration dans la chaîne d'approvisionnement ou avec des universités et des établissements de recherche canadiens;
  2. Pertinence quant au marché
    • Mesure selon laquelle le projet cadre avec les besoins prévus de l'industrie;
    • Probabilité selon laquelle la technologie, ou son application, mènera à des produits ou à des processus qui sont nouveaux (ou considérablement améliorés) dans l'industrie;
    • Crédibilité du plan de développement du produit ou du processus menant à une commercialisation éventuelle.
  3. Avantages économiques
    • Preuve que le projet n'irait pas de l'avant sans l'appui du gouvernement fédéral;
    • Potentiel que la technologie proposée crée des avantages économiques pour le Canada (emplois, compétences, R-D);
    • Potentiel que le projet crée des possibilités de retombées telles de plus amples investissements de R-D chez les fournisseurs du secteur automobile canadiens;
    • Potentiel que l'innovation crée des possibilités pour les fournisseurs de renforcer leur intégration aux chaînes d'approvisionnement mondiales;
    • Potentiel que la nouvelle technologie soit utilisée/fabriquée au Canada.
  4. Avantages économiques
    • Avantages environnementaux escomptés.
  5. Avantages scientifiques et technologiques
  6. Capacité du demandeur/bénéficiaire d'atteindre les objectifs énoncés
    • Les ressources financières, l'expertise en gestion ainsi que l'expérience et l'expertise de l'équipe technique relatives à l'exécution des activités du projet.

*D'autres critères que le ministre juge pertinents pourraient être pris en compte.

Quelles sont les exigences en matière de rapport durant et après le projet?

Le financement sera versé à partir des demandes de remboursement (reçus) liées au projet. Les bénéficiaires devront soumettre au ministre des rapports ayant trait au projet avec leurs demandes de remboursement. Une fois le projet terminé, les bénéficiaires pourraient devoir fournir des rapports finaux sur les objectifs et résultats globaux du ou des projet(s), ainsi que des rapports postérieurs au projet dans les années subséquentes pour montrer les avantages à long terme réalisés depuis l'achèvement du ou des projet(s).

Consultez le site www.ic.gc.ca/pifsa pour obtenir plus de renseignements au sujet du processus de demande.

Coordonnées pour le PIFSA :

Direction générale des industries de l'automobile et des transports
235, rue Queen, 7e étage, tour Est
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H5
Téléphone : 343-291-3554
ATS : 1-866-694-8389
Télécopieur : 343-291-2481
Courriel : Programme d'innovation pour les fournisseurs du secteur de l'automobile
Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada
Site web : Programme d'innovation pour les fournisseurs du secteur de l'automobile

Annexe 1 – Les niveaux de maturité technologique (NMT) sont une mesure servant à évaluer la maturité d'une Innovation en évolution
Niveaux de maturité technologique Description
* Programme d'innovation Construire au Canada (PICC)
Niveau 1 : Observation et consignation des principes de base du concept. À ce niveau, la recherche scientifique commence à donner lieu à la recherche appliquée et au développement. Les activités pourraient inclure des études sur les propriétés de base d'une technologie.
Niveau 2 : Concept technologique ou application déterminés. À ce niveau, il y a le début des inventions. Une fois les principes de base observés, il s'agit d'inventer les applications pratiques. Les activités sont limitées à des études analytiques.
Niveau 3 : Fonction critique et analytique ou validation de principe. À ce niveau, la recherche-développement active démarre. L'étape doit comprendre des études analytiques et/ou des études en laboratoire. Les activités pourraient inclure des composants qui ne sont pas encore intégrés ou représentatifs.
Niveau 4 : Validation des éléments ou des conditions d'essai en laboratoire. À ce niveau, les composants technologiques de base sont intégrés pour valider le bon fonctionnement commun. Les activités incluent l'intégration en laboratoire de matériel « spécial ».
Niveau 5 : Validation des éléments ou d'une maquette dans un environnement simulé. À ce niveau, les composants technologiques de base sont intégrés, aux fins d'essais dans un environnement simulé. Les activités incluent l'intégration de composants en laboratoire.
Niveau 6 : Démonstration d'un modèle ou d'un prototype du système ou du sous-système dans un environnement simulé. À ce niveau, un modèle ou un prototype qui représente une configuration quasi souhaitée. Les activités incluent l'essai dans un environnement opérationnel ou un laboratoire simulé.
Niveau 7 : Prototype prêt pour la démonstration dans un environnement opérationnel approprié. À ce niveau, le prototype à l'état opérationnel et prêt pour la démonstration d'un prototype réel dans un environnement opérationnel. Les activités incluent l'essai du prototype sur le terrain.
Niveau 8 : Technologie actuelle mise au point et qualifiée par des essais et des démonstrations. À ce niveau, il est prouvé que la technologie fonctionne dans sa forme finale et dans les conditions prévues. Les activités incluent des essais de mise au point et des évaluations afin d'établir s'il répond aux exigences opérationnelles.
Niveau 9 : Validation de la technologie réelle par le déploiement réussi dans un contexte opérationnel. À ce niveau, il y a l'application concrète de la technologie dans sa forme finale et dans des conditions réelles, comme celles s'appliquant au cours des essais et de l'évaluation opérationnels. Les activités incluent l'utilisation de l'innovation dans des conditions de conduite opérationnelle.
Date de modification :