All about bankruptcy mediation

Please be advised that we are no longer offering this information as a printed product.

What is mediation?

Mediation is a way of resolving conflict between two or more people. The parties involved in the disagreement agree to work with an impartial person called a mediator who helps them settle their dispute.

Why is mediation included in the consumer bankruptcy process?

The mediation process is more flexible and less costly than formal court proceedings. It allows the people who are affected by the bankruptcy to be directly involved in deciding how their disagreement will be settled.

Who is the mediator?

The mediator may be an employee of the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy or someone else with training and experience in mediation.

What does the mediator do?

The mediator will help the parties explain their point of view and discuss ways to settle the disagreement. The mediator's role is to help the parties communicate. To reach an agreement, all parties must understand what issues are in dispute and what each party wants or needs. The mediator does not decide what the settlement will be. The parties decide that together.

The mediator explains the mediation process including the rules for rescheduling and adjournment. The mediator is not allowed to act as a legal counsel to any party involved in the mediation.

What is the Licensed Insolvency Trustee (LIT)'s role in the mediation?

The LIT's role is to provide guidance to people who are affected by the bankruptcy.

Who may attend the mediation session?

The bankrupt, the LIT, the creditor (if it was the creditor who asked for mediation) and the mediator will participate in the session. The parties present at the mediation session should have signing authority and bring all pertinent documentation.

When can mediation be used to resolve disputes?

Mediation can be used to resolve two types of disputes:

  • when there is a disagreement about the amount that the bankrupt, who has surplus income, is required to pay creditors; or
  • when opposition to the discharge is based on the fact that the bankrupt has failed to comply with the requirement to make surplus income payments, or if the bankrupt could have made a viable proposalFootnote 1 and has chosen bankruptcy rather than a proposal as a solution to debt.

1. Surplus Income Mediation

At the beginning of the bankruptcy, the LIT determines whether the bankrupt has any surplus income, taking into consideration the standards issued by the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, the bankrupt's total income, and their personal and family situation. Surplus income is the amount of total income a bankrupt receives that exceeds the amount needed to maintain a reasonable standard of living. If the LIT concludes that the bankrupt has surplus income, the LIT will set the amount that they must pay into the bankruptcy estate. This amount may be adjusted during the administration of the bankruptcy if there is a change in either the bankrupt's total income or personal or family situation.

Who can request surplus income mediation?

  • If the bankrupt does not agree with the amount of surplus income to be paid, the LIT must request mediation.
  • If any of the creditors do not agree with the amount of surplus income to be paid, they may ask for mediation by submitting a written request to the LIT.

2. Discharge Mediation

Toward the end of a bankruptcy, where the discharge of an individual bankrupt is opposed by a creditor or the LIT on the grounds that the bankrupt has not made the required surplus income payments or has chosen bankruptcy instead of a proposal as a solution to debt, the LIT must ask the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy for mediation.

What happens if the parties reach an agreement?

Mediation is successful when all the parties reach an agreement. The parties sign a "mediation settlement agreement." The bankrupt will be required to comply with all conditions of the agreement.

What happens if the parties cannot agree?

1. Surplus income mediation

If mediation fails, the LIT may apply to the court to fix, by order, the amount the bankrupt is required to pay the bankruptcy estate.

2. Discharge mediation

If mediation fails or the bankrupt does not comply with the conditions of the mediation settlement agreement, the LIT asks the court for a hearing to decide the matter.

Questions? Need more information?

Contact a Licensed Insolvency Trustee or the nearest Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

Date modified:

La médiation en matière de faillite

Veuillez noter que nous n’offrons plus ces renseignements sous forme de produit imprimé.

Qu'est-ce que la médiation?

La médiation est une méthode pour régler les conflits entre deux personnes ou plus. Les parties impliquées acceptent de collaborer avec une personne impartiale appelée « médiateur », qui les aide à trouver un terrain d'entente.

Pourquoi a-t-on inclus la médiation dans la procédure de faillite des particuliers?

La procédure de médiation est moins rigide et moins coûteuse que le recours aux tribunaux. Elle permet aux personnes touchées par la faillite de participer directement au règlement de leurs différends.

Qui est le médiateur?

Le médiateur peut être un employé du Bureau du surintendant des faillites ou une autre personne possédant une formation et de l'expérience en médiation.

Que fait le médiateur?

Le médiateur aide les parties à expliquer leur point de vue et à discuter des moyens pour régler le différendLe rôle du médiateur est d'aider les parties à communiquer. Pour en arriver à un accord, les parties doivent comprendre les questions en litige et connaître leurs désirs ou besoins respectifs. . Le médiateur ne décide pas pour les parties : ces dernières doivent trouver une solution ensemble.

Le médiateur explique le processus de médiation, y compris les règles à suivre pour organiser une séance (reprise et ajournement). Il n'a pas le droit d'agir à titre de conseiller juridique pour l'une des parties.

Quel est le rôle du syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) pendant la médiation?

Le SAI guide les personnes touchées par la faillite.

Qui peut assister à la séance de médiation?

Le failli, le SAI, le créancier (s'il s'agit de celui-ci a demandé la médiation) et le médiateur participent à la séance. Les parties présentes à la séance de médiation doivent avoir le pouvoir de signature et apporter toute documentation pertinente.

Dans quels cas peut-on demander la médiation ?

On peut demander la médiation pour résoudre deux types de différends :

  • les différends quant au montant que le failli, qui a un revenu excédentaire, doit aux créanciers pendant la faillite;
  • les différends touchant le cas d'une opposition à la libération du failli fondée sur le fait que celui-ci n'a pas effectué ses versements au titre du revenu excédentaire ou qu'il a choisi la faillite plutôt que la propositionNote de bas de page 1 comme solution à son endettement, dans le cas où il aurait pu faire une proposition viable.

1. La médiation concernant le revenu excédentaire

Au début de la faillite, le SAI détermine, conformément aux normes applicables émises par le surintendant des faillites et compte tenu du revenu total du failli, de ses charges familiales et de sa situation personnelle, si le failli a un revenu excédentaire. Le revenu excédentaire est le montant du revenu total du failli qui excède ce qui est nécessaire au maintien d'un niveau de vie raisonnable. Si le SAI conclut que le failli a un revenu excédentaire, il fixe la somme que le failli devra verser à l'actif de la faillite. Ce montant peut être modifié durant la période d'administration de la faillite si un changement se produit quant au revenu total du failli à sa situation personnelle ou familiale.

Qui peut demander une médiation concernant le revenu excédentaire?

  • Si le failli n'est pas d'accord avec le montant de revenu excédentaire à payer, le SAI doit demander la médiation.
  • Si l'un des créanciers n'est pas d'accord avec le montant de revenu excédentaire, il peut demander la médiation en présentant une demande écrite à cet effet au SAI.

2. La médiation concernant la libération du failli

Vers la fin de la période de faillite, lorsqu'une opposition à la libération du failli est faite par un créancier ou le SAI sur le fait que le failli n'a pas effectué les versements à même son revenu excédentaire ou que le failli a choisi la faillite plutôt que la proposition, dans le cas où il aurait pu faire une proposition viable, le SAI doit transmettre une demande de médiation au Bureau du surintendant des faillites.

Que se passe-t-il lorsque toutes les parties arrivent à s'entendre?

La médiation réussit lorsque toutes les parties en arrivent à une entente. Elles signent ce qu'on appelle une « entente résultant de la médiation ». Le failli doit respecter toutes les conditions de cette entente.

Que se passe-t-il si les parties n'arrivent pas à s'entendre?

1. Médiation concernant le revenu excédentaire

Le SAI peut demander au tribunal d'établir par ordonnance le montant du revenu que le failli doit verser à l'actif de la faillite s'il y a échec de la médiation.

2. Médiation concernant la libération du failli

En cas d'échec de la médiation ou de manquement du failli aux conditions prévues par l'entente résultant de la médiation, le SAI demande au tribunal une convocation pour une audition afin qu'il tranche la question.

Vous avez des questions? Vous voulez plus de renseignements?

Contactez un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité ou le Bureau du surintendant des faillites.

Date de modification :