Insolvency counselling curriculum - counsellor training module

Welcome to the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy’s (OSB) insolvency counselling curriculum training module for BIA Insolvency Counsellors.

Table of contents

Counsellor training material:

Counsellor training material

Background

Under the Directive on counselling in insolvency matters, the insolvency counselling curriculum consists of two mandatory in-person counselling sessions with a BIA Insolvency Counsellor. The OSB has developed online self-learning modules to help support the objectives of the two mandatory in-person sessions. The LIT and/or counsellor may use the online modules to enhance the delivery of counselling sessions. The outputs from the online modules are inputs to the in-person counselling sessions. This connection allows for a richer, more value-added in-person counselling experience for debtors. The online content relieves counsellors of the burden of delivering generic content needed by the majority of debtors and therefore provides counsellors with additional time to meet each debtor’s unique needs. This online self-learning material is hosted on the OSB’s website.

The online self-learning material is linked below in the online debtor curriculum section.

Requirements

Under the Directive, BIA Insolvency Counsellors are required to present information and provide debtors with consumer advice in four main areas. These topics include:

Recommended approach

Under the recommended insolvency counselling approach, there are two counselling stages. The first stage is the budgeting stage and the second stage is the planning for the future stage. Each stage has one online self-learning session followed by one in-person counselling session. Debtors who complete the online modules prior to the in-person sessions should have a fundamental understanding of the key concepts that would be reinforced during the in-person counselling sessions. The counsellor’s role is to make sure that debtors understand the concepts covered during the online sessions and assist the debtor in specific areas where they might require additional guidance and support.

Please review the comprehensive breakdown of the recommended insolvency counselling approach below.

Budgeting stage

Planning for the future stage

1st online self-learning session

1st in-person session

2nd online self-learning session

2nd in-person session

Before the 1st in-person session.

Between 10 and 90 days following the date of the initial bankruptcy event or the filing of a consumer proposal, or within 10 days following the first meeting of creditors held pursuant to paragraph 57(c)(i) of the Act where a Division I Proposal was refused by the creditors.

Before the 2nd in-person session.

After a period of 30 days following the first session, and prior to the discharge, in the case of an individual bankrupt, or issuance of the certificate of full performance, in the case of a consumer debtor.

The debtor is instructed to complete the introduction and the budgeting module prior to attending their first in-person session.

The introduction provides orientation information and outlines what the debtor can expect during the insolvency counselling process.

The budgeting module provides the debtor with general information on the value of budgets, as well as practical instruction on how to develop a basic monthly budget using a budgeting template, and how to track their spending using an income and expense tracking tool.

The debtor is instructed to bring their completed budgeting template and their income and expense tracking tool to their first in-person counselling session.

During the first in-person session, the counsellor confirms that the debtor understands the purpose and importance of a budget. The counsellor will then review the debtor’s budgeting template with them to ensure that it is complete, realistic, and addresses the debtor’s particular circumstances.

The counsellor’s role includes supporting the debtor in developing strategies to adjust their budget to deal with any unexpected expenses or changes to their income. The counsellor will also provide the debtor with realistic strategies for tracking their income and expenses in the future.;

The output for this counselling stage is the debtor’s budget.

The desired outcome of this stage is for the debtor to create a realistic budget and personalized expense tracking methods, which they can implement after this in-person session.  

The debtor is instructed to complete the setting and achieving financial goals module; the spending habits module; and the responsible use of credit module. These modules provide general information designed to help debtors maintain control over their finances after the completion of their insolvency.

The modules provide information on how to set personal financial goals and develop strategies for achieving them; confirming priorities and goals to help prioritize spending; how to use credit responsibly; and how to manage credit and debt in the future.

The debtor is instructed to fill out a financial goal-setting tool where the debtor is able to select three of their personal financial goals from a pre-determined list, or they can develop their own unique goals. 

The debtor is instructed to bring their completed financial goal-setting tool to their second in-person counselling session.

During the second in-person session, the counsellor confirms the debtor’s understanding of all key aspects of the topics covered within the online material. The counsellor will then review the debtor’s financial goal-setting tool and work with them to ensure the goals are SMART (Specific, Measureable, Achievable, Relevant, and Time-bound), and develop an appropriate plan to achieve those goals. 

The counsellor’s role includes supporting the debtor in developing strategies to avoid potential financial pitfalls that could become obstacles to the debtor’s future financial success.

The output for this counselling stage is the debtor’s list of three S.M.A.R.T. financial goals.

The desired outcome of this stage is for the debtor to create post-insolvency financial goals, which they can implement after this in-person session.

While the recommended approach of the curriculum is targeted to the majority of debtors, it is recognized that there will be circumstances in which counsellors might vary from it the recommended approach for the benefit of the debtor. Please use your professional judgment when deciding if it is best to deviate from the recommended approach.

Below are two examples of scenarios in which you might deviate from the recommended approach.

Scenario 1

If a debtor is unable to access the online content, the counsellor may print the appropriate online modules for the debtor to review prior to their in-person counselling session

Scenario 2

If a debtor is a former small business owner and the counsellor believes that this particular individual would benefit from learning about additional and/or alternative topics, then the counsellor may modify the counselling topics to better meet the individual’s unique needs

BIA Insolvency Counsellor checklist and FAQs

When delivering insolvency counselling, there are some important steps to follow in order to make sure that the insolvency counselling program is successful for debtors. Attached below is a checklist for counsellors to use when providing insolvency counselling.

If you have any questions about how to deliver insolvency counselling under the proposed new standards, please refer to the FAQs document linked below, or contact: ic.osbcounsellingbsf-bkhq.ic@Canada.ca.

Online debtor curriculum

The online debtor curriculum consists of an introduction and four self-learning modules. These modules contain modern content relevant to the majority of debtors. These online modules have been designed to align with the two in-person counselling sessions. Debtors who complete the self-learning modules prior to the in-person sessions should have an understanding of the key concepts that would be reinforced during the in-person counselling sessions.

Please review and become familiar with the online debtor curriculum before providing insolvency counselling to debtors.

Date modified:

Programme de consultation en matière d’insolvabilité - Module de formation pour les conseillers

Bienvenue au module de formation pour les conseillers en insolvabilité au titre de la LFI0 du Bureau du surintendant des faillites (BSF).

Table des matières

Matériel de formation pour les conseillers

Matériel de formation pour les conseillers

Contexte        

En vertu de l’instruction sur les consultations en matière d’insolvabilité, le Programme de consultation en matière d’insolvabilité comprend deux séances obligatoires de consultation en personne avec un conseiller en insolvabilité au titre de la LFI. Le BSF a élaboré des modules d’autoapprentissage en ligne pour aider à soutenir les objectifs des deux séances obligatoires en personne. Le SAI ou conseiller peut se servir des modules en ligne afin d’optimiser la prestation des séances de consultation. Les résultats des modules en ligne sont intégrés aux séances de consultation en personne. Ce lien permet aux débiteurs d’acquérir une expérience de consultation en personne plus riche et à plus forte valeur ajoutée. Le contenu en ligne libère les conseillers du fardeau de présenter le contenu générique dont la majorité des débiteurs ont besoin et leur permet donc de disposer de plus de temps pour répondre aux besoins particuliers de chaque débiteur. Ce matériel d’autoapprentissage en ligne est hébergé sur le site Web du BSF.

Un lien menant au matériel d’autoapprentissage en ligne figure ci-dessous dans la section Programme en ligne à l’intention des débiteurs).

Exigences

En vertu de l’instruction, les conseillers en insolvabilité au titre de la LFI sont tenus de fournir aux débiteurs de l’information ainsi que des conseils en matière de consommation dans quatre domaines principaux. Parmi ces sujets, mentionnons :

Approche recommandée

Dans le cadre de l’approche recommandée de consultation en matière d’insolvabilité, il y a deux étapes de consultation. La première étape est celle de la budgétisation et la deuxième étape est celle de la préparation pour l’avenir. Chaque étape comporte une séance d’autoapprentissage en ligne suivie d’une séance de consultation en personne. Les débiteurs qui suivent les modules en ligne avant les séances en personne devraient avoir une compréhension fondamentale des concepts clés qui seraient renforcés pendant les séances de consultation en personne. Le rôle du conseiller est de s’assurer que les débiteurs comprennent les concepts abordés pendant les séances en ligne et d’aider le débiteur dans des domaines précis où il pourrait avoir besoin de conseils et de soutien supplémentaires.

Veuillez vous reporter au morcellement détaillé de l’approche recommandée de consultation en matière d’insolvabilité ci-dessous.

Étape de l’établissement d’un budget

Étape de la préparation pour l’avenir

Première séance d’autoapprentissage en ligne

Première séance en personne

Deuxième séance d’autoapprentissage en ligne

Deuxième séance en personne

Avant la première séance de consultation en personne.

De 10 à 90 jours après la date de la faillite ou du dépôt d’une proposition de consommateur, ou dans les 10 jours suivant la première assemblée des créanciers tenue en vertu de l’alinéa 57c)(i) de la LFI, lors de laquelle une proposition est refusée par les créanciers.

Avant la deuxième séance de consultation en personne.

Après une période d’attente de 30 jours suivant la première séance, et précédant la libération (dans le cas d’un failli qui est une personne physique), ou la délivrance d’un certificat d’exécution intégrale d’une proposition (dans le cas d’un débiteur consommateur).

Le débiteur doit suivre l’étape « introduction » et le « Module sur l’établissement d’un budget » avant d’assister à sa première séance en personne.

L’étape « introduction » fournit des renseignements d’orientation et décrit ce à quoi le débiteur peut s’attendre pendant le processus de consultation en matière d’insolvabilité.

Le « Module sur l’établissement d’un budget » fournit au débiteur des renseignements généraux sur la valeur des budgets, ainsi que des instructions pratiques sur la façon d’élaborer un budget mensuel de base à l’aide d’un modèle de budgétisation et de suivre ses dépenses à l’aide de l’Outil de suivi du revenu et des dépenses.

Le débiteur a pour instruction d’apporter son modèle de budgétisation dûment rempli ainsi que son Outil de suivi du revenu et des dépenses à sa première séance de consultation en personne.

Au cours de la première séance en personne, le conseiller confirme que le débiteur comprend le but et l’importance d’un budget. Le conseiller examinera ensuite le modèle de budgétisation du débiteur avec lui pour s’assurer qu’il est complet, réaliste et qu’il tient compte de la situation particulière du débiteur.

Le rôle du conseiller consiste notamment à aider le débiteur à élaborer des stratégies pour ajuster son budget afin de faire face à toute dépense imprévue ou à toute modification de son revenu. Le conseiller fournit également au débiteur des stratégies réalistes pour suivre ses revenus et ses dépenses dans l’avenir.

Le résultat de cette étape de consultation est le budget du débiteur.

Le résultat souhaité de cette étape est que le débiteur crée un budget réaliste et des méthodes personnalisées de suivi des dépenses qu’il pourra mettre en œuvre après cette séance en personne.    

Le débiteur doit suivre le « Module sur l’établissement et l’atteinte des objectifs financiers », le « Module sur les habitudes de dépense » et le « Module sur l’utilisation responsable du crédit ». Ces modules fournissent des renseignements généraux conçus pour aider les débiteurs à garder le contrôle de leurs finances après la fin de leur procédure d’insolvabilité.

Les modules fournissent des renseignements sur la façon d’établir des objectifs financiers personnels et d’élaborer des stratégies pour les atteindre, de confirmer les priorités et les objectifs pour aider à mettre en ordre de priorité les dépenses, d’utiliser le crédit de façon responsable et de gérer le crédit et la dette dans l’avenir.;

Le débiteur doit remplir l’Outil pour l’établissement des objectifs financiers dans lequel il peut choisir trois de ses objectifs financiers personnels à partir d’une liste préétablie, ou il peut établir ses propres objectifs uniques.

Il est demandé au débiteur d’apporter son Outil pour l’établissement des objectifs financiers dûment rempli à sa deuxième séance de consultation en personne.

Au cours de la deuxième séance en personne, le conseiller confirme que le débiteur comprend tous les aspects essentiels des sujets traités dans les documents en ligne. Le conseiller examinera ensuite l’Outil pour l’établissement des objectifs financiers du débiteur et travaillera avec lui pour s’assurer qu’ils sont SMART (spécifiques, mesurables, atteignables, réalistes et temporels), et élaborer un plan approprié pour atteindre ces objectifs.

Le rôle du conseiller consiste notamment à aider le débiteur à élaborer des stratégies pour éviter les pièges financiers potentiels qui pourraient devenir des obstacles à sa réussite financière future.

Le résultat de cette étape de consultation est la liste des trois objectifs financiers SMART du débiteur.

Le résultat souhaité de cette étape est que le débiteur se fixe des objectifs financiers post-insolvabilité qu’il pourra mettre en œuvre après cette séance en personne.

Bien que l’approche recommandée du programme cible la majorité des débiteurs, il est reconnu qu’il y aura des circonstances dans lesquelles les conseillers pourraient s’écarter de celle-cidans l’intérêt du débiteur. Veuillez utiliser votre jugement professionnel pour décider s’il est préférable de vous écarter de l’approche recommandée.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous deux exemples de scénarios dans lesquels vous pourriez vous écarter de l’approche recommandée.   

Scénario 1 :

Si un débiteur n’a pas accès au contenu en ligne, le conseiller peut imprimer les modules en ligne appropriés pour que le débiteur puisse les examiner avant sa séance de consultation en personne.

Scénario 2 :

Si un débiteur est un ancien propriétaire de petite entreprise et que le conseiller croit que cette personne profiterait particulièrement d’en apprendre davantage sur d’autres sujets, le conseilleur peut modifier les sujets de consultation pour mieux répondre aux besoins particuliers du débiteur.       

Liste de contrôle du conseiller en insolvabilité au titre de la LFI et foire aux questions

Lorsque vous donnez des conseils en matière d’insolvabilité, il y a des étapes importantes à suivre afin de s’assurer que le Programme de consultation en matière d’insolvabilité est efficace pour les débiteurs. Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste de contrôle que les conseillers peuvent utiliser lorsqu’ils donnent des conseils en matière d’insolvabilité.

Liste de contrôle du conseiller en insolvabilité au titre de la LFI 

Si vous avez des questions sur la façon d’offrir la consultation en matière d’insolvabilité en vertu des nouvelles normes proposées, veuillez consulter le document intitulé Foire aux questions ci-dessous ou communiquer avec : ic.osbcounsellingbsf-bkhq.ic@canada.ca.

Foire aux questions du conseiller en insolvabilité de la LFI

Programme en ligne à l’intention des débiteurs

Le programme en ligne à l’intention des débiteurs comprend une introduction et quatre modules d’autoapprentissage. Ces modules comprennent des contenus modernes pertinents pour la majorité des débiteurs. Ces modules en ligne ont été conçus pour s’harmoniser avec les deux séances de consultation en personne. Les débiteurs qui suivent les modules d’autoapprentissage avant les séances en personne devraient comprendre les concepts clés qui seraient renforcés pendant les séances de consultation en personne.

Veuillez examiner le programme en ligne à l’intention des débiteurs et vous familiariser avec celui-ci avant d’offrir de la consultation en matière d’insolvabilité aux débiteurs.

Date de modification :