You are Owed Money —
Bankruptcy

About bankruptcy

Bankruptcy is a process governed by the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA). Any insolvent person who has no other way to meet his or her financial obligations may file for bankruptcy, unless they have not been discharged from a previous bankruptcy.

In a bankruptcy, people or companies ("debtor") who can no longer pay their debts give all of their non-exempt property to a trustee in bankruptcy who then sells it and distributes the money to creditors. Bankruptcy can be voluntary or forced by a creditor through the Courts.

Roughly 90 percent of bankruptcies in Canada are consumer bankruptcies where the business-related debts make up less than 50 percent of the bankrupt's total debts.

When the bankrupt's realizable assets do not exceed $15,000, the bankruptcy is processed under summary administration. Almost all consumer bankruptcies are processed this way.

Bankruptcies processed as summary administrations are simpler; for example, they don't require a meeting of creditors. If your debtor's bankruptcy is to be handled as a summary administration, you'll find a notation saying so near the top of the documents you receive.

As soon as the debtor is declared bankrupt, creditors can no longer launch or continue legal proceedings against the debtor without the Court's permission.

If you are a secured creditor, however, you can take possession of your security unless the Court, under certain conditions, orders otherwise. For example, a bank holding a security on a car may take possession of the car and sell it even if the debtor has declared bankruptcy.

Your employer is bankrupt

If you are an employee legally entitled to work in Canada, you have certain protections under the Wage Earner Protection Program (WEPP) concerning payment of your wages, vacation, severance and termination pay if your employer becomes bankrupt (or becomes subject to a receivership) under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act.

The program is delivered by Service Canada.

top of page

Proof of Claim form

After a bankruptcy has been filed, the trustee will send you a notice of bankruptcy as well as a list of creditors and the amounts of their claims.

Important: If you are a creditor involved in a bankruptcy, the trustee will send you information as well as form(s). To recover money owed to you, you must complete and submit a Proof of Claim to the trustee.

The trustee will also send a Proof of Claim form. You must fill out this form to share in the dividends and vote at the first meeting of creditors (if one is held). The form contains the name of the creditor and the bankrupt and the nature and amount of the claim, as well as other information. A list of instructions is usually included. You must attach a Statement of Account providing the details of the claim along with supporting documents or other evidence that establishes the validity of your claim.

If you are an unsecured creditor and you want to vote at the first meeting of creditors, you must file your completed form with the trustee before the meeting of creditors. Before the first meeting of creditors, the trustee will examine the Proof of Claim and decide whether your claim, in whole or in part, is accepted or disallowed. If your Proof of Claim is disallowed, you have 30 days to appeal the decision to the Court.

If you are a secured creditor, you don't have to fill out a Proof of Claim form unless the trustee asks you to or if you want to vote at the meeting of creditors and obtain a dividend for the unsecured portion of your claim.

If you want to vote at a meeting of creditors but are unable to attend, you may appoint another person to vote on your behalf. To do this, fill out a proxy form and return it to the trustee along with your Proof of Claim, or give the form to your proxy to present to the chairperson of the meeting at any time before the vote is taken.

Meeting of creditors

Within five days after his or her appointment, the trustee must send (1) a notice of the bankruptcy and (2) a notice of the first meeting of creditors (if one is held) to three parties: the bankrupt, any known creditors and the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (OSB).

If the bankruptcy is being dealt with as a summary administration, a meeting of creditors is not mandatory. Such a meeting will be held only at the request of creditors who hold at least 25 percent of the value of the proven claims, or at the request of the OSB.

The trustee may call a meeting of creditors any time during the administration of a bankruptcy and must do so when directed by the Court or when requested in writing by 25 percent of the creditors holding 25 percent of the value of the proven claims.

At the first meeting of creditors, you will be able to

  • examine the affairs of the bankrupt by asking questions of the trustee and the bankrupt;
  • review the OSB's report;
  • review the trustee's preliminary report;
  • confirm the trustee's appointment or replace him or her;
  • instruct the trustee on the administration of the estate; and
  • appoint inspectors.

Inspectors are appointed to provide the trustee with direction and the authority to take certain actions. (The Inspectors' Handbook provides more information about the role of inspectors.)

If you have already filed your Proof of Claim, you may

  • examine the Proofs of Claim, of the other creditors;
  • vote on a resolution (unless you are related to the bankrupt);
  • ask the trustee to examine any person regarding the affairs of the bankrupt; or
  • require the production of books or documents relating to the bankrupt's dealings.
top of page

Preferential treatment or transfers at below market value

A transaction can be set aside if, in the three months prior to the date of the initial bankruptcy event, the debtor made a payment to one creditor that favoured the creditor over others. (If the creditor is not at arm's length from the debtor — such as a family member — the period extends to 12 months preceding the date of the initial bankruptcy.)

If the Court finds that the debtor made a transfer at below market value to a person who is not at arm's length from the debtor, the Court may set aside the transaction. If the transaction occurred within 12 months of the initial bankruptcy event, the Court can also order the debtor to pay to the trustee the difference between the transfer value and the fair market value. If the transaction took place with a person who is at arm's length from the debtor, the debtor must have been insolvent at the time of the transfer and intended to defraud a creditor.

If you have reasonable grounds to believe that the bankrupt or someone else is guilty of an offence under the BIA or any other statute, you should contact the trustee or the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

How funds are recovered and distributed

To help creditors recover some of what they are owed, non-exempt property owned by the bankrupt as of the date of the bankruptcy, or acquired prior to the bankruptcy discharge, may be seized and sold by the trustee. Exempt property includes property protected by applicable provincial and federal laws (such as basic furniture or tools-of-trade), property held by the bankrupt in trust for another and, in some cases, goods and services tax (GST) payments.

In addition, the trustee determines the bankrupt's "surplus" income, i.e., the amount beyond what the bankrupt requires to maintain a reasonable standard of living. The bankrupt must pay this amount to the estate for distribution to the creditors after the costs of administration are deducted.

After the trustee has sold all of the bankrupt's property, he or she must prepare a final statement of receipts and disbursements and a dividend sheet. The dividend sheet contains a list of creditors who will receive dividends and the amount to which they are entitled. You will be paid the dividends to which you are entitled before the bankruptcy file is closed, which is before the discharge of the trustee.

The dividends are distributed in the order set out in section 136 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA) :

  • Secured claims.
  • Funeral fees.
  • The costs of administration, including the fees and disbursements of the trustee and legal costs.
  • A levy on the dividends of secured, preferred and unsecured creditors to defray the expenses of the supervision by the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.
  • Claims of "preferred" creditors such as wages, salaries, commissions or compensation of employees of the bankrupt (unless the employee is related to the bankrupt — see below).
  • Under certain circumstances, debts or obligations of support to a spouse or common-law partner or child living separate from a debtor.

These prior claims are subject to certain conditions and this list is not exhaustive.

The law gives priority to the claims of preferred creditors (e.g., numbers 5 and 6 above) over those of other unsecured creditors.

The claims of ordinary creditors, i.e., creditors who are not secured creditors and don't have priority under section 136 of the BIA, are satisfied on a pro-rata basis: after all secured and preferred creditors have been paid in full, ordinary creditors divide the remaining funds among themselves in proportion to how much each is owed.

The claims of relatives of the bankrupt are treated differently. For example, if you are the spouse of a bankrupt who owes you wages, you are considered a "deferred" creditor and will not receive a dividend until all preferred claims and all ordinary claims have been satisfied.

However, if you are the mother, father, child, sister, brother, aunt or uncle of a bankrupt who owes you wages, you will be considered an ordinary creditor. This means you will be paid after preferred creditors but before deferred creditors.

top of page

Closing the bankruptcy

Under certain circumstances, the process for discharging the bankrupt begins with the trustee issuing a report on the bankrupt's application for discharge. The report must analyze:

  • the affairs of the bankrupt;
  • the causes of the bankruptcy;
  • the manner in which the bankrupt has performed his or her duties;
  • the bankrupt's conduct before and during the bankruptcy;
  • whether the bankrupt has been convicted of any offence under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (sections 198–208); and
  • any other fact that would justify the Court's refusal of the discharge.

The main effect of discharge is to release the bankrupt from all non-exempt debts. Such debts include orders to compensate an assault victim, Court-ordered fines, claims by a former spouse or common-law partner for child support or alimony and student loans.

A discharged bankrupt can once again get credit, purchase property and sign contracts.

A debtor whose discharge is not opposed by the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (OSB), the trustee or a creditor and who has not refused or neglected to receive counselling, is automatically discharged after 9, 21, 24 or 36 months, depending on whether it is a first or second bankruptcy. The discharge also depends on whether or not the bankrupt is required to pay a portion of his or her surplus income into the bankruptcy estate per the standard established by the OSB.

As a creditor, you have the right to oppose the discharge of a bankrupt. If you oppose the discharge on grounds other than those mentioned in the trustee's report, you must notify the trustee and the bankrupt of your opposition and grounds. In that event, the bankrupt will not be discharged automatically and the grounds for the opposition will be heard by the Court.

A creditor who opposes the discharge of the bankrupt must prove the facts on which his or her opposition is based. In other words, it is not enough simply to allege the reasons for the opposition; the creditor must also give the Court evidence in support of these arguments.

If it is not the debtor's first or second bankruptcy, or if a creditor, trustee or the OSB is opposing the discharge, the trustee must apply to the Court for a hearing about the bankrupt's discharge. The Court may grant or refuse an absolute order of discharge, suspend the operation of the order for a specified time or grant a discharge under certain conditions (a conditional discharge).

If a bankrupt is not discharged, creditors can take action to recover any debts from the bankrupt after the trustee is discharged.

The process of closing the administration of a bankruptcy begins when the trustee delivers a dividend sheet and final statement of receipts and disbursements to the OSB.

Trustees are entitled to remuneration for administering the bankruptcy. Trustee's fees and expenses depend on whether the administration is summary or ordinary. Section 128 of the Justice Canada websiteBankruptcy and Insolvency General Rules explains how a trustee's fees and expenses are established for services provided in summary administrations processed as bankruptcies.

In an ordinary bankruptcy, the trustee's fees may be decided by ordinary resolution at any meeting of creditors. In ordinary administrations, the trustee's fees are taxed (reviewed) by the Court.

If no objection is filed, or after the Court has dealt with all of the disagreements contained in the objections, the trustee distributes a final dividend to creditors who have proven their claims.

Undistributed funds

If a trustee is unable to deliver a dividend (for example, if he or she is unable to locate the rightful creditor when the dividends are distributed), he or she is required to forward the undistributed funds to the OSB. The money is then held in trust until the creditor comes forward to make a claim.

The undistributed funds database is a listing of creditors who are owed dividends but who could not be located by the trustee. You can find out whether you have an undistributed dividend owing to you by searching the database: Undistributed funds search.

Complaints

If you have a complaint about a bankruptcy, contact us.

Mediation

More flexible, speedier and less costly than Court settlements, mediation enables people affected by a bankruptcy to participate directly in deciding how their disputes will be settled.

Mediation is available to resolve two kinds of disputes:

(1) disagreements over the amount of money (known as surplus income) that the bankrupt is required to pay to the trustee during the bankruptcy for the benefit of creditors; or

(2) the bankrupt failed to make surplus income payments or could have made a viable proposal but chose bankruptcy rather than propose a solution, when a viable proposal to deal with the debt could have been made.

top of page

How do I find out if a person or a business has declared bankruptcy?

The easiest way to find out if a person or a business has declared bankruptcy is to do an online search of bankruptcy and insolvency records. The records contain basic debtor information for all bankruptcies and proposals registered in Canada since 1978.

There is a minimum charge of $8 per search. You can pay by credit card (VISA or MasterCard) or, if you plan to use the service regularly, you can open an account with the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

I own assets that are located on the premises of a company that has declared bankruptcy and have been unable to retrieve them. What should I do?

Contact the trustee and provide proof of ownership. He or she will then be able to get your property back to you.

In addition, the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act contains specific provisions for suppliers who have not been paid for goods sold to a business.

Learn more about repossession of goods by unpaid suppliers

I made an advance payment to a company that has declared bankruptcy. What can I do?

If you pre-paid for a service, you become a creditor and the trustee will send you a Proof of Claim form with your creditor's package. Follow the instructions on the form and in the package, and make sure you have all of the required documentation proving that the debtor owes you money.

To be recognized as a creditor and to be eligible to share in the distribution of dividends, if any, you must provide the trustee with a completed Proof of Claim.

On vous doit de l’argent —

Faillite

La faillite

La faillite est une procédure régie par la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI). Toute personne insolvable qui n'a pas d'autre moyen d'honorer ses obligations financières peut déclarer faillite, à moins qu'elle n'ait pas été libérée d'une faillite précédente.

Dans la faillite, la personne (appelée « débiteur ») qui ne peut plus payer ses dettes remet tous ses biens saisissables (non visés par une exemption) à un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI), qui les vend et distribue l'argent aux créanciers. La faillite peut être volontaire ou imposée par un créancier ayant eu recours aux tribunaux.

Environ 90 p. 100 des faillites au Canada sont des faillites personnelles ou de consommateur, dans le cadre desquelles les dettes liées aux affaires constituent moins de 50 p. 100 de l'endettement total du failli.

Lorsque les actifs réalisables du failli ne dépassent pas 15 000 $, la faillite fait l'objet d'une administration sommaire. Pratiquement toutes les faillites de consommateur sont traitées de cette manière.

Dans le cas de l'administration sommaire, la procédure de faillite est simplifiée. L'assemblée des créanciers, par exemple, n'est pas obligatoire. Si la faillite de votre débiteur fait l'objet d'une administration sommaire, vous trouverez une mention le précisant dans les documents que vous recevrez.

Dès que le débiteur est déclaré failli, les créanciers ne peuvent plus intenter de poursuites en justice contre lui sans l'autorisation du tribunal, et toute poursuite est suspendue.

Si vous êtes un créancier garanti, toutefois, vous pouvez prendre possession de votre garantie à moins que le tribunal, sous certaines conditions, n'en décide autrement. Par exemple, une banque qui détient une garantie sur une voiture peut saisir le véhicule et le vendre, même si le débiteur a déclaré faillite.

Votre employeur est en faillite

Si vous êtes un employé qui a le droit de travailler au Canada, vous bénéficiez de certaines protections prévues par le Programme de protection des salariés (PPS) pour le paiement de votre salaire, de votre paye de vacances et de votre indemnité de départ et de cessation d'emploi si votre employeur fait faillite (ou fait l'objet d'une mise sous séquestre) en vertu de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité.

Le programme est administré par Service Canada.

haut de la page

Formulaire de preuve de réclamation

Après le dépôt d'un dossier de faillite, le SAI vous envoie un avis de faillite de même que la liste des créanciers et le montant de leurs créances.

Important

Si vous êtes un créancier dans une procédure de faillite, le SAI vous fera parvenir un ou plusieurs formulaires à remplir et des renseignements sur la marche à suivre. Pour recouvrer les sommes qui vous sont dues, vous devez faire parvenir au SAI le formulaire Preuve de réclamation dûment rempli.

Le SAI vous envoie également un formulaire de preuve de réclamation, qu'il vous faut remplir pour recevoir votre part des dividendes et voter à la première assemblée des créanciers (s'il y en a une). Le formulaire indique le nom du créancier et celui du failli ainsi que la nature et le montant de la créance de même que d'autres renseignements. Vous y trouverez également des instructions. Vous devez annexer un état de compte précisant le détail de la réclamation ainsi que les pièces justificatives ou toute autre preuve établissant la validité de votre créance.

Si vous êtes un créancier non garanti et que vous désirez voter à la première assemblée des créanciers, vous devez remettre votre formulaire dûment rempli au SAI avant la tenue de l'assemblée. Entretemps, le SAI examinera la Preuve de réclamation et déterminera si votre créance est acceptée, en tout ou en partie, ou rejetée. En cas de rejet de votre réclamation, vous disposez de 30 jours pour saisir le tribunal afin de faire appel.

Si vous êtes un créancier garanti, vous n'avez pas à remplir la Preuve de réclamation à moins que le SAI ne vous demande de le faire ou que vous ne désiriez voter à l'assemblée des créanciers et obtenir un dividende pour la partie non garantie de votre créance.

Si vous désirez voter à l'assemblée des créanciers mais que vous ne pouvez pas y assister, vous pouvez désigner une autre personne pour voter en votre nom. À cette fin, il vous faut remplir un formulaire de procuration que vous ferez parvenir au SAI, accompagné de votre Preuve de réclamation, ou que vous remettrez à votre mandataire, qui le présentera au président de l'assemblée à tout moment avant le vote.

Assemblée des créanciers

Dans les cinq jours suivant sa nomination, le SAI doit envoyer : 1) un avis de faillite ; 2) un avis de la première assemblée des créanciers (s'il y a en a une) aux trois parties, à savoir le failli, tous les créanciers connus et le Bureau du surintendant des faillites (BSF).

Si la faillite fait l'objet d'une administration sommaire, l'assemblée des créanciers n'est pas obligatoire. Celle-ci aura lieu uniquement si les créanciers détenteurs d'au moins 25 p. 100 de la valeur des réclamations prouvées le demandent ou encore si le BSF l'exige.

Le SAI peut convoquer une assemblée des créanciers à tout moment au cours de l'administration d'une faillite et il est tenu de le faire lorsque le tribunal l'ordonne ou que 25 p. 100 des créanciers détenteurs de 25 p. 100 de la valeur des réclamations prouvées en font la demande.

À la première assemblée des créanciers, vous serez en mesure :

  • d'examiner les affaires du failli en posant des questions au SAI et au failli;
  • d'examiner le rapport du BSF;
  • d'examiner le rapport préliminaire du SAI;
  • de confirmer la nomination du SAI ou de le remplacer;
  • de donner des instructions au SAI sur l'administration de l'actif;
  • de nommer des inspecteurs.

Les inspecteurs sont nommés pour donner au SAI des instructions et le pouvoir de prendre certaines mesures. (Pour en apprendre davantage sur le rôle des inspecteurs, consultez le Guide des inspecteurs.)

Si vous avez déjà déposé votre Preuve de réclamation, vous pouvez :

  • examiner les preuves de réclamation des autres créanciers;
  • voter sur une résolution ordinaire (à moins que vous ne soyez lié au failli);
  • demander au SAI d'interroger toute personne concernant les affaires du failli.

haut de la page

Traitements préférentiels et opérations sous-évaluées

Afin de protéger les créanciers et de faire en sorte qu'ils soient tous traités sur un pied d'égalité, la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI) prévoit des mécanismes pour écarter certaines transactions précédant la faillite (comme une cession de biens ou un privilège créé par le débiteur) qui ont privilégié un créancier par rapport aux autres.

Une transaction peut être écartée si, dans les trois mois qui précèdent la date d'ouverture de la faillite, le débiteur a effectué un paiement qui privilégiait un créancier au détriment des autres. (Si le créancier a un lien de dépendance avec le débiteur – par exemple, s'il s'agit d'un membre de sa famille –, la période s'étend sur les 12 mois qui précèdent la date d'ouverture de la faillite.)  

Le tribunal peut écarter une transaction s'il détermine que le débiteur a effectué une opération sous-évaluée avec une personne avec laquelle il a un lien de dépendance. Si la transaction a eu lieu dans les 12 mois qui précèdent la date d'ouverture de la faillite, le tribunal peut également ordonner au débiteur de rembourser au SAI la différence entre la valeur de transfert et la juste valeur marchande. Si la transaction a eu lieu avec une personne non liée au débiteur, ce dernier devait être insolvable au moment du transfert et avoir l'intention de frauder un créancier.

Si vous avez des motifs raisonnables de penser que le failli ou une autre personne a commis une infraction en vertu de la LFI ou de toute autre loi, vous devriez communiquer avec le SAI ou le Bureau du surintendant des faillites.

Récupération et distribution des montants dus aux créanciers

Pour aider les créanciers à récupérer une partie de l'argent qui leur est dû, les biens non visés par une exemption et appartenant au failli à la date de la faillite ou acquis avant la libération de la faillite peuvent être saisis et vendus par le SAI. Les biens visés par une exemption ou insaisissables sont les biens protégés par les lois provinciales et fédérales applicables (notamment les meubles de première nécessité ou les outils de travail), les biens détenus par le failli en fidéicommis pour une autre personne et, dans certains cas, les paiements au titre de la taxe sur les produits et services (TPS).

En outre, le SAI détermine le revenu « excédentaire » du failli, c'est-à-dire le montant dont dispose le failli en sus de ce dont il a besoin pour conserver un niveau de vie raisonnable. Le failli doit verser ce montant à l'actif en vue de la répartition des fonds entre les créanciers après déduction des coûts d'administration.

Après que le SAI a vendu tous les biens du failli, il prépare l'état définitif des recettes et des débours et un bordereau de dividende. Le bordereau de dividende dresse une liste des créanciers qui recevront des dividendes et le montant auquel chacun a droit. Vous recevrez les dividendes auxquels vous avez droit avant la fermeture du dossier de faillite, c'est-à-dire avant la libération du SAI.

Les dividendes sont répartis selon l'ordre prévu à l'article 136 de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité.

  • Créances garanties
  • Frais de funérailles
  • Coûts d'administration, y compris les honoraires et débours du SAI et les frais juridiques
  • Prélèvement sur les dividendes des créanciers garantis, privilégiés et non garantis pour couvrir les dépenses de supervision du Bureau du surintendant des faillites
  • Réclamations des créanciers « privilégiés », notamment les gages, salaires, commissions ou rémunérations des employés du failli (sauf ceux qui sont liés au failli — voir ci-après)
  • Dans certains cas, les dettes ou obligations au titre de la pension alimentaire à un conjoint de fait ou de droit, ou à un enfant vivant séparé du débiteur.

Ces créances prioritaires sont assorties de certaines conditions et cette liste n'est pas exhaustive.

La loi donne priorité aux réclamations des créanciers privilégiés par rapport à celles des créanciers non garantis.

Les créances des créanciers ordinaires, c'est-à-dire ceux qui ne sont pas des créanciers garantis et qui n'ont pas priorité en vertu de l'article 136, sont remboursées au prorata après que tous les créanciers garantis et privilégiés ont été remboursés intégralement. Les créanciers ordinaires répartissent entre eux les fonds restants proportionnellement au montant qui leur est dû.

Les créances des membres de la famille du failli font l'objet d'un traitement particulier. En effet, si vous êtes le conjoint d'un failli qui vous doit un salaire, vous êtes considéré comme un créancier « différé », et ne recevrez pas de dividendes tant que toutes les créances privilégiées et toutes les créances ordinaires n'auront pas été remboursées.

Toutefois, si vous êtes la mère, le père, l'enfant, la sœur, le frère, la tante ou l'oncle d'un failli qui vous doit un salaire, vous serez considéré comme un créancier ordinaire. Cela signifie que vous serez payé après les créanciers privilégiés mais avant les créanciers différés.

haut de la page

Clôture de la faillite

Dans certains cas, le processus de libération du failli commence lorsque le SAI établit un rapport sur la demande de libération du failli. Le rapport doit analyser :

  • les affaires du failli;
  • les causes de la faillite;
  • la façon dont le failli s'est acquitté de ses obligations;
  • la conduite du failli avant et au cours de la faillite;
  • si le failli a été condamné pour une infraction à la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (articles 198 à 208);
  • tout autre fait pouvant motiver le refus de la libération du failli par le tribunal.

Le principal effet de la libération est d'annuler toutes les dettes du failli sauf celles qui ne sont pas effacées par la faillite, notamment les ordonnances d'indemnisation d'une victime, les amendes prononcées par le tribunal, les réclamations d'ex-conjoints de fait ou de droit au titre d'une pension alimentaire à leur profit ou au profit des enfants et les prêts étudiants.

Un failli libéré peut de nouveau obtenir du crédit, acheter des biens et signer des contrats.

Tout débiteur dont la libération n'est pas contestée par le BSF, le SAI ou un créancier, et qui n'a pas refusé ou omis d'utiliser les services de consultation, est libéré d'office après 9, 21, 24 ou 36 mois, selon qu'il s'agit d'une première ou d'une deuxième faillite. La libération est également assujettie au fait que le failli doive ou non verser une partie de son revenu excédentaire à l'actif de la faillite, conformément aux normes établies par le BSF.

En qualité de créancier, vous avez le droit de vous opposer à la libération d'un failli. Toutefois, si vous vous y opposez pour des motifs autres que ceux mentionnés dans le rapport du SAI, vous devez prévenir le SAI et le failli de votre opposition et de vos motifs. En pareil cas, le failli ne sera pas libéré automatiquement et les motifs d'opposition seront entendus par le tribunal.

Un créancier qui s'oppose à la libération d'un failli doit prouver les faits qui motivent son opposition. Autrement dit, il ne suffit pas d'énoncer ses motifs d'opposition; il faut présenter au tribunal des preuves à l'appui de ces arguments.

S'il ne s'agit pas d'une première ou d'une deuxième faillite ou si un créancier, le SAI ou le BSF s'oppose à la libération, le SAI doit s'adresser au tribunal pour obtenir une audience sur la libération du failli. Le tribunal peut soit accorder une ordonnance de libération ou refuser la libération totale du failli, suspendre le cours d'une ordonnance pour une durée précise ou accorder une libération sous certaines conditions (libération conditionnelle).

Si un failli n'est pas libéré, les créanciers peuvent exercer des poursuites pour recouvrer leurs dettes après que le SAI est libéré.

La procédure de clôture de l'administration d'une faillite commence lorsque le SAI remet au BSF le bordereau de dividende et l'état définitif des recettes et des débours.

Les SAI sont rémunérés pour l'administration des faillites. Les honoraires et dépenses du SAI sont calculés en fonction du type d'administration – sommaire ou ordinaire. L'article 128 des Site web du ministère de la Justice Canada Règles générales sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité explique comment sont déterminés les honoraires et dépenses du SAI pour les services fournis dans le cadre de l'administration sommaire des faillites.

Dans le cas d'une administration ordinaire, les honoraires du SAI peuvent être déterminés par une résolution ordinaire au cours d'une assemblée des créanciers. Dans le cadre de l'administration ordinaire, ils sont taxés (révisés) par le tribunal.

Si aucune objection n'est déposée ou après que le tribunal a résolu tous les désaccords dont font état les objections, le SAI distribue un dernier dividende aux créanciers qui ont fait la preuve de leurs créances.

Dividendes non réclamés

Si un SAI est incapable de remettre un dividende (p. ex., s'il ne peut trouver l'adresse du créancier au moment de la distribution des dividendes), il est tenu d'envoyer les dividendes non réclamés au BSF. L'argent est ensuite détenu en fidéicommis jusqu'à ce que le créancier les réclame.

La base de données sur les dividendes non réclamés est une liste de créanciers à qui l'on doit des dividendes mais que le SAI n'a pas pu localiser. Vous découvrirez peut-être que vous avez droit à un dividende non réclamé en faisant des recherches dans la base de données : Recherche de dividendes non réclamés.

Plaintes

Si vous souhaitez déposer une plainte concernant une faillite, contactez-nous.

Médiation

Plus souple, plus rapide et moins coûteuse que les règlements devant les tribunaux, la médiation permet aux personnes qui sont parties à une faillite de participer directement à la décision sur le règlement des différends.

La médiation est offerte pour la résolution de deux types de différends :

1) les désaccords sur le montant d'argent (c'est-à-dire le revenu excédentaire) que le failli sera tenu de verser au SAI, au cours de la faillite, au bénéfice des créanciers; ou

2) le failli a omis d'effectuer des paiements au titre du revenu excédentaire, ou il a opté pour la faillite alors qu'il aurait pu présenter une proposition viable de remboursement de sa dette.

haut de la page

Comment puis-je savoir si une personne ou une entreprise a déclaré faillite?

La façon la plus simple de trouver si une personne ou une entreprise a déclaré faillite consiste à faire une recherche dans le Registre des dossiers de faillite et d'insolvabilité. Celui-ci contient des renseignements généraux sur les débiteurs pour toutes les faillites et propositions enregistrées au Canada depuis 1978.

Des droits de 8 $ minimum par recherche sont exigibles. Vous pouvez payer par carte de crédit (Visa ou MasterCard) ou, si vous envisagez d'utiliser le service régulièrement, vous pouvez ouvrir un compte auprès du BSF.

J'ai des biens qui se trouvent dans les locaux d'une entreprise qui a déclaré faillite et j'ai été incapable de les récupérer. Que puis-je faire?

Communiquez avec le SAI et présentez-lui une preuve de propriété. Il sera en mesure d'obtenir la restitution de votre bien.

En outre, la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité renferme des dispositions particulières concernant les fournisseurs qui n'ont pas été payés pour des biens vendus à une entreprise.

Pour en savoir plus: reprise de possession de marchandises par un fournisseur impayé.

J'ai fait un paiement anticipé à une entreprise qui a déclaré faillite. Que puis-je faire?

Si vous avez payé d'avance pour un service, vous êtes un créancier et le SAI vous enverra un formulaire de preuve de réclamation avec une trousse destinée aux créanciers. Suivez les instructions indiquées sur le formulaire et dans la trousse et assurez-vous que vous avez en main tous les documents requis prouvant que le débiteur vous doit de l'argent.

Pour être reconnu en tant que créancier et avoir droit à votre part au cours de la distribution des dividendes, le cas échéant, vous devez remettre au SAI un formulaire de preuve de réclamation dûment rempli.

  • Courriel
Date de modification :