Your debts are getting out of control

You know the situation is serious and you need some professional help to accomplish your goals. It is time to prioritise paying off your debts so you can build a better future.

Watch out for high-pressure sales tactics, unrealistic promises, high fees, delayed payments and those encouraging you to take out a high-interest loan. Be suspicious of offers to help you improve your credit rating.

What you need to know when getting help to pay off debt or repair your credit.

image of debtor with counsellor

Talk to a financial professional

A reputable credit counsellor or other financial professional can explain all of your options and help you choose the one that makes the most sense. A first meeting with a credit counsellor, or other financial professional, is confidential, objective, and usually free.

Does this option sound right for you? Tips for finding a trustworthy financial professional.

image of debtor with counsellor

Talk to your creditors

Talking directly with your creditors can be intimidating, but remember, it is in their best interest to help you find a way to pay off your debts. If you are having difficulty making minimum payments on a line of credit or a credit card, it is always worth trying to talk directly to your creditors. Most credit issuers in Canada have programs that can grant you a payment break or lower your minimum payments. Make sure that you fully understand the impact of any agreements you make with your creditors.

image of debtor with counsellor

Consider consolidating your debts

You can simplify your debt payments by combining all of your debts and transferring them to a single creditor—in most cases, your bank. Instead of paying off multiple creditors, you will then only have to pay off one. This option could reduce the amount you pay if the interest rates and terms of a consolidation loan from your bank are better than those of the individual creditors.

Learn more about consolidating my debts.

Debt settlement companies may not offer the best rates in their consolidation offers. Shop around for the best rate.

image of debtor with counsellor

Orderly Payment of Debts (Alberta only)

If you are a resident of Alberta, you can voluntarily seek out a legal proceeding called a consolidation order (also known as an orderly payment of debt (OPD)) to help you make your payments. With a consolidation order, the provincial court combines all your debts into one and determines the amount that you must pay to the court periodically. The court will then ensure that payments are made to your creditors on your behalf.

Voluntary Deposit Service (Quebec only)

If you are a resident of Quebec, you can register at the nearest courthouse for the province’s Voluntary Deposit Service.

Under this program, you deposit money with the court monthly. The size of these payments is based on your income and number of dependents. The court then distributes the money to your creditors.

image of debtor with counsellor

Debt Management Plans (DMP)

A financial professional, or your creditors, might suggest a Debt Management Plan (DMP). A DMP is an agreement with some or all of your creditors that often includes interest relief and the payment of your debts over time. You are under no obligation to agree. Before agreeing to a DMP, be sure you understand what the full financial impact will be on you.

More information on Debt Management Plans.


image of debtor with counsellor

Is your situation more serious, and you feel like there is no way for you to get your debts under control? Explore other options.


Date modified:

Vous perdez la maîtrise de vos finances

Vous savez que vous êtes en mauvaise situation financière et vous avez besoin de l’aide d’un professionnel pour atteindre vos objectifs. Il est temps d’accorder la priorité au remboursement de vos dettes afin de vous assurer un meilleur avenir.

Soyez à l’affût des tactiques de vente sous pression, des promesses irréalistes, des frais élevés, des paiements retardés et des gens qui vous incitent à contracter un prêt à taux d’intérêt élevé. Méfiez-vous de ceux qui vous offrent de vous aider à améliorer votre cote de crédit.

Ce que vous devez savoir lorsque vous obtenez de l’aide pour régler vos dettes ou rétablir votre crédit.

image of debtor with counsellor

Parlez à un professionnel du domaine financier

Un conseiller en crédit ayant bonne réputation, ou un autre professionnel du domaine financier, pourra vous expliquer toutes les options dont vous disposez et vous aider à choisir celle qui vous convient le mieux. La première consultation auprès d’un conseiller en crédit ou d’un autre professionnel du domaine financier est confidentielle, objective et normalement gratuite.

Est-ce que cette option vous semble la bonne? Astuces pour trouver un professionnel du domaine financier fiable.

image of debtor with counsellor

Parlez à vos créanciers

Parler directement à vos créanciers peut être intimidant, mais n’oubliez pas que c’est dans leur intérêt de vous aider à trouver un moyen de payer vos dettes. Si vous avez de la difficulté à faire les paiements minimaux sur votre carte ou votre marge de crédit, il vaut toujours mieux essayer de parler directement avec le créancier. Au Canada, la majorité des émetteurs de cartes de crédit ont un programme grâce auquel vous pourriez bénéficier d’une pause de paiement ou d’une réduction du paiement minimum dû. Assurez-vous de bien comprendre les conséquences de quelque entente que ce soit avec vos créanciers.

image of debtor with counsellor

Envisagez la possibilité de consolider vos dettes

Vous pouvez simplifier vos paiements en combinant toutes vos dettes et en les transférant chez un seul créancier, généralement votre institution financière. Ainsi, vous n’aurez qu’à payer un seul créancier au lieu de faire des paiements à de multiples créanciers. Cette option pourrait vous permettre de réduire le montant à payer si le taux d’intérêt et les modalités de la consolidation de prêt offerts par votre banque sont meilleurs que ceux des créanciers individuels.

Apprenez-en plus au sujet de la consolidation de dettes.

Les entreprises de règlement de dettes n’offrent pas toujours les meilleurs taux pour la consolidation de dettes. Il faut magasiner pour trouver les meilleurs taux.

image of debtor with counsellor

Paiement méthodique des dettes (Alberta seulement)

Si vous habitez en Alberta, vous pouvez recourir volontairement à une procédure judiciaire appelée « ordonnance de fusion » (en anglais seulement), qu’on appelle aussi un paiement méthodique des dettes, pour vous aider à faire vos paiements. Avec une ordonnance de fusion, le tribunal provincial combine toutes vos dettes en une seule et détermine le montant périodique que vous devez payer au tribunal. Le tribunal veille ensuite à ce que les paiements soient versés à vos créanciers en votre nom.

Dépôt volontaire (Québec seulement)

Si vous êtes résidant du Québec, vous pouvez avoir recours au dépôt volontaire (aussi connu sous le terme de « Loi Lacombe ») en vous rendant au tribunal le plus près de chez vous.

En vertu de ce programme, vous déposez mensuellement un montant d'argent au tribunal. Le montant des versements est calculé en fonction de votre revenu et du nombre de personnes à charge. C'est le tribunal qui répartit ensuite l'argent entre vos créanciers.

image of debtor with counsellor

Plan de gestion des dettes

Un professionnel du domaine financier, ou vos créanciers, pourraient suggérer un plan de gestion des dettes. Un tel plan est un accord conclu avec certains ou l’ensemble de vos créanciers, accord qui comporte souvent un allègement des intérêts et l’échelonnement de vos dettes. Vous n’avez pas l’obligation d’accepter. Avant d’accepter un plan de gestion des dettes, assurez-vous de bien comprendre toutes les conséquences financières qu’il aura sur vous.

Apprenez-en plus au sujet des plans de gestion des dettes.


image of debtor with counsellor

Est-ce que votre situation est plus grave et vous avez l’impression que vous n’arriverez jamais à rembourser vos dettes? Voici d’autres options.


Date de modification :